(Media Conference Statement (2) by DAP Ipoh Timor parliamentary candidate Lim Kit Siang at Ipoh Timor Ops Centre on Wednesday, 5th March 2008)
IGP should suspend Segamat OCPD for using force on seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate in Labis to demonstrate police respect for women dignity and rights.
The Johore police called an unprecedented 1.30 am press conference in Johore Baru yesterday morning to give their version of the scuffle over a mike between the Segamat OCPD Supt Abd Majid Mohd Ali and the seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching in Labis on Monday at about 2.30 pm during my 24-hour four-state 11-stop election whistlestop tour.
This is a reflection of the power of the internet for immediately after the scuffle in Labis at about 3 pm, the Internet was abuzz with reports of a police officer in a scuffle with a seven-month pregnant DAP parliamentary candidate which resulting in her being hospitalized, creating concerns about the health and welfare of both the mother and the unborn child.
In the 1.30 am press conference, Johore police chief Datuk Mohd Mokhtar Mohd Sharif denied that a police officer had used force against a pregnant woman DAP parliamentary candidate.
Mokhtar denied that the police officer had pushed anybody let alone take away by force the microphone Teo was using to say “thank you” to several hundreds of supporters who had turned up to welcome my visit.
Nobody alleged that the Segamat OCPD “pushed” Teo, but what is undeniable is that Abdul Majid was involved in a scuffle with the seven-month pregnant candidate when he tried to snatch her mike – as illustrated the photographs (below) and video tape on Youtube .
Mokhtar’s claim that it was Teo who did the pushing is both preposterous and outrageous, as borne out by the photographs and video clip.
I had gone up to Abdul Majid to urge him to refrain from continuing the scuffle with Teo in trying to snatch away the mike.
I find it most regrettable that the Police had given a selective and dishonest account of what happened, hiding photographs from the media which would have told the country the whole truth.
It is most shameful,for a police officer to use force on the seven-month pregnant DAP woman parliamentary candidate when all she wanted was to say a few words of thanks to the public who had gathered to meet me.
The Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan should suspend Abdul Majid as Segamat OCPD to demonstrate police respect for woman dignity and rights instead of siding with him in his deplorable conduct r using force in a scuffle with a seven-month pregnant DAP woman candidate.
If the police are not prepared to do justice in the Labis seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate case, then all Malaysians should use their vote on March 8, which is also the International Women’s Day, to express their condemnation of the police officer’s scuffle and using force on Teo on Monday.

#1 by Come2Papa on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:24 am
kickbutt is right!
i’ve never come across any commentator beating up the blog before – which is what “thrashing” means!
“trashing the blog” on the other hand, means you are destroying the blog by your trash talking.
like kickbutt says “you’re being clever by half” and by doing so you only succeed in making a fool of yourself. not that any of us mind!
don’t let that lady godiva stop you. keep trashing the blog.
#2 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:54 am
go read how i used the word thrash before coming back to me. please don’t start to talk to yourself again, coward..
#3 by pjboy on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 2:26 am
What was the purpose of the police? 8th Mar is also International Women’s Day ! This supposedly senior police has shown no respect nor dignity for women, & mothers ! “Good example” to junior officers ! This is exactly how LOW they will go.
#4 by LadyGodiva on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 3:06 am
Wow!! Such conceit! Never come across anyone with such misplaced sense of self importance.
Continue trashing this blog (not ‘thrashing”) Good for you. Not good for the blog owner.
#5 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 4:48 am
That there may be situations (DAP’s ceramah) that are unforeseen or unpredictable where gatherings are held without permit that police ought to have exercised proper discretion to give a little leeway, and even if police action were wrong, it being in the opinion of some, quite unnecessary to snatch Teo’s mike when the ceramah had proceeded without a permit during this election time –is, I maintain, a separate issue from the other question whether it is justified and a proportionate response to impute or cast implied innuendo and aspersion, for the sake of politicization, on a police officer the commission of physical manhandling of a pregnant speaker to the point of endangering her foetus when the facts and pictures do not support such a conclusion.
There is really little to discuss, by way of exchange, if one does not see the difference in issues and the stance is then taken that, given the un-level political and power playing field, anything goes, one does not need to play fair with the other side that does not play fair….
The fact that such a stance of ‘tit for tat’ and the only way to treat a hoodlum is to be a hoodlum to him resonates with the emotional sentiments of many here, fed up with government or authorities, still does not make it right.
