Choice is yours – let us change so we can have liberty and live with dignity

(Prepared closing remarks by DAP Secretary-General/Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng at the debate with MCA President Datuk Dr. Chua Soi Lek on “DAP & MCA: Whose Policies Benefit the Country More?” at Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre on Sunday, July 8, 2012)

Since Merdeka, two million Malaysians have migrated overseas because they do not see a future for themselves and for Malaysia. It is time that we don’t live in our past that is filled with hatred and fear. We should look to the future filled with hope and harmony between all Malaysians.

 To put the past behind us, we must stop the politics of race and religion.

 To put the past behind us, we must end corruption.

 To put the past behind us, we must abolish the suppression, oppression, repression of our basic human rights and freedoms.

 To put the past behind us, we must demand good governance and performance from our ministers.

To put the past behind us, we must stop the politics of race and religion

Mengapakah kita terperangkap dalam permainan perkauman Barisan Nasional yang cuba menakutan orang Melayu bahawa mereka akan kehilangan hak mereka dan jawatan Perdana Menteri. Selagi kita mendukung Perlembagaan Persekutuan, hak Melayu dan bumiputera terjamin bersama-sama dengan hak sahih orang bukan Melayu. Sekiranya Pakatan Rakyat menang, calon yang paling layak akan menjadi Perdana Menteri, iaitu Dato’ Seri Anwar Ibrahim. Jangan kita biarkan Barisan Nasional terus memperalatkan isu perkauman anti-bukan-Melayu hanya untuk mengekalkan kuasa. Adakah ini menguntungkan rakyat apabila BN tak mahu jawab mana pergi RM52 bilion saham yang sepatutnya diberikan kepada orang Melayu dan bumiputera miskin. Kita mesti faham bukan semua orang Cina yang kaya. Sama juga, bukan semua orang Melayu yang miskin. Ada ramai orang Melayu yang kaya macam Tan Sri Syed Mohktar dan Pengerusi Eksekutif SYABAS Tan Sri Rozali Ismail. Mengapa minta rakyat Malaysia berbangsa Cina balik China tetapi tak tanya sama menteri Cina yang pernah pohon PR Australia.

Barisan Nasional akan menggunakan perkauman untuk menakutkan kita kerana mereka sudah tiada isu lagi. Jangan kita menakutkan diri sendiri dan terus menyokong sebuah kerajaan yg bersifat kroni & rasuah. Hanya dengan perubahan kepada ketuanan rakyat dan bukan ketuanan UMNO barulah kita boleh bebaskan diri daripada rasuah dan hidup bermaruah.

To attain peace Malaysians must stand united and reject those who wish to divide us by preaching racial and religious hatred. If we want to benefit from equal opportunities and realize our human potential we must stop extremists from continually degrading others as inferiors so as to uplift ourselves. Why should Allah not be allowed to be used in the Bible when it is used in the Middle East?

We can only achieve harmony together. Despite our differences and diversity, Malaysians can make our common aspirations of freedom, justice, democracy and truth come true if we remember key values.

That it is not who we are that is important, but what we are that is important; not the colour of our skin that is important but the content of our character; and not our past ancestry that is important but how we connect with the present and with each other to face the future.

We can only be prosperous together. The time has come to focus on the economy, in employment, education and business opportunities as the conditions for prosperity. We must build human talent and be performance-based.

For those who say that PR do not know how to govern, the 4 PR states of Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan have proven our ability by beating the other 10 BN states by attracting RM25 billion in investments comprising 53% of Malaysia’s total investments of RM47.2 billion in 2010. For the first time in history, Penang is now the new champion of investments in Malaysia, coming out top in 2010 with RM 12.2 billion.

To put the past behind us, we must end corruption

Tentang rasuah berapa banyak wang lagi yg kita nak hilang. Seorang penternak lembu yang daripada muda sehingga tua tak boleh dapat pinjaman berjuta-juta ringgit. Tetapi seorang keluarga menteri sungguhpun tak ada pengalaman menternak seekor lembu pun boleh mendapat 250 juta ringgit. Tapi wang digunakan untuk membeli kondo pula. Bukan sahaja pemimpin-pemimpin kita jadi orang terkenal, tetapi lembu kita pun terkenal. Tengoklah skandal-skandal lembu & kondo. Sampai negara Singapura yg banyak kondominium pun nak belajar macam mana boleh menternak lembu dalam kondominium.

