Malaysia – through the eyes of a patriot

Lynn D’Cruz | Mar 18, 2012

As one flicks through the early pages of Kee Thuan Chye’s second yet profoundly articulate book ‘No More Bullshit, Please, We’re All Malaysians’, one cannot help but stare in wonder at the last two names in the dedication.

Soraya Sunitra Kee Xiang Yin and Jebat Arjuna Kee Jia Liang fly off the pages like a flag in the wind.

One knows instantly that beyond it’s ability to provoke change, this is a book by a true patriot. A patriot who believes that Malaysia is worth fighting for.

To the reader’s delight a whole chapter is dedicated to explaining the names of his children leaves the message “I am Malaysian first, Chinese second,” resonating deeply with the reader.

Having the layman understand the political climate in Malaysia is not an easy feat. Kee, manages to illustrate the political climate, the discrepancies and struggles Malaysians who harbour a love for her country face – in easy to understand logic.

He begins the book trying to convince his friends who intent to emigrate to stay back and fight for Malaysia. He ends his first chapter – with a resigned reply by his friends “but does this country really cares if we stay or go.”

Fight for reform

However, the whole book, including plays the writer had produced, is intelligently designed to convince people to stay back and fight for reform.

He discloses everyday run-ins with authorities, how the country is bullied by a minority and the infantile disregard for arts and culture.

Kee masterfully highlights how the national language is politicised to sideline and marginalise non-Malay writers. How, although their works speak volumes of patriotism and love for the country – yet, when written in English, are not respected as national literature.

He speaks about senseless censorship – in and around the performing arts industry and how a mere mention of a particular pharmacy may be the reason your permit is revoked.

“There is precious little that artists can do to defend their rights; not while the government and the people give in to tyranny.”

Kee names the autocratic former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad as the biggest mess maker in the country. His interference in press freedom, the judiciary, his building of the white elephant, Putrajaya and last but not least his Ketuanan Melayu ideology are all different degrees of Mahathir’s dirty linen aired in Kee’s masterful ‘No more Bullshit’.

This book will tamper with your conscience. It will not let you rest or feel indifferent – it points out, highlights and defines what a democracy truly means. It puts to shame the 54 years of feigned independence.

It is a book with acute documentation of Malaysian history since March 8, 2012. The author intricately outlines race-related incidents, political implications, dialectical struggles and highlights repeatedly the strength in people’s power.

This is a book one has to read in order to remember every single affliction Malaysia has faced in the last four years. It will solidify the reader’s resolution to want to make a difference in the next general elections.

It is a book every Malaysian should possess.

——————————————————————————–

‘No More Bullshit, Please, We’re All Malaysians’ is available in all leading bookstores at RM39.90.

1. #1 by cintanegara on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 10:21 am

Tun Dr. Mahathir’s book , A Doctor In The House…… It is a book every Malaysian should possess…..

2. #2 by mauriyaII on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 10:38 am

Tun Dr. Mahathir’s book , A Doctor In The House…… It is a book every Malaysian should possess…..

Correct, correct, correct! It will come handy when you run our of toilet paper.

3. #3 by Albert Choong on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 10:55 am

I am going to buy this awe-inspiring and factual book;- No More Bullshit, Please, We’re All Malaysians.
    Every true Malaysians should declare:” I am a Malaysian first, then Chinese/ Indian/ Malay/Kadazan/Melanau last “.

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 11:28 am

“A doctor in the louse” sounds more like it. He is a doctor alright. A doctored achievements. A doctored biography.

5. #5 by k1980 on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 11:30 am

Dr M’s forthcoming new books (faction)–

1. A Mamak in Malaysia

2. A Kerala Immigrant’s Rags-to-Riches in Malaysia

3. How can a Kerala Pendatang become a Tuan

6. #6 by Godfather on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 12:05 pm

A Swindler in the House by Mamakthir is what every Malaysian should possess. Of course those who can’t read English very well should start with “A Rambutan Tree in My Yard” by Cintanegara.

7. #7 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 12:38 pm

Once a pendatang always a pendatang. Err well sort of. You see some pendatangs will gain better rights than others. It all depends on where you come from. Look at toyo-the-indon. He has great rights that many others do not have. Never mind if he goes to prison. He will still be different. He and his children will all be known as umnoputras and bumiputras etc etc and the rest will remain as what their ancestors were, pendatang. And giving one’s children exotic mixture of names will be quite hopeless for it will not transform the children out of their pendatang status. And as pendatang we were all expected to look up to umno and hail umnoputras all the time. We are all expected to understand that to do otherwise would be anti-agung, anti-sultan, anti-islam jenis umno, anti-melayu (actually umnoputra), anti-gobermen, unpatriotic, ungrateful, communist, terrorist etc etc etc and that would give umno the right to revoke our citizenship and to ISA us.

Come let us all hail umno.
    Let us all pray to jib.

JIB JIB BOLEH.
    ROS ROS CANTIK.

8. #8 by k1980 on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 12:46 pm

Jebat Arjuna Kee Jia Liang?

I thought umno has just declared that Tuah, Jebat and gang are just myths and did not exist.

9. #9 by tak tahan on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 2:15 pm

Continue from #4

4.A witch doctor in the plane come GE13.

10. #10 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 4:24 pm

Cintanegara used to speak very highly of Jibby Jib. Hmmmm… wonder what had happened? Hoi, celaka punya rambutan tree owner apa sudah terjadi? Change of heart? See we told you all along jib tu useless macam umno. Useless. Tak berguna langsung. And one more thing. Come to think of it I tak pernah baca comment you dlm BM lah. Tak tahu bahasa malaysia ke? Eh cam tu you pun sama juga anti-agung, anti-sultan …

11. #11 by rockdaboat on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 7:21 pm

Yes, I agree with cintanegara, every malaysian should have a copy: To wipe their behind after a big job!

12. #12 by monsterball on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 8:55 pm

No wonder cintanegara is what he is today…a cracko with half brain shut off…gone case..no cure.
    Imagine…a person like him knows what book to read…and recommend others.
    Is he a book worm of some sort….reading rubbish…and enjoy it too?
    I guess he will recommend all Malaysians to catch Mahathir’s fut..smell special and so nice..to him.
    Anyone listen to that UMNO b fanatic member…is a bigger idiot than him.

13. #13 by monsterball on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 9:06 pm

Tell cintanegara…
    “no more bullshit please… we are all Malaysian”…he will say…”what’s up Doc?”….confused and deluded…for all the time..he thinks he is the son of the soil…and how come we now have patriots fighting traitors..warriors against enemies…don’t know…which is which.

14. #14 by monsterball on Monday, 19 March 2012 - 9:08 pm

Tell cintanegara patriots are fighting traitors and warriors against enemies..he does not know…which is which.