Years of living precariously in Malaysia

Mustafa K. Anuar
Oct 10, 2012

Oct 10 — Malaysians are living in the grip of fear, not necessarily because of the spike in crime. Perceived or otherwise. Nor is it necessarily because of the number of deaths on the road which has risen over the years.

And certainly not because of two jet engines — as well as large amounts of money — that have somehow flown out of the country.

No. It is because there are “devils” — in various manifestations and aberrations — lurking in modern-day and technology-savvy Malaysia.

Why, quite recently Malaysians were warned by the federal government — which is visibly concerned for the common good of ordinary Malaysians especially those who can be quite impressionable — of the cunning and naughty attempts by “foreign elements” to topple the present-day government through their funding of non-governmental organisations (NGOs) such as Suaram, Centre for Independent Journalism (CIJ) and online newspaper Malaysiakini.

Indeed, this is an issue of national import that would not and should not escape the rapt attention and deep concern of serious newspapers worth their salt. This explains why dailies such as the influential and socially responsible Utusan Malaysia had front-paged this plot in the hope that fellow Malaysians would be patriotic enough to be on high alert and to defend their beloved country when the occasion arises.

The Scorpene case is a classic example of how some foreign powers have tried to infiltrate into our defence and security systems. For these wily foreign elements are fully aware that Malaysia desperately needs a submarine or two to check and prevent piracy along the popularly-plied Straits of Malacca; ascertain the depth of the South China Sea to help enhance deep-sea fishing that would in turn ensure our food security; and also to monitor the Earth’s movement for early and invaluable detection of tsunami, both geological and political.

Indeed, to play footsie with these foreign elements, like some Malaysian human rights-based NGOs have done, is only to invite trouble, big time. That is why a number of Malay-based NGOs are clever enough not to be easily seduced by the sweet talk of these foreign elements. As a premeditated act of defiance, these patriotic NGOs had figuratively shown their middle finger, or literally bared their bums, to these foreign elements.

In this era of uncertainty and globalisation, you have to be very careful about who you befriend at the international level. For before you know it, there would be a communist hiding under your bed, trying to be your strange bedfellow.

Or at the very least, a Jew or two to bring chaos to our prosperous nation that has become the envy of many countries in the world.

Viewed from this perspective, one would appreciate the conscientious action taken by the Najib administration to ensure that our national security has not been and will not be compromised. Hence, the seemingly high-handed move by the government against Suaram and its ilk. Surely, a government that has the ordinary people’s interests at heart can warm the cockles of the collective heart of concerned Malaysians.

It is within this larger scheme of things that we can begin to fully understand what former premier Mahathir Mohamad was trying to say when he contended that it’s better the devil you know than the angels you don’t.

Additionally, we should also be able to understand better by now what Prime Minister Najib Razak, who once declared that Malaysia was the “best democracy in the world”, was trying to arrive at when he said that it’s taboo to vote for the Opposition.

Surely to give support to those voices that criticise the ruling elite would only open doors to our foreign enemies via our local civil society groups.

As one astute MP rightly alerted us, co-operating with the local NGOs is one way in which these dangerous foreign elements try to influence our government in their long-term strategy to weaken our big neighbour and world’s economic powerhouse, China. We are truly indebted to this politician for his intellectual prowess and precociousness.

We are indeed living in extraordinary and dangerous times. That is why it really isn’t far-fetched when a Cabinet minister dexterously proclaimed that — in the aftermath of the massive Bersih rally — salt and water bottles could be weapons of mass destruction! Moreover, in this age of the Internet and YouTube (which is a Western invention), you could actually learn the delicate method of mixing salt and water (from foreign experts) and — voila! — transforming them into something really volatile after shaking them in a certain calculated fashion.

This sense of being extra careful with our country’s sovereignty and security is well placed and must be instilled in Malaysians from an early age. Thus, it makes a whole lot of sense when certain schools in the country recently categorised the Bersih movement as “illegal” in the trial exam for the subject of Moral Studies. Clearly this is a matter that goes beyond the mundane business of getting more A’s.

It is also imperative that we acknowledge the fact that the “devil” in these foreign elements stem from the human rights that they’ve been fighting for and flaunting all these years. As Mahathir pointedly revealed, the freedoms advocated by these foreign elements have been taken to the extreme to the extent that mothers, particularly the ones in the US, have had indiscriminate and free sex all in the name of human rights!

Surely Mahathir wasn’t off the mark if we consider the fact that Malaysian mothers have been well behaved to a large degree. With the exception of a few misled teenagers who dumped their newborn in bins and toilets, most of the Malaysian mothers spend their time gainfully in the shopping malls, peacefully and patiently searching for that prized Prada and other coveted handbags.

That said, Malaysians should not be unduly worried about the security and prosperity of their progressive country as they’re in the good hands of the federal government.

