It’s Muhyiddin who should be grateful

— Ali Kadir
Oct 16, 2011

OCT 16 — You know elections are around the corner when the politicians start telling the electorate that we should be grateful for all the development around us. It is incredible that these Barisan Nasional (BN) politicians still make all these patronising noises, knowing full well how tired we are of listening to their rubbish.

But since we are on the subject of gratitude, let me offer a number of reasons why Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (yesterday for the umpteenth time he advised Malaysians to be grateful) and friends should be grateful to us.

1. BN should be grateful that they are still occupying Putrajaya despite clear evidence of corruption, nepotism and cronyism at the highest levels of government, including members of the Cabinet.

So tolerant are Malaysians that we have put up with leakages, inflated contracts and ostentatious displays of wealth by members of the Mahathir administration, the Abdullah team and the Najib government. We have put up with all this corruption in the name of development. So Muhyiddin and friends should be grateful to us for our blind loyalty and apathy.

2. BN should be grateful to us for tolerating and even embracing mediocrity. Malaysia’s best and brightest are deserting the land of their birth as evidenced by a World Bank study which showed that more skilled Malaysians are working and living abroad.

And this brain drain has affected every level of society. Not surprising that we have the likes of Hishammuddin Hussein, Noh Omar, Kong Chong Ha as “our leaders” and continue accepting mediocrity as a fait accompli.

3. BN should be grateful to us for accepting stock and hollow answers to some serious questions such as who exactly ordered the RM24 million ring; how a lowly corporal was able to order riot police to fire tear gas and chemical-laced water into Tung Shin Hospital and how did we pluck out the figure of six per cent growth next year with the whole world preparing for economic Armageddon.

4. We should be grateful to Muhyiddin and friends for introducing race politics and playing the race and religious card at every turn and making Malaysia more divisive than ever. Thank you guys from the bottom of our hearts. We are grateful.

5. We are grateful to Muhyiddin and gang for flooding this land of ours with illegals and then giving them legitimacy for political purposes. The people of Sabah especially say a big thank you to you for completely swamping the state with foreigners.

6. We are grateful to BN for nurturing and developing individuals like Ibrahim Ali and Nazri Aziz. We would be a much poorer country without them.

In conclusion, we have much to be thankful to BN for. So let’s show them our gratitude soon.

1. #1 by drngsc on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 3:22 pm

Yes, we should be grateful for the sun that shines, and the God’s kindness to spare our country of all the natural disasters that we see around us.Thanks to God. But we have a disaster in the form of the BN goumen.

How to be grateful to the BN goumen that
    – took away our Judicial independence so that judges can be fixed by “corak, corak, corak”.
    – a judge who plagarise
    – judgement not written for years
    – embezzles billions of dollars, and still wanting to embezzle more, and no one is caught or found guilty.
    – many crimes all over the place where no criminals are caught.
    – where alleged criminals are shot before we know if they are guilty or not
    – where young healthy youths detained ends up dead with all kinds of boot marks on their chest.
    – where innocent citizens call to give a statement ends up dead by flying through the window.
    – C4 can be used to kill, and the crime blamed on junior officers.
    – where a foul month politicians spews racist remarks and walk around arrogantly and free while people wearing yellow are rough up and arrested.
    -where the 10% loyal citizens who pay tax, are regularly asked to “balik Tong San”, your mother is a prostitute from China, and your father is a “keling kui”
    – where scholarships are awarded by “kulification”
    – where we buy submarines that cannot dive and aeroplanes without engines.

Shall I go on, DPM. Tell me what I should be grateful to you for??

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. This BN goumen is a natural disaster. GE 13 is our best chance. Failure is not an option. We all m ust work very very hard.

2. #2 by monsterball on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 3:54 pm

We have been tolerating for 50 years and praying hard for true freedom and getting rid of those crooks.
    The sign came at 12th GE…that we need not tolerate or be afraid of their bullies.
    This is not about who should be grateful to whom.
    It is about the signs of seeing the end of the tunnel is real.
    It is also a sign that Najib is the “N” of RAHMAN…the end.
    May Tunku rest in peace.

3. #3 by Jong on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 4:34 pm

Muhyiddin Yasin still doesn’t get it that it’s the Rakyat/ People who put him where he is today without whom he’ll still be in the kampong tanam jagong! Arrogant eh?

