Psy is paid RM3mil for Barisan Nasional CNY Open House

By Noorsila Abd Majid | 03 FEB 2013 12:19AM
ABN News

KUALA LUMPUR: South Korean superstar Psy will be performing at Barisan Nasional’s Chinese New Year open house in Penang on Feb 11.

But the question that’s buzzing in everyone’s mind is: who’s paying for Psy and how much is he paid?

According to an industry source, the Gangnam Style hitmaker commands a minimum pay cheque of US1mil (RM3.1mil).

That’s just for him to horse around to the quirky beats of his phenomenal YouTube hit, “Gangnam Style”.

Yes, Psy is more expensive than teen pop superstar Justin Bieber, who’s paid US1 mil for a full concert in KL.

The runaway rap star is expected to perform Gangnam Style in front of 60,000 guests, including Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

The BN Chinese New Year open house will be held at Han Chiang High School in George Town from 10am to 1pm.

1. #1 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 3:37 pm

This is definitely the latest carrot trying to entice the Chinese voters, my hope is just enjoy the Psy, after all it is OUR money they are playing and paying with. Don’t feel bad if you ditch them at election day/ Anyway I hope the Chinese are not that CHEAP!

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 4:10 pm

US$ 1 million just to sing and dance ONE horsey song?

Where is the JAKIM, PERKASA, Mullahs, Harussaini, and so on. It is lucah and does not conform to religious teachings and behaviour.

• #3 by cemerlang on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 8:58 pm

What an irony ! On one hand the uztazah preached against social ills bla, bla, bla and on another hand, they are dancing to P…S….Y…gangnam style…and dance into the recycle bin. Thank you. Well you young fellas gave him a 1 billion plus views in YouTube and you young fellas should know by now how much you are loved….

3. #4 by tuahpekkong on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 4:25 pm

I don’t think they can win Chinese votes this way. On the contrary, it may be counter-productive. Many Chinese may think that it is a waste of fund and may decide to cast protest votes. Why not hire some local artistes for 10% of the reported cost.

4. #5 by A Single Vote on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 5:00 pm

Go enjoy the show, afterall thats our money, yes, yours and mine but show them that its PSY you go to see and its Pakatan Rakyat you want. Send them a clear message Penangites, go in yellow, show them a Han Chiang sea of yellow. Any shade of yellow, he will get the message and be a proud Penangite. Proud and Smart.
    Use our money to con us? Not us Penangites, you don’t!!!!

5. #6 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 5:35 pm

Najib fails to understand that the Chinese are not enticed by money to vote for BN, let alone an entertainment dance.

6. #7 by wood on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 5:37 pm

Just imagine how many low cost houses/apartments can be built with the amount money.

Why don’t the BN built the flats in Taman Mangga’s land they are supposed to built instead of spending money on a ‘one-night stand’ thing?

7. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 5:38 pm

BN is completely sai-ed.

8. #9 by yhsiew on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 5:38 pm

Oops!

“Chinese are not enticed” should be “Chinese are not EASILY enticed”.

9. #10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 5:38 pm

sai-ed equals ‘chia-sai’.

10. #11 by Need-help on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 6:19 pm

Psy is Korean. The least he should get is a famous Chinese Pop Star and NOT Korean. Have we ran out ot local talents?
    Wearing a red Chinese outfit in the poster to wish us a Happy New Year and now we are Korean

11. #12 by hbeng on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 6:37 pm

What on earth BN is doing this time? waste the rakyat’s money to invite the worst singer on the earth to perform in Penang? Huh, i would rather listen to the classic songs on the radio than to go to the BN’s so called chinese new year party. they fail to understand that it’s our money that they have wasted and keep on rob and steal our money. Najib and BN has the same character like satan, they come to kill, steal and destroy.

12. #13 by madguyho on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 6:48 pm

People should turn Psy show into Penang211, get everyone turn up wearing yellow, green or orange. Not just Penangites but people from other states.

13. #14 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 7:21 pm

What PR should do is egg on all the local artiste especially the Malay artistes to express their opinion DURING that day..

