Hindraf rally – police stop over-reacting, dismantle roadblocks and issue permit

The police should not repeat their over-reaction and high-handed action on Nov. 10 over the peaceful 40,000-people Bersih gathering to hand over a petition to the Yang di Pertuan Agong for electoral reforms to ensure free, fair and clean elections and should immediately dismantle the roadblocks creating massive jams in Kuala Lumpur and the Klang Valley since yesterday.

The massive Nov. 10 traffic gridlock creating massive congestions in Kuala Lumpur and Klang Valley were largely the creation of the police and could have been avoided or ameliorated considerably with enlightened and sensitive police handling of peaceful gatherings by citizens exercising their fundamental constitutional rights to get their voices heard in a meaningful democracy.

If the Police had issued a police permit for the Bersih peaceful gathering on Nov. 10, demonstrating greater sensitivity and respect for human rights guaranteed in the Malaysian Constitution as recommended by the Dzaiddin Royal Police Commission 30 months ago, all legitimate concerns would have been met — the concerns of the police and government with regard to law and order and the concerns of aggrieved citizenry to petition the Yang di Pertuan Agong for an end to electoral abuses.

For the Hindraf rally on Sunday, the Police has not only refused to learn any lesson to respect the human rights of Malaysians to peaceful assembly, but has decided even earlier to impose roadblocks — starting since yesterday on various roads and expressways in the Klang Valley.

Headlines of such traffic gridlocks are already in the media — “Klang Valley chokes up” (The Star), “Roadblocks mounted ahead of Hindraf rally” (The Sun), “Massive traffic jams leading into the city” (New Straits Times) and “Police roadblocks jam up roads, again” (Malaysiakini).

From all indications, the traffic gridlock in Kuala Lumpur and the Klang Valley this time is going to be worse than a fortnight ago — no thanks to the police.

The police should stop over-reacting, dismantle the roadblocks creating massive jams in KL and Klang Valley and issue police permit for the Hindraf rally.

The Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan has again threatened prosecution against parents for bringing their children to any peaceful assembly.

Musa and all police personnel must be reminded that such warnings cannot absolve them of responsibility to ensure that the police do not harm children and women by abuse of power and excessive use of force in any crowd control.

The world has unforgettable images of the Myanmar military brutalizing defenceless monks in the September “saffron revolution”. Does Musa want the world to have equally unforgettable images of the Malaysian police brutalizing children?

The Inspector-General of Police must ensure that nothing is done to turn Nov. 25 into a bloody Sunday in Kuala Lumpur, which can only add shame and ignominy to Malaysia’s international reputation.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by madmix on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 10:31 am

The Bersih rally had a lot of Malay participants. This one polis may not show much restraint.

2. #2 by k1980 on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 10:39 am

Do African-Americans need to state their race and religion when filling forms?
    http://balajoe27.wordpress.com/2007/11/22/hindraf-protest-–-realistic-way-out/
    Considering that a group of “minority” asking an ex-colonial master seems to say a lot of things about the current government. It also paints a very undesirable picture of the party who is claiming to champion the rights of the minority – MIC. After the 10-Eleven rally and the “boo-boo” that our Information Minister did in Al-Jazeera interview, “Mr Clean” image of Pak Lah is eroding fast in the eyes of the international community.

3. #3 by smeagroo on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 10:39 am

yes they will go down hard on thsi group and teach the rest a lesson. End of the day they will say “I told you so riots will happen”.

The roadblocks are just a ploy to frustrate the rest of the society so that they will look at rallies negatively.

Is there really a need to do searches? THey shld be busy doing roadblocks at housing estates and check motorcyclists for weapons as there may be probable snatch thieves on the prowl.

What a bunch of idiots!

4. #4 by sotong on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 10:48 am

Whatever happen the government must be held totally responsible for the safety and security of peaceful participants, including women and their childrens.

5. #5 by RealWorld on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:04 am

“Whatever happen the government must be held totally responsible for the safety and security of peaceful participants, including women and their childrens.” – sotong

Fully agree! Thats why the police have set up road blocks to ensure the safety of the people.

