93-Day Countdown to 13GE – Najib should dissolve Parliament by 8th March on expiry of 5-year tenure of Parliament instead of resorting to Article 55(3)of Constitution to secure another 50 days as unelected PM

Article 55(3) of the Malaysian Constitution states:

“55(3) Parliament unless sooner dissolved shall continue for five years from the date of its first meeting and shall then stand dissolved”.

The 12th Parliament was elected on March 8, 2008 – the polling day for the 12th general elections.

The first meeting of the present Parliament was on April 28, 2008. Under Article 55(3), unless Parliament is sooner dissolved, the 12th Parliament shall stand automatically dissolved on April 27, 2013.

The sixth Prime Minister of Malaysia, Datuk Seri Najib Razak is the nation’s longest unelected Prime Minister without a mandate of his own – longer than his four predecessors Tun Abdullah, Tun Mahathir, Tun Hussein and his father Tun Razak.

He should dissolve Parliament by 8th March 2013 on expiry of the five-year tenure of Parliament instead of resorting to the Constitutional device in Article 55(3) to secure another 50 days in office as unelected Prime Minister.

It is constitutional for Najib to secure another 50 days in office as unelected Prime Minister under Article 55(3) of the Constitution, but no other Prime Minister in Malaysia had ever to resort to such a constitutional device to extend his tenure as Prime Minister – and in this case, as unelected Prime Minister.

If Najib has to dissolve Parliament by March 8, 2013, he has 58 days left to call for the 13th general elections.

Is Najib prepared to announce in the next few days when he would dissolve Parliament before March 8, 2013 for the 13th general elections to be held?

UMNO leaders have been touring the country declaring that Najib has halted the “political tsunami” of 2008.

Prove it then in the 13GE.

Or are these boasts just empty bombast and hifalutin rhetoric, just like UMNO/Barisan Nasional claims that UMNO/BN could wrest back 20 parliamentary seats held by Pakatan Rakyat to secure two-thirds parliamentary majority in the 13GE – as well recapturing the PR state governments of Kelantan, Penang, Selangor and Kedah?

Is Najib confident of facing the 13GE by 8th March 2013 or does he need another 50 days to work up the courage to face the Malaysian electorate?

1. #1 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 4:05 pm

Looking more and more like jibby jib is playing out the end of that RAHMAN legacy.

2. #2 by Godfather on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 4:18 pm

Extra 50 days can award a few more billion ringgit contracts….black Rose can earn a few more diamonds.

3. #3 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 4:21 pm

And the next prime minister of malaysia is …..

ta da da da dadadada daaaaaaaaa ……

chengho!

ps. thousand apologies cintanegara. But chengho’s keadah2 kerajaan poker-style seems more exciting that your prinsip2 ekonomi pokok rambutan.

4. #4 by Godfather on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 4:22 pm

Actually, extra 50 days needed to get rid of all incriminating evidence. Remember the last days of Imelda Marcos at malacanang palace ?

5. #5 by cseng on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 5:39 pm

Automatic resolve on April-27, 60 days to election. Hence, the polling day could be on the last day June-26-2013….. no stim la.. like that!!!

6. #6 by cseng on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 5:41 pm

So many waited until die!…., from last year till june-26-2013, many have dead since….

7. #7 by sotong on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 5:47 pm

After decades of bad leadership and failed policies, nothing could save this government.

One kept promising but could not deliver.

8. #8 by Loh on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 6:45 pm

Najib do not have to resign as PM even when the parliament stands dissolved after 27 April 2013. Najib will continue to rule, and he would not convene parliamentary meeting because parliament would not exist. How then can Malaysians vote to get a new government?

9. #9 by the reds on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 8:15 pm

Godfather :
    Extra 50 days can award a few more billion ringgit contracts….black Rose can earn a few more diamonds.

Agree!!!

10. #10 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 1:07 am

He wants rakyat/voters 2 feel good towards UmnoB/BN b4 calling GE13
    So, he continues 2 give out rakyat $$$ 2 buy votes n Lohsi Hitam swept n gave out bread
    Now, even polis asked 2 facilitate PR’s Himpunan Kebangkitan Rakyat mega-rally on 12.1.13
    He n UmnoB/BN cannot afford another bloodi confrontation with rakyat so close 2 GE13

11. #11 by Noble House on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 1:54 am

The word on the street has this to say of what that is likely taking place in Umno/BN now:)-

All my bags are packed,
    I’m ready to go,
    I’m standing here,
    Outside your door,
    I hate to wake you up to say Good Bye.
    But the dawn is breaking’, It’s early morn`,
    The taxi’s waiting, he’s blowin’ his horn.
    Already I’m so lonesome I could die…………….
    ‘Cause I’m leaving on a jetplane………………….

Someone will then sings:

And now, the end is near,
    And so I face the final curtain.
    My friends, I’ll say it clear;
    I’ll state my case of which I’m certain……………
    I did it my way.

12. #12 by chengho on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 5:16 am

Penang , Kelantan , Selangor and Kedah should call states election tomorrow , why not , practice what you preach

13. #13 by assamlaksa on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 2:18 pm

Chengho, I repeat, Najib is not elected as PM – he has no mandate. So is Zamry, he is not elected as MB. State governments of Penang, Kelantan, Selangor and Kedah are legitimately elected with Rakyat’s mandate. If you cannot accept such logic … =.=’