A Whiff of His Father’s Leadership

by M. Bakri Musa

In announcing the repeal of the Internal Security Act and other repressive laws, Prime Minister Najib Razak secures for himself an enshrined spot in Malaysian history.

Of the many thoughtful comments on Najib’s historic announcement, the one that struck at the heart of the issue was that by former Mufti of Perlis, Dr. Asri Zainul Abidin. He declared, “The ISA is an un-Islamic law. It infringes [upon] individual rights and can be easily misused by leaders, so repealing it was a very Islamic move.” Amen!

“Najib’s announcement,” Asri continued, “is more valuable than any bonus payment or salary increase because repealing the ISA means the restoration of human rights … which is more valuable than money.” That is putting things in their proper perspective.

I disagree however, with the Mufti’s characterization of Najib’s move as a “gift” to the people. When someone robs you of something and then returns it, that is no gift, merely restoring what is rightly yours. The ISA and other restrictive laws rob us of our precious possession, our freedom. That is Allah’s gift to us, as enshrined in the Koran. It is not for mere mortals, no matter how exalted their earthly positions, to tamper.

Nonetheless I do hear the Mufti. Good Muslims ought to be grateful for their blessings, however small. I want to be a good Muslim, and Najib’s announcement is a huge blessing, so I am very grateful. Alham dulillah! Praise be to Allah!

Missing the Islamic Visuals

Najib and his policymakers must have deliberated for some time. Perhaps it was not a coincidence that only a week earlier Najib’s younger brother, the head of a GLC bank, intimated the need for Malaysia to change lest it risks a Middle East type of upheaval. Significantly, he made it at the Malaysia-China Trade Investment Conference, but more on China shortly.

Pursuing the religious theme, I was surprised that Najib and his advisors did not choose an occasion with some Islamic symbolism to make his momentous announcement.

Not that there was anything wrong with choosing Malaysia Day. However, we just completed Ramadan only a fortnight ago. Surely Najib had decided then. Imagine if he had announced it on Hari Raya, which also coincided (more or less) with Merdeka Day. What better way to demonstrate and acknowledge the special blessings of Ramadan and live its spirit, as well as fulfill the aspirations of merdeka – freedom! Ramadan is after all about remembrance and return – remembrance on the origin of Islam and return to its essence, in Eboo Patel’s pithy phrase.

When Islam was revealed, it emancipated the Arabs from their Age of Jahiliyiah (ignorance); likewise, getting rid of the ISA would emancipate Malaysians, lifting us from our Age of Fear. As for the essence of Islam, our faith commands us to do good and forbid evil. Getting rid of ISA is getting rid of evil; it cannot be more Islamic than that!

Imagine the powerful symbolic impact globally had Najib made the announcement at the end of Ramadan, coming as it was only a few days before the tenth anniversary of the horrible 9-11, and with it the inevitable hysteria of Islamophobia. Imagine the good that would do to the cause as well as image of Islam! One Muslim country bravely discarding its antiquated repressive laws, and doing so not in response to mass demonstrations or civil disobediences but as a normal turn of events. The contrast with America’s renewed commitment to its Patriot Act and the Guantanamo detention camp could not be starker.

Speaking of image, had I been the administration’s public relations consultant, I would have arranged with the announcement a simultaneous release of some ISA prisoners. I would have alerted the news media so they could station their journalists and cameras outside the gate of Kamunting prison.

Imagine the stunning and symbolic visuals! While Najib was making his announcement, the prisoners would emerge one by one into the arms of their eagerly awaiting loved ones. If there were to be a mosque nearby, I would superimpose the call of Azzan to the visuals. I would also have the producer put on a split screen; on one side would be the Prime Minister making his solemn announcement; on the other, the prisoners with their families joyously celebrating their freedom, with the takbir (affirmation to the greatness of Allah) superimposed as the background soundtrack.

I cannot imagine a more powerful symbolism. Those tapes would also be great campaign materials!

The Najib Administration forks out tens of millions to foreign consultants in an effort to spruce up its image. Alas those “documentaries” that supposedly portrayed Malaysia in good light, as well as the many “interviews” Najib landed on the international media, all turned out to be unmitigated fiascos. Those “journalists” and “interviewers” were nothing more than hired hacks.

