For the past fortnight, Malaysians have been treated as suckers by Cabinet Ministers — the most outrageous case being the demand by the Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu for RM22 million to inspect new government buildings in Putrajaya for defects, which did not include a subsequent and lengthening list of government building mishaps, such as the spanking new RM290 million court complex in Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur and now Parliament House which has become a “HOUSE OF LEAKS” barely two years after a RM100 million renovation.
Today, even the two sexist Barisan Nasional (BN) MPs, Datuk Mohd Said Yusof (Jasin) and Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin (Kinabatangan), are treating Malaysians as suckers with their “apology” which is really no apology over their gender-offensive male-chauvinist remarks in Parliament last week, directed at DAP MP for Batu Gajah, Fong Po Kuan, but which brought shame and dishonour to Parliament, Malaysian women and the nation’s international reputation.
I had not wanted to comment on the case of the two sexist BN MPs today, but when I read Malaysiakini news reports of the alleged “apology” of Mohd Said and Bung Mokhtar which the Women, Family and Community Development Minister, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jali had described as a “closure”, I cannot contain my outrage and wrath.
This is because the so-called “apology” of Mohd Said and Bung Mokhtar orchestrated by Shahrizat was not only no “closure” of the abominable case of sexual harassment and gender abuse in Parliament last week, but had added “salt to the wound” of Po Kuan, as well as all women and men who want proper closure with justice done to all aggrieved parties.
After their 45-minute meeting with Shahrizat, Mohd Said and Bung Mokhtar said they would like to tender their apologies, if “women were offended”.
However, they destroyed all meaning in their apologies when they defended their words used in Parliament as necessary to defend the government during debates.
They also did not issue a personal apology to Po Kuan.
As if such qualifications were not adequate to destroy all meaning of their apologies, Mohd Said added insult to injury by alleging that “the incident was manipulated by the opposition who pictured it (the incident) negatively, and made it look different from what really happened in the Dewan Rakyat”.
Bung Mokhtar said the incident was blown out of proportion by DAP by highlighting it in the media and dragging along the women’s organizations in the country.
In one fell swoop, both MPs had destroyed all meaning in their alleged apology by justifying their sexist attacks on Po Kuan on the ground that the gender-offensive remarks were uttered following provocation. They went one step further in accusing women organizations of being too gullible and mindless in allowing themselves to be manipulated by the DAP, highlighting the duo’s contempt for the integrity, commitment and professionalism of women organizations!
The farce of “apology to Po Kuan and all Malaysian women, then only to Malaysian women but not to Po Kuan, and then not even to Malaysian women” by the duo on Cabinet day on Wednesday, and their charade of an “apology” which is no apology this morning have proven right the indignation, outrage and resolution of the public forum “Respect Women’s Dignity Towards a 1st World Parliament” at YMCA Hall, Kuala Lumpur last night.
The public forum, which was attended by over 300 people, unanimously agreed that Mohd Said and Bung Mohtar had been guilty of sexual harassment of Po Kuan and had brought shame and dishonour to Parliament, Malaysian women and the nation’s reputation internationally.
They agreed that the suitable penalty for the duo is the following five-point punishment:
1. Six-month suspension as MP.
2. Six-month community service with women groups.
3. Donation of the their entire parliamentary allowance during suspension to women groups.
4. Full apology to Fong Po Kuan and Malaysian women.
5. If no full apology, the six-month suspension and community service to be extended to 12 months.
Mohd Said and Bung Mohtar have now expanded the list of individuals and organizations they have to proffer their apologies — the women organisations and their leaders whom they insulted and humiliated this morning with their contemptuous dismissal of their integrity, commitment and professionalism.

#1 by Libra2 on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 10:37 am
The two really look like clowns in todays front page. I think we should let the matter rest.
#2 by Toyol on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 11:05 am
It is as expected. The sandiwara strikes again. Sharizat has again betrayed all women and the nation by accepting a so called apology from these 2. They even have the cheek to blame the opposition and the press!!!
Nothing short of a sacking or a resignation will do amends. These are not men of honour whom we call leaders. They have betrayed the nation. With this issue, the problem is once again swept under the carpet only to come out later. When will we ever learn. The MP’s themselves have said that to be a politician, one must be thickskined. In that case, their apology is definitely no apology…at least not in a sincere tone.
Sharizat thinks she can hoodwink the public by ‘achieving’ an apology from these clowns. She is part of the problem. As usual no Muslim woman can come against her fellow man and come up on top. It is not their custom. So it is not surprising that she is actually at their mercy and told by the powers to be to tow the line. All BN leaders have to tow the line, and as I have said earlier, this attitude will never bring progress to our nation. We will forever be inundated by incompetence, corruption, sexist and chauvinistic attitudes etc…simply because the powers to be are not capable of or refuse to change. We will forever be third world.
