Who lied? Was it the Information Minister, Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin or the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi himself?
On Friday, 6th October 2007, speaking at the Gerakan National Delegates Conference, Abdullah called on “leaders, especially those in Barisan Nasional” to tell him the truth and to stop “be in a state of denial”.
He exhorted:
“Tell the truth, even if it is painful.
“The prime minister must have the courage and readiness to listen even to the worst stories, whether it is related to the country or himself. Never allow yourself to sink in a hole of denial and feel that everything is alright.”
Four days later, on Wednesday 10th October 2007, Information Minister Datuk Seri Zainuddin Maidin summoned top media editors to a special briefing and in the name of the Prime Minister, laid down the law that
- Abdullah’s pledge to “hear the truth” does not apply to the media as it was restricted to Barisan Nasional leaders and government officials; and
- the Prime Minister’s repeated pledges to “listen to the truth” did not mean that the media have the green light to “practice unrestrained reporting”.
It is a reflection of the deplorable state of press freedom in Malaysia that no mainstream media had protested or written about Zainuddin’s violation of a free press, especially under a Prime Minister who had pledged greater openness, accountability, transparency, integrity and good governance!
In fact, Zainuddin’s summoning of the top media editors to direct them what to print and what not to print would be completely unthinkable in the past 50 years of the nation’s development, as no Information Minister would have such temerity to regard himself as the Comptroller-General of the Press.
One of two things would have happened if any former Information Minister had done what Zainuddin did last Wednesday:
- A public exposure or protest appearing in one or more of the mainstream press; and/or
- Demand for confirmation that Zainuddin was really speaking in the name of the Prime Minister and the further demand by the top media editors for a meeting with the Prime Minister himself.
But neither one of these two things happened — and if not for Malaysiakini’s expose in last Friday’s report, the Malaysian public would have continued to be kept in the dark about the spreading tentacles to stifle press freedom in the Abdullah administration.
Almost four years ago, when he first became Prime Minister, Abdullah had made his first call to be told the truth
Speaking at the opening of the MIC branch chairmen convention on November 9, 2003, Abdullah told Barisan Nasional component party leaders and members to give him correct information to enable the government to respond appropriately to the people’s needs.
He said:
“Tell me the truth.
“Sometimes people do not provide truthful information for fear that I will cry, worry or lose sleep over it. But as a leader, I have to know the truth.
“If we (leaders) are not prepared to hear the truth, then we should not become leaders.”
Had Abdullah been telling a lie in the past four years or was it Zainuddin who had lied.
Malaysians are entitled to an immediate answer from the Prime Minister.

#1 by Jimm on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 10:32 am
We all have to have the basic understanding about economic and the currency trading impact activites.
Leaders of this country are mainly exposed to the huge currencies trading activities which can turn oneself into a immediate millionaires overnight.
Do you still that there are good politicians around in this country ?
Have they really visited their own constitution that elected them as the representative and attend to the community needs without getting publicities or ‘covering up issue’ ?
The amount of time they spend on getting their own ‘business’ right have taken up most of their driving attention, this much is true.
Do you know that MPs are actually ‘office boys’ between the law enforcer department and thugs world ? Why ?
Because the thugs boss have ‘granted’ the MP to be elected and take care of their business interest in the constitution.
#2 by AShiokNaut on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:01 pm
Salam.
In the name of GOD, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.
Aaahhh… it’s good to be back (home again). My tribute to the late JD for his singing talents. Don’t get me wrong, I love to listen to dikir barat just as much as attending a concert at the Malaysian Philharmonic or Royal Albert Hall or Esplanade Concert Hall
Anyway, I thought I’ll be back earlier as promised, but.. as usual project delay. Now as the glamour, euphoria (and yes.. the $$$) of having the biggest passenger carrier in the world came and went, amidst ‘managed’ concerns of viability, more risks (from wind shear? etc?). I thought I would revisit and see how fellow bloggers are doing (or slugging). I am not disappointed to say the least. The usual regular bloggers, a few new ones? like mua who – outta sight outta mind – was unable to log in…..mmmmm…
Some ‘constructive’ ones and then there are the not ’shiok’ ones.
