Another RM22 million scandal to inspect new Putrajaya buildings – Malaysians made suckers!

Malaysians today feel angry and outraged when they read that the Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu is asking for RM22 million to inspect new government buildings in Putrajaya for defects, on top of an unending list of government building mishaps.

The spanking new RM290 million court complex in Jalan Duta, Kuala Lumpur has undoubtedly earned instant international notoriety with the daily defects since its opening last week.

Yesterday, the court complex was shut down by a power failure. This morning I receive complaints from a lawyer of leaks in the criminal courts. This is on top of the ceiling collapse, cracks on the wall, faulty toilets and air-conditioning breakdowns.

Had a certificate for fitness for occupation (CF) been issued for the largest court complex in the world, and if so when. If no CF was issued, why was the court complex allowed to be used; and if there was CF, whether actions would be taken against those who had been so negligent as to issue the CF when there are still so many defects, including structural ones, which had to be rectified?

But what has shocked and befuddled Malaysians is the RM22 million claim by Samy Vellu to inspect brand new buildings in Putrajaya for defects. How much would Samy need to inspect buildings outside Putrajaya, for instance the RM290 million court complex or the RM1.9 billion SMART Tunnel, for defects? What has happened to the trouble-prone MATRADE Building? Will it be again in tens or hundreds of millions of ringgit?

Malaysians feel that they are treated as “suckers” and fools, where even when mistakes are made whether because of negligence, irresponsibility, corruption or abuses of power, it is finally the taxpayers who have to pay the new bill while the culture of impunity holds sway for those responsible for defects in government buildings and public construction projects.

This is clearly unacceptable. Malaysians want to know who is responsible for the additional RM22 million public expenditure needed to inspect the new government buildings in Putrajaya for defects and why those responsible for the defects should not be made to pay for 100% of the unnecessary outlay

1. #1 by Taikotai on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 12:48 pm

Aiyo, die lah like this. RM22 million, all come out of my salary one. Tax like this how to survive leh?

2. #2 by Jimm on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 12:56 pm

That’s is only the initial amount to kick start the project. Remember MRR2. Don’t worry. We are only at the begining of this episode.

3. #3 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 1:04 pm

I won’t mind paying my RM 1.00 (that’s assuming rest of Malaysians like you n me pay too) if AAB sacks SEMI Valued for non performance and the contractors made to cough up.

few questions:
    1. Who is the main and sub con?
    2. Who passes this building for use?

additional question:
    does SEMI’s hut/ palace leaks and cracks too? if not sack this incompetent fool.

4. #4 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 1:12 pm

If Pak Lah said all damages are to be paid by using Samy Vellu’s salary, then I am sure all government buildings will be in perfect shape! Which BN politician bothers to care when all building mishaps are to be paid using our hard-earned tax money? You can’t blame them, but blame yourself for voting BN!

5. #5 by paix on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 1:45 pm

this is just a sign of what’s to come. bodohland is coming apart at the seams. would you have any confidence to buy anything made in bodohland? congratulations, BN, you are now the laughingstock of the world.

6. #6 by comingto50 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 1:52 pm

I wonder if there’s an earthquake really close by will the buildings collapse.

We are really fed up!!!

7. #7 by KeenWatcher_01 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 2:01 pm

Accountablility is not in the Govt’s dictionary. When there are lives lost, it will be the act of God. It has been that way for the past 50 years, pass it on!

8. #8 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 2:02 pm

Samy Vellu…you are jz a plain idiot who wud dare to ask RM22 million to inspect and come up with reports on the lousy defects u people hv been spending the people’s money to build something out of.u really dont hv any brain to do a proper job.defects…on government projects is top priority in ur agenda.why cant ur ministry make the effort to go after the contractors.after all its the government who has awarded the contracts to those people.u mean to tell we malaysian people gotta pay for the stupid mistakes and the irresponsibiltiy works in housing u useless ministers to work in?dun spend money like u dont care.anyway its not ur money u hv to concern abt.do ur job.go after those contractors.its ur duty.dun be like a baby.just keep asking money.

