MPs Bung Mokhtar/Mohd Said – the “Ugly Malaysians”

The Barisan Nasional (BN) Member of Parliament for Kinabatangan Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin is trying to jump out of the burning quagmire which he found himself in together with the BN MP for Jasin, Datuk Mohd Said Yusof as a result of their unrepentant and recalcitrant sexism in Parliament more than a fortnight ago.

He thinks that he has found a very smart exit strategy for his predicament by challenging me to contest against him in his Kinabatangan constituency in the next general election and even offering 1,000 votes free — which was given front-page treatment in Sabah newspapers yesterday.

He cannot be more wrong or naive to think that he could distract or deflect national and international attention from his unrepentant and unpunished male chauvinism in Parliament on May 9, 2007.

Clearly, Bung Mohtar just don’t get it — that there is no way he could extricate himself from the quagmire and the furore he and Mohd Said had created would go away by just turning it into a cheap farce, such as challenging me to contest against him in Kinabatangan.

The issue at stake has nothing to do with him and me, and that is why my answer is a definitive negative when a reporter asked whether I would counter-challenge Bung Mokhtar to contest against me in Ipoh Timur parliamentary constituency.

The question is solely about Bung Mohktar himself Bung Mohtar’s greatest enemy is not any third party but his own self and he must wrestle with his own soul and devil as well as his own sense of decency, as he and Mohd Said have become the worst examples of “Ugly Malaysians” on the occasion of the 50th Merdeka anniversary, bringing shame and dishonour to Parliament, the nation and women in Malaysia, ASEAN and the world.

This is all because of their foul and gender-offensive mouthings which they have not shown one iota of remorse for over a fortnight — compounded by their bogus apologies in the farce orchestrated with the Women, Family and Community Development Minister, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil.

The net result had been completely unexpected — arousing even greater wrath and outrage among decent men and women, because the fraudulent apologies were so clear and blatant.

Bung Mokhtar and Mohd Jasin should realize that they have stumbled onto one of the unintended effects of the process of globalization — that women MPs not only in Malaysia but in ASEAN and the world would be taking up the cudgels to protect their dignity and honour which had been besmirched by the duo’s boorish and sexist remarks, as sexist attack on the honour of DAP MP for Batu Gajah, Fong Po Kuan was also an attack on the honour of all women MPs in Malaysia, ASEAN and the world!

This is why ASEAN and global Parliamentarians have stood up in solidarity with Po Kuan and denounced the sexism in the Malaysian Parliament as both errant MPs have become even more obnoxious after their fake apologies — to the extent that Bung Mokhtar is so devoid of remorse or shame as to challenge me to contest against him in Kinabatangtan.

Bung Mohtar and Mohd Said should be forewarned — that unless they are prepared to fully express contrition for their boorish and sexist conduct and accept punishment, such as six-month suspension as MP and six-month community service with women groups with parliamentary allowance during this period donated to women activities, public outrage at their unrepentant and recalcitrant sexism will continue to snowball, not only in the country but in the regional and international arenas.

Already there are proposals from MPs from other ASEAN countries that such unacceptable and unrepentant sexism in Parliament should be exposed and condemned at the ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Organisation (AIPO) Conference in Kuala Lumpur in September and in forthcoming Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU) and Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) international conferences.

The ball is in the courts of Bung Mokhtar and Mohd Said, whether they want to become two MPs who will in future be equated with the term “Ugly Malaysians”!

1. #1 by osaya on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 1:39 pm

I hope to see these two get what they deserved. And more importantly, that the rest of the MPs learn from this.

2. #2 by Jonny on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 1:57 pm

Whether Uncle Kit takes him on or not is a different matter at all. Not related.

Let’s say Uncle Kit challenge him head-on, and further countered with 1,000 free votes – really – this sounds like football betting …

In anycase, Uncle Kit will sure lose. No way Uncle Kit can win. Fact is – the amount of Pendatang Tanpa Izin (PTI) in Sabah who eventually gets MYKAD – outnumbers the locals.

Seriously, can Uncle Kit win? I don’t think so.

The biggest losers are Sabahans, who were sold out by their own leaders.