As Mahathir and his BN friends would caringly tell you, necessity is the mother of invention, and one would find ways and means to survive and jealously protect one’s interests against any attempt to undermine one’s position.

1. #1 by monsterball on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 12:48 am

We are living in a time where Umno B is stepping up all gears to confuse Malaysians to the utmost best ways they can.
    I don’t think we are living on dangerous times…as People Power is ready and not afraid at all.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 6:29 am

Yeah, d UmnoB/BN gomen loves all of us, cares 4 us
    d BIG BROTHER wants 2 protect us n monitor all movements, hence is busy outsourcing VIDEO taping activities 2 we-know-who-lah
    First we hv AES cameras, next we will hv other exotically abbreviated spy cameras
    Soon we will also hv drones of all shapes, sizes, configurations, n characteristics up in our sky
    SMILE, U r on candid camera (even when u r pooping in so-called privacy)

3. #3 by Sallang on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 7:38 am

The writer has shown that his English is superb.
    However, why must he confuse the reader by writing the opposite?
    After reading this I thought I should vote for BN
    Please don’t have to test our level of comprehension , having to read between the lines.
    Time is not on our side. Make it simple and
    straight to the point. ‘F..” them!

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 8:04 am

BN / Mahathir’s position – to vote BN, forget about Opposition- is to preserve the existing way of life by Devil we know than Angel we don’t Examples: look at honor killings in Pakistan, Pakistani teen activist Malala Yousufzai, 14, shot for speaking out against Taliban. Here a single suicide bomb exploded & the worse NGO activist Ambiga got was to be humored by ex servicemen jiggling their butts, a far cry from army aiming their guns! What’s complaint about Project AES cameras awarded to cronies? They not only mitigate traffic violations/fatal accidents but like in little red dot act as surveillance to catch criminals. Complaint about education standard? We’re education hub for Nigerians & other Africans, Chinese nationals Indonesians etc Corruption ? – universal, some of it not only unavoidable (human nature) but facilitates business. Anyway manageable since even Dmitri Vlassis, the head of UNODC commended the Malaysian government for its “serious efforts” at tackling corruption. One can’t criticize govt using foreign (independent) criticism and reject its praises selectively. In terms of prosperity versus wastage, we’re not like the so called developed western countries economically imploding as what Michael Synder said. We have a popular leader who entertains crowd as stand up comedian, magnanimous and sporting to accept being made but of jokes. (Idi Amin of Uganda would have shot critics!) Someone he doles out money, understands gratitude ( Lu Tolong Gua..Gua Tolong Lu), we’re truly blessed nation!

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 8:04 am

‘….Here not a single suicide bomb exploded…”

6. #6 by yhsiew on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 8:11 am

They care so much for us to protect their own interests and not our interests, unfortunately.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 8:14 am

Strategically, there is nothing more important for PR than getting a live national TV debate between Anwar & Najib for the GE..And PR can’t lose whether Najib agrees to a debate or not.

After the fiasco of Budget Speech and Google Hangout, Najib is hard pressed to avoid a debate for the GE. If Najib still insist on not debating, two weeks of election campaign and every ceramah is pounded with why Najib won’t debate, it could be enough to chip away even at the electoral fraud..

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 11:04 am

According to the ‘Devils’, if the Opposition wins the elections, then :

– there will no longer be any democracy
    – there will be anarchy everywhere
    – development will come to a full stop and investors will all run away
    – the various races will immediately stop living in peace
    – there will be no religious freedom, and specifically Christianity will become the official religion
    – there WILL be good governance and corruption will stop
    – the Chinese and other minority races will control the country and the Malays will become marginalised
    – George Soros will become the country’s ‘taikor’
    – the people will not be allowed to think
    – everything will come to a standstill as PR has ‘no experience’

and so on.

So sayeth the Devils.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 11:26 am

continued… if PR wins, the Devils say:

– we will not have press or media freedom anymore
    – there will be no more justice
    – cost of living etc will go up
    – the country will go bankrupt
    – crime rate will go even higher
    – there will be high unemployment due to meritocracy
    – ‘traitors’ and NGOs will be running the country
    – there will be no personal freedom
    – criminals and lawbreakers (especially devil types) will be brought to justice
    – UMNo, the hunchback of BN, will cease to exist
    – our education system will breakdown as it becomes more ‘open’ to meet international standards
    – civil servants won’t get bonuses anymore; no more buta gaji, only hard work
    – no more BR1M, only BROOM
    – no more Open House freebies

And wonder why BN is desperate.

Now you know why some BN CMs in east and west Malaysia prefer Hitler-like mustaches.

10. #10 by monsterball on Thursday, 11 October 2012 - 5:42 pm

When you reached the summit….nothing to fear about.
    Najib have used up all his trump cards with no with no better results for BN.
    It shows Malaysians are smart …calm and fearless.
    That brings out the old master doing his tricks…no more senile.