6. #6 by greenacre on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:04 am

In the exodus they said “let my people go” .Well Mr. Policeman give them the permit to march and hand over the memo to the British. This country is a race based one for sure. From the constitution to a simple form. Where did all this start if not the Brits handing over. So we begin where it began.
    I am biased of course…why I still have the rubber tapping knife’s mark on my body and my loved ones are buried in a valley now grown over with oil palm trees. The tears a tapper can be bundled into mega volumes. The pain just doesn’t seem to go away.

7. #7 by WFH on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:05 am

The refusal of the permit by the Police to Hindraf, and especially the outright and blatant intent to cause passive but MASSIVE disturbance to civic society by setting up police roadblocks to disrupt everyday life of the people of KL amounts to holding society hostage to their unbridled abuse of authority and power, and it is BLACKMAIL to the citizens. How come the Bkt Bintang people under Mr Ayam Lee Chong Meng (him a Senator..!!??!!#@!?) have not yet held another press conference complaining about the police “disruption” to their multi-million lost business since yesterday?

Hello…. Nazri?? Did you say the IPCMC Bill will be tabled this Parlaimentary sitting?? We’re all waiting – for its tabling as well as to see how diluted it has become, from the original recommendations of the Royal Commission!

Yes, I will not be surprised if this Hindraf group sadly, will suffer the full brunt of police brutish power, simply for being of their community. At least this time, more international journalists will be there becasue of the police freely doing the marketing for Hindraf’s cause. How is it that MIC/SV+Co and PPP/Kayveas+Co are mute to this impending demolition of their community’s very basic right to voice out their grievances in public?

Hindraf/Utayakumar, come Sunday, back down, NOT!

8. #8 by sani on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:08 am

It is really surprizing that our police force that cannot even catch mat rempits, can see it fit to mobilize, days before a peaceful demo. Maybe they need some practice, just in case BN lose 2/3 majority?

I am not an Indian, but i am color blind enough, to see that our Indian compatriots has a point or two. Mind you Hindraf, is really brave + are real democrats. What else can be done? What can be so wrong? It is only human nature to get together to get ones disappoinment known. We Malaysian do it all the time. In good times, we have open house, gotong royong, in villiages all come together to make a dinner successful + so on. Even political parties gather once a year, some even bring knifes to wave around.

If all done in a peaceful manner, like the Bersih gathering, the world will look at us as a mature society. So the police force should take the rakyats’ lead. Stop being so childish, put away all your riot gears. You might frigthen the tourists. Be a man, go catch snatch thieves, child rapist, corrupted elected officers or even those illegal migrants that burn your police cars.

Have a good day on Sunday + i am quite sure the Queen won’t be here. She called me last nite, she is afraid of the water cannons.

9. #9 by People on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:10 am

The police should allow the gathering and just guard around that area!!

They should not create inconvenience, fear and injustice to the rakyat with their over reaction over some rumours !! Talk about professional and civilize people …I mean force!

10. #10 by Libra2 on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:29 am

If Hindraf wins the case each Indian Malaysian will stand to get RM 3.4 million. May I know if Tun Mahathir and Zam will also be entitled to this RM 3.4 million payout?

11. #11 by eagleye on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:38 am

Is police force to help public? Doubt. Gov complaint lost of income more than a million on Bersih rally, but what they doing now? continous Road blocks in major roads? Doesn’t create any loss eh? Is that they trying hard to avoid jams on 25 NOV 07 by creating massive jams for five days? What a brilliant… Why so scared? They just want to give petition. Just make sure there is no chaos on that day. After that all peace. Why creating a scenes… More free publicities to the world? Ah, please act rationally.

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:51 am

Is Hindraf more popular than all the Indian political parties? The MIC, the Indian Progressive Front (IPF) among others are so fearful of them that they have come out openly to “advise” their members not to support this gathering and warned that disciplinary action will be taken against members those who attend.

Even the Police is so frightened of this gathering that they have had to issue several similar warnings and refuse a permit. Many roadblocks have been set up as can be seen by the massive traffic jams these past few days. It would appear that a massive turn-out ala the 10/11 size or more is being expected.