3. #3 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:02 pm

The only thing that BMR (short form for Buang Muka Rakyat) knows is to challenge others to contest in his contituency based on popularity (making joke on others’ expense and to talk nonsense in parliament wasting all the parliament time and tax payer money instead of formulating national policy!!) and not on the amount of contributions given to our beloved country Malaysia, or his own constituency. If i am the PM, I will sack him first for always talking nonsense in parliament and embarrassing all the Malaysians in front of others in the world.
    I dont agree to send them for community service with women groups as they will harrass or do something funny to all the women there!! e.g. those who offended the children, how can we send them to work with children!!! more over, there’s no repentant on their parts. I think the best is to ask them to clean the public toilets as community service.

4. #4 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:04 pm

BMR is standing for Buang Muka Rakyat!

5. #5 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:08 pm

Never send them to work with women groups!!! you are sending wolf to the sheeps!!!!

6. #6 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:10 pm

BMR will win based on popularity by talking nonsense in the parliament and not on contributions to the country!!!

7. #7 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:16 pm

If i am the PM, I will sack both BMR & MSY immediately. They are many capable people around, why chosed these jokers. May be the people like them because they perform show in the parliament and give cheap entertainment. That’s why there are many movie stars become Presidents. Very good acting skills. But please dont playX2 in parliament and waste all the parliament time and tax payer money!

8. #8 by humanly on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:17 pm

YB Kit,

This Bung Busuk Mulut is pulling a fast one by challenging you to stand against him in his kawasan. He knows non-Sabahan cannot contest in Sabah.

First and foremost, you cannot qualify to be a resident of Sabah unless the CM dept approves.

9. #9 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:27 pm

10. #10 by Bobster on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:29 pm

Good to have these two clowns running the circus in the Parliament. Any sane rakyat will notice this is the state of ruling party we have in the gomen after 50 yrs of independence.

This country is going down the drain with clowns running the gomen and half-past-six ministers warming their seats and sucking up the wealth of the nation.

Time for the Rakyat to stand up together and SACK the ruling party!

11. #11 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 2:50 pm

Bung has dung for brain.

12. #12 by Jimm on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 3:25 pm

During TDM tenure, no BN MPs dare to misbehave like these manners, however, AAB break the tradition now. Isn’t that a long waited ‘freedom’ for most of the MPs.
    We all knew that things will happens this way when BN took over the Parliament with majority wins. I would like to thanks BN for making us understand what we can do to change the situation now. So, it’s entirely up to us to direct the country future in the coming GE. Vote wisely even though we know that there are concern areas pertaining to the voting system and credibility of SPR.

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 3:41 pm

“Clearly, Bung Mohtar just don’t get it – that there is no way he could extricate himself from the quagmire and the furore he and Mohd Said had created” – YB Kit.

Actually, the whole mighty BN machinery still has not got it (if one recalls the apologist statements made by its top leadership to protect Bung Mohtar and Mohd Said’s positions).

What has been invoked here, using the duo’s sexist remarks as focal point, is the hitherto untapped reservoir of women/feminist power world wide against it.

This is unprecedented. It is deft move on the Opposition’s part. Interesting times lie ahead. There will be more encounters to come where the patriarchal culture of BN will be pitched against women’s movement and lobby.

14. #14 by smeagroo on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 3:53 pm

Till today Semi Dummy has chalengged YB LKS and I hv coolly suggested this thug to challeng YB in a neutral area of YB choice (since Dummy boy is so arrogant). Let’s go to JINJANG.

And then comes the next thug in BUng-kus Mokhtar. How come whenever these lowlife wanna issue a challenge they choose the place? Jaguh Kampung? Ahhh yes. Typical losers. If he has the guts (just like a thug i know but has since kept quiet) then he should have issued a challenge to YB an area of his choosing.

When MU face Team Msia ( now that is has been scrapped), MU wont say we will beat u guys if u were to come to The Theatre of Dreams. We can beat u in Stadium Bukit Jalil or Stadium Merdeka. It doesnt matter. When you hv the quality, you are not afraid.

But we know what BUNG-kus man has. A brain the size of a fly and an imbecile trying to be a moron.

15. #15 by smeagroo on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 3:54 pm

chalengged = challenged

16. #16 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 4:18 pm

Rakyat dont need to spend tons of money to keep these monkeys in the parliament to disturb the proper running of the house or to be clowns there. We can get professional clowns any time we want them with friction of the money we spent on them!! In no time, all our country reserves will be gone because there are so many of them in the house, no wonder the gov is signing 20 years LNG/petrol contract worth billions of ringgit into the future. Get the commission/kickback money first and let Rakyat suffer in the future!!