9. #9 by Bobster on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 2:27 pm

Put it this way fellow Malaysians, it is the failure of the entire system that causes scandal after scandal. More to come my friends!

Cut the story short, leaking in the parliament building since 1995 for some it might be just a small matter, but if you talk about criteria of a good governance, if the maintenance personal cannot solve the problem (due to negligent), the manager or director has to be answerable. If the relevant parties still fail to follow up and resolve such a simple issue, heads have to be rolled. How can we allow such manager/director on board if they cannot handle such a simple issue? If the problem persists unattended/ignored, minister or whoever in charged of government properties and parliament have to be answerable failure which he should be asked to step down. Two year is too long to solve a roof leaking issue. How can we fellow Malaysians trust them to manage the country if they cannot even resolve a simple issue like leaking roof in the Parliament?

Maltrade, MRR2, …. any head has been rolled so far? End of the day taxpayers have to bare all the cost. So what happened to the outcomes of the investigations? Who are the parties responsible? What are the actions taken to punish to unscrupulous parties? The answer: ‘The gomen going to spend RM*** million to rectify the fault, end of story’. FULL STOP. Malaysia Boleh! Truly Boleh!

Does anyone know why you can’t find potholes in Singapore roads? Has anyone heard about the story during the good old days when the old man LKY was on board. One fine day he was on the road and his car hit a pothole, next day someone’s head in the PWD will be chopped? This is cruel but sometimes shouldn’t the PM do the same if tidak apa attitude goes on like this the Parliament case. The longer it drags, the more monkeys going to appear.

10. #10 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 2:29 pm

The RM22 million is just to inspect new government buildings in Putrajaya for defects….They will need another RM22 billion to make the necessary repairs. And this is for Putrajaya only. What about the other places?

11. #11 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 2:31 pm

Why should AAB sack SEMI Valued for non performance? Sack both of them for incompetence and wastage of national resources!

12. #12 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 2:41 pm

Why, why, oh why must we pay for all the new buildings defects when they are still under the Defect Liability Period?
    The contractors are liable for all these defects, is it not?

There must be some way that the public can act to bring these nonsense to a stop.
    They just keep on sucking the publics blood knowing that we can not do any thing to them.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

13. #13 by Bobster on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 2:44 pm

Correction 2005 instead of 1995

14. #14 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 3:01 pm

15. #15 by madmix on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 3:09 pm

after spending 22 million, they will find numerous defects, most defects will actually be “cooked-up” defects; another 220 million will then be spent to rectify these defects; contractors get slap on wrist and get paid extra. win, win, win, win, win situation for crony contractors.

16. #16 by FuturePolitician on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 3:12 pm

Those who keep approving Sammy’s request has something to hide and Sammy has some Ace cards. Many believe Sammy has to retire for the indian to progress. Progress needs change.

We need an alternate government system. Elect me, and I will remove all inter-city tolls, increase roadtax(to cover road maintenance cost), remove the ceiling price of fuel, let it follow the market price( if you can afford it drive, if not use public transport), rrevamp taxes on vehicles, giving the people choices to own a safe and quality car. Incorporate GST and remove all import duties at a set year..it has been delayed for far too long. Work with regional countries to increase productivity and reduce wastage. All important utilities will be governed by the government again..increasing the 1st block of electricity quotas to 400units or more to enjoy more electricity at lower cost for the consumer(Since we have too much electricity now). There is so many things I can do for you, just elect me!

I will have all education free for our children! below 15years Remove all discount rate for bumi purchases of property. The smart bumis are buying non-bumi lots so they can sell it off easier. Leaving very few for other races.

50years! We are mature enough to be MALAYSIANS! We must work together…we are only 26million people…our economical strength is weak in comparison with other countries. Dont go back and become Malaya.

Investors are leavin Malaysia. Look at Matshushita…we used to be the TV making country..now? It is now made in Russia.