14. #15 by Kong Foo Lin on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 7:26 pm

yeah, yellow, green, orange, and not forgetting red and purple.

this song is for ubah, for all Malaysians, please share it:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2OMv7ezhqM

15. #16 by Winston on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 8:43 pm

Well, well, well.
    Their imminent downfall has psyched them up so badly that they have turned psycho!!
    So, now they are going to splurge RM3,000,000.00 of taxpayers’ money to get Psy to prop them up!!

16. #17 by St Peter on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 9:15 pm

Another silly action, Najis! Dun under estimate Chinese, all Chinese already made up their mind who to vote, wasted Rakyat money once again, silly, silly and silly!

17. #18 by VoiceOfCommunity on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 10:34 pm

our hard-blood earned money once again wasted on those thing..& I don’t think it won’t gonna change the vote anyway..long live DAP

18. #19 by Need-help on Sunday, 3 February 2013 - 11:18 pm

To fellow D.A.P. this is what happen when you have “Ubah Rocket Style”. The PM have to do better than you and get the original artist instead. Hmm ,,,,,,,,, what about the Wondergirls – ” I vote nobody nobody but you”

19. #20 by Noble House on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 3:36 am

If the UMNO/BN government thinks it could win an election with just one Gangnam Style, then Malaysian must be stupid enough to do that!

20. #21 by PRmaju on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 7:27 am

Let mca umno “jiak sai”. Penang people, everyone turn up in Yellow, don’t dilute with other colour. If they stop you from going in, gather outside , this will send them a strong message !

21. #22 by Sallang on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 7:36 am

madguyho on Sunday, 3 February 2013 – 6:48 pm

Agree with you. Turn it into Penang 211. Mat Sabu, how about it?

22. #23 by cseng on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 8:12 am

Penang bn say someone sponsored the even & psy. That is most insulting statement, next to the media are self censoring.

Why penang so proud if psy even 100k crowd, what is that got to do wth penang bn?

What penang bn should do is give psy a blue ic and get him to win for bn. Afterall msian are stupid and bn are shameless .

23. #24 by cseng on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 8:26 am

Teng chang yew is gelakan… few months back he behaves very mca.. now he behaves umno… what happened to him?

Why psy for open hse? Why? Nobody comes? Free makan, free goodies do not work for penangites? …..need to clap or not?

24. #25 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 8:47 am

um. um.
    umno poker-style.
    oh sexy mama.
    um. um.
    umno poker-style.

gonna chiak.
    kua tiok chiew gonna chiak.

oh sexy mama.
    um. um.
    umno poker-style.

25. #26 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 9:05 am

WOW! That’s abused spending and is classified as a form of corruption! Why paid RM$3.1 millions to stage a horse riding style show? That’s absurd and ridiculous!!! Suckers attempt to buy Chinese votes by all means!!!

Why not pay someone RM$500, or might be FREE, to stage a doggy style???

26. #27 by angelangie on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 9:33 am

They thinking we are an idiots??? please ….3mils of our money are better spend elsewhere….just 3mils to pay ppl to horse around??? why not they pay the citizen 3mils to horse around instead…..

27. #28 by Bigjoe on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 11:21 am

What surprising is that it appears that BN did not anticipate it to be an issue and now giving the idiot-expected answer its ‘privately’ funded.

Not only that, we have Ng Yen Yen screaming like mad-ah-Soh that removing IDOLTRY of Najib is unpatriotic in Muslim Malaysia??

I just don’t believe that MCA/Gerakan/BN is that STUPID not to see the idiocy of what they are doing – something else must be going on…

28. #29 by sheriff singh on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 11:25 am

Some time ago the Perak Mullah Harussaini banned the popular poco-poco dance in his Perak state because it had ‘devil’ and ‘non-Islamic’ (read Christian) elements in it.

Perhaps he can come out with another fatwa as to whether this ‘horse dancing’ performance is line with religious teachings or not. Let us be sure.

And PAS and its Youth wing can do the same.