Mengapakah dalam skandal Forex Bank Negara pada tahun 90an apabila Malaysia rugi lebih 15 bilion ringgit orang yg bertanggungjawab tidak dihukum tetapi sekarang dilantik menjadi menteri dalam Pejabat Perdana Menteri?

Bilakah kita nak hentikan kerugian wang ini lagi? Adakah 100 billion tak cukup? Kita nak 12 billion lagi. Jangan lupa 1 ribu billion ringgit wang haram sudah mengalir keluar dari negara. Janganlah biarkan wang negara terus disia-siakan, kita mesti berani membuat perubahan yg boleh menjaminkan kehidupan anak-anak kita.

Barisan Nasional cannot reform to end corruption. Remember, if we do not end corruption, Malaysia dies. If we end corruption, BN dies. The choice is clear.

To put the past behind us, we must abolish the suppression, oppression, repression of our basic human rights and freedom

How can we have a clean government when we do not have clean elections? Hanya pilihanraya bersih boleh memastikan sebuah kerajaan bersih. The next government should be decided by Malaysians and not by phantom voters or Bangladeshis or Myanmarese. Saya percaya kita mahu rakyat Malaysia dan bukan pengundi hantu atau rakyat asing yang menentukan siapa menang kalah dalam pilihanraya umum ke-13.

We do not want our children to live in fear of oppressive laws as we have lived. A Pakatan Rakyat government will abolish the UUCA, the Sedition Act and the Printing Presses and Publications Act and restore local government elections.

Kita tidak boleh menerima penyalahgunaan kuasa dimana rakyat Malaysia boleh mati dalam tahanan.

When can we find justice for Teoh Beng Hock, Ahmad Sarbani and A Kugan? When will we have Freedom of Information & Freedom of Speech? When can we have justice that is not only done, but is seen to be done.

To put the past behind us, we demand good governance and performance from our ministers

Malaysia can be an international and intelligent country. We must have digital intelligence with broadband connectivity. We must also have integrity intelligence, so ensure that only honest people are the decision-makers. We must have institutional intelligence under the rule of law. We demand good governance and performance from our ministers.

Has the Transport Ministry done its duty to run our airports and seaports well? Look at the Penang International Airport whose completion has been delayed more than 3 times. And the Penang Port is to be reduced to be a feeder port and privatized to a 3rd party at the expense of Penangites. Why is there no consultation with the people of Penang to restore the port to its former glory? Instead of looking after airports and ports, the Transport Ministry is more interested in vehicle registration numbers and wants to increase the maximum traffic fines to RM2,000.

Director-General of Tourism is wrongly charged of corruption but the Tourism Minister finds nothing wrong with spending RM1.8 million in doing up her Facebook page, when we all know that it can be done for free.

The Health Ministry wants to privatise healthcare when it should be a public good given as an affordable right to all Malaysians. Why allow the wastage of public funds and affect the quality and affordability of drugs when drugs are bought through a middleman at higher prices when it could be bought cheaper direct from the manufacturers, some of which are operating in Malaysia.

The Housing and Local Government Ministry opposes local government elections in Penang, denying our fundamental democratic right to elect our councillors and our mayors.

We believe that Malaysians deserve better. For the last 50 years, the wealth of the nation has been robbed. Let us protect the future of our children by ensuring we have a people-centric government that protects you instead of harming you, that rewards you instead of stealing from you, that respects you instead of abusing your rights. Let us clean up Malaysia to save our children’s future.

We must put the past behind us where profits matters more than our health. Lynas concerns all of us because if Lynas is allowed to operate, Barisan Nasional will proceed with building two nuclear reactors. If we continue to put health above profits, what is the use of having all the money in the world if you cannot enjoy it healthily?

The next elections shall be fought on the economy. We refuse to allow BN to use race as the issue in the next elections. We need to increase the incomes of our poor or else they will fall victims to the Ah Longs. For example, Bank Negara’s Annual Report 2010 revealed that Malaysia’s household debt at the end of 2010 was RM581 billion or 76 per cent of GDP, thus giving us the dubious honour of having the second-highest level of household debt in Asia.