Even the government is worried as can be seen by the several statements made by senior cabinet ministers including the impotent Indian “wira” Samy Vellu. (Pak Lah, you paying attention? Oh I forgot, you will be overseas again heading for Kampala leaving Najib “in charge”.)

It would appear that the MIC, IPF and all the other Indian based parties are impotent and ineffective in raising the lot of their community. They have failed miserably in taking care of the community that they say they represent.

Consequently this is what we will get; the community is fed up and is taking steps to highlight their plight as no one, not the MIC or IPF or any one else is helping them. The community feels heavily marginalised, feel no place in the sun for them and they continue to be harrassed.

They feel their votes are not important. No one, especially the government, takes them seriously or pay attention to them. Maybe they should show Samy Vellu the door in Sungei Siput next time around. Make sure he loses badly and send him into retirement. Imagaine, the MIC head losing his hair, sorry, seat. Yess!!! That would be something.

Well, let us see what happens on Sunday, 25/11.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 12:21 pm

If 40,000 people, with many PAS supporters, can do a peaceful rally through KL, then 10,000 non-Malays can do much better. The excuse of ‘peace and stability’ is nonsense.

If there is any violence coming from this, its the police fault and we should not care who started it.

This rally is more important and has more legitimacy than Bersih rally and ‘walk of justice’. In fact its a test of Malaysian especially the Chinese. Will they support it and come out what is a debate they have lot more to gain or will they stay on the sideline and confirm their non-ownership of this country.

This is about the NEP and ‘special right’. 50 years after independence, should the question not be settled once and for all and lose the pretense? No one is expecting things to be fair, just the rules to be clear.

14. #14 by cheng on soo on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 12:23 pm

Be realistic lah! Libra2, Where Brit go such big sum of money to pay you, May be only 4 countries had an annual GDP of more than US$3 trillion, UK excluded.
    But Msia police are real idiot, let Hindraf go on!, even if Hindraf success in claiming US$0.5 trillion, (ie US$500 billion) and bring this money to Msia, then our economy will boom again

15. #15 by HJ Angus on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 12:54 pm

While the Indian community does have a major problem in getting their grievances heard in a system that has marginalised them for years, this protest to the UK appears rather far-fetched.

The amount claimed of RM2m for each Indian in Malaysia will have little chance of success.

The police should grant a permit for peaceful gatherings if the organisers follow some guidelines.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/11/bersih-rallythe-aftermath.html

Maybe Astro and other Tv stations should be asked to ban marches that are held in other parts of the world?

16. #16 by lakshy on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:02 pm

I hope DYMM SPB YDP Agung sends in the RMR to protect the 10,000 Malaysian Citizens who are peacefully gathering to submit the petition to the Britich High Commisioner to pass to the Queen.

It is obvious that this government and its stooges the police are not bothered to protect the rakyat. They only want to show their might.

God bless all who participate in this Peaceful Protest.

17. #17 by smeagroo on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:03 pm

ANd i wonder how fast was the permit gvn to KJ and his monekys when they danced in front of the US Embassy and during the protest on the Myanmar crackdown? Obvisouly the JUnta demo was held in less than 2 weeks and that was the time frame gvn by these baboons to any org that ask for a permit.

18. #18 by pkrisnin on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:27 pm

Well the lawyer for the group says he has the permit, knowing the Polis they most likely just gave it to them without knowing it 
    What the Hindraf is concern off now is Samy Vellu sending some of his men to cause trouble and starting a riot. Well that’s just the word among the Indians.

19. #19 by k1980 on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:32 pm

Pak Dur, where to put your water face now?
    http://tonypua.blogspot.com/2007/11/not-running-fast-enough.html
    Back in 1966, 10 years after achieving independence, we were regarded as a wealthy country. In fact, our GDP per capita was nearly 3 times that of South Korea’s at US$350 versus US$130…However, shortly within 24 years, South Korea’s economy caught up and match ours at US$1900 per capita in 1990….South Korea’s GDP per capita at US$16,000 is now more than triple that of an average Malaysian at US$5,000.

