Congrats to Sheikh Muszaphar as Malaysia’s first angkasawan

Congratulations to Dr. Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor as Malaysia’s first angkasawan, orbiting in space to the International Space station — 360 km above the earth.

It is a feat Malaysians can feel proud.

We must however ensure that Malaysia can follow up and take a quantum leap in advances in science and technology and not be like Saudi Arabia, which sent the first Muslim into space more than two decades ago in 1985 in the United States space shuttle Discovery but the desert state has little to show in terms of building a science and technology research and development sector beyond oil and petrochemicals.

The government must also learn from the mistakes of the programme to send the first Malaysian to space, as it had been mired in controversy at almost every stage, from its genesis, conception and selection as well as its transparency and accountability.

The lift-off programme last night would have been more fitting the nation’s 50th Merdeka anniversary if an inter-faith prayer session had been held to give blessings for a successful launch as Malaysia is sending a Malaysian who is a Muslim into space and not a Muslim who happen to be a Malaysian.

1. #1 by megaman on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 10:38 am

yb lim,

Honestly, what do you think?

Do we have the necessary fundamentals and infrastructures in place on our own Malaysian soil to follow up and take advantage of such venture ?

2. #2 by pwcheng on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 10:44 am

Dear megaman, it is not the fundamentals and infrastructures that is important but the will of the Government which is mired with absolute corruption that nothing will move unless money change hands. The end results, I think most of us has the answer.

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 10:57 am

OK, it’s a small step for Dr. Muszaphar. No, I think it’s a wonderful big leap for Dr. Muszaphar personally. It’s a experience of a lifetime.

But for the nation, no – it’s not even a small step. What we know now is that this was a paid trip. How does that make Malaysia great’? And, by golly, imagine all the media hype as if we have produced our first Nobel prize winner! Come off it, fellas. That song on TV – something about ‘Malaysia Gemilang’ was totally out of place. It makes me squirm to think that a couple of Malaysians who received training over a few months to be cosmonauts because the nation exchanged cash for some weaponry for seats on the space shuttle can even make Malaysia great (in whose eyes?) simply makes me choke.

But that’s Malaysia a’la Pak Lah, a’la Najib and thanks to Dr M, the progenitor of the most ludicrous forms of Malaysian greatness. I personally do not think sending one person on a, and I repeat, paid ticket, can ever come close to some prognostication of scientific advancement in space programs. Can we have the next joke, please?

BTW, Najib has not yet responded to so many doubts strewn about all those military hardware purchases in the Min of Defence during his watch. The answers are floating somewhere in space.

4. #4 by PM Ng on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:04 am

Dear YB Lim,
    Did you find yourself taller by few inches this morning. I doubt i am taller now. This is just another form of space tourism and the fulfilment of a grandiose idea of OUR GOVERNMENT.
    What scientific advancement can we gain by sending a TOURIST to the space? It is just a waste of tax payer money!

5. #5 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:11 am

sorry to say, there is nothing proud about having a guy take a multi million dollar taxi ride into space. just about anyone who is fit enough can go up there.
    the question is why is he up there. what is he doing up there? what benefits can he bring back to the country other than stories of his experience?
    if you are not aware of this, he is merely labeled as a space participant. that is right PARTICIPANT. NOT ASTRONAUT. In malay, this means that he is a PESERTA ANGKASA and NOT an ANGKASAWAN. Please do visit NASA website to verify this. All the other crews are engineers or commanders who have a role while this PESERTA does not.
    so much to be proud of here…

6. #6 by madmix on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:15 am

A feat to be proud of? Building the launch vehicle is a feat. putting together the space station is a feat. But getting a ride with a commander and a flight engineer (I assume the two sort of “pilot” the capsule, guide it and dock it to the space station), is a feat?
    To truly enter the space age, you have to be able to at least build a satellite launch vehicle and successfully put an object into space.
    I would be truly proud if Malaysia can launch a small satellite using her own resources.

7. #7 by digard on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:15 am

YB Lim,

Truly, you can’t alienate the electorate in these days of pre-GE.
    In all honesty, one might ask what kind of achievement this is. There is not a single screw in this space ship, that resulted from Malaysian space technology. The invitation was not handed out to our astronaut for his scientific achievements. It was given only as freebie after spending 3.5 billion in the shop. Contrary to earlier situations, when scientists could submit their relevant research in need of zero gravitation to be executed. This wasn’t the case in our case. It was rather the scientific community to come up with something – anything – that our space model could perform in front of the global cameras. Instead of the earlier and more silly proposals of tarik and canai without gravity.

Even my well-meaning Malaysian friends try to convince me that it isn’t space tourism. I hope they can recover from this crack within a few weeks after the touch-down of the mission.

8. #8 by sotong on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:20 am

With politicians claiming certain races are marginalised, the public and taxpayers money from this programme could be better used to assist those people.

Frankly, what could the country and her ordinary people benefit from this??? May be, except a very short and temporary ” feel good” feeling with tens of millions wasted unnecessarily.

A clear case of gross misguided priority!

9. #9 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:32 am

What is there to be proud of?

He is mere passenger in a taxi shuttle and guess who paid for the fare? We, the public of course. Not cheap though- 90 million hard earned ringgit!!!!!

I do not understand why people say they are proud of this so -called “achievement”. Anyone can do it as long as he is physically fit.

10. #10 by Jong on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:36 am

pwcheng, you said it all!

Just imagine how many poor Malaysians will benefit if that amount of money is put to good use?

This BN Government has lost its focus! 50 years is too long, they have overstayed, time the GO!

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:37 am

STAR HEADLINE:

“We have lift-off!
    In less than nine minutes, Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor created history by becoming the first Malaysian in space.”

Sounds a bit like a space tourist program. Space tourism may become a reality within this decade. Already a couple of others have flown this way – what’s that billionaire’s name who is a friend of Martha Stewart – who paid for a similar seat on a Soyuz too recently.

The difference is that Malaysia comes out in full force to send off its first space tourist; its PM and DPM included. Well, Martha Stewart was the only one who sent off her rich boyfriend to space. I think he did some experiments in space too. They allow you to do that as long as you don’t get in their way; and you can have your other antics too, like phoning your PM and DPM. After you paid for it all. Same thing you can make a phone call on any train or bus ride. Nobody’s going to stop you. It’s your phone and you paid for your space.

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:37 am

I think congrats are in order and the article is quite balanced.
    So like the heart transplant case, all Malaysians can share some of the nation’s successes.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2007/10/skys-limit-but-lets-not-forget-more.html

13. #13 by k1980 on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:39 am

The other day a schoolgirl hanged herself because her parents (working as security guards) are too poor to buy her a new set of school uniform. But the Dollah administration pretends not to know about this and spent RM95 million to buy a taxi ride to space. Before that, it raised the price of petrol by 30sen a litre, claiming that it could no longer afford the cost of subsidizing it. What a hypocrite….

14. #14 by voice on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:40 am

I loved astronomy since I was a kid, and I see nothing great about it, by just spending money and follow the crew to space, we are not advancing, and just another “feel-good” moment, why don’t we use the money to build a better astronomical research facility in the country? so it can benefit more people, but I’m sure even if it’s built, it will just be a silent one and don’t hope for any break-through in science, as it just involve a few people who are not really fitted for the mission.

15. #15 by assamlaksa on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:41 am

I say he just “tumpang”, afterall, the Government said we don’t need to pay for the trip (do you believe them?). Proton can’t even built quality cars. Nobody manage to get the big TV screen meant for the live telecast at Dataran Merdeka to work. Such simple feat is beyond capabilities of Malaysian, building a rocket and space station will remain a dream. Malaysians are not ready for space exploration, so I think the timing is not ripe. But as long as the Government policies continue to bias toward certain race and religion, not based on meritocracy, our progress will be very, very slow.

Regarding the “we don’t need to pay them” I think the scenario is like this (I guess only):
    1. Russian Government had committed to sent someone to space and had budgeted the fund for it;
    2. Russian need to look for a new cosmonaut;
    3. Malaysia comes into the picture buying Russian jet-fighters;
    4. Russian said to M’sia: Since we need one more cosmonaut, why not Msian sent one angkasawan?
    5. Since the cosmonaut training fund had already been budgeted by the Russian, they don’t need to ask Msia to pay them cash, afterall, the Russian had profited from the sale of jet-fighters.