Nor does it, as a matter of political strategy, necessarily serve one’s own cause or protect one from getting, in a matter of time, into serious troubles, having regard to the uneven balance of power between one self and the other side controlling and enforcing the legal rules of engagement, considering that doing right (on part of an Opposition like DAP) is an important political weapon, for both offence and defence, and the true proof of the measuring cast (to the rakyat whose support is canvassed) of the difference that separates the Opposition from that of the Barisan National and their functionaries and apparatus.
#6 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:31 am
sir jeffrey.
IN THE REAL WORLD OF POLITICS AND POLITICAL SCENERIO.
in Malaysia , the playing field is certainly uneven.
upholding justice and fair play is certainly appreciated by all IF AND ONLY IF justice and fair play is dispensed to all in equal.
there is no right or wrong in politics. if there are such rules, wonder why many do not join politics. wonder why many great politicians like gandhi ,lincoln,martin luther are all assasinated.
if as jeffrey so stated “tit for tat ” does not make it right – for which i certainly agreed, BUT IF THE TRUTH OUT IN THE FIELD is that jeffrey you are deprived of the very liberty of civil rights to voice your cause. if you are shut off from the media . if you are shut off from the public . if you are threatened with arrest. are we than to be on cause for ahimsa or just be bullied.
set aside emotional sentiments, as that is cetainly why politicians are made to arouse our intense curiousity to cast votes for them. SET IT ASIDE FIRST. and ponder seriously please on the following:-
1. vk lingham judge fixing:- innocent until proven guilty. you may be able to swallow this being an honourable man. BUT i tend to fall into the category ( among which members of the Bar Counsel ) initiate the march of justice to demand a royal inquiry. Even with the royal inquiry – many key actors “feign” memory loss. do you buy that ?
2. ISA – have you ever been detained ? have you ever been remanded ? if you had or have someone you love or know having been detained without trial, MAYBE you will still feel that justice prevails.!!!and if you feel that justice prevailed,than please join us in BERSIH and risk arrest and remand. Please get first hand information from x isa politcal detainee and ask if they had been treated humanely.
3.while you and others have different views from limkamput. similarly limkamput has his fair share of support. there is no utopia in this real world. i will be fooling myself that there is. even in countries without multi racial mix ie BURMA ( OLD NAME ) monks are murdered. guns against the saffron robes . fair ? nyet.
so humbly i suggest this is best translated into our votes of conscience ( if any is left in this species called homo sapiens ) . the way people are murdered, father raping daughters. i dont think we are human anymore. SADLY. so at least cast your votes tomorrow and life goes on.
#7 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:46 am
btw, if not for hindraf – who took on an alternative cause of actions and did the ridiculous of suing British Government . wonder if the indians are wooed by every party NOW. it was an illegal assembly by all rules of the law of the country – BUT i am sure we were all apathy about the indians plight , and none so courageous to stand up for them, but the indians themselves. they broke the law- but raise a point. a valid point. THE PRICED PAID : 5 DETAINED UNDER ISA. MORE PROMISED ASSISTANCE TOTHE INDIANS. what the action of hindraf right or wrong ? if according to law – its definitely wrong. but as a fellow human, my heart felt for them.
same as the palestinians being killed by the Isrealist. children dead and mained. what alternative cause of action can anyone propose to those suffering palestinains. Or the actual ethnic cleansing of the Bosnians.
undi saja. debates are easy in the net. but the warzone is a different scenerio.
#8 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:49 am
the moderator had to moderate my later comments when hindraf, ethnic cleasing of the bosnians and the suffering of the palestinians were commented. the webmaster ’s right.
just vote la.
#9 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:52 am
ADAM YONG, thanks for the comments but remember that the principle of “tit for tat” and behave a gangster to another bigger gangster works effectively where there is level playing field, in terms of power, and not when the bigger gangster controls an array of weaponry controlling al levers of power in the state. If you want to behave a gangster against such a bigger gangster under such circumstances you’re only waiting to be quashed. In such circumstances you must surely recognise that your true weapon – the only one available – is the unassailability of your moral position (rather than gangster methods) that provides vindication. Nelson Mendela and Mahatma Gandhi used the moral position and cause to prevail over superior force. Had they otherwise advocated armed insurrection, they would long been killed, with the cause not served.