In addition, the Malaysian household debt service ratio stood at 47.8 per cent in 2010, meaning that nearly half of the average family’s income goes to repaying debts. As a rule, banks would not lend money to those whose total servicing of loans exceeded one third of their income. In other words, we are spiralling into an indebted nation.

According to the New Economic Model documents, the bottom 40% of Malaysian households are living with a monthly average income of RM1,500 (and three-quarters of them are bumiputera) while 60% of the households (of four persons averagely) live with a less than RM3,000 income, which is near subsistence if one lives in the cities.

These are families living in fear. We will help them live with dignity and not in fear, by increasing their incomes and cutting down their costs, with a minimum wage, getting rid of monopolies, expanding internet connectivity and encouraging creativity, innovation and productivity.

South Korea is a very good example of a nation that chose democracy, performance and freedom of opportunity to become a developed country. With a population of 48 million, its GDP per capita of USD20,000 is more than double Malaysia’s. But in 1970, South Korea’s per capita GDP was only USD260 compared to Malaysia’s USD380 we used to regularly beat South Korea at football. And now our children are fans of K-pop culture and their football team are regulars at the World Cup.

Only when we free ourselves of fear of change, can we be free to prosper. BN cannot change. They need to be changed, for BN wants to rule by fear.

Thomas Jefferson has said “When the governments fear the people, there is liberty. When the people fear the government, there is tyranny”.

The choice is yours, my friends. I urge you – Let us change so we can have liberty and live with dignity.

1. #1 by negarawan on Sunday, 8 July 2012 - 11:15 pm

I just wanted to say to LGE and Betty that we are praying for your family that all the uncalled for adversities and immoral lies by Chua Soi Lek and his MCA followers will be put to a stop, and that God Almighty will make Chua Soi Lek realize that his continued immoral actions are only causing further hurt to his own wife and family, who have been deeply betrayed by his own lustful and irresponsible act. Chua Soi Lek, your sinful acts will surely be punished by God Almighty. Chua Soi Lek, remember that many people, including your own wife, have chosen to forgive you of your lustful and irresponsible act that has not only brought shame to your family but also to the country. Chua Soi Lek, if you now falsely accuse others of committing the same shameful act as you had done, and condemn your innocent victims for it, then it follows logically that no one should forgive you for your shameful act and condemn you as well. Stand up as a gentleman, and not a coward, together with your fellow conspirators in MCA and UMNO. If your allegations have any grain of truth in it, bring it out in public, so that proper actions in a court of law can be taken.

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 8 July 2012 - 11:23 pm

Great closing remarks by Lim Guan Eng.
    Telling the truth and working sincerely for the people…..the facts are simple and straight forward.
    Lim Guan Eng is no easy meat for Chua or any MCA politicians to bring him down.
    He speaks like ten feet talk CM of Penang.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Sunday, 8 July 2012 - 11:55 pm

Gorgeous closing remarks by Guan Eng though there should be more comments on tertiary education of Malaysian youth.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 1:29 am

When will we have a debate between the two Malay leaders who aspire to lead the country?

5. #5 by boh-liao on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 2:15 am

Wife cheater said: Y only two million Malaysians have migrated overseas? Should b more, d more d better 4 UmnoB/BN 2 b elected 2 remain in power

6. #6 by SENGLANG on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 7:32 am

I total agreed that TARC is the symbol of discrimination policy adopted by BN. Even until today Mahathir still against the recognition of TRAC certificates. TARC also a symbol of failure in fighting for equal education for all races. The academic success of TRAC can not be deny as putting Chinese students in any institution they will excel, as Chinese put great emphasis on education.

What we are talking about is the setting up of TRAC is the failure in the education poloicy.

TRAC courses are blatantly down grade from degree to diploma. This is simply a shame to our MCA. Students who have sit for the A level was offer diploma courses in the earlier years, even till today its diploma is only term as advance diploma, though its standards is recognised by overseas institution as degree. If this is not discrimination what is the meaning of discrimination.

MCA always boost its success on TRAC while they are still sleeping in getting its courses downgrade.

Against the odd TRAC student excel in such a discriminate environment. Most of the students in TRAC business school are not depending on its business diploma as all are not recognised by such as Malaysian Institute of Accountants, they have to pass the external exam such as ACCA, CIMS OR ICSA. And these student who pass the external exam have been very successful in their working life.