29. #30 by sheriff singh on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 11:35 am

English Translation:

Oppa is Gangnam style
    Gangnam style

A girl who is warm and humanly during the day
    A classy girl who know how to enjoy the freedom of a cup of coffee
    A girl whose heart gets hotter when night comes
    A girl with that kind of twist

I’m a guy
    A guy who is as warm as you during the day
    A guy who one-shots his coffee before it even cools down
    A guy whose heart bursts when night comes
    That kind of guy

Beautiful, loveable
    Yes you, hey, yes you, hey
    Beautiful, loveable
    Now let’s go until the end

Oppa is Gangnam style, Gangnam style
    Oppa is Gangnam style

Eh- Sexy Lady, Oppa is Gangnam style
    Eh- Sexy Lady oh oh oh oh

A girl who looks quiet but plays when she plays
    A girl who puts her hair down when the right time comes
    A girl who covers herself but is more sexy than a girl who bares it all
    A sensable girl like that

I’m a guy
    A guy who seems calm but plays when he plays
    A guy who goes completely crazy when the right time comes
    A guy who has bulging ideas rather than muscles
    That kind of guy

Beautiful, loveable
    Now let’s go until the end

Oppa is Gangnam style

On top of the running man is the flying man, baby baby
    I’m a man who knows a thing or two
    On top of the running man is the flying man, baby baby
    I’m a man who knows a thing or two

You know what I’m saying
    Oppa is Gangnam style

30. #31 by sheriff singh on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 11:52 am

BN wants to draw a large turnout at Han Chiang. It will probably get it with Psy around.

But how can Pakatan take advantage of it?

Since it is an Open House, let PR organise a large crowd of its own of say another 100,000 people to attend this free function. The crowd can come from Perlis, Kedah, Perak and elsewhere.

The catch is for the PR and other interest groups supporters to come dressed in yellow, red, green and whatever colour else that fancies them. Flood the place with rainbow colours.

Turn this function into an Opposition function instead. BN has already done the ground work for you so take advantage of it.

So take advantage of it. Go and eat and enjoy but vote PR. (Where are you PAS ?)

31. #32 by Peter on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 12:50 pm

The PeeeeeeeeeeM knows that there will not be many people coming to his CYN celebration. So he has to get that Gangnam pyscho to attract the crowds so as to make him look popular. Sigh…..Another million bucks of hard earned rakyat money goes done the drain. I hope the rakyat from Penang wake up and wear yellow dress to the celebration to show their displeasure. Actually we have great “Guest Stars” in BN like that porno king and his gang. If they perform, I guarantee “FULL HOUSE” or may be we will be in the Guiness book of records to have the most people wearing yellows shirts attending CNY celebration.

32. #33 by SENGLANG on Monday, 4 February 2013 - 1:12 pm

Gangnam or or not kam-nam style , it is a matter of foods and jobs, justice and fairness. The voters will not be influence by this Korea kid.

for those who want to have fun go ahead but most probably those older generations will not find it relationship with the GE13.

33. #34 by vic on Tuesday, 5 February 2013 - 11:45 am

Are Malaysians so cheap that the BN government thinks they can buy their votes with Psy’s performance. If they do, they need to have their head check by psychology.

And if DAP lost Penang because of Psy. Than the voters need to have their head check.

34. #35 by johntesting on Tuesday, 5 February 2013 - 3:47 pm

RM3 million might seems like a lot of money to the average Malaysian, but from the government point of view, RM3 million is actually very little money. I mean, how much can the gov do with RM3 million? It is not enough to build new road or establish new projects, for that matter, if the gov uses only RM3 million for a project, then the citizen will point fingers to corruptions instead. For the record, not only the gov is spending Malaysian’s hard earn money. The banks are spending your money, EPF are spending your money, and insurance companies are spending your money too.

If you think of it from the gov point of view, RM3 million for an international superstar is a bargain! Let’s not forget, PSY is a media magnet now. Malaysian get free entertainment from PSY and Malaysia will get international news coverage. It is just like how Malaysian read about PSY performing in NY or London and so on, international coverage! So this time around, reader around the world will know that PSY is visiting Malaysia. It is true. Singaporeans and Thai will envy us. Btw, How much do you reckon it will cost to bring Dato Michelle Yeoh to perform?

35. #36 by chewel on Tuesday, 5 February 2013 - 6:56 pm

Do this, you complain.
    Don’t do this, complain.
    Susah you people.
    Can not satisfy one.
    For me, I read and forget cos I have dementia.
    So I don’t get stress and get stroke.