Najib has smashed to smithereens the mirage of political transformation and “best democracy in the world” which he created two months ago with a repressive and undemocratic Peaceful Assembly Bill

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak has now smashed to smithereens the mirage of political transformation and “best democracy in the world” with the first reading of the undemocratic Peaceful Assembly Bill 2011.

The mirage created by Najib that he wants to make Malaysia “the best democracy in the world” lasted only two months as the proposed repeal of Section 27 of the Police Act requiring police permits for any gathering of three or more persons is to be replaced by a more undemocratic and repressive Peaceful Assembly Bill violating the constitutional right of Malaysians to freedom of assembly.

In many respects, the Peaceful Assembly Bill is even more restrictive and repressive than Section 27 of the Police Act. Under the new law, for instance, a person can be fined up to RM20,000 as compared to RM10,000 under the Police Act.

In banning “street protests”, restricting assemblies from “prohibited places” or “within fifty metres from the limit of the prohibited place”, requiring notice of 30 days for an assembly to be held as well as empowering the police which is a total stranger to the concept of “democratic policing” to impose arbitrary restrictions and conditions for an assembly, the fundamental constitutional right of freedom to assembly runs the risk of being grounded to ashes.

The Prime Minister should withdraw the Peaceful Assembly Bill in its present form to remove the undemocratic features to ensure that the new law does not end up as a more undemocratic and repressive substitute for Section 27 of the Police Act.

(Media Comment in Parliament after the Pakatan Rakyat Leadership Meeting on Wednesday, 23rd November 2011)

1. #1 by monsterball on Wednesday, 23 November 2011 - 6:29 pm

Are Malaysians such unlawful citizens..,that need more control and tough laws?
    Has the 50,000 BERSIH 2 walkers broke so many laws.
    All 1600 arrested were released with no other charges.
    What is Najib really afraid of?
    Besides Ibrahim Ali agreeing….all Human Rights Organizations are against the Bill.
    Is that what Najib interpret that Malaysia will be the best democratic country in the world?
    It is difficult to understand how he thinks…if you are thinking like an ordinary Malaysian.
    But if you think like one with many things to hide…then it make sense.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 23 November 2011 - 8:28 pm

The list of EVERY MP that vote for this bill, if it goes through, should be written down and posted publicly together with where they live. When the first person got killed because of street protest, the list will the the list of MURDERERs..

3. #3 by Jong on Wednesday, 23 November 2011 - 9:37 pm

Wake up, Buck up or Ship out Najib!
    Have you lost your marbles? Incase you forget, ‘Rakyat yang TUAN’! Can’t wait for GE-13.

4. #4 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 23 November 2011 - 10:18 pm

Bersih 3.0 should be launched as soon as possible to counter this most repressive law .

5. #5 by lee wee tak_ on Wednesday, 23 November 2011 - 10:56 pm

I do not know whether to laugh or cry – laugh, is Najib setting himself up after proclaiming under him, Malaysia will emerge as the best democracy in the world, or cry, as many voters in Malaysia would turn a blind eye to this mockery of our intelligence by continuing to voter for his administration

the act itself is all about how can’t be done – not an empowering tool but a wing clipping one.

score 1 for stupidity

6. #6 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 23 November 2011 - 11:01 pm

Frankly I don’t know what to make of Najib. Either he is incredibly dumb and surrounded by a bunch of equally dumb advisers or he is such a compulsive liar, he forgets what he has said. And maybe he and his band of 40 thieves are so arrogant and drunk with power they think they can get away with anything. What in the world makes him think he can pull off such a blatant stunt with this farce of a bill and expect the rakyat to believe him? Yet again he has shot himself in the foot and added another lie to the long list he has been trying to flog to the people. How can you entrust a country to such a serial liar?

7. #7 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 2:12 am

Have we not seen enough…hear enough…to know who is Najib?

8. #8 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 2:19 am

Why do you think Mahathir advised Najib to prolong 13th GE as long as he can and retire?
    All old tricks not working.
    This new trick is hoping before 13th GE…police can arrest all Opposition leaders…and he has no problem to put anyone and win elections.
    He must stay in power….at all cost.

9. #9 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 3:12 am

Oh, Najib, what has happened to Malaysia’s Soyuz astronaut-taxi programme?

Ha, ha, see how stupid BN’s space taxi programme has lapsed into utter silence.

Now that ex-Minister of Science & Techno has become US amabssador after alleged bottom-pinching episode, he can start looking for a NASA space-taxi seat for Malaysia’s astronaut to feel vibrations in space.

Actually, a cheaper alternative is to buy a vibrator or use Branson’s space taxi “Trip to the stars” excursion-lah, eh, UMNO.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 7:24 am

Only a fool would believe Najib’s word.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 7:32 am

The undemocratic Peaceful Assembly Bill points to more draconian replacement laws for the ISA which is to be repealed. Just watch!

12. #12 by k1980 on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 7:48 am

Under the new law, for instance, a person can be fined up to RM20,000. Aha, so the police will be richer by RM1,000,000 after rounding up 50 peaceful candlelight vigilers!

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 7:54 am

That his latest ‘bait and switch’ has fallen apart should surprise no one. Seriously how far can a cheap con-artist get in full glare of everyone in public?

The issue really is, we are a very crucial moment both short-term and long term and we have a tacky and cheap con-artist plus the three stooges running the country..We are a RUNAWAY wreck waiting to happen.

The ‘tranformation’ plan is a soap-opera. Its a cheap script with over-dramatic actors. It goes on because well the audience does mundane work and is uncritical and unthinking and don’t want to – and they own the TV station.