Yet when a rare and splendid opportunity arose as with the recent announcement, those highly paid public relations pros missed it! Perhaps that should not be a surprise. After all they are all foreigners and non-Muslims to boot; they could not possibly pick up on the Islamic nuances I alluded to earlier. However, their fumbling on the international stage where they are supposedly the experts cannot be readily excused. There is no justification for their lack of professionalism, if not downright unethical behaviors there.

As can be seen, a good policy is the best PR. Notice the favorable comments locally as well as in respected foreign media to Najib’s latest initiative, and it did not cost the government a ringgit to get them! Focus on crafting enlightened policies, and the favorable publicity would ensue. Even if you do not get any, a good policy is reward in itself. Your people will be grateful for it.

A Whiff Of His Father

In committing to repeal the ISA, Najib did something no other prime ministers before him had dared even to contemplate. And Najib had some mighty impressive predecessors. In so doing, Najib also demonstrated a whiff of his late father’s great leadership qualities.

The late Tun Razak did not hesitate to suspend parliament following the May 1969 race riots. Despite the howling protests at home and abroad, Razak was undeterred for he had a crucial job to do; restore peace and stability to a nation shocked by the horrors of that tragedy. And may Allah bless his soul, he accomplished his mission in short order.

To those who would belittle that achievement, let me remind them that the 1969 riot coincided with the flare ups of sectarian violence in Northern Ireland. While Malaysians have been enjoying peace for the past four decades, those folks in Northern Ireland are still busy settling their deadly scores.

To this day, Tun Razak remained unique in being the only leader in the world who grabbed power during a national emergency to pursue a much needed critical goal, and then willingly gave that power up once he completed his mission. No other leader could claim that. On the contrary, history is filled with leaders who had to be pushed or dragged out, or worse. Libya’s Gaddafi and Syria’s Assad are only the latest examples.

I am not concerned with how Najib arrived at his decision; I am focused only on the decision. There is no shortage of skeptics out there, and they are not without their reasons. After all Najib’s flip-flopping rivals that of his immediate predecessor.

Even if those skeptics were to be proven right later, there would be no turning back. Najib has clearly declared his niat (intention) to repeal the ISA. In Islam, niat is what counts. We declare our niat before we pray, fast, give zakat or undertake the Hajj. If Najib fails to live up to his Nawaitu, then he has to answer not only to his Maker on the Day of Judgment but also more practically, to his political makers – the voters – right here on earth and now, as in the next election.

Najib’s Nixon-in-China Moment

Najib’s declaration last Wednesday reminded me of Nixon’s pioneering 1972 trip to China. It took another seven years before America would send its first Ambassador to Beijing. Today, over 30 years later, we wondered why on earth it took America so long to recognize the obvious reality of this most populous nation. Regardless, America, China, and the world are now better for it.

Nixon basked on the glory of his China trip and went on to win a landslide for his second term. Alas that triumph proved short-lived, for he was soon forced out of his presidency in shame on matters unrelated to his China initiative. Nonetheless his trailblazing China moment retained its luster in an otherwise blemished legacy.

If Najib’s Malaysia Day niat proves to be just that and nothing more, well, like Nixon, at least he will have that as his legacy, and only that. However, if it proves to be ikhlas (sincere) and only his first step, with many more courageous moves ahead, then greatness awaits him, as well as Malaysia.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 1:51 am

WHO had given Bangladeshi workers Malaysian citizenship with d condition 2 vote 4 UmnoB/BN? Patriot? Traitor?

2. #2 by Cinapek on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 1:52 am

Dear Dr Bakri, with all due respects to you and especially to Islam, which I think is a great religion, I really do not think you should involve any religious connotation to this announcement of the repeal of those abusive and draconian laws by Najib.

Human rights violation is human rights violation and it is the same for Muslims and non Muslims. Muslims and non Muslims has suffered equally under these abusive laws. The latest PSM6 and the Hindraf 5 brings to mind these sufferings.

I would not rejoice so soon or give any credit to Najib yet until we have seen how this whole episode plays out. Najib has been silent on what the two replacement laws for the ISA would look like. For all you know, it could be worse. And those changes to the other acts appears to be cosmetic.

As I have read on one of the other blogs, at the end of the day, it is not what shape our law takes but how the people who administer use or abuse them. With the state of our tainted judiciary and the rampant abuses of our various enforcement agencies, even the best intentions of a good law will be twisted and abused.

