An Inconsolable Sorrow

by Goh Keat Peng

My mind and heart is so weighed down by that tragic end of a life merely beginning and so harshly and cruelly snuffed out by wicked grown-ups. How can this be allowed to happen?

The sudden loss of life in unexpected circumstances is always tragic. Especially when it happens to a precious child. In this case a mere six-year old boy. His only crime was to have left the relative safety of the family car to seek parental help for a younger crying sibling. JUST LIKE THAT.

Once more we as part of the human race is plunged into regrets, self-doubts, anguish, a gnawing inconsolable sorrow. Probably the most terrible of human feelings.

This is a time for SOUL-SEARCHING. For each of us. Where each of us is reminded of our own fears, our own sense of guilt, our own lapses, our own anxieties, our own self-examination…

Soul-searching is about myself. It is not an exercise involving finger-pointing at others. The finger is pointed inward to oneself. It is not other-directed. The onus is not placed on others but my own self.

Yes, there is a sympathy, empathy for those directly involved who are suffering indescribably. Even with genuine empathy, we who are looking on from the outside could scarcely comprehend the anguish those directly involved are undergoing and for how long more in time. May GOD’s Presence be upon them.

But soul-searching for myself because such tragedies brings home once again my own carelessness – in the house or on the road … When my action or non action, my concentration and focus lacked discipline and I took risks always against my better judgements which could have so easily resulted in disaster and ruin. Simply because I escaped damaging or killing myself or, worse still, others including my own loved ones… does not mean that I should repeat the very same lack of a presence of mind and, as it were, gambling with chance.

Soul-searching because we owe it especially to those who are unable to fend for themselves, care or look out for themselves. The poor. The disabled. Those who are simply just too young to do so for themselves. GOD have mercy …

1. #1 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 2:17 pm

But we still have ministers/politicians who claimed that crime rates are declining in Bolehland.

2. #2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 2:49 pm

Some idiots somewhere (not in this blog) commented that the parents of the child are to be blamed for their carelessness.

To some extent that is so but the main issue is this: Ae the ppl of malaysia (young and old alike) should be able to walk along our streets (day and night) freely and without fear of criminals pouncing on us.

This is where the umno gobermen is not doing their job. BTW, showing statistics is not the same thing as fighting crime.

3. #3 by gofortruth on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 3:09 pm

Our hearts go for the family of William through this most difficult time of grieves and mourning.

These are evil days, more so under a corrupt federal government that doesn’t care about escalating crime rate, their only focus is on how to loot our nation’s wealth.

Instead of fighting crime, police force are being used by UMNO to catch participants of KL112.
    This surely must CHANGE!!!!

4. #4 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 4:13 pm

Criminals are on the loose and they are everywhere at anytime.The helpless people are at the mercy of crimes be it at home,outside their homes or on the roads.As long as IPCMC is not reinstated and illegal immigrants are not curbed,Malaysians have to pray day and night for their safety whether staying at home or staying outside ,in their cars or at anywhere.

5. #5 by Ray9393 on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 6:39 pm

It is the responsibility for any government of the day in ensuring a safe haven for all it’s citizen living in the country. In this case, we really have to think what happened? Do we need to be careful who we elect? Wake up and be a responsible Malaysian. Let’s change to improve.

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 6:56 pm

I felt personally raped.
    Like the Indian medical student.
    She was found and despatched to Singapore.
    For multiple organ transplants.

Raped, outraged, abused and flung on the street.
    They shafted pipes in her birth canal.
    Murderers, canines, worms.
    She had a fiance, brother, father.

William did no wrong.
    He was innocent.
    6 year-olds smile,
    And smile of a sort that the world smiles along.

Flung him into the drain.
    Terror in his eyes.
    Blood flowed.
    Momma cried.

Devils, lucifers, brutes and bastards.
    Damn,damn, damn.
    If there is a God above…..
    Can this be hell below.

7. #7 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 9:32 pm

After over 30 years of induced corrupt practices, money seems to be the only important thing in life. Even the State Religious Chief had been quoted by RPK as saying corruption was not really haram. So with money as the main objective, many who are caught up with it will do anything for it< even murdering an innocent kid. The is the RESULT of our wantonness, which we have directly contributed because we kept on electing them to office! If you want this state of affairs to continue, the choice is yours!

8. #8 by Winston on Saturday, 26 January 2013 - 9:50 pm

There is a dire need to inculcate in Malaysians that raising kids in a care-free environment no longer applies.
    In the decades gone by, that was possible, but no more.
    Quite a number of kids had met an untimely end just by being at the wrong place at the wrong time.
    And every time that such unfortunate incidents happened, there was the usual hue and cry.
    However, the only long term possibility to reduce or end such incidents is to make everybody, especially those who are parents, aware that young children must never be left alone, even for a second!
    Because in that second, anything can happen.
    In this respect, both the MSM as well as the Mainstream Alternative Media can play a role.
    The motto is: Better be paranoid than sorry!

9. #9 by john on Sunday, 27 January 2013 - 12:19 am

With the MMKutty’s (“being force”) admision of EXTENSIVELY (by the 100′s of thousands) and FREELY, giving out Mykads to illegals immigrants for votes, just immagine WHAT KIND OF SECURITY UMNO/bn has in mind ?
    PORDAH ! Security of the RAKYAT is of their least concern, in fact NONE !!! going by this despicable act.
    OVERALL, by this despicable act OUR RIGHTS AS RAKYAT HAS BEEN GROUNDED TO DIRT UNDER UMNO/bn’s feet !
    The biometric exercise was meant for this clandestine operation ” durian buruk ” further (another janji di tepati by umno/bn). What has come out of the biometric exercise now ?
    ABU ! ABU ! ABU !
    NOW ALL MUST NOT LEAVE YOUR CHILDREN ALONE UNATTENDED, NEVER, NEVER !
    No words able to describe the SICKENING FEELING of the passing of kiddo WILLIAM – RIP, just like that.
    The parents must somehow find strength to pass the agonising traumatic moments ahead. Hopefully the phrase ” time will heal ” do works out , albeit sickening feeling at times.
    SAD, SAD, when think of it.

10. #10 by john on Sunday, 27 January 2013 - 8:46 am

,,,,,superceded,,,,,

11. #11 by Sallang on Sunday, 27 January 2013 - 2:19 pm

#2 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Saturday, 26 January 2013 – 2:49 pm

Lee, I have to agree with some who commented that the parents are also to be blamed.
    Mistake No 1, leaving the children in car, with engine running, aircond on. What if the engine stopped?
    Mistake No 2. What’s so difficult to bring all of them into the shop? Surely shopping for washing machine as reported, will take some time.
    Mistake No 3. If its an auto model, with the engine running, there is still danger of a child putting the car into gear.
    I worked in a kindergarten before, and a six year old kid is able to shout for help already. But he did not.
    How far away did the parents park the car anyway? Another mistake.
    Did somebody opened the car door and took him away?
    Why didn’t they take all 3. They can just drive the car away, right? Was the car key not in the car? The windows were down?
    Many unanswered questions. Need to seek supernatural help.

12. #12 by sotong on Sunday, 27 January 2013 - 4:30 pm

When you live in FEAR of living your child/children in public places like shopping centre, carparks and etc……..something is very wrong.

Some self-righteous people accused the West of lack of morals. But their children are safe if lost in shopping centres and no matter how their girls/women dressed, they have rights under the law to protect their dignity and freedom.

Because of bad leaders, our society is sick – nobody cares!