He should be grateful to his Pagoh constituents for giving him their precious votes but who gave him the DPM job? Not me, this idiot will never ever be my choice, never!

4. #4 by Loh on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 4:59 pm

We should be grateful that they have not made it much worse even when Malaysia is in bad shape now.

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 5:40 pm

How often has Muhyiddin made sense when he speaks?

PPMSI? Science and Maths in BM? The reasons – rural Malays can’t cope! Malay teachers not competent enough!

Muhyiddin is simply incompetent as MOE, how can he be DPM?

6. #6 by boh-liao on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 6:05 pm

Ya lor, moo n his kawan shld b grateful 2 d compliant n generous voters/rakyat
    They shld wonder how come ppl of their poor calibre got elected n became so big shot, instead of grazing in d meadows, mooooo
    He is spewing/mooing out rubbish like M’sia will b bankrupt if PR wins d GE (rather than admitting M’sia under UmnoB/BN sure bankrupt 1)
    Like UmnoB-led gomen decided 2 abolish d teaching of Science n Mathematics in English after much tot n deliberation (O yeah? Got brain 2 think meh? Not mad cos BSE?)

Of cos he is fervently praying dat NR very soon kicks d bucket in harness like his old man n he CAN then ASCEND d throne as numero uno of UmnoB, moooooooooo

7. #7 by richiee on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 6:11 pm

What can we expect from a dpm whose brain is the size of a pea? We will show him our gratitude in the coming 13 GE by kicking his sorry posterior.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 6:20 pm

What, another new $ masuk projek 2 b KAYA RAYA 4 UmnoB? NEW Mykad fr Jan 2012
    Current holders of Mykad hv 2 change their old cards for new cards
    WHO gets d contract? Me want too, lau nua leh, drooling drooling, eazi huat aaah 1

9. #9 by bruno on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 9:04 pm

First of all Muhyiddin is grateful and has to thank Dr Mahathir for lending his ear to him.He was able to convinced Dr M that it was the right time to get rid of Badawi.For Dr M to lend his ear and listen to somebody like Muhyiddin speaks wonders of him.Especially somebody who moo’s like a cow.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 9:09 pm

How a politician talks to constituents depends on what he thinks is the mental & emotional set up of his constituents. After all he is saying things to garner votes. When he keeps harping on his party doling out aid and development programmes for which the constituents should be ‘grateful’ and reciprocate with votes he probably has profiled constituents as respectful of social and political hierarchies and authority, have accepted their position as servants rather than masters of the state and therefore will be grateful for whatever their political leaders, considered as rulers, dole out to them as part of the patronage in return for loyalty equation. If on the contrary he profiles his constituents as educated, sophisticated and of the mindset viewing high political office as a privilege (not right) derived from peoples consent to hold that office, and that office is one of trusteeship for the benefit of the people, than politicians are not rulers but public servants. When they are doling out aid and development, taken anyway from people’s money, they are merely doing their duty for which there’s nothing for the recipients to feel particularly grateful about, if its done, and if were not done, the politicians should apologise to lessen the risk of being expected to resign and or be removed for failing the duty. So what a politician says – ask for gratitude or apologise reflects what he thinks of the mindset or maturity of the audience he addresses, whether or not that thinking is accurate.

11. #11 by bruno on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 9:11 pm

Najib should get rid of Moo before GE13th.That way even if Najib did managed to win with a minority,and get kicked out after the elections by Dr M,Moo will not get to enjoy the spoils of war.

12. #12 by yhsiew on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 9:14 pm

Muhyiddin should be grateful that Malaysians, unlike their counterparts in the Middle East, did not take to the street to demand for reforms. Najib and Cabinet would have been forced to abandon office, had Malaysians taken to the street.

13. #13 by Jong on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 10:38 pm

Tak boleh tahan his arrogance, I hope people of Pagoh, the electorates, will come to their senses and teach this idiot a lesson – send him packing for his condescending “be grateful” remark!

Why do you think umno’s Sharizat Abdul Jalil lost to first-timer Nurul Izzah Anwar in the Lembah Pantai Parliamentary in 2008, a seat she held for 13 years?