20. #20 by eagleye on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:41 pm

Why Samy Vellu want to do that? He scared Hindraf will register as party and take over MIC if they succeed? Cummon Samy, don’t you see what they see? Money ain’t everything… The satisfaction!!! They ask their rights according what written in the declaration of independance as they claimed. Let them, feedback is later… You satisfy by killing your own race which supported you up to this stage? Or you take this as a revenge to hit those against you? This country is not a fighting stage!!! Is made from people and nature to live, not to leave(migrate)… be fair as BN’s logo… though its side weighed, but still….. for a little bit which left… poor Indians… give them some air to breath…

21. #21 by kjwen on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:50 pm

Maybe UN should send Gambari to Malaysia. What difference between Malaysia and Myanmar?

22. #22 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:50 pm

K1980 says:
    “South Korea’s GDP per capita at US$16,000 is now more than triple that of an average Malaysian at US$5,000.”

What’s perhaps very revealing of “Bolehland” is the comparison of GDP per head in Purchasing Power Parity (USA=100).
    Highest Purchasing Power:

1. Luxembourg 176.3
    4. USA 100
    15. Hong Kong/UK 77.7
    24. Singapore 70.8
    41. S. Korea 51.7
    48. Brunei 47.1
    69. South Africa 28.2
    70. Chile 27.4
    (Source: The Economist, “Pocket World in Figures, 2007)

Where is Malaysia? Not in the top 70 countries in the world!
    Well, at least Malaysia can still afford to offer a citizen a taxi ride to space! A top priority for BN propaganda that malaysia has entered into the space age in a ‘significant’ way! As a taxi passenger??

23. #23 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:51 pm

“Hindraf rally – police stop over-reacting, dismantle roadblocks and issue permit”

Remember, Malaysia is a Police State in truth and in deed!

24. #24 by limkamput on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 1:58 pm

I think this is the time for us to spare some thought for P. Uthayakumar, legal advisor of Hindraf (Hindu Rights Action Force), who was detained under the Sedition Act on Friday morning. How many of us is willing and able to do what he is doing? Is there anyway we can help at least financially for the cause.

25. #25 by tc on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 2:01 pm

Is the Police getting paranoid or what?Starting roadblocks 4 days before the Hindraf rally and causing traffic jams all over the city.Sending thousands of policemen to man these roadblocks instead of putting them to better use in catching criminals.Better still can blame these jams on the organisers of such assemblies.How do they conduct these roadblocks I wonder?Stop all the Indians and/or those wearing orange shirts from entering the city?
    Our neighbours are watching and laughing at us and are asking themselves ‘what is happening to Malaysia?’

26. #26 by limkamput on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 2:11 pm

Is the government working toward an emergency so as to hold back the impending general election? It is a very simple strategy – causing inconvenience and fear – and if the situation gets worse, declare emergency and suspense the election. There are simply too many bad examples around us (Pakistan, Mynmar) for Malaysia to follow.

27. #27 by AsIseeit on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 2:11 pm

Let the people to protest quietly to the British govt. It is a way to defuse the pent-up anger that many Indians are feeling about being marginalised and disadvantaged. If the police does not handle this situation well, I can forsee that even more trouble lies ahead. When a people feel marginalised long enough, they will vent their anger in ways that are not healthy for the country. Putting their leaders in jail might not solve much, as there will be always another person willing to play the hero/leader.

Of course, those who represent the Indian interest in the govt are really worried as it might upset their position. What will they do? One likely option is to see this rally fail. Cause the crowd in the rally to become unruly? Pay off key leaders? Get the leaders to call off this rally? … ???

More importantly, the govt if they are really concerned, they should take positive, concrete and tangible steps to alleviate the poverty of the Indians. Otherwise, it may be another time bomb waiting to explode. I just hope and pray that this will not happen.

28. #28 by lakshy on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 2:23 pm

Pak Lah, as Home Minister, show some brains and guts and allow the rally to proceed peacefully! Use your powers to protect the Rakyat. Let them submit their petition, and leave peacefully. You can end up looking good to the people if you do this.