Generally acceptable – as anyone can express his or her opinions (at least freely here). Names calling, making statements without basis (evidences?) and expletives are definitely immature and uncalled for – tsk..tsk…very much like in your malaysian parliment sittings (no malice meant here as this is what I gathered from your local dailies. Of course that is if they are ‘reporting’ the whole truth and nothing but the truth).
Just to clarify the confusion here:
There are no (horrifying thoughts) HDBs along orchard road (mainly shopping centers and hotels). Though there are pricey (relatively speaking here)private and serviced apartments behind Orchard Road like around Cairhill area (you know where that is, don’t you? since the country is just a small red dot and many used to ’shop’ around there). HDBs exist at the end of Orchard Road like around Rochor.
No, HDBs don’t cost $800K even resale units – maybe this one has ‘exceptional’ renovations, ‘aggressive’ real estate agents etc. And there are rules to who are eligible/can buy HDBs.
Resale Pte Apartments (Condos, to your side) can start from $500K minimum depending on locations etc. New ones (approx. 1,200sqft) now are going for around $700K minimum depending also on location, developers etc. Reacheable by the average joes and janes with good incomes and resources like savings?, CPFs etc.
Property prices have gone ‘quite’ high compared to few years back. It will continue as long as there is demand.
Yes, land is scarce and reclaiming land is progressing carefully and what with the recent earthshaking incidents.
Hope this helps to put certain issues to rest and let’s move on.
I will ‘behave’ for the time being as I need to focus on my next project.
To all bloggers on this site… keep up the good blogging.
Salam.
#3 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:11 pm
“With due respect too, I didn’t ask you to rebuked your comrades in the open, right? My question to you is, did you ever to rebuked your comrades in this blog, right? You are using the name RealWorld in this blog, will your comrades find out about you and thus you are committing political suicide, if you rebuked them in this blog?” – Raitman
Did you rebuked Godfather when he insulted Islam Hadhari here? Did you rebuked bystander for his racist remarks about the malays?
You are using the name, Raitman in this blog, will your comrades in the DAP or Opposition find out if you rebuked them openly?
#4 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:16 pm
“Do you ever REBUKED and EXPOSED your comrades who are corrupted, evil, racist, keris-waving and policies that are detrimental towards development in this blog BY GIVING A CLEAR-CUT EXAMPLES SINCE YOU DID NOT CONDONED ALL THESE?†– Raitman
When Godfather uttered his insults on Islam Hadhari here, did you rebuked him by MAKING IT CLEAR THAT YOU DO NOT CONDONE insults hurled at another religion?
When bystander issued his racist comments about the malays being stupid etc, did you rebuked him by MAKING IT CLEAR THAT YOU DO NOT CONDONE racist remarks?
Can see now, CLEARLY OR NOT?? or you still have your goggles on?
#5 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:18 pm
“You are VERY FEARFUL of your political master, isn’t it?” – Raitman
You are now in the business of making assumptions?
Anyway, I shall leave you to your assumptions. Be creative ok. :)
#6 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 12:31 pm
cheeyong, my brother, since you said that you have never met failure before in your life, I believe you are one extraordinary human being. Even I believe LKY have had some failures before in his career, but you, you are special … tak pernah gagal punya. So, since you opened that mouth of yours and boasted you tak pernah gagal, put on the table some of your successes la. Jangan cakap cakap kosong aje, bro.
You know, I have asked you numerous times to furnish me with details on your claim that it is possible to purchase a 3 bedroom HDB flat for SD400K. Till today, kosong.
You also claimed that in Orchard area got HDB flat/s, I asked you for the details, again kosong aje.
And if you think 1668 sq ft is a penthouse, I cant really help you. All I can say is that, the said property is a HDB flat and it was listed on the web. You will find ‘HDB’ on that property location. Am sure you can read, oppps you are wearing goggles thus the narrow vision and mindedness.
You say that LKY,Hsien Loong and Ho Ching are smart. I asked you for the facts, again kosong aje.
Asyik kosong aje ni, apa la lu.
Unlike you, I wont go around calling you ‘bodoh’ because I respect your parents and I dont resort to petty insults. If you think by going around calling people ‘bodoh’ makes you pandai, I am happy for you.
Cheers!
:)
RealWorld, you’re such a shame to fellow Msians lah. U lie just like your puak UMNO. U shift the blame to something else, just like your puak UMNO. This kind of mentality is so so low…….