17. #17 by BioLovepulse on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 4:46 pm

I feel like slapping them in the face. Why not asking them to stand outside somewhere and wear a signage like “I am hated by women of the world, I made sexist remarks”, just like the thief who stole from Wal-Mart?

Meanwhile, discussion about Malaysian MPs is hot in this thread:
    http://www.scuforum.net/index.php?showtopic=179

18. #18 by Taikotai on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 4:47 pm

One foot in the grave and still he talk rooster in the media. Some people never learn from mistake and keeps banging the head against the wall.

Surely he thinks the concrete wall of justice will break if he keeps on knocking on it with his thick skull.

As a son of Malaysia, what I can do is to buy some caramel popcorns from GSC cinema (they make good popcorns), sit down and watch the comedy shows continue in Parliament and media.

Thank you very much for keeping me entertained. This is tax money well spent!

19. #19 by rayden on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 4:52 pm

I have no idea why Bung Mohtar is challenging you Uncle Kit.
    I dont know the point.

It’s truly, very childish to hear that in fact.
    Even if he won the election, what does it prove?

What are he trying to prove?
    He’s not rational at all, what’s wrong with the RAKYAT:Kinabatangan ?
    Is there no one else worth to be voted there?
    If so, just remove the Kinabatangan seat from the Parliment, im sure the Parliment will be much more quite.

20. #20 by crosstalk on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 5:32 pm

YB LKS,the bung alias dung is a recalcitrant n incorrigible idiot.This good for nothing bum has created immense negative implications about Malaysia.Everyone is aware that this chap does not at all belong to your calibre as a long renowned politician in Malaysia and yet he was so impudent and insensitive to make the challenge against you.

These days a lot of people are quite shocked to see this type of ‘liow'(stuff) nominated by his party and elected by the people as MP.It will be even more shocking to know if this MCP is nominated for another time.

21. #21 by grace on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 5:45 pm

Instead Mr. Lim should challenge him to stand inIPOH. Let us see whether he can win.

I am going to bet my last dollar that Bung Mokhtar will loose.

A ‘bangsat’ like him stands no chance in a more educated voters.

By calling him an ugly Malaysian, you are giving him too much face already. I would call him the most ‘kurang ajar’, ugliest and most despicable creature ever to crawl on this good land of Malaysia.

22. #22 by gerald on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 5:49 pm

Waiting eagerly to see if these 2 clowns would be nominated to defend their seat in the next election.

23. #23 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 6:09 pm

Semua serupa sahaja! No fish prawns also OK lah, that is the situation AAB is in. He cant be choosy as he got nothing to choose, why? all the same kind. What do u expect? no wonder a lot of people outside Malaysia still think that we are living on top of trees.

24. #24 by pwcheng on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 6:39 pm

Actually this Bung (kus) fellow is trying to tell you that whatever wrong he has done he will not be slighted by his people and the PM who will still picked him as a candidate and be voted in his Kinabatangan people. There is no more moral fiber in him. Only thing take it that this guy is an eccentric for he has already lost his bearing and from now on he will issue all type of stupid statements and do all sort of stupid things.

First and foremost, it will be a shame if he is again selected as a candidate for the Kinabatangan constituency and since he do not know the meaning of “malu” he would expect to be selected again to stand again in the Kinabatangan constituency. UMNO is increasingly finding it difficult to get good people because the spoon feeding policy has half paralyzed their limbs and mind. In spite of all the paralysis he thinks he will still win because of the illegal immigrants.

We must agree we have a tough time ahead against these scoundrels. They have so many tricks up their sleeves, ranging from sending bags of postal votes, illegal immigrants, phantom voters, votes buying and gerry mandering. Finally they will have the election commission to take care of the rest for them.

25. #25 by Billy on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 6:51 pm

Once again, these two are the products of the UMNO led government. So what more can we say? The PM’s long silence on this matter already reflects his condonement on the issue, and I can bet with anyone that this will not be the last we will hear from these two blokes. So get ready for the next round.

26. #26 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 7:53 pm

“The ball is in the courts of Bung Mokhtar and Mohd Said, whether they want to become two MPs who will in future be equated with the term “Ugly Malaysians”!” Kit

The “ball is in their court”? Isn’t this a sexist remark??