16. #16 by Jimm on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:47 am

There are always more to everything that we were being told in this country.
    The powerful ones can always fancies their way in putting event of the day with intention of profitting from it.
    As Malaysian, I do feel proud over the historical moments.
    Somehow, we all have that samll little thinking that we are paying for that through our nose and there are a shortchanged feelings.
    Russian are heavily promoting their space travelling services to the world and Malaysia happens to be another client that got interested by the offered package.
    I wasn’t that much of fancing to send our fellow countryman as such a cost at this point, however, things can cost more later too.
    Another thing that bothers me from reading today’s news is his parents actually coming from quite a influenced background and PM’s statement on the poor secondth place guy will be eligible for the next program, should the Russian offer again to Malaysia.
    Does these means there are some form of arrangement ‘fixed’?
    Malaysia, everything is ‘fixed’ as monies rules.
    The Rakyat funds are always meant for development and rightfully can be use by ruling government as long as it’s in name sake of development.
    Anyway, that guy is up there now to write his own little BIG history. Let us wish him of best of health and enjoy this trip which could be his only one.
    As for science learning, Malaysia have jotted their presence into space in 2007.

17. #17 by boh-liao on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:51 am

It’s an achievement but not a fantastic one, because these days if one has money, one can buy a place as a space traveler. An Iran-born lady had become the first Muslim woman space traveler a while ago.

This act of sending the first Malaysian to space is unfortunately mired in allegation of corruption, associated with purchases of our defence hardware. Of course, it will be manipulated by Umno to boast the ‘Malaysia boleh’ spirit and to blanket all the ills that are happening in Malaysia. Already Najib is feeling taller and hopes that people will forget the ongoing silly court case. Nazri will certainly hope that people just focus on the thing up there and forget all the rubbish that came out from his mouth. Malaysians are easily distracted and fed drunk on achievements irrelevant to the core of national integrity and accountable governance.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:53 am

More fun to visit and read
    http://www.todayonline.com/articles/216050.asp
    MM Lee KY: S’pore ‘happy’ to go back to M’sia if …

19. #19 by voice on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:57 am

Yes, congratulations to him, but sorry, I didn’t feel proud at all

20. #20 by k1980 on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:59 am

How did the Malaysian angkasawan programme ballooned to RM90 Million (figure from Bernama ) when the current Space ticket fare is only RM70.77 Million in Nov 2006?
    The difference of almost RM20 Million has made some suckers very rich
    http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/10/more-pics-video-inflated-rm90m-malaysia.html

21. #21 by APKINGS on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:01 pm

Why PROUD?
    Tumpang to Space is not something NORMAL Human cannot do right?

I hope this trip is not only ROTI CANAI and TEH TARIK research. Anyway I don’t SEE any oppurtunities that Malaysian can get through this Program. What can benefits US directly?

BYE BYE DR, you are the lucky boy on EARTH. Free trip to the moon and paid by US.

22. #22 by PM Ng on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:03 pm

This is just another example of Malaysia boleh! What can we gain by sending a tourist to space? Probably he might be able to tell our humble Malaysian that the Earth is ROUND!

23. #23 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:08 pm

If Russia, US or China urgently need an astronaut, cosmonaut or taikonaut, will they telephone Sheik to come and pilot one of their spacecrafts?

The poor chap was doing nothing in the space capsule. In fact he was so frightened maybe even peed in his suit if you watched the live telecast. Most of the time the cameras were focused on the real astronaut and cosmonaut from Russia and the US. Our angkasawan was just a mere passenger doing nothing.

Well of course we can safely say he’s the first Malaysian in space no doubt about that but thats about all. The government indirectly paid for the trip when we bought the Russian jets. The Sheik’s trip was a one-off thing and I doubt his they will ever call him again to fly on another mission when we will contribute nothing.

The US does not do this sort of thing. No nonsense about their space programme, no tourist on their space crafts. Only the Russians will accomodate tourists to gain good PR.

The government will no doubt make full mileage of this “defining moment” at the next general elections due shortly. Bet on it. And some easily fooled folks will blindly be bought over and vote them in again. Talk to the people on the streets and they will all say they are proud of this “achievement”.

Being a paying passenger is an “achievement”.

Has Putin called Pak Lah to congratulate him about this “achievement”?

Will we be buying another 18 Sukhois for billions again to send the other fellow to outer space?

Do we really need the Sukhois or should we be buying something better and more appropriate for our needs?

And shouldn’t we be spending our money wisely to perhaps alleviate the poverty and backwardness of our people especially in Sabah and Sarawak?

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:10 pm

Hmmm. maybe he will be a candidate in the GE?

25. #25 by familyhead on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:19 pm

When my little girl graduated from kindy, I was a proud father.
    Time flies and now she is offer a place for PhD and it cost AUD 130,000 for 3 / 4 years.

Some people may be busting with pride but I agree with most of the above.

With US 30 million, we could have 150 scientists in 3/4 years from Australia. This will match the QB3 program from MBC/USM. A*STAR, Singapore will probably reaped more scientist with promised of PR status from that kind of investment.

Let the facts speak for itself!

26. #26 by pablopabla on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:27 pm

Well, I extended my congratulations to Dr. Sheikh. We should not make any humiliating remarks at him. If at all we are unhappy with the way the programme was planned and spent, our grouses should be directed at the policy makers.

27. #27 by michgyver on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:31 pm

Dear YB,

There is nothing to be proud. The astronaut programme has cost the citizen of RM 90 million. If each citizen were given RM 1million each, there still have surplus of RM 63 million which can build schools, research centres and other facilities that beneficial to the citizen.

with advance technologies and technical know-how available in world, you can even do research at zero gravity while on earth surface and which i believe will not even cost us RM90 million.

28. #28 by sec on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:34 pm

The Government said that we do not spend a sen to send our Perserta Angkaswan because we have bought Aircrafts …. from Russia. In this world there is Nothing Free.

We always say :” Malaysia Boleh”, now we can say ” Malaysia Ada Duit” – banyak duit.

29. #29 by michgyver on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:38 pm

Because of “Maruah”, we have forked out RM 90 millions

30. #30 by Anti_NEP on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:42 pm

What a waste of money. Imaging how many schools can be built with 20 million USD. Of course this bodohland idiots in the government always maintain that it is paid by the Russian. Who on earth will give you free lunch? A##hole! You can’t even manage proton properly and you want to venture into space!!! For one, i am never feel proud of this.

31. #31 by cheeyong on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:44 pm

Whats the big deal with somebody go to space? Even N Sync member Lance Bass also is a certified NASA cosmonaut. Plus there were other 2 previous space tourists, American Dennis Tito and South African Mark Shuttleworth.

So whats there to digembar gemburkan? I dont see any benefits it can bring to people of Msia. Roket oso bukan kita bina.

32. #32 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 12:54 pm

Nothing to be proud of. It’s just sheer waste of tax payers’ money to buy a shallow pride.

Unless the spacecraft is built by us, else forever he is just a space tourist. Accept this fact.

33. #33 by aspirex on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 1:43 pm

I was amazed at Jamaluddin Jarjis’ command of English, tripping over even the basics of grammar. Very poor delivery. I can’t recall all the mistakes but one that stood out was: “Why do Malaysia send an astronaut to space?”

Another boo-boo went something like this: “We are sending and astronaut and we are not sending an astronaut”.
    I think what he was trying to explain was that we were not MERELY sending a man into space but also with him, rides the hopes and dreams of a nation, or something like that, I’d venture to guess.

There were a number of other blunders as well. Minister of Science & Technology indeed. Embarrassing, to say the least.

34. #34 by carboncopy on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 1:45 pm

To produce one or two rare brilliant minds who contributes to advancement of space technology is not impossible.

But to have a whole sector of R&D in space technology here in our own backyard. That is something else. It requires REAL world class education system.

What all this current hoo-ha about angkasawan cum space tourist can be describe in the following saying :

Lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama.

35. #35 by k1980 on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 1:50 pm

Ever wonder why there are no Malaysian Nobel laureates throughout the years? The simple truth is that unlike the Russians, the Nobel Prize Selection Committee in Oslo can never be bought over with money to grant a prize to a Malaysian. May Allah the Merciful make Dr Sheikh Mus win the Nobel Prize for Physics in 2008 for demonstrating mankind’s ability to make teh tarik in space

36. #36 by malaysia born on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 1:58 pm

This is a sick joke hatch by the BN government to hoodwink the kampong people. Be prepare for more footages and pictures of this mission during the coming months and during the next election campaigning period.

Ask ourselves these questions:

1) Was there ever a space program in malaysia?
    2) What exactly is this space travel participant going to do up there?

If not for the purchase of military hardware from russia, he won’t be up there and , of course, a few cronies won’t be laughing their way to the bank….and who knows, perhaps an innocent mongolian lady need not have had to die.