However I do agree with you on towards a moderation strategy. For that I agree with you and salute you.
#7 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:04 pm
I just saying you bodoh only. Not anyone associated with you hehehe.
Why should I give you the info when you dont even know how to differentiate between a HDB and a private property?Hahahaha bazir masa aje.
U cemburu kah?, without NEP so many non bumis are succeding elsewhere you still need to rely on sedekah? My advise to you is that you should support the abolishment of NEP. Replaced it with a program where all Msians regardless of skin colour gets help from the govt.
At least you are half way there in repenting. Bertaubat lah RealWorld. Its still not too late for you to help in changing Malaysia. Dont be another Nazri or Ali Rustam. You need create your own style dude.
#8 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:15 pm
cheeyong, my brother, ok la, if you dont want to furnish the facts to back up your claims, I wont push you any further. No need la to prolong the pain further. :)
Whatever la, brother, you can call me bodoh. If that makes you happy and you think by doing so, makes you pandai, I am also happy for you. In return, I wont call you bodoh cos’ I believe your parents put in a lot of effort to put your through college and all. And I am sure your mommy and daddy are all proud with little cheeyong, who goes round calling me bodoh. Am sure they can see their investment in you finally paying dividends.
Cheers! :)
#9 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:20 pm
cheeyong: I never said I have failed in life
cheeyong (later): I have never failed in life
cheeyong (later … again): If I fail in life, I wouldnt be here talking 2u now
Sorry. I cannot stop laughing at this boy.
With comedians such as this boy in the Opposition, I am indeed looking forward to the next GE.
#10 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:21 pm
Yes my parents worked hard to put me through. Without them, wont be here today. I need to study STPM because we dont have $ to put me through local colleges. Plus I have another sister. So might as well save the $$ for her then for her studies.
Non bumis like me do not have the luxury of NEP. Straight As doesnt guarantee the course of our choice. Needless to say scholarship from JPA.
We worked hard. Not only me but other non bumis as well. We work hard but we get spit on the face with NEP. And people like you act like “tuan” in this country, bragging about it.
Hope one day in another lifetime, you be the minoriti tertindas. You’ll know how we feel.
#11 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:37 pm
“Hope one day in another lifetime, you be the minoriti tertindas. You’ll know how we feel.” – cheeyong
… and by calling me bodoh you feel you have achieved some sort of redemption?
#12 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 1:49 pm
Didnt know the word bodoh has scarred you for life :) I replaced with lemah then….hahahaha….joking
#13 by Godfather on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:00 pm
Hey, I did insult Islam Hadhari – not the religion, but the self-proclaimed Imam of Islam Hadhari who said funny things like “We are not in the business of cheating the people.” Things like “I am fair, I will always be fair.” Things like “We must investigate for the sake of the rakyat.”
I thought the Imam was saying all the right things, but then he has been proven to be a liar and a cheat because he had no intention of doing what he said (cakap tak serupa bikin) and was merely trying to buy time for crooks and cheats.
Is this the right attitude or desire (niat) of an Imam of Islam Hadhari ? Is this the core teaching of Islam Hadhari? Ada had, ada hari ?
RealWorld dude, can you help your Sleepy master answer some of these questions intelligently ? Get out of your tempurung, take off your sunglasses, and stop singing “I can see clearly now, the rain is gone…” Put your little brain in overdrive and THINK.
#14 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:09 pm
“Didnt know the word bodoh has scarred you for life I replaced with lemah then….” – cheeyong
Dude, whatever suit your fancy, man. You can call me whatever la from bodoh to lemah, if that makes you pandai or kuat, I am happy for you. And am sure your mommy and daddy are all proud with cheeyong, their boy calling me names. All their sweat to put you through college is finally bearing fruits.
#15 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:29 pm
For you only brother, a special deal 1 time offer, you’re insan yg teramat mulia yg paling bijak….hahahaha…..
Apa macam……..bagus? Angkat ego hang naik langit…….
#16 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:45 pm
My brother, after all our debates I come to think that you honestly want to see this Malaysia of ours to be great.
We should have more of you in BN.
