The RM250 million National Feedlot Centre (NFC) scandal – “shouldn’t someone go to jail”?

In his new book on the world’s latest financial crisis hotspots, “Boomerang: Travels In the New Third World”, journalist Michael Lewis wrote about how the then new Greek Minister of Finance George Papaconstantinou found out when he took office in October 2009 that his country had cooked its deficit figures with a budget deficit of 12.7% of GDP, four times more than the eurozone’s limit, and a public debt of US$410 billion. The projected Greek deficit of roughly 7 billion euros was actually more than 30 billion.

At his first monthly meeting with European Finance Ministers after he told his counterparts his shocking discovery, a European Finance Minister came up to him and said: “George, we know it’s not your fault, but shouldn’t someone go to jail?”

This is the same question many Malaysians are now asking about the RM250 million National Feedlot Centre (NFC) scandal, especially after the shocking claim by the UMNO Youth leader Khairy Jamaluddin that the purchase of an RM10 million condominium from funds meant for cattle production was a “strategic move”, so that the money would not lie idle.

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak or his Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who was Agriculture Minister when the NFC project was first mooted and approved, should answer this question in the minds of most Malaysians: “Shouldn’t someone go to jail?”

If the cast of personalities involved in the NFC scandal had all involved Pakatan Rakyat leaders and their family members, and not the incumbent Minister for Women, Family and Community Development, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil and her family members, there is no doubt that the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) would have swooped in on the case from Day One, the MACC investigators now crawling all over the cases and all the protagonists already subject to intense and sustained grilling ala-Teoh Beng Hock.

But this is not the case as there is total inaction, indifference and disinterest on the part on the MACC with regard to the RM250 million NFC scandal, despite the shocking revelations of a clear misappropriation of public funds in the case of RM10 million from the funds to promote cattle production to purchase a condominium for private benefit and the RM800,000 to pay for the expensive overseas trip of the Minister and her family members on company funds.

Shahrizat’s self-defence that her family does not deserve the allegations as they work very hard has only opened up a Pandora’s Box.

It is time that her husband Mohamad Salleh Ismail, her children Wan Shahimur Izran, Wan Shahimur Izmir and Wan Izzana Fatimah, break their silence.

They should appear in the public to explain the numerous queries, contradictions and inconsistencies which had surfaced since the strictures of the Auditor-General’s Report 2010 about the NFC – especially as the explanations and justifications made on their behalf such as by the UMNO Youth Leader Khairy Jamaluddin have only dragged the Shahrizat family and the NFC scandal deeper into the mud.

1. #1 by DAP man on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 3:07 pm

Mr Lim, please lah be fair to the Minister and her family.
    You see, they worked so bloody hard for the country by producing real expensive beef.

Don’t they then deserve a RM 10 million condo to live and a RM 800,000 holiday for service rendered to ‘bangsa, ugama and lembu” at the tax payers’ expense?
    After all, her party colleagues are also doing the same.
    Why can’t she?
    Moreover she is in BN and a Minister to boot.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 3:23 pm

///If the cast of personalities involved in the NFC scandal had all involved Pakatan Rakyat leaders and their family members……there is no doubt that the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) would have swooped in on the case from Day One…..///

The MACC is merely a defunct institution reduced to no more than UMNO’s stooge.

3. #3 by tak tahan on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 5:31 pm

“What is RM10 million compare with hundreds of million pocketed by the crop of Umno leaders?You guys don’t bully cow lady like me la.Be good and i will give you plenty milks to suck”so said Shahrizat.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 6:45 pm

U want MILK, good WARM FRESH MILK fr nice-to-feel container?
    No problemo, come 2 me n I’ll GIVE U plenty! I’m d CASH COW, with 2 udderly nice BOUNCERS n lovely teats surrounded by braille-like areola, just SUCK them, on-demand FRESH MILK hot fr d tap, like draught beer, so said d big mouth COW

5. #5 by boh-liao on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 7:00 pm

YES, d minister declared dat SOMEONE WILL GO 2 JAIL – 1 of d cattle; satisfied?

6. #6 by Godfather on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 7:48 pm

Kit: You are being soooo mean. Do you know how difficult it is to run a cattle business ? We are trying to create a new type of beef. There’s Kobe beef, there’s Wahyu beef, and we are trying to perfect a new international brand to be called Khairy beef.