Getting all excited to watch the blast off on tv? Give me sponge-bob anytime.

37. #37 by straight talk on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 2:02 pm

Congrats Sheikh…how is space…how many billion did we pay the Russians to get this guy to make teh tarikh in space.. Well for the next 10 days is the distraction from the CORRUPTION IN THE JUDICIARY… ALL THE PAPERS WILL MAKE THIS NEWS FROM THE FRONT TO THE BACK OF THE PAPERS…he comes back gets a Dato title, some land… & life goes on..
    The 2 non malays who scaled Mount Everest was given crumbs.. and one was even converted so that it will go on record that a muslim was the first to scale Mount Everest… After that Najib had ensured that any attempt to get any records will only confined to Malays….ala Bodowi’s Towering Malays….

38. #38 by kanthanboy on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 2:10 pm

Malaysia have proven to the world that its advancement in science and technology is among the top 5 countries in the world. Who say our standard of university education is behind South Korea, Singapore, Hong Kong and Taiwan? Don’t be surprised in a few years time Malaysia will be exporting its Proton Spacecrafts to the rest of the world. PM Badawi should be given the title “Father of Science and Technology” in recognition of the country advancement in that field under his leadership.

39. #39 by michgyver on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 2:30 pm

Dear Yb,

I will proud when each of citizens were given Rm 1 millions and UN declared our country are free from poverty.

40. #40 by smeagroo on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 2:51 pm

The Dr will get a ginat leap when he returns. His popularity will soar. Lots of products for him to endorse. BUt what have we to gain? NON!

We are basically sponsoring a dude in Millions so that he will gte a good life ahead of him.

While it is no small feat for a man to be an astroNUt but was this really necessary in the first palce when we hv no space program for a start apart from looking at the stars and moon every year?

I’ll reserve my praises for the Dr for his effort but a BIG THUMBS DOWN to the govt and of cos our man NAjib!

41. #41 by smeagroo on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 2:59 pm

michgyer,

ur maths is wrong la. HOw can u gv each person rm1mil. we hv abt 26mil msians now. thats rm1mil x 26mil…thats alot of money even pak lah will stutter and eyeballs bloat.

42. #42 by smeagroo on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 3:03 pm

only Ketuanan idealism will feel a few inches taller (as if they r not tall enough now). And while the rest of us will feel a few inches shorter.

If only the Dr can do a research of brian transplant and come back and change the entire scumbags’ mindset.

43. #43 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 3:04 pm

If each citizen were given RM 1million each, there still have surplus of RM 63 million which can build schools, research centres and other facilities that beneficial to the citizen.

Surely you jest.

26 million people X 1 million each is RM 26,000,000,000,000.

Less RM 90,000,000 = RM 25,999,910,000,000 shortfall / deficit.

Go to detention class.

44. #44 by dragon88 on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 3:26 pm

This a f…….. waste of valuable resources. rm100 millions for a taxi fare to space is the sort of grandiose attempt to show the world that we have a country of fools. There are many developed countries that are too wise not to participate in this race. What has this space trip achieved for MY. Absolutely nothing except a joy ride for that passenger. How many schools or hospital can this rm100M buy ? Bodowi must have a hefty kickback to approve such a stupid expenditure. He should first upgrade at least 1 university as they are all below low class standards…

45. #45 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 3:35 pm

While the rocket was flying into space, veteran astronaut Captain Robert “Hoot” Gibson, who was a guest at the event, had asked Science, Innovation and Technology Minister Datuk Seri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis who would be the next Malaysian cosmonaut.

Jamaluddin, who was in Kazakhstan, in turn asked Abdullah, who answered in jest that it would be when Malaysia buys its next batch of (Russian) planes.

” The Star 11.10.07

Yes, of course. This time it will cost RM 5 billion for the planes.

And we might need another “broker” and another Mongolian. Some security officers and more C4.

46. #46 by michgyver on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 3:56 pm

Surely you jest.

26 million people X 1 million each is RM 26,000,000,000,000.

Less RM 90,000,000 = RM 25,999,910,000,000 shortfall / deficit.

Go to detention class.

sorry , too angry about the millions spents…

47. #47 by Rocky on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 4:37 pm

Yes proud to have a Malaysian in space. but there is not much bragging rights here cos he is not first anything other than 1st Malaysian in space. I do not see any benefits from this flight in the long term for Malaysia. So lets not send the 2nd guy, use the money for better purpose…help the poor instead.

say what we want of Dr. Sheikh, nervous scared, sit only…hey not easy hurling into space at 8km/sec with all the G force. so give him some slack and he is not the one who made the decision to go to space. He qualified fair and square in my mind. But no need for datuk ship or free land as going up Everest is more challenging IMHO.

48. #48 by devilmaster on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 4:46 pm

He is not an astronaut or cosmonaut. He’s just a spaceflight participant or space tourist.

NASA website clearly stated it.
    http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/station/expeditions/expedition16/index.html

49. #49 by uyatnej on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 5:13 pm

Our PM and DPM are self pleasuring just like masterbating, how many of the rakyat have the same feeling like them about our first angkasawan? We are not against Dr Sheikh, but we feel that our BN half past six goverment are wasting our money, and make Malaysian look like a fool, guest what our neighbours Singapore and Indonesia are thinking? Malaysian go to space for what ?
    Kan niamah

50. #50 by dawsheng on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 5:27 pm

Sorry, there’s nothing to be proud of.

51. #51 by uyatnej on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 5:32 pm

He is not an astronaut or cosmonaut. He’s just a spaceflight participant or space tourist.- devilmaster

That’s why our half past six goverment dare not call him astronaut, but angkasawan, so nobody from NASA or Russian know what its mean. So BN half past six goverment can fool all the orang orang kampung and kindergarden children that he is our first angkasawan meaning first astronaut. kan niamah

52. #52 by burn on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 5:58 pm

tahniah Dr. Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor sebagai Malaysia’s first angkasawan.

but stupid BN gomen!
    ada perkara yang lebih penting yang patut di tumpukan.
    lihat, si keluarga kat port dickson yang tinggal kat pondok bas! lihat, si makbapa kehilangan anak pompuan mereka kerna tak mampu nak beli baju sekolah… dll. kalau nak sambung, tak habis crita!
    apo gomen kito buat karang? berbilion bilion dapat dibelanja… hanya untuk kepentingan diri sendiri! kalau tak tahu macam mana nak mengendalikan negara malaysia, beri pada mereka yang lebih berpengalaman. patutlah orang kata, kat parlimen tu banyak clowns in the making!

53. #53 by boh-liao on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 6:06 pm

In fact, the Malay language has the best term: Makan angin!

54. #54 by dawsheng on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 6:29 pm

The spaceman in International Space Station is changing shift and the Soyuz is delivering some cargos up there. Russia needs money to sustain its space program and that’s why they welcome space tourist, participant, peserta whatever, they needs money! So one stone killed two birds. I am sad to know that those happy Malaysian childrens hoodwinked by their BN leaders grow up thinking the first Malaysian in space was an achievement will be so disappointed and not knowing where to place their pride when they discovered the truth that it was nothing special at all, and people will laugh at them as “Katak dibawah tempurung”. This is cruel! But I hope it cured their dillemmas.

55. #55 by boh-liao on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 6:31 pm

This episode shows the shallow thinking, wasting public money and irresponsible attitude of our political leaders.

These days any country can pay Russia a few millions to have one of its nationals as a passenger in a Russian spaceship. No big deal, just throwing away a big chunk of good money that could otherwise be used to benefit the poor and underprivileged in the country.

However, not many countries chose to do this – to waste so much public money for a shallow self-shiok. Most leaders are responsible and know their priorities.

Our little dot neighbour could certainly afford to pay for one or more space travelers. But would the political leaders there allow such a wastage of public money for a skin-deep national pride?

On the other hand, our political leaders are on a different stratosphere, unaware of the real day-to-day problems that many Malaysians face, and wallowing in easy-come-easy-go money. They are the ones who manipulated the financial opportunities and gladly went for the self-shiok trip. Just to feel a few inches taller or longer!?

56. #56 by Jonny on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 6:53 pm

why i’m not surprised when Dr. sheikh was chosen?

I looked at the faces. Yes. Just like Akademi Fantasia.

I bet my last dollar that Dr. Sheikh somehow will be the chosen one. And true enough …

57. #57 by RealWorld on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 7:45 pm

“The astronaut programme has cost the citizen of RM 90 million. If each citizen were given RM 1million each, there still have surplus of RM 63 million which can build schools, research centres and other facilities that beneficial to the citizen.” – michgyver

Dude, your maths are pretty screwed. Of the 90 million, how can each citizen be given 1 million each, there still be a surplus of 63 million?