#17 by Raitman on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:49 pm
“Do you ever REBUKED and EXPOSED your comrades who are corrupted, evil, racist, keris-waving and policies that are detrimental towards development in this blog BY GIVING A CLEAR-CUT EXAMPLES SINCE YOU DID NOT CONDONED ALL THESE?â€Â
“When Godfather uttered his insults on Islam Hadhari here, did you rebuked him by MAKING IT CLEAR THAT YOU DO NOT CONDONE insults hurled at another religion?
When bystander issued his racist comments about the malays being stupid etc, did you rebuked him by MAKING IT CLEAR THAT YOU DO NOT CONDONE racist remarks?”
Tell you what, you do it first, then next me, ok. How’s that?
After all, you said “……you are very new in Malaysian politics.”
I have much to learn from you.
After you, sir. :)
#18 by St0rmFury on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:52 pm
We should have more of you in BN. – RealWorld
This I agree with you. In fact, we should replace most of the clowns in BN with people like cheeyong.
#19 by Raitman on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:52 pm
“…….you still have your goggles on?”
“You are now in the business of making assumptions?”
AREN’T YOU NOT?
Anyway, I shall leave you to your assumptions TOO. Be MORE creative ok. :)
#20 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 2:59 pm
“Anyway, I shall leave you to your assumptions TOO. Be MORE creative ok.” – Raitman
Dude, would love to stay and chat but gotta rush for a golf game with 2 MCA and 1 PPP buddies.
Cheerio! :)
#21 by Raitman on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 3:01 pm
See you around, buddy :)
#22 by AShiokNaut on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 3:15 pm
Amusing development… see you around, rw
#23 by cheeyong on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 3:26 pm
Yes RealWorld, if I’m in BN……..and if I call the shots, you can see NEP goes out the window and replaced with either DAP bajet or PKR Agenda Ekonomi Baru
But thats a dream only…..
#24 by RealWorld on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 9:20 pm
“if I’m in BN……..and if I call the shots, you can see NEP goes out the window and replaced with either DAP bajet or PKR Agenda Ekonomi Baru” – cheeyong
Would you put Zakaria Deros or Abang Zak (for some of us – I like his sunglasses) in charge of whatever budget you be implementing??
Ok on a more serious note, would you bring in family members? And would you give a helping hand to a ‘deserving uncle of yours’ a business license to help him out a little??
I say this because I have seen this happened. Once one ascend the throne of power, you just can never tell. Power and money, they are the roots of all evil.
#25 by cheeyong on Saturday, 20 October 2007 - 7:27 am
Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely- Lord Acton.
Lets say if I’m in power, I’ll not be well liked by my own family but loved by the people.
#26 by St0rmFury on Saturday, 20 October 2007 - 9:51 am
Better to start afresh than continue the rot. By the way, power and money are not the roots of evil. If you want to get technical, it is the love of power and money which is the root of all evil.
#27 by AShiokNaut on Saturday, 20 October 2007 - 11:34 am
hahaha…. rw, cheeyong, St0rmFury, you are all(so) right. same same over here.
#28 by Godfather on Saturday, 20 October 2007 - 3:14 pm
Abang Zak, the Towering Malay and Hero of UMNO. Hero of RealWorld.
CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG
#29 by mateRealWorld on Monday, 22 October 2007 - 8:37 pm
Hey ya RealWorld, long time no see.
I’m not rich, and I’ve only been to Singapore twice. But I can safely vouch for Chee Yong that the flats there aren’t SGD800k. One relative of mine bought one in Upper Serangoon, about 700 – 800 square feet, three tiny bedrooms, two bathrooms, for SGD250k plus only, nowhere near half of SGD800k. I don’t know if it’s HDB though, but I think it is.
I’m worried that you might have been taken for many rides, in thinking that a HDB flat can cost SGD800k. You may be telling the truth, there may be some with this price, but I believe you can definitely find others with less than half the price. Be a wise consumer! An honourable man as rich as you surely knows this inside out, upside down.
1.6k square-foot in Singapore IS INDEED a penthouse to me!
Yes, you’ve made it quite clear that you’re rich, but I’d still like to admonish you to spend wisely. In Malaysia, you don’t know what the corrupt government will do. You may be rich today, and robbed clean tomorrow. Better save some for rainy days, ya!
Selamat Hari Raya!