TRAC is just is steeping stone for the external degree for the business school student. If you just pass it internal exam it is worth nothing. So what MCA is boosting about.

They are many private institution now such as Sunway college who is providing the same as TRAC now.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 7:38 am

Najib Vs. Anwar debate? Forget that..I want to see Najib Vs. Mahathir debate. Mahathir just called Najib ‘stupid’..Even UMNO want to know want them to talk it out..

8. #8 by Godfather on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 8:00 am

Najib-Mamakthir debate ? Mamakthir just needs to hold up the file on Najib and the latter will run all the way to Pekan.

9. #9 by Godfather on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 8:01 am

Najib is deathly afraid of Anwar. He will be mincemeat if he debates Anwar, so he has to avoid at all costs.

10. #10 by Godfather on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 8:07 am

Mamakthir says Malays are stupid to give in to the demands of the minority. And the Malays still support UMNO ?

11. #11 by Godfather on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 8:08 am

Mamakthir says that TARC certificates should never have been recognized by the gomen. And MCA is still in BN ?

12. #12 by boh-liao on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 8:40 am

“Let us CHANGE” Really? Must we?
    AhCHEATkor boldly declared dat UmnoB/BN has kept its promises to d ppl n delivered all dat it promised in d last 55 yrs: CORRUPTION, self-enrichment, 1-SUPREME RACE POLICY
    Y change? He die die must bribe or threaten as many as possible 2 vote 4 UmnoB/BN 2 continue d culture of making selected few super rich n powerful
    MMK of cos agrees as long as his botak son gets 2 b d next MB of Kedah

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 8:53 am

Don’t forget the same Mamakthir still has influence as he is looked up to at least in certain parts of the Arab/Muslim world. For example, out of 13 other nominations he has “in recognition of his leadership, statesmanship and good governance, construction and benevolent activities in fighting urban poverty an implementation of UN Habitat’s agenda” just been selected/ named as recipient of the 2012 Rafik Hariri UN-Habitat Memorial Award (established jointly in 2009 by Rafik Hariri foundation and UN-Habitat in memory of late Lebanese premier (Rafik Hariri, assassinated 2005). The previous winner was (Anwar’s good friend) Turkish PM Recep Tayyip Erdogan.

14. #14 by k1980 on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 8:56 am

Mamak Izzat got RM250million, but Grandma NgYY only got RM50million?

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/428587

15. #15 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 9:03 am

“In fact I feel like meeting the Agung tommorrow”, jib proclaimed to the sea of red (hopefully not a sea of banglas in red). Anyway, that tommorrow, came and went, and the next tommorrow came and went and another one too came and went and another one and another one and another one. Oh boy, I hv lost count already.

Come on jib. Dissolve parliament right away. Let us change umno. (Mca mic gerakan etc are all goner. Not worth mentioning them.) You cant go on orgying publicly forever. The feel good factor (if any) has gone numb and for many, the feeling now definitely is one of soreness.

16. #16 by bush on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 9:07 am

Don’t be so naive to believe that recognition of TAR college and China’s university qualification can bring good to Chinese. As a Tarcian, we don’t need a job from the racist Government.

This is to please the dump Chinese especially the MCA during the Election.

If you adopt the racist policy under the BN Goverment regime. What can you get from the recognition? They will fail you when you want to apply job and get promotion.

This applies to top student with 9A. They will fail you during the interview session with the racist policy.

Any recognition will not work if the policy control by racist BN.

17. #17 by Winston on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 9:12 am

Wah, LGE really whacked his opponent in the debate!
    No holds barred!!
    It’s a clarion call to all Malaysians to dump UMNO/BN!
    So, let’s all join hands to cast them out into the wilderness in the next GE!!!

18. #18 by negarawan on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 9:33 am

It’s debatable who triumphed
    ANALYSIS
    By JOCELINE TAN (The Star)
    ———————-
    Joceline Tan, enough of your gutter journalism! You bring shame to the profession, and you are nothing more than a running dog for MCA and UMNO. The Star is nothing more than the English edition of Utusan. More and more people have stopped the subscription of The Star and I would encourage more to do so. Wong Chun Wai, do you have the guts to take up the challenge by LGE to have a dialogue with him on your false and biased reporting? Shame on you for making The Star into a gutter newspaper like Utusan!