Anyway, they are submitting their petition to Britain. It’s not to the Agung this time! Wake up man! What can Britain do about it anyway? We are a former colony, and they have no rights to interfere with how you run the country and drive it down the sewage pipes. So let the Indians peacefully submit their petition and leave. Heck you may even get some votes if you turun padang and walk with them!

29. #29 by Shantini.R on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 2:30 pm

Am touched by Mr. Lim Kit Siang’s concern on HINDRAF’S peace rally. I wish all the Opposition leader’s from Pas/DAP/PKR to name few, also join in hand for this rally. Don’t you want the Indian Rakyat to vote for you for the next election? I viewed the Malaysiakini video “Fracas of the Temple”, and an indian women voiced out that she is not going to vote for BN. Don’t you want her vote for the next GE?

30. #30 by optimuz on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 4:12 pm

its strange that this rally seems to have ruffled a heck of a lot of people ‘up there’. I always thought that the Indians were insignificant..hmm..winds of change?

31. #31 by optimuz on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 4:19 pm

sorry, I should have said that ‘ the perception is that the Indians were insiginificant’….

32. #32 by lakalaka69 on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 4:24 pm

Pheew!!!… They have a court order restraining all HINDRAF supporters from gathering at the British High Commision.

33. #33 by sheriff singh on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 5:26 pm

A court restraining order??? In addition to all the roadblocks???

Boy, the gomen is REALLY rattled. Did I hear people chanting “Gandhi, Gandhi, Gandhi?”

34. #34 by LittleBird on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 7:07 pm

Why they just can’t call and interview them under seditous act. They can do it for Raja Petra. Even people accused of corrupting judiciary been invited and interviewed (for almost ten years).

Why the exception?

35. #35 by tzarina on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 7:23 pm

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggghhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!

Just felt like screaming. This is how Indians feel when their rights are taken away by MIC, UMNO and the Malay-Muslim fanatics in Malaysia.

36. #36 by sheriff singh on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 8:12 pm

People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

(V For Vendetta – Alan Moore)

37. #37 by sheriff singh on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 8:26 pm

(DAP + PKR + HINDRAF) + PAS = ???? Hmmmmmmm. Just wondering.

38. #38 by smeagroo on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 9:31 pm

Hey can we like apply for permits and give those goons some work to do come Christmas and New YEar celebration? Afterall, I am thinking of having a gathering in my home or maybe do a picnic or some sort like that. We need a permit right?

IF every gathering like this apply for one permit, we can ensure that our tax money is being put to good use.

39. #39 by AhPek on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 10:07 pm

Samy Valu has always boasted about his ability in delivering the indian votes and it’s true that the indians are the staunchest and most dependable supporter of the BN even more so than the malays or chinese (in terms of percentages).
    Now suddenly this HINDRAF thing comes along with such an appeal in championing the downtrodden i can see Samy is shaking with fear and worry that his supporters would be now looking for this NEW MESSIAH and leaving him in droves.
    In one stroke of a genius this idea of suing the British Government for making them 2nd class citizen in the Malaysian constitution after exploiting them for 150 years as indentured labour is simply brilliant.I never for one moment think that this suit is about compensation as some people here seems to think.Suing the British Government is a way of bringing the plight of marginalised Indians in today’s malaysia to the attention of the world thro the British Court and suing her for 4 trillion pounds is to tell the world emphatically that this marginalisation is unbelievably oppressive and inhuman by the present government of the day!
    And we, the other non malay citizens of Malaysia ought to fully support such a move.The government has never heeded your grouses and in fact it has brushed aside your complaints everytime.Perhaps the learned judge in Britain in his absolute wisdom will reject Hindraf’s case stating that at that time of granting independence to Malaya Britain did not intend the special position of the Malays to be turned into special privilege and in fact at that time although the Reid Commission did not put it down it was a gentleman’s understanding that this special position of the Malays should be reviewed in 15 years time (!972).This would highlight to the world the plight not only of the indians and also all non Malays. In fact the orang asli is the worst (not even bumiputra status) and this is truly their land and not the Malays!