14. #14 by tak tahan on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 11:07 pm

tak boleh tahan pun biar lah sekejap sahaja bila masa(GE) dah sampai tunjuk lah kekuatan yang ada.UNDILAH kebijaksanaan anda untuk negara dan masyarakat.BN tak lama lagi.Pandai pandai tupai melompat pun akhirnya jatuh ke atas tanah.Nothing last forever but make it fast for us to be the best democracy and advance country.Can we?We can and must otherwise bankcrupt saja lor,kan?The choice is ours so think seriously about it before TOO late.Arrr…………..

15. #15 by monsterball on Sunday, 16 October 2011 - 11:18 pm

tak boleh tahan sama sama.
    Muhyiddin mana ada qualy jada PM?
    Bucat mulut…berchakap sama satu over eating fat lazy bum.

16. #16 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 12:42 am

Ask not Y UmnoB must b grateful 2 U rakyat – ask Y U rakyat must b grateful 2 UmnoB,” mooooooo, with apologies 2 John FK

Interesting day 2day cos Wanita G asked BOSS NOT 2 b SOFT/limp/flaccid, but b a got hud HE-man, b HARD/firm/turgid – Time 2 pop Viagra man

17. #17 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 1:24 am

maybe he meant
    “be grateful for I am Malay first…..”?

18. #18 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 1:34 am

MMK, d role model of mooo, continues 2 talk rubbish n demonstrates “Aku mudah lupa”
    He accused constitutional expert AABari of showing disrespect 2 S’gor su1tan n not hving Eastern moral values
    Ha, ha, apa itu, asked rakyat – this coming fr d greatest su1tan basher of all

19. #19 by all4democracy on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 2:47 am

You are right Muhyiddin! We are indeed very grateful to you and your gangs doing over the years! Therefore, I hope all the voters would acknowledge you and your gangs contribution and sacrifice by giving you all an early retirement come next GE, as a token of appreciation, we would like to provide you and your gangs a life time free accommodation and meal pension benefit in our 6 stars luxury resort of 1Malaysia Sungai Buloh Prison!

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 6:37 am

“…as a token of appreciation we would like to provide…a life time free accommodation and meal pension benefit in our 6 stars luxury resort of 1Malaysia Sungai Buloh Prison!…”. With respect, this may not be constructive talk by Opposition or its supporters – ironically, by reason of corruption being pervasive, institutionalized & systemic here involving not just specific identifiable individuals but large sections of elites both political corporate and bureaucracy and their supporters…Rakyat deserve and want an orderly regime change when the time is right and prerequisites present. This is a condition precedent if we were to move forward as a nation against a backdrop of economic challenges abound.. If that were the position a loyal opposition – and its supporters- would want an electoral victory involving a peaceful transition of power. If that were desired and were to happen -if it ever happens, which is by itself hard enough- people supporting regime change should eschew from issuing threats of reprisals in the name of seeking accountability.

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 6:53 am

Personally I would go as far as even suggesting blanket amnesty though many would think that mad. Looking at the way regime change in Iraq led to Sadamn’s hanging, in Egypt leading to Mubarak family being prosecuted in Egypt, the kind of turmoil and violence accompanying regime change in Libya and Syria, it is more important than ever to remember than the more you threaten existing regime and their supporters with reprisals, the more they will not allow an orderly and peaceful constitutional electoral change. This caveat applies to non Arab countries as well. The opposition must send the message forth that they want to replace entrenched elites and supporters of an incompetent regime, not vengefully annihilate them….or else they will never give up come what may and no matter what the chaos ! We want to move forward as part of the democratisation process and national healing of rifts, not backwards to descend in chaos and vendettas.

22. #22 by k1980 on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 7:20 am

Thanks to Moo, we have the obedient wives club, and not the oh-so-disobedient ones as occurring in zimbzbwei—

http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/10/16/zimbabwe-3-women-charged-with-sexual-attacks-on-17-men/

23. #23 by k1980 on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 7:25 am

Thanks to Tok Moo, we have great malaysians “sacrificing” themselves, by becoming senators and ministers even though rejected by their countrymen, who voted them out in the general elections

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/179113

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 7:51 am

Jeffrey :
    Personally I would go as far as even suggesting blanket amnesty though many would think that mad. Looking at the way regime change in Iraq led to Sadamn’s hanging, in Egypt leading to Mubarak family being prosecuted in Egypt, the kind of turmoil and violence accompanying regime change in Libya and Syria, it is more important than ever to remember than the more you threaten existing regime and their supporters with reprisals, the more they will not allow an orderly and peaceful constitutional electoral change. This caveat applies to non Arab countries as well. The opposition must send the message forth that they want to replace entrenched elites and supporters of an incompetent regime, not vengefully annihilate them….or else they will never give up come what may and no matter what the chaos ! We want to move forward as part of the democratisation process and national healing of rifts, not backwards to descend in chaos and vendettas.