#10 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:55 am
I am also talking in terms of the real world of politics and political realities in which the playing field is certainly uneven and where the other side can arrest you arbitrarily even when you are right, let alone wrong!
#11 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 6:06 am
Jeff.
there is only one MR. NELSON MANDELA , who had a heart so gracious that he forgives all and forgets all. but jeff, can you be nelson mandela please. seriously. let the government put you into kamunting using isa for 20 years and still write in this manner.
i salute you .
i admit i cannot.
#12 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 9:32 am
Jeffrey,
1. If you can, please write in shorter sentences can or not. Your postings are like a contract document lah. It is not an insult ok Jeffrey. We know your English is powerful. But it is a request to facilitate reading not just for, the attap school type, but probably for many others also.
2. What we call for is an appropriate response from DAP if Police can not act fair, but certainly not to the extent you alluded to. There is no blatant accusation from the DAP of the incident in Labis but I guess a little insinuation here and there is sufficient to put the police on the defense and that to me is one of the effective means to deal with people who do not talk reason. Didn’t you realize that the police are now in defensive mode?
3. As for other points, I think we have both stated long enough and wise in my earlier postings and we shall leave it that way. Let others read and judge.
4. I apologize if I have hurt your feeling. It is not personal here, we are just cyber personality trying to put our ideas across and sometimes we get emotional and prickly.
#13 by kickbutt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:23 am
““Then you said on hinge-sight it is easy to say that …†limkamput
What??? “hinge-sight”??? a typo error?? a misspelling? or all of the above??
that’s why you need to have more than an attap type education.
“hinge-sight” ??? muaha..haha..muahaha!!!
#14 by kickbutt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:30 am
“I apologize if I have hurt your feeling. It is not personal here, we are just cyber personality trying to put our ideas across and sometimes we get emotional and prickly.” llimkamput
Apparently the pressure by our lady friend on the moderator to do something is working!
“cyber personality”?? A term used by undergrad a few postings earlier. Lebai Kamal bin Put, be original or at least acknowledge undergrad’s use of the term earlier. It is only polite.
#15 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:01 am
Kickyourbutt,
You just don’t get it. I may argue with Undergrad2 and Jeffrey, but in my heart I have my respect for them when occasionally they provided views which were refreshing and discerning.
But for scumbag like you, never! You are a destructive one liner. You may laugh at my English, but the reality is you can’t even write three paragraphs. I have challenged you on numerous occasions to write me three paragraphs on any of the issues here. I promise to debate with you on what you write. At the end, if I find you credible, I shall stop writing for a period of time just to watch you contributing. How about it? It is one stone killing two birds. First, you get to prove you are better than me; second you can kick me out of this blog. You have my word. I am not like you. I can be trusted because I am not a coward that keeps changing IDs to talk to himself. How low can you go, scumbag. I am not being cocky. I am 100% sure I can write better English than you.
#16 by kickbutt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:11 am
“I am 100% sure I can write better English than you.” Lebai Kamal bin Put
What??? For someone who can’t spell ‘hindsight” you should be embarassed at the thought!
#17 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:14 am
Ok, forget about the one liner, accept my challenge and write me three paragraphs, not much just three paras.
#18 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:57 am
The reality is you can’t write anything substantive other than trying to feign Jenny. Luckily the moderator spotted you early – a pervert on the prowl – and deleted your depraved posting completely. You are pathetic. You shouldn’t be here. Certainly those who can’t spell hindsight are more deserving than you to be here.
#19 by lopez on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:21 pm
Those lamers in the blue, are sick, from morning to evening they are reminded by their peers but still don’t know what they are doing.
only like to be clad in uniforms and be member of some group but dont know their purpose.
Taking law in their own hands, and selectively administer them or instructed by their masters.
Worst dont even know how they came into this world.
His karma will take care of him.
Small man with small brain not fit to wear that uniform , for all i know he could have bribe his way to get the position.
#20 by lopez on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:33 pm
When news came about that malaysia’s university has churn out many scholars but was of terribly low standards.
Many of these parents were furious, but could either do nothing or accept it because it is fated.
The gomen quickly makes GLC companies and other friendly companies to take them up.
The other were given handouts or retrained .
I was wondering when plantations were converted to other purposes like housing, factories , did the Economic planners thought about the lives of all the plantation and estate workers and their families.
So I say the gomen had many so called experts but why these people are not given the same , retraining, handouts, licenses, compensations as those victims of bad education system and sub standard lecturing.