19. #19 by megaman on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 10:33 am

To Dato Seri Chua Soi Lek,

Past results are no guarantee of future performance …

Only present actions and decisions count …

It really disgusts me to no end, that every single time you stand on the podium, you harped about TARC as fine example of MCA’s success and contributions to the Malaysia education.

It also disgusts me as well, that you kept claiming that MCA has contributed so much and DAP has done nothing. To remind us that we as citizens are indebted to MCA for fighting for our independence and giving us Chinese schools.

My God! The lists never ends but may I remind you sir! The so-called achievements you’ve listed are nothing more than history lessons.

The fight for independence was an event that happened more than 50 years ago. TARC was setup in 1969. None of these happened during your time as president of MCA.

Where were you when these events unfolded ?
    Where were the current cohorts of MCA leaders then ?
    What have they contributed to these ?

You have no rights to claim these achievements and it is really a shameful act to do so.

We as rakyat have never doubted nor forgotten MCA’s contributions in the past.
    It is not what you have done in the past that we are finding fault with.

It is what you should have done but didn’t that made us extremely unhappy.

The PKFZ scandal costs us RM 3.5 Billions, how many TARC, schools and kindergartens could have been built with this amount ?

MCA did not fought for against the injustice and brutality committed on normal citizens in Bersih 2.0 and 3.0.

Neither have MCA fought against racist remarks by Perkasa and other extremist groups.

Too little and certainly not enough have been done.
    On the contrary, MCA leaders and prominent members have been implicated in so many scandals and corruption cases.

Yes, DAP may not have a lot of “achievements” to show and brag about BUT DAP don’t have so many things to be ashamed about as well.

Currently, the Pakatan states are no less worse than it was under BN and definitely some are better off like Penang.

Why ? Tell me why ? Why shouldn’t the Rakyat gives Pakatan and DAP a chance they well deserve ?

Again, Past results are no guarantee of future performance …

20. #20 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 10:54 am

Why debate still going on between LGE and the porn star sucker?

In any other nations, any politicians had been caught or tainted with illegal affairs. S/he would be downed to the drains or in jails and shy away from cameras or public eyes instead of holding the party leadership!!! Worst off challenge debates, holycow?!!?

This shows that Boleland is under the sucking government and administrations! Corruptions, rapes. murders and etc-etc are common and intense…

PISS OFF, BN/UMNO suckers!!!!

21. #21 by boh-liao on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 11:09 am

Big-time WIFE CHEATER replied: What la, me no talk abt past; me no want U 2 talk abt my past 4nication n wife cheating shiok syiok activities; in fact, me want all of U 2 forget abt my past brilliant performance n VCD
    Me talk abt d present, like telling all of U my big boss proven enuf, no need 2 debate AI (as a bola carrier, I must speak out 4 my beloved big boss mah)
    Me debated LGE 2X, good enuf lor; me a thick skinned debater par excellence what, just tembak here n there lor, twist here twist there, can do 1

22. #22 by Godfather on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 11:11 am

The MCA forfeited its dignity years ago when a succession of leaders from Tan Koon Swan to Lee San Choon to Ling Liong Sik and Chan Koon Choy basically got caught with their hands in the till, and then along came Chua Soiled Lek who got caught with his pants down.

What dignity are we talking about here ?

23. #23 by boh-liao on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 11:21 am

Thank you, thank you, 4 dis DEBATE 2.0 dat gave me another chance 2 show off my undying loyalty 2 n admiration 4 my wife-cheating pres, so said Selayang “拖车姐”黄糩璊 of tow truck fame
    Her @s.sessment of DEBATE 2.0: LGE, 50%; wife cheater, brilliant, fantastic, 100%
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/203025

24. #24 by loveandgratitude on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 11:25 am

Syabas LGE represent DAP/PR with forceful Dignity n Rebutted CSL.
    But DON’T debate with CSL anymore though .DON’T give him an Opportunity n Platform to articulate MCA’s trash.
    If there should be another Debate worth considering, it should be Najib with Anwar. But will Najib dare to come out to debate is another question.

25. #25 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 11:38 am

Dear megaman,

Stop addressing these idiots as dato seri or tun or dato or whatever. They are nobody. If they are anybody, then they must be thieves and pirates and cheaters.