40. #40 by AhPek on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 10:11 pm

Correction-”Perhaps the learned judge in Britain in his infinite wisdom ……………………………………………….”.

41. #41 by sheriff singh on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 10:19 pm

“A spokeswoman for the British High Commission, who declined to be identified citing protocol, said it would be ‘inappropriate’ for the diplomatic office to comment on the lawsuit.

‘We are aware of a planned presentation of a petition. We will receive the petition,’ she said, adding that any security concerns are for the authorities to handle.”

The Straits Times

So if the British High Commission has agreed to accept the petition, why then prevent Hindraf from giving it to them? Thats all they want so whats the issue? It will be over very quickly and everybody then goes home.

42. #42 by straight talk on Friday, 23 November 2007 - 11:59 pm

Look the truth of the matter is that the Government does not want HINDRAF to succeed because the BN govt has taken away the equation of the Indians in Malaysia. The Indians don’t matter. The recent request for an extention for the temple committee to move the images from the site was refused. I believe Samy Vellu would have requested PM to intervene. Giving our PM some credit I believe the PM wld have requested Khir broom Toyol to allow a reprieve since Divali was 8 days away. However that broom buger did not even listen to PM and went ahead to destroy the temple. The government does not care for the non malays although we are born in Malaysia. They rather give citizenship to the Indons and othe Muslims and make them first class citizens of the country. Pah Lah you can get the Police to arrest the leaders of Hindraf…but note you and your policies are to be blamed for this situation….

43. #43 by EARNEST on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 12:02 am

The Government’s sense of insecurity engendered by widespread criticisms of its indecision, incompetency, nonchalance, arrogance, non-transparency, etc, etc had probably triggered its overreaction in the indefensible manhandling of Bersih demonstrators on 10.11.2007, sparking further criticisms by independent international media. Damage to Mr. Clean’s image and to an exorbitantly engineered image of an elevated national civilization (Angkasakan Tamaddun Bangsa) is considerable.

Allowing citizens’ exercise of their rights in participating in a peaceful unarmed gathering by Hindraf on 25.11.2007, guaranteed by the Federal constitution and the Universal Declaration of Human rights, court orders notwithstanding, may contribute positively to the Government’s effort at damage control. After all, the British Embassy is not afraid and is prepared to receive Hindraf’s petition on its off day, 25.11.2007 being a Sunday.

Repeating the manhandling of Bersih demonstrators may be analogous to JUMPING FROM THE FRYING PAN INTO THE FIRE as far as people’s negative perception of Government’s responses — or are they merely reactions ? — to myriad issues is concerned.

Police manpower involved in the horrendous omnipresent and superfluous roadblocks may be put to better use in seriously attempting to reduce rising crime rate in the country. They have clearly overreacted and misplaced their priorities.

44. #44 by raven77 on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 12:10 am

Every protest frustrated by the police in Malaysia….is another nail in the coffin for UMNO …and the MIC

45. #45 by greenacre on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 12:13 am

Much earlier when the police rejected the permit for the gathering , they mentioned that the application for the gathering was not from an organization, so if this is true then against whom did they get the restraining order from the magistrate? No one can restrain an unnamed/non existent party. Perhaps this is possible in bolehland. Who would the magistrate charge for contempt? /

46. #46 by tzarina on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 12:40 am

LKS,
    Will DAP/Keadilan attend as observers (at least)?

If we are not to vote BN, who are we to vote? Give us some credible alternatives. Make the grassroot Indians trust that DAP also have their interests at heart. Go into the estates, show videos of Raimah, Sharmila, Moorthy, Revathi etc on how as non-Muslims, we are second class to Muslims, and how religious extremism is prevalent in the government. Show what has been done to Maika shares. Tell them about the decline of Indian professionals in the government. Show them how lands for low cost homes costing millions can be bought for RM180k by greedy MPs. Paint the picture clear.

If DAP needs donations for this purpose, there are lots of Indians who can afford it will donate. Simply tell us how to do it.