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 2:51 am

Like Cinapek, I am surprised at Bakri Musa’s views. (1) On the point of symbolism, My’sia Day is more suitable. ISA is not only an “un-Islamic law”; it is at secular level a law violating human rights of those whether Muslim or non Muslims, the repeal of which constitutes the lifting of repression for all Malaysians of whatever creed/religion consistent with the supposedly inclusive message of 1 Malaysia. It is a Malaysian issue that should not be turned into that for the counteracting of Islamophobia in the wake of 911 at Global stage. (2) Bakri does not seem to understand the underlying cause and events of May 13 to liken the declaration of a national emergency then as some kind of morally laudable act necessary to curb sectarian violence of the type in Northern Ireland. What happened in May 13 has no resemblance to that which happened in Northern Ireland.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 2:52 am

(3) Likening Najib’s repealing domestic draconian laws to Nixon’s pioneering 1972 trip to China is a trifle melodramatic. Najib is embarked on desperate move to bolster his personal image & BN’s electoral chances in fear of having GE after Bersih’s fiasco. Its top save his and BN’s skin. In Nixon’s case, though a part of it was to bolster personal image and forging legacy, the main part of it was to respond to an opportunity – Peking/Mao needed US as counterweight against a hostile and aggressive Soviet Union in the North and US needed China as an ally to encircle Soviet Union in the South at the height of Cold War when Soviet Communism and US Capitalism were fighting all over the world. It was mutual national interests of China and America to forge an alliance against a strong common enemy. It has long lasting impact thereafter. You can’t compare this to Najib’s initiatives in terms of global impact or narrow partisan motives. In any case Najib’s is still inchoate, a mere declaration of intent, not yet proven in sincerity of implementation.

5. #5 by another downunder on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 3:55 am

in Malaysia cops are above law. now without the law they don’t even need to refer to ISA to justify their arrest and harrassment. they can execute a speedy injustice to the people.

6. #6 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 7:01 am

It certainly appear that Najib is being forced by the changing scenario into this act, albeit it is still a positive decision on hos part; but its sincerity will be doubteed by many. Looking back at the whole scenario, since he took power, the avrage Malaysian though he could have done much more but he did not and even permitted his cousin-advisor to bubur the BERSIH affair. True to his nature, he could only act when there is no other option left, just like the incident when TR was fighting TDM for the leadership of UMNO. He would always allow the circumstances to deal him the decision! No, he could never be like Tun Razak! The problem lies in the environment UMNO has created since the 80s; money is more importanat than “maruah”; notwithstanding the abuses the word has suffered under UMNO. Lately, the Gomen reported that male sttudents, it means Malay or Bumi male, were encouraged to further their education to U-level. To me, when hard work cannot be equated to achievement, then why should they spend so much time studying? Instead of the 4 years of study, he could get better result by forming an UMNO Youth branch somewhere and by the time the other bloke graduated, he might have to look for the Youth Chairman of Tepi Jalan for a job or connection! We have ctreated such environment which is anti-hard work, so how could we ever achieve or create Nobel Prize winners as envisaged by the Regent [?] of Perlis?? Unless, we get rid of such environment, this nation will never go anywhere.

7. #7 by HJ Angus on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 7:39 am

A whiff of……?
    I guess the description’s apt if it includes emissions from the rear end!
    Yes, I agree he would have scored more Brownie points if he had released the ISA prisoners in the glare of TV publicity.
    Maybe they were rushed into the decision and did not wait for our expensive PR CON-sultants?

8. #8 by yhsiew on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 8:02 am

Yeah Najib has repealed the ISA. However, we shall see if he will give in to Umno right wing forces and reincarnate the ISA in the two new laws which are going to replace the ISA. Perkasa threatened yesterday to reject the two new laws if they are too unlike ISA.

9. #9 by k1980 on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 8:42 am

A whiff of……?

Remember Bad Awi’s parting whiff from his rear end in 2006 whereby the ACA was replaced by the murderous monster macc? If not for him, TBH and Sarbani would be alive and kicking today

10. #10 by dagen on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 8:58 am

ISA to be repealed but not yet repealed. And new acts are waiting in the wing – waiting for their final release. You see this is jibby jib. He is directionless and does not know what to do. So he tries to pls everyone. Removing isa would make the rest of us happy. But it would trouble umno tremendously because for decades umno has had the comfort of the isa to stop the opposition and all dissenting voices in the country. So in order to pls umno jib decided to hv several new acts to replace the soon-to-be abolished isa. And further, the abolition would not happen anytime soon. It would still be around (and not doubt used) up until the looming general election and for sometime thereafter.