#3 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 11:29 am
Women in Malaysia need to become better organised to improve the nation. Don’t depend too much on the men as they are quite comfortable as things are.
As for the apology, it is a question of the pride of the powerful and the influential. Even Paul Wolfowitz of the World Bank seems to think he did nothing wrong.
http://malaysiawatch2.blogspot.com/2007/05/we-need-to-make-better-use-of-women.html
#4 by smeagroo on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 12:57 pm
You know why till now The Sleepy PM and Ignorant DPM is still keeping mum over this issue? Bcos they need ppl like these 2 imbeciles to stir up non-issues in the Parlaiment to divert attention to real issues at hand. The more of such clowns means the more time is taken away to tackle real and important issues that plague the country. Instead of putting these 2 nimcompoops in the freezer, the leaders welcome such behaviours with open arms. And with people like Nazri helming it, they can just sit back and relax. Is it a wonder why majority of BN MPs are like morons?
#5 by smeagroo on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 12:58 pm
And that Bung-kus fella was holding a ladies’ handbag? Looking at their suits, it would be around RM2000 per suit. And they hv how many of such high quality suits in their wardrobe? HOw can they afford it??
#6 by ihavesomethingtosay on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 1:01 pm
Lily Says:
May 19th, 2007 at 1:13 am
The 45-minute meeting between the 3 monkeys namely Shahrizat, Mohd Said and Bung Mokhtar is only a sandiwara. The 45-minute was probably spent drinking teh tarik, makan kuih and laughing about the peoples’ reaction on this ‘bocor’ issue.
I fully agree with the 5-point punishment imposed on them to redeem the parliament’s honour.
4 monkeys, 3 is “see no. hear no and speak no” the last monkey?
zzzzzzzzzzzz
#7 by MY VIEW on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 1:05 pm
These 2 idiots must apologise to YB Fong. If they are sincere, the first person they must apologised is to the Batu Gajah MP YB Fong.
#8 by PureMalaysian on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 1:12 pm
I wonder if both of them, during lunch breaks, joke about their own wives and own daughters’ “monthly bocor” as well… and then laugh and sneer to one another. If they do, then probably we should forgive them and leave them as it is.
#9 by galaxy on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 1:45 pm
As a Malaysian citizen, I am extremely disappointed and dismayed by the conduct of our MPs in Parliment House. What kind and level of intellectual capacity do they have? Isn’t Parliment House a place of high regards with intellectuals debating and promulgating laws and policies for the benefit of its citizen instead of barking sexist and derogatory remarks against a weaker sex? I am pondering what kind of MPs do we have?
We should have more MPs of high intellectual and integrity in discharging their duties to the electorates in their constituency. Mr Lim KS and Karpal Singh are exemplary MPs that should be emulated by the other MPs in serving their constituencies. Despite the many hurdles that they faced in discharging their duties, their relentless pursuit to seek justice, fairness, transparency and equality for all has won admiration not only from me, but also many Malaysians. A salutation to both of you. Keep up the good work.
#10 by bennylohstocks on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 2:52 pm
Sirs,
This MP is stupid, right?…
http://malaysiancartoons.blogspot.com/2007/05/apology-unintelligent-remarks.html
#11 by Joetan on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 3:19 pm
All these things can only happen in Malaysia. On one hand the government sound serious on sexual harassment with the passing of all sorts of bills to curb them and on the other hand they are lenient to those who harass women in Parliment. As long as you are in BN especially UMNO you are safe.
#12 by Lily on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 3:51 pm
Uncle Kit, please do not close file on this. In fact, Nazri and Najib’s belittling of this issue should also be highlighted. Just because they have crude and undignified wives doesn’t mean all Malaysian women are like them.
It is exactly the kind of attitude Malaysians have that the BN had become so complacent and that is “let the matter rest………”
#13 by Godfather on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 5:09 pm
Stupidity is a pre-requisite of being a Barisan MP.
#14 by jnet on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 8:35 pm
What is the punishment? Only apology?
GOOD JOB! If they were insulted PM, apology will do!
Remember people of Msia, You can insult these 2 Stupid MPs and just APOLOGY lOH!
#15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 9:30 pm
The clowns who mistook Parliament for a stage must pay their price for their folly!
#16 by PureMalaysian on Saturday, 19 May 2007 - 10:39 pm
To echo what jnet suggested — U F**king D*mb *ss BN MCPs!!!
Solly loh… apology accepted.
#17 by crosstalk on Sunday, 20 May 2007 - 12:11 am
People who uphold justice,fairness and righteousness will never condone the sexist n derogatory remarks made by the ‘dung’ n the ‘sai’.The matter should be pursued by YB LKS until true justice is done to YB Fong and the women folk.The two idiots n their gang are real shit.
#18 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 20 May 2007 - 1:04 am
STOP calling Bung and Said Monkeys and Orang Utans, all of you!!!