I will not accept a blanket amnesty but a partial amnesty and only for the following:
    1.those who provide solid evidence against their superiors who cheated Malaysians via various crimes like cheating, corruption, intimidation and killing.
    2.all charges for crimes not involving deaths of Malaysians and for amounts less than RM2mil will be discharged (not acquitted) provided the person signs a declaration of his wrong-ding and returns to the state any ill-gotten wealth that is still obvious.
    I am sure others too can suggest ideas how to tackle a major problem in a change of government.
    Thanks to LKS for removing the Crazy Captchas…..notice the comments are flowing more freely now?
    I suggest writers to exercise due diligence and reduce/avoid comments against other writers but to encourage others to make a positive contribution instead.

25. #25 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 9:00 am

2 mooo, rakyat not proficient in English is good n may even b an advantage esp when caught with bags of cash in foreign airports: ekskus is no speak n read England language

26. #26 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 9:19 am

Aiyah, jia lat, rakyat don’t know G’kan practise Human Sacrifice 1
    Now d praying mantis kung fu chap said he is ready 2 “SACRIFICE HIMSELF” 4 d good of d party; wow, really got back hud now n a macho hombre noble
    Usually 4 sacrifice, a virgin is needed; is d boh hud a virgin, rakyat wonder
    Does he aim for 殉葬 or 生殉?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Human_sacrifice

27. #27 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 9:38 am

HH, a’er dubm n “Aku mudah lupa” mini/ster like mooo, took a swipe at PR 4 trying 2 scare rakyat over racial n religious issues
    C’mon lah, kris waving kid, did any PR kaki hold up n wave unsheathed kris n yell 4 felow M’sian blood in front of TV, like U n NR?
    HH, NR, MMK n moooo mudah lupa, but rakyat certainly TAK mudah LUPA

28. #28 by Jong on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 10:06 am

Perhaps timely to call for “Tea Party” across the country to help create a well informed, educated and sophisticated mindset on citizens rights not privileges to help relieve Najib, Hishammuddin, Muh & Co the agony of political pressure – kitchen looks too hot for them so let’s help them get out of it, shall we?

29. #29 by cemerlang on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 12:21 pm

Sarcasm aside, we should be grateful to God for keeping our beloved Malaysia together. Serious. Even if you think there is no God, you should also be grateful. Barisan Nasional is in power, thanks to those lowly officers. The thing is would you know your rubbish collector is a spy ? Never underestimate those lowly officers, those whom you think can do nothing. Nowadays with all the technology around, even they can do something. At least, send a message or two. Lazy officers who use the Facebook; you think it is just innocent chatting ? Not all James Bonds are the sexy M 16 spies. Money is the root of all evil. On the other side of the world, people are holding a Wall Street protest. But without the money, you think you can have all the conveniences of life ? Should we try living in a cave like our ancestors ?

30. #30 by dagen on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 1:11 pm

Hold your tongue one second moohideen. You are both a politician and a civil servant. Keep this fact in mind. Never blur the two roles.

Now. If the civil servant hat is put on (in your case as head of the education ministry) you have no political lines to observe but only the needs of both the king, the people and the country to look after; and to satisfy. And as a politician purely (i.e. as a typical umno idiot), of course you have no such responsibilities to discharge.

So let us get it right here. Are we suppose to be grateful to you (and people like you in umno) as a civil servant or as an umno politician? Obviously not the latter for the politician has no duties to perform. And for you as civil servant, i.e. as head of education, serving the king, country and the people the responsibilities come with that position. In plain language, it is your job! You are paid to do it.