47. #47 by eagleye on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 1:32 am

Now they arreted three Hindraf heads!!! Two were bailed and one(Uthayakumar) in jail…Its getting serious. The Magistrates Court being a subordinate Court has no jurisdiction to issue this Order as it involves a Constitutional matter and a matter concerning Fundamental liberties under Article 10 of the Federal Constitution (Right to assemble peacefully without arms) Wow… Its sarcastic!!! If they so worried of that petition, then it must be something reasonable in it which may cause Britain involve in Malaysia again… So the government cheated all the non malays so far??? Oh man… Police in road blocks are checking indian’s handphone messages… They ask suspicous groups to return back… What will happen on 25 Nov 2007… Because of this over reacting, the Indians MUST submit the petition!!! Let pray it!!! and one more thing. ISA is something to against human rights, we are civilians or ‘lembu diikat tali di hidung?’

48. #48 by eagleye on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 1:42 am

Sorry, its waythamoorthy which remain in custody, not Uthayakumar as I said.

49. #49 by eagleye on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 1:43 am

PETALING JAYA (Nov 23, 2007): Police have arrested three key officials of the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) that is planning to go ahead with a mass rally on Sunday outside the British High Commission in Jalan Ampang although police had rejected their application to do so.

They are expected to be charged under the Sedition Act later today.

The three men are:

> Hindraf adviser, lawyer P. Uthayakumar, who was picked up at his office in Bangsar at about 10.30am

> Hindraf chairman, lawyer P. Waythamoorthy (Uthayakumar’s brother), who was arrested at the Shah Alam toll plaza about 3pm

> V. Ganapathy Rao, who was arrested when he went to the Selangor police headquarters to see Uthayakumar about 2.45pm

Lawyer N. Surendran went to Selangor IPK in Shah Alam about 2.45pm when Uthayakumar was taken there by a police team. He was accompanied by Ganapathy Rao and Parti Keadilan Rakyat supreme council member S. Manickavasagam.

However, when Surendran came out 20 minutes later, he told reporters that Ganapathy Rao had been arrested as well.

He said he was informed by a police officer with the rank of Assistant Commissioner that the three men would be charged in Klang later today.

Outside the IPK grounds, about 200 people had gathered and when the police car carrying Uthayakumar drove past the gate, shouts rang out and some rapped on the car window. Several empty mineral water bottles were also thrown at the car.

On Monday, a police team had raided Uthayakumar’s law office with a warrant, in search of a publication that he had authored. They found nothing there.

Simultaneously, another team searched Waythamoorthy’s office in Seremban, Negri Sembilan, where some 2,500 booklets, pertaining to a suit that Hindraf had taken against the British government, were seized.

Hindraf planned Sunday’s gathering to hand a memorandum addressed to the Queen of England to support a class-action suit against Her Majesty’s government for bringing Indians to Malaysia as indentured labourers and exploiting them for 150 years. It is seeking RM27.7 trillion in compensation. According to Manickavasagam, the rally will go on despite the arrests.

Yesterday, for the second day running, police security checks at a number of roads into Kuala Lumpur caused traffic congestion.

Earlier today, lawyer M. Manoharan told theSun police had served him, Uthayakumar and several other Hindraf officials a restraining order to stop them from participating in the rally.

Police got the order from the Kuala Lumpur magistrate’s court, which also restrains all Hindraf supporters from participating in the gathering, which police said could disrupt public order.

picked from: http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/content/view/12487/2/

50. #50 by lakshy on Saturday, 24 November 2007 - 1:59 am

Why use the sedition act to arrest them? What is the government scared of? I think HINDRAF has just won a major hurdle by BN’s over-reaction.

Let the Indian’s march as in the Indian Salt March. Non-violent protest. And let the news channels of the world broadcast the atrocities of the BN govt. Perhaps after Pakistan, Malaysia will be the next to get booted out of the Commonwealth!

DYMM SPB YDP Agung, please send your troops to protect your loyal rakyat from these atrocities planned by the BN. They are all your subjects, and you have a duty to protect them! With great position and power comes Great responsibility. You have to rise to this challenge!

1 2 3

Comments are closed.