58. #58 by umnology on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 7:55 pm

RM90 million advertising campaign to promote Malaysia.

Look at them on TV with two thumbs up is like two kids are going to Disneyland!

OMG, do it right lah ybJJ!! make them look serious abit ok..

Now you make your own people like fools only!

59. #59 by smeagroo on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 8:26 pm

Can we find out where we MALAYsians have not explore and we can all work hard, pay our taxes and sponsor another bloke to do it and shout MSIA BOLEH just for the heck of it!

Yea, we hv not sent anyone to the deepest abyss in the Pacific Ocean. HOw abt we do that? Heck, I guess no one has ever done it before and live!

Come on BN, hurry up! JUST DO IT!!!!!!

60. #60 by tidaknama on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 8:55 pm

From the start I knew he would be chosen, because he has all the right points, and brains is not the main point. But anyway well done, after all it still takes guts to go up there.

61. #61 by rojak on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 9:10 pm

Proud my foot.

Angry, yes.

Angry that $90m was wasted on a space tourist, while M’sia still have families that are so poor, their kids committed suicide etc.

Aiyooh!! NEP must continue’lah. So many underprivileged Malays still……… When will M’sians see through their dishonesty.

Dr Shake should’ve have persisted with doing teh tarik, roti canai and xxx in space now. At least the world would have a good laugh. This way, everyone would have said “M’sian are a real larrikin”. Malu’lah.

On second thoughts, it’s better he is now doing lab assistant work on somebody else experiments. It may actually benefit mankind and not just maruah of his own kind.

Dr Shake, if r reading this “Remember to bring back some photos and souvenirs from your trip”.

62. #62 by calvin on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 9:24 pm

Well, good look beats substance…!!! Anyway, wonder they have the latter…!!! This is our beautiful Malaysians’ mentality. They just need to put somebody up there with commercial value.

I can’t seems to figure up what are the value adding things that this guy going to bring back after this? Going to space just because of other countries have done so..!!! Typical kiasu case..! The money could be better use for the society and the poors. Mere wasting the public fund..!!

63. #63 by lakshy on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 9:29 pm

Rojak, rojak! Yalah I also think its a crying shame. Got so much more to do here on earth, developing the nation, uniting it, and moving forward. Why waste huge sums going to space? Thats not the last frontier!

The last frontier is our mind! We should develop that to take us wherever! What the mind can conceive, it can achieve!

64. #64 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 10:36 pm

He can go up to the space through the Russian space program is all about money, tax payers money, that was paid to get him onboard. He could be any one of average IQ and physique, a Tom, Dick or Harry. That kind of quantum of money could be channelled to much better, productive & meaningful use in the country.

There are still plenty of poor people around, some are hardcore poor. There is thus nothing to shout about, right!?

65. #65 by AhPek on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 10:38 pm

‘One small step for Sheikh but one big step for Malaysia and the Muslim world.’ And everybody just went bonkers as if Sheikh has made some earth shattering scientific discovery.I’ve all this while have this impression that this ‘syiok sendiri’ syndrome is an infectious disease amongst the UMNOPUTRAS.Now the ‘SUN’ even caught it this morning. Shocking to say the least.
    Come on lah he is no better than a space tourist who went up there to makan angin on Malaysian tax payers’ money much like South African Mark Shuttleworth, American Dennis Tito and an Iranian lady(I forgot her name).However the difference is they all each paid USD20million out of their own pocket.
    The Russian after the economic collapse in !990 has trimmed down their budget for their space programme drastically and to further help finance some of their programs they have to turn to space tourism whereby they charge each tourist USD20 million which is around 70 million ringgit.According to k1980, he posed an interesting question ie Since Bernama says the trip costs 90 million ringgit somebody must have become an overnight multimillionaire pocketing just 20 million ringgit just like that!!!

66. #66 by fighter on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 10:43 pm

I think all Malaysians would be surprised and annoyed that after we foot his RM 90 millions’ trip, Dr Sheikh went on to say in BBC News that his trip was a great inspiration to Muslims, mind you, to Muslims world-wide and not to Malaysians!!

Non-Muslims being the largest contributor to Govt. taxes from which this trip was funded was not given any credit and he was so proud to be a Muslim rather than as a Malaysian. After all he was not the 1st Muslim but the 1st Malaysian and why was he not loyal to the country which made this trip possible.

67. #67 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:06 pm

Just flipped through this magazine in a KL hotel room which featured an article on Malaysia’s first “cosmonaut”. Dr Sheikh was quoted as saying how tough the training was and how he learned of things which he would otherwise not know. One example he gave was the constrictor they put on the thigh portions of the space suit. This is the quality of Malaysia’s “cosmonaut” – he has never heard of a G-suit. I am not a fighter pilot, but at least I know what a G-suit is. Heck, I am not even a pilot.

68. #68 by AhPek on Thursday, 11 October 2007 - 11:12 pm

I don’t think all Malaysians would be annoyed if in fact Dr.Sheik went on to say in BBC News that his trip is a great inspiration to Muslims world-wide for the most of the world would know that Dr. Sheik did not achieve anything just by hopping on to the spacecraft to be a passenger to the American astronaut and Russian cosmonaut for which according to Bernama 90 million ringgit has been paid as part of the package in the purchase of 18 Sukhoi fighter jets.Its analogy is what so inspirational if you take a taxi ride for which I paid for the fare.You did not invent and make the first car in the world.
    In fact most of the listeners would have a great laugh over such thoughtless remarks for they all know it isn’t!

69. #69 by democratic junkie on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 12:11 am

YB lim,

you said “It is a feat Malaysians can feel proud.”

proud of what? proud of the fact that we have 90million ringgit and a healthy and fit citizen?

He is a space tourist for goodness sake! Space tourism is the recent phenomenon of paying for space travel, primarily for personal satisfaction.

Proud of the fact that Dr.Sheikh is going to host a Hari Raya party and that he brought satays and kuih’s?

Think again. Space travel is available for those with money. Pay up and get fit. Thats about it. check out the list of space tourists on wikipedia.

70. #70 by democratic junkie on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 12:14 am

Space travel will be available to be public soon via Richard Branson’s Virgin….

71. #71 by wtf2 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 12:46 am

As megaman mentioned, apart from the momentary pride of having a fellow citizen in space there appears to be nothing gained in followups. What can be achieved apart from having the label “Malaysian sent to space”.

At the rate corruption and corridors are going to be the theme of the near future, I won’t be surprised if a space center/corridor be setup with billions and billions of ringgits and nothing to show in the future apart from another NEP fiasco.

72. #72 by AhPek on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 1:03 am

Virgin Galactic is a company with Richard Branson’s Virgin group which plans to offer suborbital spaceflights and later orbital spaceflights to the paying public.Suborbital spaceflight will enable the space tourist to go up to an altitude of 100km (said to be the boundary between earth’s atmosphere and space) allowing each passenger to experience weightlessness for up to 6 minutes at a cost of USD200000.
    The company is planning to have a passenger service on its first spaceship, the VSS Enterprise with its inaugural launch in 2008 and main flights beginning in 2009.
    Several companies in the US are already talking about planning to build ‘space hotels’.
    In fact Richard Branson himself hopes to build one within his lifetime.
    So what is all the unnecessary excitement about Dr. Sheikh and what’s new.

73. #73 by undergrad2 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 1:22 am

Sending a person out to space no longer grabs headlines today. Now and then some space shuttle takes off somewhere, and nobody is even taking notice!

Malaysia could have sent the first transvestite into space. No one could care less.

74. #74 by undergrad2 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 1:25 am

Look at the DAP. For some forty years it has tried to launch its rocket. Some say the feat is in the trying and not the launching. I beg to differ.

75. #75 by undergrad2 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 1:28 am

I think Malaysia should send her Fat Lady out to space, and once in space jettison her out so she could be the first woman to circumnavigate the globe in her birthday suit. That would have grabbed headlines!

76. #76 by sebol on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 6:15 am

18 F-18 hornet is more expensive than ( 18 sukhoi SU 30 MKM + space program) ..

If you guy keep complaining, “space participant” lah, makan angin lah, wasting our money lah.

Then next time, buy F-18 Hornet , didnt get anything & people dont complaint.

After several years, it become besi buruk
    No need to next generation about space exploration.

77. #77 by AhPek on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 7:46 am

You are right, undergrad2.That will be the cause for jubilation and celebration, not this Sheikh chappy.

