Palanivel, Cabinet numbers and Parkinson’s laws

By Sakmongkol AK47 | August 01, 2011

AUG 1 — If Palanivel is the deeply religious person everyone seems to think and has any moral compunction, he will decline the offer of a cabinet post. But as everyone knows, these MIC leaders have too much of the mandore-quotient to let this opportunity go.

Surely, we will be told that in the name of service to the nation, Palanivel will accept the gratuitous offer for a cabinet post. Why not? It comes with the prestige and the chance to coast along giving the appearance of being hardworking.

What has Palinivel offered? He didn’t win any parliamentary seat. His contribution to Hulu Selangor when he was MP there nearly cost the BN the seat last time. We all heard the folks in Hulu Selangor lambasting him for not being seen in the constituency. He was the invisible man.

He was made a senator, deputy minister and now full minister on account of what? He will do Umno’s biddings. The MIC president will be Uncle Tom-ming all along or in his case, Uncle-Jibbing all the time. Lacking the merit and mandate how can Palani speak with conviction about Indians? The just released Dr Jeyakumar is held in higher esteem than Palanivel.

What he has done is just to add to the notoriety of the Najib cabinet being the largest in our history. Tengku Abdul Rahman had a cabinet of some 16 people I think. Pak Lah had 33. Najib now has 39? That’s one short of the fabled number of a group of 40 people who made a living by relieving others of their wealth and property. But then the current crop of members in the cabinet has achieved notoriety surpassing the fabled band of 40.

The Najib cabinet is eerily becoming what Mugabe is doing to the Zimbabwean cabinet. People seemed to think that the seriousness of governance is measured by the increase in the number of cabinet positions. Mugabe in an effort to demonstrate substance keeps on increasing the number of cabinet members.

By Jove! Parkinson’s Laws do work everywhere after all.

One version of the law states that the increase in the number of employees at the Colonial Office is highest as Great Britain’s overseas empire declined; the Colonial Office had its greatest number of staff at the point when it was folded into the Foreign Office because of a lack of colonies to administer.

Could it also be that the increase in our own cabinet members becomes more prominent while the actual cabinet tasks declined? That is scary.

How can we explain this fetish to increase the size of the cabinet? Perhaps two forces are at work here:

A Minister wants to multiply subordinates, not rivals.

And Ministers make work for each other.

That reminds me of what my late Economics professor at UM, Harcharan Singh, used to say: in Russia there’s no unemployment of any kind because one cow is looked after by 40 people. We have a zero unemployment cabinet then. What will Palanivel do as a minister which job is not being done by someone else now? Refer to Parkinson’s laws above.

That is in defiance of the promise by our PM to have a small cabinet. PKR has more Indian MPs than MIC. In the next round, MIC will probably be decimated. PPP claims to also represent the Indians. I know cabinet appointments are the prerogative of the PM as head of the cabinet. But I think cabinet appointment must also reflect a moral standing. Palanivel didn’t win any seat via elections, why should he be appointed a cabinet minister? MIC, which won only two seats last time, now has two full ministers. That’s a 100 per cent achievement. In addition it has deputy minister’s post.

MIC Indians are a privileged lot then. Threaten the PM and he will succumb to threats. I would have thought, the PM should have taken up the dare by the MIC Indians that they will not support the BN. See if the MIC leaders can talk big without any positions in the government. They will be running grovelling at the feet of the PM and will tell him, he is the greatest PM since Samy Vellu. Yes sir, Samy Vellu was PM to Malaysian Indians.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 5:58 pm

Huh, only 39 cabinet members?
    Still short of 2 then we will hv NR n d 40 Thieves
    Well, NR can make Losima a cabinet member n CSL, green with jealousy, 1 too, then ngam ngam lor

2. #2 by monsterball on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 5:58 pm

He called DPM…. boss.
    Don’t forget that.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 5:58 pm

///Could it also be that the increase in our own cabinet members becomes more prominent while the actual cabinet tasks declined? That is scary.///

That is not only scary but also a waste of taxpayers’ money.

4. #4 by monsterball on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 6:06 pm

He is training Indians to look upon Najib and his UMNO B Ministers as their Savior and Lord.
    My Indian workers.all calls me
    “Boss” and I stopped them..doing that.
    I said…you address me as “Mr. Goh” or “Sir” and I will address you as Miss/Mr or by your name…name with respect.
    I train all Indians wanting to be respected……by respecting others…not fear anyone.

5. #5 by k1980 on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 6:38 pm

//can make Losima a cabinet member n CSL, green with jealousy, 1 too//

Losima– minister of diamond rings

CSL– minister of extramarital affairs

6. #6 by hallo on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 6:56 pm

13th General Election

It is the time we send THEM a message

Malaysia is belong to Malaysians

Do not keep use our Malaysia Treasury Tax money freely like belong to them spend whatever amount they like without any answerable

Do not keep telling us empty promises and lie whatever they like to say to cheat Malaysians without any answerable

Do not keep threatening us Malaysians with manipulating the laws without any answerable

Do not keep continuing corruption robbing Malaysia Treasury Tax our money without any audit to answerable