DAP should stop barking on issues they dont understand. DAP keep seeking answers from other whom also dont understand. DAP need more than people whom can SHOUT., we need educated people in different fields. IF you going to comment and start seeking answers for a Tunnelling system or a building structure… ASK an engineer in a related field!

Its been years I follow the progress of DAP, the difference between MCA and DAP, its the mentality and the approach to an issue. I still find MCA of the upper class in politics and DAP being on the second liner. DAP strive on compassion from the people BUT MCA taps into their thoughts.

If DAP you want change! Elect me! I dont have the class of great english language skill like Mr.Lim but I do have great logic skills which many doesnt possess.

My most important mission if I were to be elected… REDUCE COST OF LIVING and INCREASE THE QUALITY OF LIVING IN MALAYSIA!

When comes to $$$ this is a very difficult task.. some factories will have to close down..job will be lost in that company BUT they will able to find a better job. An ineffective run company might as well close down because they waste resources.

HOW can we achieve this mission?…I need a paper and pen now.

17. #17 by JohnTheMenace on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 3:13 pm

RM22 million!
    Is the “consulting fee” included in this round?
    or it will another episode of “oops, some hidden costs not reveal yet”.
    Frankly I don’t mind to fork out RM10 or even RM100 if you can get this joker out of the system.
    But, there will be another “proxy” in replaced, so what is the difference!!!

18. #18 by DwarfSnakehead on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 3:32 pm

Just wondering, why Aiyoyo Samy is asking for such a large sum? Two reasons come to mind:
    1. To discourage the government from pursuing the building inspections.
    2. To get more money from the government to rectify the defects. The main con probably asconded with the bulk of the money or may have run out of cash after greasing the hands of the JKR and BN politicians.

19. #19 by PureMalaysian on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 3:55 pm

I just wonder if the situation in Malaysia will get slightly better after AAB gets married again. I think he is just too occupied in his personal agenda, rather than the govt’s on going issues…

20. #20 by raven77 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 3:57 pm

While the education ministry, epf, income tax etc are taking away passports if you don’t pay up, on the other hand this is where the money is disappearing to…….I think the trend is clear here….it is everyone for himself now …..for they have smelt that the end is near…..

21. #21 by TalkisCheap on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 4:42 pm

All this crappy buildings and defects are a CON job. From MRR2 to Putrajaya and all those mega Projects nationwide.

And Malaysian has been CON and CON again everytime.

Think again and think REAL HARD- IT WILL NEVER END coz the way the system works always benefits and protect the gomen not the people.

Anyway, is the taxpayers money that will be used NOT Samy Vellu he won’t feel a pinch.

Talk is Cheap. Vote for the People’s People.

22. #22 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:09 pm

I would like to propose that someone should lodge a police report to charge this Semi for fraud, corruption, and theft. This is a serious criminal offence and he should be locked up and throw away the keys.

23. #23 by Bobster on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:14 pm

FuturePolitician,

If I were you, I wouldn’t want to be a typical politician shouting out loud I am going to do this and that but only with a blank piece of paper.

Don’t have to be a rocket scientist to understand that. I wouldnt say MCA presence leaders are not good. IMO, they have improved a lot cp to the old guards. But heck, even if they have doctors, engineers & professors so what, MCA/MIC = BN, BN = UMNO therefore MCA/MIC = UMNO.

As TDM said, Chinese are practical people (IMO believe other races as well as education level has improved). His lost in the 1965 election as Chinese voted PAS. After 50 years into independent, we are still being treated like suckers have to bear with NEP, leaking roof, highways collapse, corrupted councils etc etc.

Wake up call for all Malaysians irrespective of race to vote for the oppositions! DAP/PKR/PAS just cast your vote. Forget about BN. Enough is Enough! We are falling behind our neighbors Vietnam and Thai .. thanks to the narrow-minded BN!

24. #24 by kptan on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:29 pm

2 millions to be paid to engineers who will carried out the inspection, the remaining will be shared by XXXXX, that is the normal procedure in this BolehLand, what do you expect? or-else how is leaking, crack, power failure etc going to take place. Don’t blame the contractors, the quality of workmanship is what they are paid for.