You are insulting the monkeys and orang utans who have better social manners and behaviours, and they are more civilised and intelligent. You can call them MCPs but ooops, pigs are better than them too and might be insulted as well.
Just refer to them as “that Bung Bocor” and “that Said Mata-bocor”. Its politcally correct. No “apologies” needed.
#19 by hawaiichee on Monday, 21 May 2007 - 9:21 am
It is high time that the ladies in Malaysia use this opportunity to voice out dissatisfaction about sexual harasments and bring up instances of such degratory remarks and gender insensitive jokes not only in the Parliment but happening widespread.
It is time to come out of the closet and claim your right and equal place in the society. There is no need to hide in fear of tradition. Each of us can discern what is right and wrong, what is just and unjust. Just because a tradition is practiced long does not mean it is right. Women have been now educated to know that they need to be respected as much as men. This is the 21st century and if Malaysia still have practices that restrain women from being given equal chances in the society, such traditions need to be improved. Women can also make changes to these traditions and have a say besides men.
In America, there was an Afro-American with the name of Rosa Parks. On December 1, 1955, Parks was sitting on a bus in the front row of the section reserved for blacks. But when a white man got on, there were no more seats in the white section, so the bus driver told Parks to move back.
But Parks was convinced that to do so would be wrongâ€â€and she refused to get up. “Since I have always been a strong believer in God,†she says, “I knew that He was with me, and only He could get me through that next step.†Her courage later freed discrimination towards Afro-Americans in America decades later.
We as Malaysians need to have courage to stand up for what we believe in and not just live a passive life sheltered by the government, by governments Acts, by threats of ISA. We need to free ourselves from these chains that make our lives not worth living. If we do not believe in something, first discuss our disbelief with others and if after hearing from others, we can make a better decision.
If Rosa Parks did not choose to stand up for her rights and sue in the court, there will be less reasons for politicians to fight for her case. If Lina Joy did not choose to risk her life to stand for what she believes in, that Malaysians need to have freedom of religion, there will be no awareness and no avenue for politicians to lobby for change.
I look forward to the day, when the Prime Minister of Malaysia encourages full religious freedom and reminds everyone of the multiracial country and that all religions and race are equal in Malaysia. The Prime Minister would echo the words of Abraham Lincoln -
“…Let us discard all this quibbling about this man
and the other man–this race and that race and the
other race being inferior, and therefore they must be
placed in an inferior position…Let us discard all
these things, and unite as one people throughout this
land, until we shall once more stand up declaring that
all men are created equal.â€Â
– Abraham Lincoln
Rosa Parks example stands true to all generations of women. Whenever there is injustice, the women can search deep inside her heart and know the right thing to do. Women in nature are more spiritual and stand for integrity. Thus, they genuinely seek change for the good of humankind and look at a broader picture selflessly. For whatever cause women fight for – it is a good cause.
Like Rosa Parks, she knows that laws and policies are made by man and can be changed and ammended. The laws we have in Malaysia today can be ammended in Parliment and approved by the Judiciary. It is up to us to lobby for change for a better Malaysia. Women should never be quiet anymore.
The time is ripe to unite all women as only when united, women support one another in courage for the selfless cause of improving humanity. If your husband has 3 wives and do not support you financially, speak up and ensure the current laws are standing for justice. If your husband divorces you and married another and the processes are in support for a breakdown of family life, we can make a change. Voice out. If we women do not get the same opportunities as men in leadership and asked to separate from men – for no good reason as though we are hideous or lower rank, we need to make changes.
The time is now. With blogs, lets communicate with one another and make a change to Malaysia. The solidarity of women can turn Malaysia around because our cause are genuine.
Women can fight against unequal right.
Women can fight against injustice.
Women can fight against corruption.
Women can fight against a system that is poor, inefficient and unsuitable for our children.
Women can fight for a better Malaysia with better opportunities for our children.
Let us not keep silent anymore. We have just seen the ugliness of how things can be and how we when united can demand change. Lets not stop at there.
The story of Rosa Parks should be brought up every day in Malaysia. I look forward to hearing the story of Lina Joy more often as well. Whether Lina Joy succeeds or not, her bravery and courage is exemplary and should be recognized by women of all races. Our fight for the good cause of Malaysia is not finished.
It is time we liberate Malay women dominated by the Malay tradition and customs. There should be equal opportunities for women and they should not separated from the men and demanded to be kept quiet. Malay women ought to have a say on family matters and whether their husbands should have 3-4 wives and more say in divorce and child custody cases. If we free Malay females to stand up for their rights, we liberate Malaysia to think and move forward as a modern nation. The women movement in Malaysia can turn the country around.
Perjuanganmu belum selesai. Marilah kita bersama-sama membawa perubahan positif untuk Malaysia tercinta.