Of course we all can still remember some recent jibby tricks. The rally in stadium but ooops no stadiums lie. The umno must change and there umno with appendage (perkasa) trick. The subsidy is too costly and must be removed claim followed by cash handout show. The i am …. first and …. second stand on 1malaysia. And many many more.

Can we trust him? I dont. I bet the abolition came because umno believed that the existing isa is not draconian enough.

11. #11 by HJ Angus on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 9:05 am

My feeling is that the UMNO ultras like PERKASA have put the national leaders between a rock and a hard place.
    If you understand and believe in ENTROPY, the universal law that states everything decays, the BN regime is in its final days.
    How Malaysia will change is up to US and not BN leaders anymore.
    (admin: your choice of Captchas is frustrating!)

12. #12 by monsterball on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 10:08 am

Announcement is one thing.
    Putting it into reality by Law in the Constitution is another.
    You can smell the Mufti’s comment is made with an UMNO b political mind.
    Good news is good news.
    How good is Najib’s words….left to be seen.
    But for sure…he is testing voters reactions.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 11:02 am

Hate to burst Dr. Musa’s bubble but THIS is not like Razak’s move. Its classic Najib – exactly like 1Malaysia – its more Public Relation than real fundamental change. There will be change that he already announce, judicial signing for detention and period of detention change but its marginal – just like 1Malaysia. More revelation of PR people behind this is more proof positive, its desperation move. He is breaking his own advice to his party ranks – he is doing things that have failed again and again which he called stupid of his own party members.

The other point is that one has to ask copying Razak’s leadership is even possible or make sense. Firstly Razak had the kind of room to manouver in a diverse volatile undeveloped global politics that no longer exist. Secondly, Razak’s contribution is overblown. Razak gave back powers because capital was flying out the door at a time when Malaysia could ill-afford it.

Najib cannot copy his father. If there is a person he can copy historically its LKY – he has to coopt the right-wing of UMNO/BN and then send them off to oblivion. THAT he is too late to do and don’t have the skills for it.

14. #14 by dagen on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 1:47 pm

Since we do not know what is in the new act I might as well venture into some guessing – for some good fun. I would say perkasa would demand that the act empowers ibrahim bin perkasa to arrest those whom perkasa suspects to be terrorist. And the meaning of “terrorist” is “whatever”.

15. #15 by Loh on Monday, 19 September 2011 - 4:43 pm

///Pursuing the religious theme, I was surprised that Najib and his advisors did not choose an occasion with some Islamic symbolism to make his momentous announcement.///– M Bakri Musa
    I too am surprised why should a policy relating to the country be not announced at the national day but on a religious occasion. It shows that there are too many overzealous Malaysian religious fanatics around, which extend beyond the shores of Malaysia
    ///The late Tun Razak did not hesitate to suspend parliament following the May 1969 race riots. Despite the howling protests at home and abroad, Razak was undeterred for he had a crucial job to do; restore peace and stability to a nation shocked by the horrors of that tragedy. And may Allah bless his soul, he accomplished his mission in short order.

To those who would belittle that achievement, let me remind them that the 1969 riot coincided with the flare ups of sectarian violence in Northern Ireland. While Malaysians have been enjoying peace for the past four decades, those folks in Northern Ireland are still busy settling their deadly scores.///– M Bakri Musa

It only shows that when the incident was organized, it was easier to control. May 13 was not a racial riots; it was a organized political activities which involved loss of lives.
    Northern Ireland’s sectarian violence was a different matter.
    ///To this day, Tun Razak remained unique in being the only leader in the world who grabbed power during a national emergency to pursue a much needed critical goal, and then willingly gave that power up once he completed his mission. No other leader could claim that. On the contrary, history is filled with leaders who had to be pushed or dragged out, or worse. Libya’s Gaddafi and Syria’s Assad are only the latest examples.///– M Bakri Musa
    At least Libyans now realized that they have been fooled. But in Malaysia NEP would continue to divide the country into super rich and powerful and the citizens polarized by race so that the super rich class could perpetuate their wealth and political control.