25. #25 by twistedmind on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:37 pm

Here is one question for the lawyers out there:

As tax paying citizen, can we take a ‘class action suite’ against the government, namely Semi-Value and his gang for abusing and wasting our hard earned money on these so called projects?

26. #26 by Anti_NEP on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:39 pm

All new buildings must come with defects liability period of 12 to 36 months depending on the Contracts signed. Why must we tax payer pay for the shoddy workmanships by those half past six umnoputera contractors when in actual fact they should be held responsible!!! Btw, i thought putrajaya development is under Puterajaya Holdings Berhad not semi value’s JKR (Jangan Kerja Rajin). Why semi value need 22mil to check other people’s work?

27. #27 by polarbear78 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:40 pm

Well, first I will like have that job for inspection because it will make me pretty much an instant millionaire… the solution, we will like to asked the contractor who did the job to folk out his/her own money by hiring independent party to do the inspection, right?
    if the job is way below satisfaction, ask him /her to fix the problem…

28. #28 by Cinapek on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:46 pm

Somehow I am not surprised and knew this was coming. They are running true to form. Build something, mess it up, ask for more money to mess it up further and then blackmail to get more. It is standard operating procedure for all who are doing Govt. projects now.

The beam in my house supporting the water tank broke after the warranty period. When I brought the matter to the developer, they immediately sent their engineers to check it and fix everything for free. They even wrote a letter of apology to me. Of course this was in the good old days when people had intergrity, unlike today when those who walk in the corridors of power are showing the way how NOT to have integrity.

29. #29 by Fort on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 6:06 pm

This situation in our country should not go on!

We must put a stop to it!

We must, within our sphere of influence to get people to vote for an alternative government!

30. #30 by gerald on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 6:08 pm

Aiyah, no big deal lah. Jangan susah hati. If this thing don’t happen also they will find ways to channel away your hard earned money one. Questions of who gets the money only.

31. #31 by Jonny on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 6:20 pm

RM22 million is for the upcoming general election where money would be siphoned off. Where else you think all the Machap and Ijok goodies come from?

32. #32 by wsblurtn on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 6:47 pm

YB! bring up a motion to “potong gaji” all these civil servants who are responsible …just can’t let them get away with negligence, corruption, “tutup mata tidak apa” attitude. We have to pay so much tax on our hard-earned money and these people getting fat on their ASSES!! And going to get pay rise some more! STU…..

33. #33 by incubus on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 7:34 pm

Its pure and simple. The contractors will have to be responsible for the defects in the buildings they constructed. If the Minister of the Works Department fail to reprimand those involved, then the Prime Minister’s duty would be to sack him.

What if the Prime Minister is sleeping (in the true sense) on the job? Then it is the people’s duty to vote out incompetent fools. How long are we gonna allow these imbeciles go unpunished? These are just the inspection fees. Imagine what the cost of repair would be…

Really sick with the check and balances in this country. Semi Value is an expert only in two things: shooting his mouth & asking for money.

This old man has outstayed his welcome and has to be kicked out!

34. #34 by goldenscreen on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 7:37 pm

MRR2 Crack = RM70 million
    Navy Recruit Training Center = RM13 million
    Matrade Cost Overrun = RM120 million
    Putrajaya Inspection = RM22 million
    and the Mother of All Crap
    Imaginary Bridge to Singapore = RM257.4 million

In case I didn’t fail my Maths that’s a grand total = RM482.4 million!!! Malaysia Boleh! Ada duit apa pun boleh!

35. #35 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 9:28 pm

If such things happended in Western developed counties, Samy Vellu and the sleepy Pak Lah have been sacked and overthrown more than 100000000 times……..there is no ending to such stupid blunders as long as BN is in power. What a shame for the BN voters!

36. #36 by Loh on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 9:30 pm

///Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu is asking for RM22 million to inspect new government buildings in Putrajaya for defects,///

If the inspection is done before delivery, are we to believe that payments to contractors are made without inspection? If the inspection is done after delivery, it makes no difference to the buildings, and one will know when it collapses anyway. Why spend the additional RM22 million just to satisfy AAB who only knows how to make knee-jerk comments?