You have no business to demand for gratefulness from us for doing what is your job. If you must so demand then by a simple logic, tell us, are you also demanding the same from the Agung? Can this demand be implied from your demands for gratefulness from the rest of us?

31. #31 by dagen on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 1:18 pm

And before you attempt to answer this question, do ponder this important fact carefully.

You proper position in government is described as : His Majesty’s Loyal Servant!

32. #32 by undertaker888 on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 1:42 pm

Does this cow brain think that all the natural resources and taxes paid by the rakyat belongs to umno or his cronies? That we should be grateful for what we received back? Go fly kite la cow dung.

You should be grateful that the rakyat gave you this position. We want a real Deputy Prime Minister not a Dumb Person Minister.

33. #33 by sheriff singh on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 1:47 pm

BN politicians think they are God’s gift to Malaysia.

34. #34 by Cinapek on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 2:16 pm

He should also be grateful to the non Malays who has been paying 95% of the taxes (according to Tun Dr Mahathir) to pay for BN’s lavish expenditure. Instead he claims he is Malay first and Malaysian second.

He should be grateful that these taxes also pays his salary and allowances, the car he drives in, the home he stays in, his expenses whenever he travels, his entertainment bills and gives his cronies the chances to enrich themselves. These taxes also pays for the bloated civil service and the uniformed service which are already grateful to BN. What else does he want?

35. #35 by boh-liao on Monday, 17 October 2011 - 2:42 pm

A World Bank publication has fd dat standards at UM hv fallen n d institution has been kept at a disadvantage because of race-based admission quotas n political interference in university management
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/race-quotas-politics-led-to-falling-um-standards-says-world-bank-study/

Moooo, MMK, NR et al expect rakyat 2 b grateful 2 them 4 messing up our univs n education system; GOT COW SENSE aah?

Enuf lah, UmnoB – dah given >50 yrs of chance 2 govern n dah confirmed 2 b an utter (or udder, moooo) failure, tak boleh pakai lagi mah, so b gracious n go 2 MACC HQs n do d disappearance act lor

ABU, ABU, ABU

36. #36 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 18 October 2011 - 11:34 am

Judging from the political rhetoric from both sides of the political divide, it appears, sadly, that regime change or no regime change, there is no difference in terms of this country being unable (in any foreseeable future) to transcend and rise above the politics and politisation of Race & Religion along Ketuanan Lines.

For examples: when PM Najib calls for meritocracy over the weekend, which by all reasonable intent and purposes of liberalizing the economy will imply meritocracy for all Malaysians together with foreign investors, there will be people like Mukhriz Mahathir who construe qualify and interpret it to mean Meritocracy between Bumis (ie finding the best Malays) but not in context of deconstructing or abolishing pro-Bumiputera policies despite liberalising the economy (see Malaysian Insider). On the Opposition side, it is no better – “PAS Youth has gone ahead of its central leadership to declare its support for Himpunan Sejuta Umat Himpun a gathering of a million Muslims across the political divide to rally against proselytisation by Christians here” – Malaysian insider’s report By G. Manimaran October 18, 2011

37. #37 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 18 October 2011 - 11:44 am

This also means that or so long PAS is inside and an essential part of Pakatan Rakyat, it is hard to see how PR can ever, for the forseeable future, solicit the critical mass of undivided support from maintream Malaysians especially non Malay/Muslims sufficient to precipitate effectively and convincingly a regime change….

PR is basically misaligned. Its foundation is shaky based on expedience than principle.

It can provide viable a alternative to Malaysians only if it could stand for change from the politics of race and religion to “Middle Malaysia” as DAP one time espouses – and not politics of race in exchange for religion!

38. #38 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 18 October 2011 - 11:48 pm

You’re very right sage.Very confusing but not your statement.It’s the uncertainty of the alliance pact though i will say the core is most attributed to the narrow and non-worthy religion issue.How to be the best democracy when religion comes as the most priority above all?Tiu nia seng lah..tak tahan..errrrr

39. #39 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 12:38 pm

Give PAS some time. Let them wriggle out of this situation in the most amicable way at the appropriate time they know best. I the confidence in PAS and am sure with the new set of moderate well-informed, forward-looking leaders at the top taking the middle-path stand, change will come in due course well and good.

40. #40 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 October 2011 - 12:39 pm

oops, sorry shld read: “I have the confidence….”