78. #78 by ahkok1982 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 7:51 am

i would not mind sending all of those who are in BN into outerspace on a one way trip. it would be a good use of funds… just that we need to strap them all to a rocket n blast off… doesnt really matter if the rocket blows up and not lift off.

79. #79 by Tom Peters on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 8:06 am

Belief has always provided impetus for actions, sometimes detrimental ones.

If I was vetting an aspiring spaceman, I would ask him if he accepted the fact that science HAS NOT YET proven the existence of god which is still a belief approach for those who believe.

If he has a problem accepting this fact, I would not shortlist him, because he would be a danger to the others in that confined space.

80. #80 by ktteokt on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 8:19 am

This is what the Chinese term “Using other people’s buttocks as one’s face”. Borrowing other people’s facilities and two “escorts” to get into outer space is no great achievement. Yuri Gagarin did not have any such escorts. He went up there alone in his nation’s own spaceship, but we had to borrow everything. So what is so great about Malaysia conquering space this way? What if Russia refuse to lend us these facilities? Our great “astronauts” will then be grounded forever!!

And just what is the purpose of spending so much money in sending out astronauts into outer space? What is the exact objective? This money could have been put to better use, especially at a time when the economy of the country is in the pits!!! MALAYSIA BENAR-BENAR BOLEH???

81. #81 by Counterpoint on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 8:30 am

Just watch him come back and break into the entertainment industry flashing his face on TV and later become an UMNO politician. All this launched from his l’l trip to space , all at the expense of the rakyat.

Angkasawan is a syiok sendiri term for this guy. Piggyback tourist is what I’d call him.

82. #82 by Jimm on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 9:09 am

We have many achievements that goes to nothing at the end.
    The sailor that (heard) migrated to some other country lately, those ‘syoik sendiri’ expeditions to Poles and mainly covering what the country majority population owners can do. The Government claimed that these are good exposure for the younger generations as to inspire them.
    Really ????
    Don’t talk about all these mega publicities that comes our way, those local community activities that any state assemblymen or MP attending also must at least carries certain weight of publicities before they consider attending otherwise when no other choice, they will send over a representative.
    Whenever you can see their faces in your constitution, you can tell that the next GE is around the corner.
    I have seen 3 generations of poor communities in same rural areas that still believe in a better future whenever the representatives visited their home whenever the GE campaigning. They still saty loyal to these promises. Can you imagine that ? The 3rd generation still carry on that same believe despite of lacking in livinghood.
    That my cousin as to speak back in my hometown and a few of my friendly neighbor there.
    I have asked my cousin why ? Why all these ? He is simply replied that it’s GOD’s will.
    Sometimes, I do believe that UMNO are very lucky to get away with the act of putting a strong faith practices as their main driving objective for their own kind or members.
    Well, like Rod Stewart said, some guy got a the luck …

83. #83 by chloo on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 9:41 am

Wah….now a Malaysian is in space….sooo proud, who got sent there? The most qualified person? From the Air Force? Scientist? or contest winner? I wonder what type of research is he going to do in space that has not been done b4 since the time mankind launched into space some 40+years ago? I read something about cancer? Wow…i didn’t know that we are so advanced in cancer research….recently an American and an European company launched their vaccine for cervical cancer….I am sure more to come….but surely they are not as smart as Malaysians who has come up with a novel way of treating cancer by sending patients to space and leaving them there indefinitely…..or maybe create an environment like in space where there is no oxygen and putting patients inside these chambers indefinitely…..Wahhh, Malaysia really boleh, 10 steps in front of all these other not so smart people……. well, if not doing research on cancer (i may have read wrongly) then probably stick to teh tarik experiment…..that I am sure has not been done by any of the other astronauts/ cosmonauts…so proud ….Hurray for Malaysians, The Government, The Municipal Councils, The Judiciary, Mat Rempits (Included becos they are the proposed eyes and ears of Police), PRDM, The Poor, The Disabled, The Orpharns, The Aged, etc Money well spent.

84. #84 by smeagroo on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 9:56 am

THis RM90mil man will be used to the max by UMno to garner votes during GE. This is part of the “contract” between him and UMNO. JUst like how they milked Koo Kien Keat and Tan Boon Heong during the Machap by-election.

85. #85 by 5th Element on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 10:38 am

Why being escorted into space…??? Just in case our half past six and highly fared space tourist press the wrong button and get ejected..!!! The Russian could have foreseen that…!!!

86. #86 by bhuvan.govindasamy on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 10:40 am

Please forgive if I don’t share your enthusiasm. According to NASA’s website Sheikh is nothing more than a flight participant. Even an idiot, if he can pay, as several millionaires incl a Turkish businesswoman have proven, can become a flight participant.

Indeed, this so-called victory is hollow and nothing more than a pumped show.

87. #87 by k1980 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 10:59 am

Jimm October 12th, 2007 at 09: 09.50
    Why all these? He simply replied that it’s GOD’s will.
    —————————
    If Mao had “simply replied that it’s God’s will”, today China would be far worse than Darfur. There is no such nonsense as “God’s will” because God if He exists will not want humanity to sit back and do nothing in the face of oppression.

88. #88 by 5th Element on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 11:08 am

It is NOT the GOD’s Will for his followers to discriminate as well..!!!

89. #89 by AhPek on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 11:15 am

On the one hand you go about hyping this event to your gullible kampong folks that Malaysia’s defining moment has come as our Angasawan is about to be launched on to space on our own spacecraft whilst on the other hand you failed to set up the big screen and get it going for the big crowd that has gathered at DATARAN MERDEKA!!!
    On the one hand you made it as though you have arrived shoulder to shoulder with the great space-faring nations like US,Russia and China whilst on the other hand you have to send your munisipal
    coucillors to South Africa to learn toilet cleaning!!!
    What a set of buffons these set of UMNOPuTRAS are!!! Your act of buffoonery will surely go down in history as the greatest act of buffoonery of all times in the book of records!!!!

90. #90 by wits0 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 11:44 am

The small potatoes feel proud because the big ministerial ones dictates so. Yea, yea, yea…is so acceptable. Alternative thinking’s a taboo. All exaggerated hypes are acceptable as the spoon fed opiate of “feel good”.

In China, they are ready to eat potatoes and wean away from rice as necessary but in Bolehland potatoes are elevated to “all-wise” ministers.
    http://afp.google.com/article/ALeqM5gxrFqWdpFvIRKDzSEOKpaYL9tvRQ

91. #91 by pwcheng on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 12:02 pm

This is an indirect message to the DAP “that after 40 years their rocket is only in sketches where else their fishing boat (perikatan era) and now the dacing has a rocket flying a Malaysain to the moon”, of course at the expense of the rakyat. I will not be surprised that they will use this episode to ridicule DAP in the next general election.
    So to some bloggers please stop ridiculing the people for being stupid for voting the BN in, in every elections. It is the dirty tactics of the BN, especially UMNO that stonewalled the opportunities of the opposition by creating anything they can think off to ward off the opposition. Imagine, they even have the judiciary ( our last bastion of defence) in their pockets.
    Unless we are prepared to be like the Philippines during the Marcos era, there is almost no way out and that possibility is far too remote because they had cunningly created and divide and rule strategy.

92. #92 by k1980 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 1:02 pm

Even if George Bush were to go mad from syphilis and donate(!) a space shuttle to Dollah, no one in the muslim world would be able to pilot it.

93. #93 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 1:25 pm

Undergrad2 says:
    “I think Malaysia should send her Fat Lady out to space, and once in space jettison her out so she could be the first woman to circumnavigate the globe in her birthday suit. That would have grabbed headlines!”

Sending the Malayisan Fat Lady (who do you have in mind?). I second that.
    In her birthday suit. I object to that.
    Why should the world get some more free acid rain when she pees?

94. #94 by Justicewanted on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 1:39 pm

Congratulations to Dr. Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor as Malaysia’s first angkasawan, orbiting in space to the International Space station – 360 km above the earth.

—————————————–
    Personally I am of the opinion that any thing that can be purchased using money has nothing to shout about.

Just like the twin tower, within a few years some countries easily beat the record.

Do not be shoik sendiri……….

95. #95 by AhPek on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 1:55 pm

‘Sending the Malaysian Fat Lady (who do you have in mind?). I second that. In her birthday suit I object to that.’ Endangered Hornbill.
    Unlike you Endangered Hornbill I am not too worried about the acid rain she releases from time to time. What I am worried about is that some concerned professor of astronomy will take a peep at her from time to time to see how she is doing circumnavigating the world.That lump of fat will probably put him off forever to such an extent his zest for life is also gone forever!!