37. #37 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 11:13 pm

Hmmm… I guess this request for RM22m to inspect buildings has really touch a raw nerve.

It seems that the people are getting fed up with such gross incompetence with the construction projects, most of which were not subject to open tenders and competitive bids.

If you look at all the problems, the government is operating on a reactive mode only and ministers are simple doing the job of fire-fighting with SV being inundated with major project defects.

Today, Britain’s Tony Blair announced his decision to quit the PM’s post after 10 years as he wanted to leave office with some pride and goodwill of the population.

That is something Malaysians (and Singaporeans) have to learn, understand and accept – that one day we should change the government if we find many problems not being solved but becoming worse like the major project failures that are compounded by crony contract deals.

This is my experience of a change of government.
    http://malaysiawatch.blogspot.com/2006/07/changing-government.html

38. #38 by akarmalaysian on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:19 am

can someone tell me how much has this samy vellu pocketed during his tenure years as a minister?lets face it…we all knw hes ‘filthy’ rich…but to wat extent?hes speaking abt resigning…is the rm22million hes asking for will be his last ditch b4 hes really content or will he stay on to ‘korek for more?

39. #39 by zioburosky13 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:44 am

Leaking in parliament building is the sign of the goverment is getting old and rely on red tape for daily work shift.

40. #40 by pwcheng on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 3:15 am

That is why they are very happy whenever there is a crisis, because as the saying goes “whenever there is a crisis there is an opportunity”. That explains why they are inclined to be half past six and do everything in a half past six manner and wait for a crisis to happen in order to harvest an opportunity. They are slowly but surely bleeding the country dry. But the again they think we can’t do much and must not say much because it is their country and not yours.

41. #41 by DwarfSnakehead on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 4:59 am

Why the indians keep voting for Samy? During a general election about 17 years ago, some indians, less educated ones, told me that if they don’t vote for Samy and if he loses, they won’t be any more Indians holding a full minister position and UMNO will take over the works minister position. So Samy and his gang will be around for a long long time, I guess.

He is so well known among the Indian communities around the world, especially Tamils. Try asking a Tamil, who has never been to Malaysia, about Samy. Chances are good he or she had heard of him. He is like a movie star to them.

Imagine the Tamil language is not even one of the eight official languages in India but it is engraved on every Singapore coin. This shows that the Indian government doesn”t give a damn to Tamils in India. The Tamils are partly to be blamed because they keep returning the wrong leaders elections after elections.

42. #42 by THL on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 7:52 am

Standing on Malaysia is like standing on the deck of titanic as it’s sinking, only in this case instead of water entering the ship it’s money leaving the ‘ship’. And the infrastructure falling apart around you just like the the ship’s funnel. All you can do is stand and watch and feel a complete sense of hopelessness.

43. #43 by Jimm on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:16 am

SV have been always the CFO for BN coalition Government as he make sure that the community he represents are stay put down there. 50 years no changes.
    AAB, well since both of his women of his life left him. There are no more characterism of a leader in him. He have no one to direct him or advise him.
    NTR was much luckier than AAB and his RM is a much more capable lady compares to the 1st one. Of course, NTR are ‘living’ in RM shadow to become a leader lately. NTR seems to behave much more better and look alike ‘BOLEH CAYA’ type of leader

44. #44 by Bobster on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:31 am

MRR2 case just shown to us fellow Malaysians that YB PM has given mandate to the honourable Semi Value to charge us taxpayers RM70 million for the major defects due to incompetancy, negligence and corruption of the JKR officers, consultants and contractors. Non of them have been charged in court and asked to step down for failure to carry out their duty. This is what we call Malaysian Standards. You wouldn’t see this in other parts of the world.

From that day onwards honourable Semi Value has developed the skin as thick as steel to shout out loud to us fellow Malaysians for millions of ringgit of repair works. Semi Value to fellow Malaysians: ‘You dare to complaint some more, I’ll tell you how much more you need to pay for it!’