• #26 by megaman on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 1:59 pm

Dear dagen,

Understand your displeasure with the so-called idiots disguised as datuks.

Although I have little respect for the person called CSL, but I still have respect for the institution that granted the titles.

I did this to honour the institution because I believe that are many great deserving Malaysians holding such titles like Dato Lee Chong Wei, Tun Musa Hitam etc.

Cheerios !

26. #27 by sheriff singh on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 12:11 pm

The people want to make its choice.

However, the incumbents who wield the power have erected numerous layers of barricades, including razor sharp wires, to make it quite impossible for the people’s choice to be made fairly and without obstructions.

Further, many people have become flaccid and lazy after 55 years and are not angry and hungry enough to surmount the razor sharp wires. Hopefully, the events that have taken place in recent months and years in other parts of the world will spur efforts to climb over the Great Wall.

27. #28 by sheriff singh on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 12:19 pm

The government can ‘recognise’ TAR College’s Certificates and Diplomas but will this recognition result in increased employment in say, the government service?

The recognition was retroactive, so the standards were not in question or was the issue. It was just plain simple politics.

All it needed was ‘a stroke of the pen’ and MCA could not get it done for 40 odd years. Many graduates suffered unnecessarily over this time.

28. #29 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 1:28 pm

Malaysians want a debate between Anwar & Najib.

We want to see who has brains to run the country.

Najib cannot run and hide:

like an ostrich burying its head in the sand;
    like a small boy hidng behind mom’s apron string;
    like a teen hiding underneath girlfriend’s skirt;
    like a submarine that’s lost its buoyancy;
    like cesspool effuents afraid of deodorising sun;
    like UMNO’s got so many scandals too hide;
    like crazed cows jumping over the condos;
    …..
    OK, Najib, c’mon go head to head if u r man enuf.

29. #30 by monsterball on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 1:58 pm

Go watch the video and see how Lim Guan Eng made Chua Soi Lek look like a stupid ..hypocritical fool.
    LGE was merciless this time. He exposed the present MCA is a puppet to Najib and Chua quoted grandfather stories.
    He ignored that the past MCA is entirely different from the present one…..starting from the time Mahathir was PM …..until now.
    Since MCA is a racist party…. you can be sure Malaysian Chinese….from all walks of life supports PR and especially DAP.
    Chua Soi Lek is shameless for his low class performance.

30. #31 by Loh on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 1:59 pm

megaman :
    To Dato Seri Chua Soi Lek,
    Past results are no guarantee of future performance …
    Only present actions and decisions count …
    It really disgusts me to no end, that every single time you stand on the podium, you harped about TARC as fine example of MCA’s success and contributions to the Malaysia education.
    It also disgusts me as well, that you kept claiming that MCA has contributed so much and DAP has done nothing. To remind us that we as citizens are indebted to MCA for fighting for our independence and giving us Chinese schools.
    My God! The lists never ends but may I remind you sir! The so-called achievements you’ve listed are nothing more than history lessons.
    The fight for independence was an event that happened more than 50 years ago. TARC was setup in 1969. None of these happened during your time as president of MCA.
    Where were you when these events unfolded ?
    Where were the current cohorts of MCA leaders then ?
    What have they contributed to these ?
    You have no rights to claim these achievements and it is really a shameful act to do so.
    We as rakyat have never doubted nor forgotten MCA’s contributions in the past.
    It is not what you have done in the past that we are finding fault with.
    It is what you should have done but didn’t that made us extremely unhappy.
    The PKFZ scandal costs us RM 3.5 Billions, how many TARC, schools and kindergartens could have been built with this amount ?
    MCA did not fought for against the injustice and brutality committed on normal citizens in Bersih 2.0 and 3.0.
    Neither have MCA fought against racist remarks by Perkasa and other extremist groups.
    Too little and certainly not enough have been done.
    On the contrary, MCA leaders and prominent members have been implicated in so many scandals and corruption cases.
    Yes, DAP may not have a lot of “achievements” to show and brag about BUT DAP don’t have so many things to be ashamed about as well.
    Currently, the Pakatan states are no less worse than it was under BN and definitely some are better off like Penang.
    Why ? Tell me why ? Why shouldn’t the Rakyat gives Pakatan and DAP a chance they well deserve ?
    Again, Past results are no guarantee of future performance …

Well said.