96. #96 by k1980 on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 2:12 pm

Is there any danger of the Fat Lady re-entering the Earth’s gravitional field and then smash down like a meteorite onto my house?

97. #97 by lee on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 2:47 pm

few hours after our angkasawan took off, blackout happened at my housing area and several areas in kuching. it has been pretty frequent lately, for hours.. in the midst of the warm night, i was wondering, why to space and not improve our very very basic needs…how bizarre?? let’s see wat we gain from space other than boleh.

98. #98 by boh-liao on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 3:51 pm

Now we may even have national stamps to commemorate our ‘space dummy’ and our folly.

99. #99 by robert wong on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 4:35 pm

All the ‘space Travel’ was duped up by our gomen just to show that what muslim can do . Anything that has to do with the word ‘Muslim’ , the gomen will do anything irrespective the feeling of other races and faith in the country. No wonder the Dr. uttered that his trip was the grear inspiration the muslim world-wide. If not why isn’t he uttered his trip is an inspiration to all MALAYSIANS.

Mind you all, the gomen is using religion ie Islam to dup the stupid kampong folks.

100. #100 by justiciary on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 5:57 pm

Our whiteelephant twin-towers has been dwarfed;we have lost terribly in badminton and football,so we are making use of this ‘shiok sendiri’ space participant to feel good and give false pride to the simple minded rural folks.Itu dia.Making use of religion like being the first muslim in space only shows these bums are narrow minded. Tell them to stop harping on multi this and multi that.Stop being hypocrite.

101. #101 by busybodyness on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 8:11 pm

A waste of monies!! can’t imagaine how much 90 million can be done for this nation’s people!!

102. #102 by Old.observer on Friday, 12 October 2007 - 11:39 pm

My personal view:

1. A complete waste of $100M! This is not $100, but $100,000,000.00!!! Not a small sum of money.

2. How does this promote science and technology exactly? Even teenagers can see that the ride happens because – and only because – of $100M. IF there was NO $100M, could Malaysian have send him to space using Malaysia science and technology?

3. Has anyone in the corridors of power gave serious and critical thought about “cheaper, yet better value” alternatives to promote science and technology? E.g. what about just using 10% of $100M to really promote science and technology in our country via special budget to every school in Malaysia? There will probably be spare change to even provide a very generous science and technology scholarship (e.g. RM$200,000?) via a meritocracy system – the competition for the scholarship alone will be very intense all across the nation if there is such a scholarship.

4. Sad to say, this is both a confirmation that Malaysia’s EGO is very small, and a lame attempt to boost its already very small EGO.

5. Sad to say, I cannot walk a few inches taller. In fact, I cringe inside when my overseas family and friends bring this topic up … seriously.

6. Make no mistake – a complete Mismanagement of Rakyat funds. And it’s Rakyat’s fault for putting BN into government 4 years ago.

7. Nothing against the Dr personally – he is just a minor actor. The primary Culprit and the only person to hold accountable for this complete mismanagement belongs to the PM, and his party. A complete disgrace to the PM.

8. Having said all this, it is a great shame that the public thinks there should be a 2nd space program like this one … in yesterday’s TV poll (via SMS), a question was asked whether you think Malaysia should send a 2nd person to space after this … 79% respondent SMS Yes … This 79% is a majority, not a minority …

So, you tell me whether this is madness, or just proof that BN’s publicity machine works …

We can all write comments here venting our frustration, but if we don’t reach out and touch our family, friends, colleagues, neighbours and everyone else, then, we are doomed. At the rate we are going, BN is guaranteed to continue to win this coming election.

A truly, truly sad day for Malaysia. This is not a small step forward for Malaysia, but a giant step backwards!

Old Observer.

103. #103 by 5th Element on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 12:55 am

Abuse of power…??? Always what…!!! That is the problem when the controlling party is too strong…they just simply bulldozed everything. Maybe, they just dun c**k care what we wrote in this forum. To them, we are just mere noise and maybe in their head…..”u make ur noise and I make my money..!!!”

So people out there, be a smart voters. Dun vote for this lame “Cheng Hu” in next election. So many times we have been treated like “Ah Mong” already. Let the voice of opposition be heard, be counted for.

104. #104 by kcb on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 1:00 am

On July 20, 1969 Neil Armstrong (astronaut) uttered his famous words that would inspire a generation, “One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”

In October 2007, Dr. Sheikh Muszaphar (space tourist) said, “It’s a small step for me, but a great leap for the Malaysian people.”

Great leap for Malaysian people?I don‘t think so but I think the following statement would have been more appropriate:

“It’s a great leap for me, but a step backward for the Malaysian people.” (Considering the millions of tax payers’ money spent.)

Congratulations doctor and enjoy your Hari Raya party on board the ISS!

105. #105 by raven77 on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 1:39 am

This is a delusion of grandeur the tax payer ultimately has to pay for..

106. #106 by 5th Element on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 1:43 am

Malaysia Code of Corporate Governance…!!!

Emmmm…. wait a minute…that sound familiar…!!!

What happen to the taxpayer monies???

107. #107 by 5th Element on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 1:44 am

Govern my ass…!!!

108. #108 by devilmaster on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 2:19 am

A Soyuz craft carrying the international space station’s first female commander and Malaysia’s first space traveler docked Friday at the orbital…

…The $25 million agreement for a Malaysian astronaut to fly to space was negotiated in 2003 along with a $900 million deal for Malaysia to buy 18 Russian fighter jets…

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20071012/ap_on_re_eu/russia_space_3;_ylt=AoiudlY.CdhfrOqEy9xElVsE1vAI

109. #109 by tunglang on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 3:06 am

Wait a minute, did I hear it wrong! We are planning to send another astronaut? My God, how much is the ticket going to cost?
    My real worry this gomen is on another spending spree and guess what – price of petrol, gas, maybe even taxes are going to rise again comes 2008. Guys be prepared lest you move to the jungle!
    Boleh untuk Apa?

110. #110 by Justicewanted on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 6:31 am

On July 20, 1969 Neil Armstrong (astronaut) uttered his famous words that would inspire a generation, “One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”

In October 2007, Dr. Sheikh Muszaphar (space tourist) said, “It’s a small step for me, but a great leap for the Malaysian people.”
    ========================

Any similarity in the two statement?????

What a copy cat??????

This is the BolehLand ego???????

111. #111 by k1980 on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 8:37 am

Malaysians suffered from an inferiority complex and had “a habit of claiming things which are not theirs”. Eg Sheikh’s plagarism of Armstrong’s “One small step for man… ”
    http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22576074-2703,00.html

112. #112 by fido on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 9:37 am

Why do the govt must send “someone” to Russia to welcome the angkasawan home? Who is funding for this trip??? Haven’t we spent too much on this silly disgraceful program yet?

113. #113 by k1980 on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 10:01 am

One real giant step for malaysia, which lands on the poor man’s foot and squashed his toes to jelly

114. #114 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 10:32 am

This is nothing more than a one-time orgasm for Malaysia, to put it crudely but accurately. It’s a one-night stand, if that helps our understanding.

So all the rave about medical research and space program is a humbug. Someone used those words “Shiok Sendiri”. Isn’t that what an orgasm is all about? So what medical research in 8 days in space? Dr Chua Soi Lek want to comment? MAybe an AIDS cure by a MAlaysian postgraduate med student! Poor boy is taking a lot of heat from this trip. He doesn’t deserve all that rubbishing. It’s not his fault. It’s TUN M and Najib’s fault. The deal was signed during their watch, wasn’t it?

115. #115 by AhPek on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 10:43 am

“The $25 million agreement for a Malaysian astronaut to fly to space was negotiated in 2003 …………..with a $900 million deal for Malaysia to buy 18 Russian fighter jets…”.Devilmaster.
    Correction devilmaster it is USD25 million and USD900 million.
    Now the other point is that all space paying tourists to date has paid USD20 million out of their own individual pockets and of the 6th space tourist is paid by us to the tune of USD25 million (according to devilmaster).In fact I remember at that time that mamak has even said that the trip was included in that package for the purchase of 18 Sukhoi fighter jets at a discounted rate.Then why the difference in cost between our state sponsored
    tourist and the other 5 space tourists who pay for their own trips???Funny isn’t it??

116. #116 by lupus on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 10:52 am

Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor is a space Participant, otherwise known as a space tourist. The real cosmonauts and astronauts would have spend 2 to 3 years training and before that, achieve something worthwhile in the international community before being invited into the space program. Not only that, their national would have contributed to the international space community program such as Europe, Canada, Australia, Japan and of course, USA.