Is there any more hope for this country to come to this stage? I’ll say YES, if we fellow MALAYSIANS stand up together and fight the system (and not between races) and sack BN! – fellow Malaysian

45. #45 by incubus on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 11:05 am

“is the rm22million hes asking for will be his last ditch b4 hes really content or will he stay on to ‘korek for more?”

This guy will never be content… only fatter by the year. This is just the tip of the iceberg. Wait till repair time. Once again, the taxpayers money will be used and the repair works will be conducted by some crony’s company.

More money to be made. Why build good buildings that last long? If possible to save cost on cheap material and be able profit by conduct repair works as well, why not? The lives of the people are secondary.. Money is more important..

46. #46 by Jimm on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 11:14 am

We need monies to help GLC or ‘BN relatives companies to go abroad for international businesses deals. Think about.

47. #47 by democrate on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:41 pm

Samy said in a Chinese paper that leaking of building is common to anyway in the world. It is a pariah way of thinking i suppose. when the road is damaged he will say our road is better off than some of the roads in our neighbouring countries. A useless and good for nothing Minister ! Samy Samy bodoh do your work and stop comparing with other country and you r good when you learn something good from other country ok?

48. #48 by Anti_NEP on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 2:51 pm

Aiyoyo semi valued, no need 22mil lah. i sub it from you at 10mil and you can keep the balance 12 mil. i’ll get a few professional engineers to come out with a professional report within a month. The final conclusions will be poor workmanship, negligence and sub-standard material used. Recommendation: close one eye lah.

49. #49 by FuturePolitician on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 4:38 pm

Bobster,

Yes I am in same view as you , HOWEVER, DAP has been lacking in all areas! EVEN on a equal basis arena like the internet, Their website is 2nd to MCA’s site!

We all know what is going on in the country when the only $$ available to The Malay is from the Chinese/Indian owned business. They are delaying the full force of AFTA so they can dig every cent from the country and from all the richest that we all have developed.

In the name of bumiputera status in a full flight economical country , they uses this excuse to forcefully to take away the business of true MALAYSIAN! The Malays are afraid that the full foce of AFTA, meaning working on sharing economical wealth with other ASEAN countries and to compete with other economic faction, The Malays may not be able to cope with the hardwork that would be expected from them. They would like to own something they dont have to work at it and sell it for THIS GENERATION profit! They dont care about the future of MALAYSIA!? Do you think THE FILTY RICH Investor doesnt wants a piece of Malaysia?

The Malay just want it 1st!

My interpretation has always been BUMIPUTERA is a aborogini or indegenious people not THE MALAYS but thats mine….

I do know and state that not all Malays r involved in today’s big plans of sucking up the nations wealth of all other races. Many of us do know even the Rich Malays are eating the small malays one, and not sharing the true value of their profit with them. Example Malay reserve land at Damansara..

If I am elected into DAP as a leader, I would set a proper structure the organization..strive to achieve something to be better than the MCA..DAP has the heart for the chinese and generally the true Malaysians but sadly… They dont have the skill! You need more than pointing out MISTAKE of OTHERS! or trying to HANG someone.. iF you going to do that..try be like a crocodile.

Anyway.. Still I DONT CARE about POLITICS if my cost of living is low and my quality of life is high..BUT NOW! If I am suffering now, what would be for my Children in the Future???What would be the future of our true MALAYSIAN children..

We need CHANGE! and It has to start within the PARTY! Then only we have chance in the election..

OH WTF the leak in the building could be due to shoddy work or probably lack of maintenance procedure..Sammy asking for 22mil because he wants $$ in his pocket, and he knows he is going to get it…because He brings in big revenue for many interested parties like the TOLL operators.

Another valid point by draftsnakehead, is why Sammy still around despite his lack of contribution to the Indian society… they rather have a delinquent Sammy than no indian as a indian minister. Probably their pride…prevents them from thinking straight.. yeah PRIDE destroy SELF n NATION!