The GE13 is the time WE MALAYSIANS SEND THEM A MESSAGE

MALAYSIA is belong to us MALAYSIANS

WE MALAYSIANS WANT A CLEAN, CORRUPTION FREE, TRANSPARENCY, FAIR, ANSWERABLE GOVERNMENT administration

13th General Election

WE WANT CHANGE

7. #7 by DAP man on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 7:03 pm

Putrajaya: PM Najib has set up a new ministry names “Lu tolong Gua, gua tolong lu”.
    MIC Chief Palanivel will be the Minister in charge of this ministry.
    The Minister has promised to deliver Indian votes for BN in the coming general elections beginning with the support of the 7,000 Indians who are in the country’s prisons.
    Palani said the prisoners are grateful to BN for providing them free board and lodging which they did not have before they entered prison.
    They have vowed to vote for BN.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 8:03 pm

To me what Najib is doing is COLOSSALLY EXASPERATING. Its brainless, the suspension of management common sense, air-headed nonsense.

He is using up valuable leverage on a flailing team and leadership that has no real strategy or track record. Its unbelievable wishing to think the lot he is backing can pull off any significant change when they have spend their entire lives being boot-lickers. Najib should look into the mirror and ask himself if he, with huge resources, is such a failure after decades of being a boot-licker, what hope does he have with the lot who are EVEN worst than he is and has so much less at their disposal?

Watching Najib politically is like watching a train-wreck in the making..

9. #9 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 8:43 pm

Hello, Ali Baba and the 40 thieves stole gold, silver and diamonds, submarines, even aeroplanes.

What did our Cabinet steal?

Sakmongkol, what did our Cabinet steal?

Did our cabinet steal anything?

Scorpene payout is not stealing. Bribery, kickbacks, corruption, maybe.

PKFZ is not stealing. Some idiot Cabinet ministers and PM were probably half asleep when someone pulled some pieces of paper across the table to be signed. That’s the epitome of stupidity, not stealing.

But of course, hired guards (Read: civil servants, Cabinet) too can all pretend to close their eyes while thieves have a field day. If that is not stealing, what is?

How does one make sense of all this? Hired guards, accomplices, thieves, murderers. Have men no morals anymore? Heavens!

10. #10 by Taxidriver on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 8:48 pm

Sakmongkol AK47,

You counted 39, but the number is exactly 40. I think you missed out on the mastermind-the spin doctor who is always grinning.

11. #11 by sheriff singh on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 9:10 pm

As I said yesterday, MIC has THREE people with full Minister rank, enjoying full privileges and perks.

Don’t forget Samy Vellu who is in charge of Big India Affairs or something like that.

12. #12 by limkamput on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 10:40 pm

AK47, I think your number of cabinet members did not include those appointed to some obscure positions with “ministerial rank” but they are not members of the Cabinet. Therefore the number is actually biggest than 39. I think we should stop saying the PM has the absolute discretion and prerogative to appoint whoever and whatever the number of cabinet members. Prerogative can not be blatantly wasteful, irresponsible and illogical.

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 11:44 pm

Oh yeah, that ambassador to US is Najib’s good friend. I think he has minister’s rank as well. SO it’s 40 or more now.

Hello, did Ali Baba and the 40 thieves steal gold, silver and diamonds only or even submarines, and aeroplanes.

What did our Cabinet steal?

Sakmongkol, what did our Cabinet steal?

Did our cabinet steal anything?

Scorpene payout is not stealing. Bribery, kickbacks, corruption, maybe.

PKFZ is not stealing. Some idiot Cabinet ministers and then PM were probably half/fully asleep when someone pulled some pieces of paper across the table to be signed. That’s the epitome of stupidity, not stealing!?

But of course, hired guards (Read: civil servants, Cabinet) too can all pretend to close their eyes while thieves have a field day. If that is not stealing, what is?

How does one make sense of all this? Hired guards, accomplices, thieves, murderers. Have men no morals anymore? Heavens! Ohh…

14. #14 by k1980 on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 1:52 am

So that was how the hyena (2nd left in photo, next to its pa) became the richest buggah in Asia

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/government-double-billed-rm720m-in-pkfz-land-buy/

15. #15 by 12change on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 3:32 am

…”hey,Pal…!!!, i give you the post now and you bring me all the Indian votes…how u wanna do it I don’t care , u go and figure it out…all I care is the number of votes from you!…understand?

16. #16 by Godfather on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 8:57 am

Yes, some of the readers here are right. Jamaluddin Jarjis was appointed as ambassador to the US with full ministerial rank. Semi Value also has full ministerial rank as roving ambassador to India, notwithstanding that we already have a full-time ambassador sitting in Delhi.

We are truly moving in the right direction of Zimbabwe and Greece.

17. #17 by k1980 on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 10:08 am

More ministerial posts–

1.KJ with full ministerial rank as roving ambassador to Bangladesh

2. CSL with full ministerial rank as roving ambassador to Tiongkok

3.Ibrahim Ali with full ministerial rank as roving ambassador to Pakistan

18. #18 by Joshua on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 8:18 pm

It is 40 if you add the one with the diamond ring worth US$24m..

19. #19 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 2 August 2011 - 11:50 pm

I always think this is an act of desperation! Get what you can before someone steal the gravy train! It is the last train, get on board! if you miss it, someone else will drive the next train but you may have to go to PUDU!