It should also be noted that “Saudi Prince Sultan bin Salman joined the crew of the shuttle Discovery in 1985, and there have been several others since”, so he is not the first. The Prince flew as a “Payload Specialist” – not a tourist. In other words, he qualified for this flight and not paid his way into the program which most qualified astronaut have done so. If you read the bio of all the other astronauts and cosmonauts, their contribution to the scientific community is pretty impressive.

The question is why did Malaysia pay the way for a taxi trip ? Google Gregory Olsen, Dennis Tito and Mark Shuttleworth – they are in the same space league as our Malaysian in space.

117. #117 by dawsheng on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 11:45 am

BN leader lies to the Malaysian childrens to score political points! This is not an ahievement by any standard of measurements existed throughout mankind’s history, at last Malaysia under BN leadership just invented one, it is called cheating! And lying at the same time denying just as long as you did what other has done, a different but yet another copycat, now you see now you don’t. I have a suggestion, BN should just do planet exploration and dig deep into centre of the Earth and stays there, I’d say that’s a real achievement. Our childrens’ future in Malaysia is all not in good prospect.

118. #118 by AhPek on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 12:28 pm

‘Wait a minute,did I hear it wrong! We are planning to send another astronaut? My God, how much is this ticket going to cost?”.Tunglang.
    Well Tunglang, you really want to know? Well then brace yourself up for the information not only for you but also for our LKS blog readers and hopefully the message be passed on for those not on the net.
    As of 2007, space tourism opportunities are limited and expensive, with only the Russian Space Agency providing transport. The price for a flight brokered by SPACE ADVENTURE to the ISS aboard Soyuz spacecraft is now USD30 million! Flights are already fully booked until 2009!! Which means to say if Bodowi is comtemplating to send another “Can or Naut” to boost up Ketuanan Melayu Image, it will then be after 2009 and by then the ticket price could be …..I don’t know,your guess is as good as mine?

119. #119 by AhPek on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 1:14 pm

Obviously space tourism is a niche market catering to the superrich who want to experience weightlessness.The privilege is theirs and we ordinary street Joe can only envy them.
    And you might wonder why Richard Branson’s commercial space tourism (which starts in 2009) comes only to USD200,000 versus the space trip on Soyuz spacecraft which costs USD30 million from 2007 onwards.I think it’s the novelty of it all.Soyuz spacecraft takes you 350km out of earth’s gravitational pull whilst Branson’s craft takes you out 100km.Added to this the Soyuz spacecraft will dock with ISS and you will then crawl into ISS where you will then have plenty of room to float around. Not so on Branson’s spacecraft.However I think to be on Branson’s craft one will be safer since you are only on the boundary between earth’s atmosphere and space.There will be very much less heat developed on the craft on its return to earth,thus no necessity of a heat shield.Not so with Soyuz space capsule since its return will be fiery (tremendous amount of heat created since the capsule is travelling at great speed and rubbing on air) that a heat shield on the capsule is necessary to prevent a burnt-out.

120. #120 by k1980 on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 1:47 pm

Pak Dur’s answer: “Why worry? USD30 million only! We can recover that amount simply by increasing highway tolls in 2008. How many countries in the world apart from Russia, US and China are capable of sending 2 astroNUTs to space? We must show that our space technology is world-class and muslims are as capable as the superpowers in conquering space! In time to come, malaysia will have the most number of muslim hadhari astronuts in space! We are also going to sapu all the Nobel Prizes in 2008! Even though I failed Introductiry Statistics in UM, I want to be remembered as the Bapa Teknologi Malaysia!”

121. #121 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 6:52 pm

Perhaps an astronaut should be send to the moon on the Puasa month..

Then , we just contact the astronaut : “Can you see the Bulan Syawal?

He will answer: ‘Yes! It is right under my feet’

122. #122 by ShiokGuy on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 7:38 pm

Dear All,

I calculate that we all (Malaysian) have to pay RM10.00 each, adult and child for his ticket to outer space as a space participant.

A pride? using money to buy a pride? US80Million to stand 2″ taller? No thank! Give me back my money! My whole family funded his ticket for RM260.00. I did not consent to this!

Regards

123. #123 by bra888 on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 11:18 pm

Why should I be proud of that guy? I don’t see any reason for anyone to be proud of him. He strike me more as a tourist than as an astronaut. As a matter of fact, I believe the word ‘astronaut’ is wrongly used to describe him.

He does not install new equipment, does not pilot the rocket, does not have the responsibility to handle anything on that ship. He’s just like an observer. Just what will that guy do in space? Serving teh tarik like the teh tarik makers here on Earth? In my opinion, the thought of that just shames this country’s name.

I believe that real astronauts are scientist and engineers who maintain the equipment up in space functional and conduct experiments to prove the theory that they came up true.

Honestly, this is the most pathetic way to spend our money. I guess our government sent him there to be the real astronaut’s servant or something. Or maybe it’s what the astronaut really needs, a servant.

Why don’t introduce them roti canai or kolo mee? How come we don’t see Thailand send their astronauts to make Tom Yam for them? I’m sure the real astronauts up there need a good cook right?

124. #124 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 13 October 2007 - 11:50 pm

“Someone used those words “Shiok Sendiri”. Isn’t that what an orgasm is all about?” ENDANGERED HORNBILL

You’re only half right.

125. #125 by Kanninneh on Sunday, 14 October 2007 - 12:58 am

May be the space station do need somebody to prepare and serve authentic pull-tea, roti canai, kolo mee & tom yam kung up there….!!!

The First Space Steward…!!! Haa…Haa..!!! It is hillarious to think of it..!!! Coffee, tea or me…!!!

126. #126 by Bigfoot on Sunday, 14 October 2007 - 3:33 am

I’VE SEEN THE LIGHT!

I finally see the brilliance of our illustrious leaders in this space program. Space Tourism. Cuti-cuti angkasa! Yes, it’s part of our nations super-secret “Malaysia Truly Spacier” space-tourism marketing campaign! Think about it. Every other nation is serious about space research to help mankind, to see if other alien civilizations exist out there, etc. But we Malaysians, are completely practical! We let the foreigners do the brain work. We simply set up hotels, golf courses, teh tarik stalls and roti canai outlets for weary foreign astronauts. Why, we can even engage in a “Rasa Sayang” singalong in space, …and won’t have the Indons clamouring about it. In a few years, we can even have a budget, no frills “Space Asia” space liner, complete with 30% angkasaputra equity stake.

We might as well do it. Afterall, we are losing our competitive edge in just about every other sphere internationally.

127. #127 by k1980 on Sunday, 14 October 2007 - 9:52 am

The 2nd Malaysian spaceflight participant is going to be a dentist. He will have to bring along his dental clinic including the dental chair plus his dental nurse to the ISS, so that the crew can have their dental problems attended to pronto

128. #128 by AhPek on Sunday, 14 October 2007 - 11:51 am

“But we Malaysians are completely practical! We let foreigners do the brain work. We simply set up hotels,golf courses ….”.Bigfoot.
    Hold your horses Bigfoot.Setting up hotels and golf courses is Richard Branson’s expertise.We only know how to sent UMNOPUTRA space tourists up there to relax up there on your account,my dear fellow!!! You see their job in running this country requires a lot of brain work so it is absolutely necessary to recharge themselves from time to time so that when they come back they will even have better ideas how to run this country.

129. #129 by Bigfoot on Sunday, 14 October 2007 - 12:01 pm

Ah Pek,

Don’t you know a tongue-in-cheek response when you see one? :-)

But, agreed. Hotels, golfcourses, etc, are other peoples expertise. Our UMNO angkasaputras just pay other people to set it up for them, and then put a Made-in-Malaysia sticker on it.

130. #130 by Billy on Sunday, 14 October 2007 - 1:47 pm

This ‘tumpang’ mentality is something that UMNO is very good at. See how they get the Malays to ‘tumpang’ on them virtually for everything so that they can remain in power. The Malays need to tumpang for priority rights to education, scholarships, jobs, government contracts, housing, land, promotions, etc. With due respect to my Malay brethrens, where is this leading you all to??? It is time you need to ‘tumpang’ on yourself so at the end of the day, you can be proud of what you have done, whether achieved or otherwise, but at least you tried and on your own merits.

131. #131 by bra888 on Sunday, 14 October 2007 - 11:22 pm

I heard that there’s a second TOURIST to be launched in the next 2 years. I URGE LKS to oppose the next trip AT ONCE.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/73567

I am expecting the opposition to do something. We cannot let our government simply waste our money again, and for what, kolo mee this time?

Should we start a petition?