I am viewing the
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqnw-q93wyc

DAP kuching cant even speak slang malay language properly. How you going to debate with them. Lim Kit Siang is powerfully well verse in Debating in BM…He came in to save his face to draw other attention to him.

I believe it is good that one day we all suffer from Global depression, the toughest time brings the best out of the people. Superb example Korea.

Thanks enough for today

50. #50 by ktteokt on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 7:21 pm

why the defects in the first place? all because of corruption! contracts are given to cronies only and these people don’t actually know how to do the job or the least bit about what to do. just grab the contract and find some half past six contractor who carries out shoddy work with the lowest quality materials and as long as the building does not fall apart in a matter of one year or so, that should do.

the recent reports on the new court building in kuala lumpur and that of the parliament house is good enough. and what does the minister of works have to say? he should be made fully responsible but the way things look, he will not shoulder anything. look at the way he responded when the kepong flyover and the ampang highway defects were unveiled!!!

51. #51 by HJ Angus on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:06 pm

I’m not defending SV but I think some of the defects are not really his responsibility.

Under the “piratisation” of many construction jobs, the Works Ministry do not decide which contractor to appoint and many jobs are decided by the individual ministries. After completion, the maintenance contractor may also be appointed by a third party.

Only when things go badly, the Works Ministry has to shoulder the blame but that does not seem right and so the minister will not be sacked.

I think the Works Ministry should be given the full responsibility to select 2 or 3 suitable contractors to let the individual ministry make the final choice and this shd also apply to maintenance contracts.

If anything then goes seriously wrong we can properly demand for his dismissal.
    That way we won’t have the whole Cabinet looking like a bunch of idiots.

52. #52 by 9to5 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 10:29 pm

People should not blame Sammy – he is merely the keeper for UMNO! All the contracts were given to UMNO’s cronies although Sammy may have some benefits too. If anyone is to be blamed it’s the real movers behind Sammy.

Why do you think UMNO and UMNO youth are keeping so quiet inspite of blunders after blunders committed. Badawi is not a stupid person! He would have fired Sammy a long time ago if not for his value as proxy for UMNO and deflection of blame from the real movers! They are the masters in wayang-kulit!

53. #53 by 9to5 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 11:25 pm

…….A nation of sheeps deserves a government of wolves!

54. #54 by caspergoh on Saturday, 12 May 2007 - 9:34 am

As one of the tax payer, I strongly reject the payment of 22 million to inspect the govt buildings. Why tax payers need to fork out the money for this inspection? What happened to the contracts term and condition between govt and contractor? Isn’t it supposed to pay by contractor? We have been paying so much money to build high class and high-tech govt buidlings, most of the major projects either delay for many years or need to rectify. If that is the case, govt should ask those contractors who fail to comply and incompetence to pay off all the rectifcation costs and black list them from taking any govt contracts. GOVT SHOULD STOP WASTING OUR TAX MONEY…..THAT MONEY CAN BE SPEND IN OTHER BETTER WAYS…..

55. #55 by student2007 on Sunday, 13 May 2007 - 2:55 pm

as i know for the malaysia JKR safety factors used for the construction or design is most probably 2 (common safety is 1.6) since the safety factor is much higher why the building is still mishap. jus a big question mark !!!!

for the others, is why should malaysia government need to use RM 22 million to inspect the building?? is tat the job suppose done by the ministry??? n if not mistaken the repair cost for the mishaps, shouldn’t it bear by the contractor who successfully bid the project? even the landed property there are 18 months of warranty… why so malaysia government bear the repair cost??

this all started to make no sense…can somebody tell me if i miss something..

56. #56 by accountability on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:40 pm

we should FINE the culprits who built ridiculously bad quality buildings as well as those who neglected the maintenance!

why spend more of the rakyat’s hard-earned money to inspect a building that is already known to be in an obviously dilapidated state?!

shame on you Semi-Value!!

57. #57 by budu on Wednesday, 23 May 2007 - 6:32 pm

sv “SUCKERS…two for me, one for friend, two for me, one for another friend. Ayo yo I can retire o”