27. #27 by yellowkingdom on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 7:55 pm

I like this article by M Veera Pandiyan, it makes for a good laugh and you learn new words, too.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/5/24/focus/17792458&sec=focus

28. #28 by nkeng on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 7:57 pm

These are the classless people who got no clue of what life is all about but wants to be a leader. Poorah, male chauvinist PIG.

If my mother chance upon this Moktar guy, she promised me to give him a tight slap.

29. #29 by Winston on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 7:59 pm

I think that Uncle Lim should get the Asean countries to ban these two from ever setting foot in their countries. For a start.
    If other countries can be persuaded to do the same, so much the better.
    Let them rot in Bolehland!

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 9:14 pm

The use of the term “Ugly Malaysians” to describe the two country bumpkins tends to take us back to the controversy caused by the 1958 novel by Lederer and Burdick who used the term “ugly” to describe the “Ugly Americans” who when living in foreign countries were often loud, pretentious and ostentatious often demeaning and insensitive to local cultures.

These two country bumpkins did not utter derogatory remarks to their counterparts in Parliament on foreign soil. It would be different if when invited to address the U.S. Congress they make those same remarks about U.S. Congress women.

31. #31 by alphoti on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 11:07 pm

So, Bung Mokhtar is challenging Mr Lim Kit Siang.

The 2 clowns are supposed to be sacked by any standard. The challenge make me wonder of 2 things:

1. Bung Mohktar is naive to think that he will be fielded by BN again after all the stupid things he said.

2. He knows too well how BN works. No matter what happens, what MPs did or say ( & how shamefull it is to Malaysia), he will be fielded again.

Judging from the past, may be 2. is more relevant.

32. #32 by 4th_wife on Friday, 25 May 2007 - 11:56 pm

BN MPs who knows they are over their expiry date always come up with a novel way of trying to extend their stay by challenging Uncle Kit to a contest in the next election…..this sexist MP is no difference. Samiboy did that too…..

33. #33 by cklife on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 12:51 am

Take the challenge lar..

hahahhahahhahhahah…

no harm….
    I bet he’ll lose. I will not vote for him. So does many others this time.

In fact, I’m going to vote for anything OTHER THAN Barisan Nasional.

I dont care if it’s PAS , DAP or PKR.. or even independant.

No more BN for me.

FED UP WITH CORRUPTION, RACISM, SEXISM, INEFFICIENCY and most importantly, POVERTY.

BN had made the poor malay poorer….
    MALAY must all unite to fight against a system that does them no benefit.. do not take NEP as a REWARD.

NEP is not a REWARD… it’s a tool that makes rich Malay richer….

Please, any opposition that read this… we don’t want NEP and ISA.

Screw you guys from BN…. middle finger for Khairy.

34. #34 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 10:08 am

Again this guy show how perverted a mind he has. To him, all issues about him is about power, there is nothing wrong with him is his view. People just don’t get it. he is smarter than everyone because he has power and influence.

His perversion is how he link an adminstrative issue into a sexual one. To him sex is about conquest and domination and women are objects of his pleasure and desires.

He is just sick, plain and simple

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 10:41 am

Undergrad2 says, “These two country bumpkins did not utter derogatory remarks to their counterparts in Parliament on foreign soil” – yes, but received by them in the foreign soil since an insult demeaning to one woman has been extended here to all women here and everywhere! This is the meaning of solidarity of sisterhood akin, to what many Islamists view it, the brother hood of the faith (ummah) in relation to which an insult to a muslim in Syria is received as an insult to a muslim in Argentina.

The “ball is in their court”? Isn’t this a sexist remark?? Of course not : we’re talking of a metaphorical expression based on a real ball from a man to another man and not “bola bocor” from a woman to a man!

36. #36 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 10:51 am

“Actually this Bung (kus) fellow is trying to tell you that whatever wrong he has done he will not be slighted by his people and the PM who will still picked him as a candidate and be voted in his Kinabatangan people” – pwcheng. Yes, it means that his constituency does not view offensively sexist remarks as a big deal, that they will still vote him in, and that we should be reminded that this is democrary – government of the people, for the people and by the people, people meaning the majority voters whose will, the minority cannot defeat by their western gender equal and women respectful norms!

37. #37 by FuturePolitician on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 11:32 am

Dont you understand, you cant negotiate with a insane person..or a person without a spec of intelligent.