Well, even advertisers will stop advertising on soap-operas that don’t work and then the audience will have to wake up and realize they have been living a lie..

14. #14 by dagen on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 9:02 am

jib tipunegara

15. #15 by Cinapek on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 10:42 am

This is the kind of stupid advice you get from RM90m Mat Salleh advisers who still thinks the Malaysian public are a bunch of colonials who lives in trees and can be conned like kids.

After the fiasco of the Bersih rally, Najib tries to do damage control by making lofty populist promises such as repealing the ISA, Police Act and reforming the electoral system etc. This entire series of actions was strategised around GE13. He had hoped that the promise of electoral reforms will pacify the public with the prior knowledge that if adhering strictly to procedures, he can slyly delay any implementations until after the GE13. When the public saw through this trick and threatened Bersih 3 if the reforms are not implemented before GE13, he had to do something to prevent any possible street protest at all cost as it could cause him and BN serious damage in the upcoming GE. They had learned their lessons in the 2008 elections and what damage the street protest can do. So, they quickly tendered the “Peaceful Assembly Bill 2011” hoping to have it gazetted before announcing GE13 and using the Bill to stifle any street protest against the non implementation of electoral reforms, which they had no intention to do so in the first place anyway.

He wants to have his cake and eat it.

16. #16 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 11:50 am

“najib has smashed to smithereens…..”

Oooooh, I am haunted by the mirage of altantuya….eeerieeeeee…..

Smithereens……are u jib?

17. #17 by boh-liao on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 12:17 pm

NR is singing: U cannot touch me, Na na na na na, U cannot vote me out, Na na na na na …
    Yes, NR n UmnoB sooo happy most M’sians r dumb, docile, n will continue 2 VOT 4 UmnoB

18. #18 by k1980 on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 12:20 pm

Joyselling Ton should replace thestar’s jocelin tan in her columns

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/sideviews/article/the-case-against-mca-joyselling-ton/

19. #19 by k1980 on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 12:22 pm

I have the nasty feeling that the dna extracted from Taipoh’s rear door actually belongs to CSL (based from what he did to angela in the videoclip)

20. #20 by dagen on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 1:30 pm

Protecting basic rights? I think this looks more like mockering basic rights – making a mickey of the people’s fundamental rights. And calling this an effort towards creating the best democracy in the world in rubbing salt. Jib is an evil liar.

21. #21 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 1:45 pm

Mahathir loves to use USA as punching bag for his dirty politics.
    Adopted son…..loves to keep on punching Malaysians to submit to his whims and fancies.
    Others just fan and fan…..depending which sides they are leaning at.
    Home Minister does not know who to lean to.
    Some BNs…politicians..don’t know whether to leap frog…run or stay put.
    One must stayed put…is MCA….voted out…before and will be voted out again…no matter how much Najib wants to prove he is next to an Almighty …reviving the dead..through back doors.

22. #22 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 2:06 pm

All corrupted leaders in the world apply all sorts of so call….Laws and Orders…to actually protect themselves and not the country and people.
    And all dictators came tumbling down….these 10 years… than ever before.
    Malaysia is next…and so we see all their preparations…to defend with their lives….making sure…all odds are against freedom fighters…one way or another.
    Right now..it is all FOR or Against the Bill.
    Although AGAINST it is so clear…Najib ignores.
    And so….it becomes a battle between the little napoleons and people power….and all such battles….People won all….unless Malaysians do love to be disunited….be racists and encourage corruptions.
    If so…our country deserves to go bankrupt…and they say…one cannot learn if one does not suffer and be smarter.
    Fortunately..smart Malaysians are much much more than the racists… we have in Malaysia..all wanting change ……no matter what terms and conditions imposed onto to them…they fear nothing…to speak out…to show in the streets…to vote for change.
    Nothing can stop People Power….the real boss of the country…not any political party at all.

23. #23 by monsterball on Thursday, 24 November 2011 - 2:44 pm

How many times have we experienced regrets .but it is too late.
    How many times we have been given a second chance…and never changed for the better?
    How many time we keep on praying for forgiveness and forget the next moment.
    Religions are so popular because humans are weak minded and greedy.
    Malaysia is so blessed….yet we allow ourselves robbed and plundered of the natural wealth…belonging to all of us…by thieves that pick and choose puppets to support their games and be rewarded…so much so…..Malaysians were truly consumed by the Devil.
    One by one….millions have awakened and saved…and these Devils still govern our country.
    So have we learn enough or still wanting to learn more?
    Yes…the Devil relies on your greed and weaknesses to be tempted with easy money.
    Chances after chances we had to vote these devilish racists out….and chance after chances we voted for personal benefits.
    Only at 12th GE….we see the voters came out and vote for country and people .
    And when all Malaysians do that..the Devil can never take charge of your life anymore.
    You are the master of your fate.
    No unfair Laws…unfair Bills…can control your destiny.
    Better to die than we controlled by the Devil….and you can bet…you will not die…being brave and be prepared to die for country and people.
    This is not war against any invaders.
    This is war against the Devil…and if all have faiths in any Almighty asking all to be good and faithful..that Almighty will perform his duties in mysterious ways…taking no sides in politics….but surly will fight the Devil in his own ways..saying
    “Enough is enough..
    Let my people go…and go to Hell…where you belong.”
    PS: Part wisdom….part ..a dream.

24. #24 by good coolie on Friday, 25 November 2011 - 12:26 am

I like to see the likes of Najib, Muhyddin, and the children of former Prime Ministers sit in the opposition bench in Parliament. So also those senators who got into the Dewan Rakyat by the back door. Then I shall Rest in Peace (just rest, I mean!)