Vote for Change
Vote NOW
VOTE DAP , and take part for our children future as we dictate and no be TOLD, TOW and TOLLed.
#21 by adamclp on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:21 pm
Maybe the OCPD is showing his frustration because he couldn’t find the culprits behind the hidden cameras in Room 1301. Someone please tell this ’sob’ that he can take his frustrations to the privacy of his own bedroom hopefully without any hidden cameras, otherwise the VCD peddlars are in for another windfall.
#22 by allasstra on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:29 pm
any1 remember the incident where the police,with the help of “public” just ran over some alleged criminals on motorcycle,resulting in one death and the other wounded ?
i remember seeing it reported on tv3 sometime ago…
#23 by alwan67 on Saturday, 15 March 2008 - 10:40 am
Frankly speaking, just focussing on the video…while at the same time putting aside legal technicalities and arguments of exercising democratic rights etc.etc. It does NOT seem that the police officer was using force. The still photos can be interpreted that he was (using force), but with the bad publicity that the police force have been getting, the public will generally just jump up with another opportunity to put them down. However when looking at the video, I just cannot say that I agree 100% with THIS blogs report on the case.
#24 by bochenghu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:14 am
Glad I voted DAP…. BUT…. People, please. Do have some sense and dignity not to swear and fume when replying. We don’t need grammar cops or testosterone charged challenges. To belittle another’s point of view is exactly what we are trying NOT to accomplish here.
DAP is not about hate. It’s not about expressing your anger and frustrations. DAP is here to change Malaysia. To make it better for everyone.
Let’s show the world that DAP supporters are dignified for we fight for the right of the people. Remember, we are here for the Rakyat. No room to differentiate between races, religion or color.
No more name calling. No more hate mongering. DAP is now the government. We chose DAP and DAP, because of it’s right reasons now represent the people.
Hate not those who have wronged us for they are the ones with the festering wound. Doctors heal one and all and I believe deep down in my heart that DAP is the miracle doctor we need to heal Malaysia.
I believe all Chinese knows the theory of Ying and Yang. There are good and bad in everything, including the police, the government, and even in the family.
#25 by bochenghu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:40 am
I feel for everyone’s plight. My father was an ISA detainee for ten years when SUPP was the opposition. He fought for Sarawak’s development, for her freedom and what did he get? A poor wife with five hungry children, working at construction sites waiting for her husband who have been detained without trial and without a release date. Even through that, he fought for the schools that we so casually take granted for. He fought for electricity, water and communications. And for all that… he gained nothing except 10 long years of hard labor. After all that, he never hated the government. He never resented. Even today, when the SUPP failed to help him with his land issues, he NEVER resented. He, earned my respect not because he gave me life, he earned it because he is dignified.
And although he was and still is a grass root supporter of SUPP, he knows and accepts my decision to vote and support DAP.
I accept his point of view and he, mine. He sits together with DAP champion, YB Chong of Kuching at dinner tables, and YB Chong calls him Teacher. Learn not to hate for we all fight for what we believe to be the best for our community.
Why did I vote DAP? I believe DAP still have that conviction to make a change… the same conviction that burned in the hearts of the SUPP when it was still the opposition. Along Sarawak’s 1000 kilometer interior road from Kuching to Limbang, they braved it all, jungles, rivers, sleeping in cars, getting malaria. If not for the opposition then, we would have ended up like Indonesia where you cannot use your Chinese name, attend Chinese schools or even speak mandarin. Because of the opposition, we have chinese schools all along the interiors of Sarawak. Such is the work of the opposition. DAP now carries that torch and I pray and I will commit myself to making sure that DAP lives up to my expectations. It is easy to ask of others, to do it ourselves is the actual key.
Yes you voted for DAP. What now? Join the DAP as members and take ACTION.
If the government won’t build it, we will.
If the government won’t repair it, we will.
If the government cannot, we can!
Remember, Talk is cheap.
#26 by bochenghu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:46 am
FYI, follow Sibu’s lead. Join your local RELA outfit. If you have beef with the police, then don’t rely on them.
I patrol my neighborhood with a bunch of RELA mates from 10PM to 4AM. I go to work at 8.30 and will only be home by 5.30pm. Still, it’s no excuse not to take ACTION.
The police never patrolled my neighbourhood but now they do. Regularly. Kan malu kalau Rakyat dapat, mereka tidak?