7. #7 by Godfather on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 7:54 pm

Kit: do you know that we are going to have an international brand called Khairy Lembu. I know it sounds like some swear term in Hokkien but we are goung international with it. Why do you think we spent RM 800k on travel ? It was for test marketing. Why do you think we spent RM 10 million on a luxury condo ? You think we can test out our premium Khairy lembu in a mamak stall ?

Now chant after me: Khairy lembu, Khairy lembu, Khairy lembu…..

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 9:01 pm

Shouldn’t someone? Only one!

I think the gang of thieves in cows’ skin should all be branded and caged in special barns in Sg Buloh prison for cows.

9. #9 by Godfather on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 9:10 pm

Take Meatworks, for example. We get Khairy lembu for 20 pct lower than market price and we pass this benefit on to the consumer. You don’t believe us ?

10. #10 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 12 November 2011 - 10:09 pm

As there was no on-going cattle business, they could not ‘piratize’ it so they have to create one by buying cattle which will be massaged in $8 million condominium and come up with beef good enough for our 1st world status by 2015 [ forwarded from 2020; fast-track!] and then ask the Brain supposedly indoctrinated at Oxfart to defend the justification through his thesis of The Hardest Working Minister Massaging Cows in $8 million-Condominium”. There can be no MACC investigation as it is a NEP project;its success will be duplicated through the nation whereby the NEP programme will be justified as finally successful! Maybe we will copyright it and sell to the Middle-east countries!

11. #11 by jus legitimum on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 12:26 am

When PR takes over Putrajaya,the Sungai Buloh prison will run out of space to house all these criminals.

12. #12 by tak tahan on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 1:25 am

We got underground MRT what,provided certain optional space for them,in short,it’s the best option if we do not like to see these goons under the sun light.So bury them under alive or death.

13. #13 by bruno on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 3:01 am

Don’t bet one cent on the lady minister or her family members going to jail or be held accountable for the NFC fiasco.The only people going to jail is Anwar and the rats running loose along the monsoon drains along Bukit Bintang,where members of the OWC are holding tent.

14. #14 by bruno on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 3:06 am

This lady minister was caught red handed with her pants down,drowning in the cookie jar and she is going scott’s free.Thanks to the two timing laws that Malaysia has.

15. #15 by bruno on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 3:10 am

Najib could have scored some brownie points had he made the lady minister the sacrificial lamb.A missed oppurtunity or a miscalculated blunder.Very bad advisers to have beside the PM.

16. #16 by bruno on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 3:17 am

How can PM Najib lead the BN into this coming GE.All his cabinet ministers have large red $ signs marked on their forehead,and large red bullseye marked on their backs.

17. #17 by k1980 on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 9:45 am

#14 // lady minister was caught red handed with her pants down//

Surely not like the one with old geezer CSL?

http://engagemalaysia.files.wordpress.com/2010/10/drchuasoilekmalaysianministerofhealthsextapegutteruncensored-com7gy_bor_rou_sha.jpg?w=640&h=458&h=458

18. #18 by SENGLANG on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 11:08 am

The more you read about this Oxford kid in defense of his party own wrong doing and corrupt practice the more you realised that BN will never never sincere in making changes the People demand for.

How can one justified the taxpayers allocation for a project that mean as a government project that have been in excess and invest in non liquid asset. That intention is that that excess money will not be put into its intend use for the future. So the intention was clear from its out set ie use the tax payers moneys to buy a 10 m condo and used it for themselves.

It has been wrong in the first place and now you come out with a so call OXFORD graduate to bravely and shamelessly defense the corrupt act of the care taker of the Tax payers money.

We really have no choice but to punish them with the vote in your hand in the coming GE.

19. #19 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 12:50 pm

This is clearly a scam to deceive the rakyat. If the condo price drops to RM 8 million, the company takes the loss. If the condo price goes up to RM 12 million, some minister’s kid will buy it from the company at cost, then on-sell it for the much higher price. Kera Jantan obviously still thinks we are dumbos who don’t understand UMNO’s modus operandi. Tails I win, heads you lose.

20. #20 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 12:53 pm

If you assume that the condo was sold at RM 1,600 psf, then it must be a 6000 sf condo. At the rate of 50 sen psf, maintenance charges alone will be RM 3000 per month. At a 6 pct yield, the condo must earn RM 600,000 a year or RM 50,000 per month. Show us the tenancy agreement, UMNO. We want to see how you cover up one lie after another.