132. #132 by mangodurian on Monday, 15 October 2007 - 12:08 am

Is there even a Buatan Malaysia projectile like a bullet? … let alone a missile which is the base technology for a man-carrying rocket into space? In fact, I don’t even believe we’ve the facilities to track the ISS in Malaysia. So … what ‘Space Programme’?!?!.

To add insult to injury, there’s now an annoucemnet that there will be a second space-participant (aka PELANCUNG ANGKASA) in 2 years time … for the backup dude.

Even for our Malay neighbours, there are many who are finding it hard to make ends meet, and we want to spend another RM100 mil to send another tourist up to space to see how Muslims can pray 5 times while orbiting the earth 16 times a day.

Hell … RM100 million – can you imagine how much can you do on Earth with RM100 million? … and it is your tax money too!

Besides, being the religious zealots that we strive to be, aren’t we afraid that people will realise how incompatible space is to Muslim praying rituals? Yes, it does seem that Islam is not portable to space basing on what the clerics conclusions are to the problem of facing Mecca while orbiting the Earth 16 times a day – “Try your best” … ie. “We stumped about this problem!”. If orbiting close to earth is already a problem – what about the moon … and God forbid – Mars and beyond.

Hold on … do we get a feeling that this points to a *flaw* in the teachings?! OMG! The infallible is not infallible after all!

But oh yeah … by definition … you’ve no choice but to follow these teachings because you’re born into a certain tribe. Tough luck for real science!

133. #133 by mangodurian on Monday, 15 October 2007 - 12:18 am

I guess the only thing we can be proud of this space tourist Angkasawan thing is that, “We can spend the money…” … anything else that we’re contributing to the scientific community and doing real science is just typical Malaysia Boleh delusions.

When and if a government sponsored personality wins the Nobel Prize, then we will really stand 2″ taller. I have to make the distinction – privately funded Ah Chong and Mutu who had no choice but to get out of the country to study and work in order to get ahead don’t count.

134. #134 by bra888 on Monday, 15 October 2007 - 1:26 am

I’ve just thought of an idea. Next 2 years, why don’t our SPACE TOURIST bring some DURIANS along to share it with the other astronauts.

135. #135 by wits0 on Monday, 15 October 2007 - 3:33 am

This Dotsson one, purportedly from Saudi Arabia, hasn’t very complimentary thing to say about SMS :
    http://dotsson.blogspot.com/2007/10/malaysia-sends-monkey-into-space-nasa.html

q/ “Did Neil Armstrong say ‘“that’s one small step for man, one giant leap for Christianity?”’ u/q

—————————————————————–
    Really fierce all round screwing SMS is getting and from many directions. Boy, oh boy!

136. #136 by Kanninneh on Monday, 15 October 2007 - 11:05 pm

There isn’t any models ever go to space yet….Not too bad for first Malaysian Model to blast up there with Ah Kong account…!!! Better than those super-models…!!!

Hey you guys know this song…!!!

Click this to sing along…!!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_57f5DngOg

——————
    Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful

Fame, fame, I love my calvins
    Oh

I’m too sexy for my shirt
    Too sexy for my shirt
    So sexy it hurts

And I’m too sexy for Milan
    Milan, New York, and Japan

I’m too sexy for your party
    Too sexy for your party
    No way I’m disco dancing

I’m a model
    Ya know what I mean
    And I do my little turn on the catwalk
    Yeah on the catwalk
    On the catwalk yeah I do my little turn on the catwalk

Don’t hate me
    I’m just like you but better looking
    Don’t hate me, please

I’m too sexy for that ROCKET
    Too sexy for that ROCKET
    Whatcha think about that?

….and on & on….!!!

137. #137 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 16 October 2007 - 9:56 pm

You know what the Chinese mean when they say “Borrowing the buttocks of others to use as one’s face”? This is exactly the situation here. What is there to be proud of anyway? We do not have the facilities to send astronauts into outer space, and furthermore we have to use a Russian rocket together with two Russian “escorts” to send our astronaut out there!

Furthermore, at a time when the Malaysian economy looked so bleak, how can the government afford the billions of ringgit to send astronauts into outer space? What is the government trying to prove? That “Malaysia Boleh”? And what good is one trip into outer space, are we going to send more astronauts into outer space for the sake of leisure and at the expense of the rakyat?

Think what the billions can do for the economy of Malaysia at this time! It is so unbecoming of our government.

If at all Malaysia wants to prove that it CAN, then we should perhaps do more research and make our own rockets to travel into outer space without the aid of foreign nations. By then we can proudly stand up and say “MALAYSIA BENAR-BENAR BOLEH!!!!”

138. #138 by sam_cyse on Wednesday, 17 October 2007 - 12:38 am

Syabas to our ‘PESERTA ANGKASA’ Dr Sheikh Muszaphar. It will be great you can share your experience and try to inspire the young ones of what ‘SPACE TRIP’ feels like.
    Hopefully, you will play a pivotal role in turning our space program to mold out in the distant future a true ‘ANGKASAWAN’
    For those who still wish to think that we have sent an ‘ANGKASAWAN’ to space, stop kidding yourself and don’t be a laughing stock. LOL

139. #139 by lhteoh on Wednesday, 17 October 2007 - 10:49 pm

Given another 50 years, I don’t think Malaysia can go to space by its own simply because best brains will not stay in Malaysia. I wonder paying million $ to space what is that to be proud of, is basically taking tax payers money for space tour. The money could put to better use for the benefits of million of Malaysians instead.

140. #140 by shaolin on Friday, 19 October 2007 - 10:10 am

Nothing for All Malaysians to be PROUD of!! Where are our own
    SPACE INFRASTRUCTURES?? We now just borrow Others’ rocket,
    spaceship and ISS for Space Tour and Dr. Sheik is just a Space
    Capsule passanger!! Nothing GREAT… Just buy a Space Tour ticket
    and any Tom Dick and Harry can just travel !!

We only be PROUD of Ourselves when we go up into SPACE using
    all the resources that can be called our very own. During that time
    Malaysians are TRULY BOLEH!! Now Malaysians saja TAK BOLEH LAGI!!! Wake Up, Don’t daydream too much!!! We cannot even design and build a simple light aircraft of our own yet and we talk about going to SPACE Technologies & Engineering!!! It is ABSURD!
    May be balek kampung and enjoy Hari Raya is of much better idea now!!

Where are All the TOP Brains of Malaysia??? They are all working
    Overseas becoz the Malaysian Government treats them 2nd and
    3rd Class citizens!!! Who wants to serve the country if you are being ill-treated??

141. #141 by pkrisnin on Sunday, 21 October 2007 - 12:25 pm

Big Screen at Dataran Medeka malfunction during the space launch due to fuse blow out and the people had to view the launch using TV3 camera crew 14 inch TV. That should tell Malaysian something about our gov. technical abilities. Got rumors want to start looking at alternative power source nuclear power plant, GOD SAVE US.
    Still want to brag about the space monkey. First Proton eat the rakyat’s money now we have to pay to send space monkeys up into orbit for a joy ride. I heard a second one is planned to go up too. Gov. claims no money to subsides petrol, need more toll, cannot help the poor non-malay but got money for to send the space monkeys and too bail out Proton and MARA.
    Waste of money just so UMNO can give the Malays some delusions of achievement just in time for the elections.
    Before anyone says I’m a racists, even if it was a non-malay space monkey that went up, I would still be say it is waste of money, since nothing was achieved and gained for Malaysians except the delusion of achieving something which was nothing in reality.
    Time to vote this gov. out. Better start donating my tax ringgit to the people that need it than letting the gov. waste it on BS endeavors.
    We should start investing more in Green Tech before the oil runs out, this shows our Gov. is just interested in wining the election and keeping their minster post so they suck more blood out of the rakyat.

142. #142 by khoo on Tuesday, 23 October 2007 - 4:27 pm

“He was awestruck by his wonderful experience in space that he would like to go up again and stay in space for six months.” said Datuk Najib. If you put a monkey into space it will come back jumping with excitement too. Why not build some library for our kids or a better education systems.At least we have a better fighting chance.

143. #143 by Kanninneh on Wednesday, 24 October 2007 - 12:32 am

Do u know how short sighted is our “Cheng Hu”…??? Bloody…!!!

Do u know how corrupt is our “Cheng Hu”…??? Very…!!!

Do u know how not focus is our “Cheng Hu” to the nation…??? Look at the space monkey…!!!

Take a look of the region, which country will actually do such a lack of substance matters?

These are all for show and 3 minutes orgasm. Damn…!!! Sad with our Blood Sucking “Cheng Hu”…!!!

If our late Tunku wake up from his grave to witness all this….surely vomit blood…!!!