Till today these guys has shown no repent and trying to save their butts they have dragged the whole BN including the PM into their “realm of stupidity”. Using all know “sneaky” ways to improvise on their so called “apology”, they think the rest of the world is stupid.

I have met liars whom think they lied their way through and felt happy of their own achievement, they will ignore all advices..and stick to their ways till the very end. These people are already out of their mind and have a reduction of their IQ so low that they no more able to compromise with real work respond.

You can put them in a empty white room and they think it is the parliment.

Forget it Kit, his invitation is only for the insane. Let his peers judge him in coming election, BN may themselves remove him and replace with another candidate. It is time for Damage control for them.

38. #38 by paix on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 11:48 am

I am surprised the idiot did not challenge you to a boxing match ala Ali-Frazier. Why don’t you challenge the imbecile to a debate?

39. #39 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 12:06 pm

Huh?? “Bola bocor”??

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 12:07 pm

“Bola bocor” or leaking balls?

41. #41 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 12:09 pm

Jeffrey,

They need your views on the other ‘Mufti’ thread.

42. #42 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 3:02 pm

Undergrad2,

Sometimes I wonder why I have to do so, but anyway, for your sake, I have expressed a personal view under the earlier thread on the Royal Wedding and State Mufti. It is an opinion which you may or may not agree (you most entitled to disagree) but most likely you will not like it, as it exonerates Richard Teo completely from all charges of sedition made by his accusers/detractors under that thread. Sorry…..

43. #43 by boh-liao on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 10:34 pm

It’s a pity our PM’s late wife is not with him now, otherwise she will make certainly make our PM see the light and punish the two sexist, useless MPs. Without her, our PM cannot realise that two sexist, useless MPs had insulted all females and males. So sad and tragic.

44. #44 by akarmalaysian on Saturday, 26 May 2007 - 10:50 pm

wud u teach ur own kids to insult or make statements like this bung ‘sai’ to their own mother?its hard to behave like a gentleman wif a bung head like him.it wud be odd if his wife doesnt bocor every month.

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 7:07 pm

Jeffrey,

Sorry. Been busy – but I have my response to your posting. See ‘Mufti’ thread.

A final comment.

“…it (your opinion) exonerates Richard Teo completely…” Jeffrey

No one is exonerated until the matter goes to court. Since no one is taking an interest in Richard Teo’s writing on the issue, we will never know. But I believe had it been written by Karpal Singh or Kit, and published and circulated, it would have different consequences.

When Richard Teo reacted “for the life of me I cannot find anything wrong with my writing” or words to that effect, I believe it was a genuine reaction. He says he has only the “utmost respect” for the former Lord President. Little does he know that ‘intention’ is irrelevant in the law of sedition.

46. #46 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 7:44 pm

Undergrad2,

Hi, of course, you are right that no one is exonerated until the matter goes to court but in that earlier posting I was just playing judge, as if delivering a verdict. I have read your response – thanks – but on a more serious note, if I were really the judge, I would exonerate Richard from sedition just based on the wordings on face of record. I know you have dwelled much on contruction of what’s the necessary implication of that stated by him. I don’t pay as much weightage on implication because there has not happened protests and disaffection (as a result of and with nexus with what was written). The result of what happened caused by what was said is pivotal. Here we are talking in vacumn because nothing happened. But hypothetically if there were an incident caused by the statements made, I would still interpret based strictly on what’s express on face of record, and pay very little emphasis on what is implied because in fairness to any defendant of sedition, ‘intention’ is, you know, not relevant. The other thing that weighs with me (that is not the same with you) is that “Ruler” in Sedition Act is a reference to DYMM the Sultan and not the Raja Muda (to me, at least for interpretation of what is seditious).

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 27 May 2007 - 10:24 pm

Noted.

But I did say Sultan and “by way of extension” the Raja Muda. Reference to the Sultan should also include arguendo the Raja Muda who is the subject of the criticism by Richard Teo. The Raja Muda would be Regent and ruler should the Sultan be incapacitated.

For those interested in the debate, you could visit the “Mufti” thread and make your input. This thread has attracted more than 120 comments so far – by far the highest.

Jeffrey, I am following your comments on the other thread.

48. #48 by Peace99 on Sunday, 3 June 2007 - 9:23 pm

when the ‘bocor’ show will end?
    or any surprising show will coming up next?
    i’m waiting da result of coming GE..