To Chua Soi Lek, Chinese are having good time in Malaysia, and so MCA will not be doing anything for them. That was confirmed by him claiming that the unemployment rate among Chinese was low and that Chinese owned a lot in share capital. CSL certainly would not ask the government to make a proper tally of Malays’ ownership in shares and that meeting the target of 30% NEP should go. If MCA thinks that all is well with the current BN, should Chinese vote for MCA again? CSL said that they would be trouble if Pakatan Rakyat takes over. It seems that UMNO scare tactic has his solid support.

31. #32 by boh-liao on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 2:14 pm

What #25 meant is dat MCA is incompetent, flaccid, no bola, n truly suppressed by UmnoB; was unable 2 get UmnoB 2 recognise TARC’s Certificates n Diplomas since inception
    But now with d imminent possibility of PR winning GE13, UmnoB made a U-turn; all bcos UmnoB takut PR – PR did what MCA could not achieve in the last >40 yrs
    So, how could MCA say dat PR is of no consequence? Based on dis evidence, rakyat MUST VOTE 4 PR 2 bring abt Change!

32. #33 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 2:27 pm

Without the opposition, and DAP in particular, to keep the greedy unmo in check I think malaysia would have turned bankrupt a long long ago.

33. #34 by boh-liao on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 2:54 pm

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC120709-0000039/Theyre-ahead-of-the-cl@ss
    Wife cheater said: C, another Chinese M’sian (a 20-year-old girl fr Perak) graduated with 1st [email protected] Honours in Computer Science fr NUS n she is going 2 do a doctoral programme in Computer Science with a research assistantship at d University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA.
    Chinese M’sians NO NEED support 1 lah fr UmnoB/BN; don’t want 2 come back 2 M’sia, OK 1 lah, no brain drain n loss 1 lah.
    AhCHEATkor will b pleased with my statement n reward my SON 2 b a full minister next time; I’m happy cos my son better future than AAB’s SIL, MMK’s sons, Nazi’s son, etc

34. #35 by SENGLANG on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 2:56 pm

There is no doubt about TRAC have produced many graduates that have been doing very well and contributing to the tax department. It is not that as graduate of TARC, yet I condemn on TARC. It is the policy that made it shameful. Now even after 50 years in his hand he still oppose the recogtion of TARC courses. The fact is recognise or not it does nor really make a big different. By recognising it only benefits BN as some parent may think that BN has given thier children mor opportunity to enter the civil services. Thus give them the support. TARC graduates can only do well in private sectors as they have trained to be so and the private sectors can offer them the salaries that they can command.

Recognition is one thing but to many people that they did not know was the fact TARC degrees is just good for as diploma to BN government. TRAC not even allowed to confer the graduates with degrees though they programme is as good as degree programme. This funny technicality I believe can only happen in Malaysia. This is simply say you people need not be so clever other wise mine will not able cari makan. This logic can only happen in BN government.

Please forget about recognising TARC courses. This is just a tool to fool the people.

35. #36 by Loh on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 4:38 pm

///Yen Yen: No regrets over Australian PR status
    Kow Gah Chie | 4:02PM Jul 9, 2012 | 8
    Saying she did this to enable her son’s studies 17 years ago, the MCA veep also reveals that she gave up the status in 1995.///–Malaysiakini

MCA Minister chose to become a PR so that her children can study overseas rather than fighting against the discriminatory racist policy on scholarship award. It says that MCA admit that it cannot do anything for the community the interest of which they say they represent. It is time to have MCA defeated entirely in the coming election. It is because MCA pretends to serve racial interest that UMNO justifies its racist stand. Whatever the outcome of the 13 GE, the single most important advancement to abolish racist politics would be to finish off MCA.

36. #37 by SENGLANG on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 4:52 pm

Itw as shame the Tour Minster still want to defend her self on Facebook spending while the PEMPENA has gone kaput after failure to settle the debts.

All the grant money has again gone with wind while the minister holidays overseas.

This how the tax payer gone.

But she say she is proud to be Australia PR 17 years ago?

37. #38 by clnt on Monday, 9 July 2012 - 6:56 pm

Why do we have to debate about the existence of the Chinese Independent schools! If we allow Mandarin to be taught alongside BM, English and Tamil up to university level, do we still need these Independent schools?