Palanivel makes dubious history – the first “I help you, you help me” barter Cabinet appointment in nation’s 54 year history

MIC President Datuk G Palanivel has made dubious history – being the first, unashamed and most blatant “I help you, you help me” barter Cabinet appointment in the nation’s 54-year history, nothing to do whatsoever with his personal merit or quality!

It must rank as the most cynical Cabinet appointment ever made in Malaysian history under six Prime Ministers.

Palanivel also made dubious history in other aspects.

Although the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said that he was returning to his father Tun Razak’s practice of having two MIC Ministers, there is a great difference: In Tun Razak’s time in 1976, MIC was in a position of strength but today in 2011 MIC is in position of unprecedented weakness.

In his speech yesterday, Palanivel revealed that MIC had about 600,000 members nationwide of which 390,000 are voters.

MIC must be the only political party in the country where less than two-thirds of its membership are voters.

Palanivel’s “barter” appointment, announced at the “Don’t debate Interlok novel” 65th MIC General Assembly yesterday, will inflate an already over-bloated Cabinet and set dubious records of :

• The most number (six with Palanivel) of Ministers in the Prime Minister’s Department or some 20% of the Cabinet strength; and

• The most number of Senators in the Cabinet.

All in all, a Cabinet appointment not in the spirit of “People First, Performance Now” but “BN leaders first, Performance later” – further undermining the legitimacy of the Najib Cabinet.

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 12:51 pm

CSL cursing: “But he has only 3MPs! I have 15MPs and yet I am not appointed a minister! Very unfair—I am going to complain to Jib’s mother”

2. #2 by Jong on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 1:30 pm

How not for MIC be given another ministerial post when they finally after more than half a century managed to successfully solve Madam Gouri Dasi Malakar’s immigration status?

Now aged 80 years and wheel-chair bound with chronic broncitis, Madam Gouri migrated here 55 years ago, only to receive her citizenship document from Home Minister on fri 29 July 2011 reports mainstream media.

LOL!!! CSL missed the boat again, eh?

3. #3 by Peter on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 1:43 pm

This is the best joke of the day – “going back to Tun Razak’s time”. After all these years, there are now only two Indian ministers as if it’s something to shout about.

So what if there are 10 Indian ministers in the cabinet? Does it make any difference to the average Indian on the street? What if they give 20 ministers to MCA? Is it going to get them the Chinese support?

The rakyat have already realised all of BN’s cheap racist tricks. Who cares if you have 100 Indians, Chinese, Kadazan, Dayak, whatever ministers in your cabinet? In the end, all are destined to be running dogs for Umno.

One real person fighting for justice like Ambiga Sreenevasan is worth more than 1,000 Indian ministers in Umno’s cabinet.

4. #4 by limkamput on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 2:16 pm

Why can’t the PM and UMNO get it – non Malay political parties are not your toys. The fact that it was successfully manipulated once does not mean you can do it over and over again. When are you going to give genuine partnership to the non Malays? Enough of tokenism and cosmetics. It will never be for the long term good of this country – both Malays and non Malays. So stop all these nonsense right here and right now.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 2:38 pm

GP is in cloud 9, ai ya ma n ai yo yo, minister lor, 钱途无量, unlimited power, fame n duit

6. #6 by monsterball on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 4:10 pm

Najib’s last hope…going back Razak’s time …his father..as all the time..following Mahathir’s footsteps …..do not work.
    That will give him few days of breathing space to think…what he should do next to win votes.
    This unelected PM is a clown….but a dangerous criminal clown…..on the loose.
    We need to keep defying him…till he declares 13th GE.
    Leave him alone…he will think think he is the Almighty’s son….heading towards the never ending land…or shout for blood again.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 4:12 pm

CSL GREEN-EYED MONSTER

8. #8 by good coolie on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 7:52 pm

I, as an Indian, know exactly what would get Barisan the Indian
    vote. Our Beloved Prime Minister and Our Beloved Deputy Prime Minister must eat chappati and thosai at a few temples during festival days, and they must shake the hands of the faithful, ever grateful for their hand-shake. ALL THE PAST will be forgotten. After the election victory, it will be BACK TO THE PAST.

9. #9 by monsterball on Sunday, 31 July 2011 - 8:45 pm

Najib is out of this world.
    First he has all the Ministers appointed.
    Then he now has 20 Ministers under his Prime Minister’s Dept….the most in the history of all PMs.
    Is he saying the Ministers appointed must be watched by his 20 Ministers?
    Think of all the wasted salaries with taxpayers money…just that he can keep fooling Malaysians.

10. #10 by tak tahan on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 12:00 am

11. #11 by sheriff singh on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 1:45 am

Datuk G Palanivel is NOT the second MIC Minister. He is the THIRD !!!!!

Don’t forget that wonderful personality Samy Vellu. He is the SECOND MIC Minister as he has full Minister rank and privileges.

He is Emeritus Minister in charge of Malaysia – Big India Relations. His murky terms of reference allows him to have an easy life with all the perks at taxpayers expense. No white hairs or hairs even.

How many people are there with FULL Minister’s rank and privileges? JJ? Syed Hamid?

12. #12 by vsp on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 7:33 am

Of late the Indians have been a pampered lot, thanks to sugar daddy Najib. So many goodies were given to them: Najib’s frequent walkathons in Brickfields and Little Indias; Thaipusum being declared a national holiday; the MIC demanding a special NEP programme for the Indians; now a non-elected MP being given a minsterial post. The Indians are taking a leaf out of the book of Perkasa with gusto.

Perkasa is a pesky mosquito NGO but it has deep teeth. It threatens Najib with the withdrawal of support; it ridicules Najib’s new-born baby, 1Malaysia; it creates havoc with the racial harmony of the country; it carries on demonstrations with impunity and has Hishamuddin coddling them with his blessings; it always gets the moribund police into action with its police reports against Bersih and the Christians. Perkasa is pulling the strings around Najib’s nose. Najib is a puppet.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Monday, 1 August 2011 - 10:24 am

Actually the whole thing about ‘going back to Tun Razak’ imagery bothers me a lot – its just tells me Najib is looking in the past for answers – he got none especially of his own looking into the future.

What bothers me most of about this is the sheer directionless of what Najib is doing. At a time when he needs to really come up with a breakthrough idea, he is wasting away key leverage with flailing partners. After getting a ministership, instead of coming up with a plan to match the move, they ask for jobs and position with EPU and demand that BN don’t accept any other Indian party into BN? THIS is delivering? Might as well give the ministership to well-liked Makcik in Permatang Pauh..

You can tell from the forced smiles on Najib face that he REGRETS giving Palanivel the ministership as soon as he gave it away.

The truth of the matter is the leaders of MIC, all castrated leaders under Samy Vellu, has never had even a good track record in delivering. Compared Palanivel Hulu Selangor constituency with Samy Vellu’s Sungai Siput – a world of difference. He only started working the ground after he lost and STILL the votes had to be bought by Najib with massive funds and UMNO massive effort. KEEP IN MIND that Jeyakumar toppled Sungai Siput.

Palanivel, Subramaniam (how many??) etc delivering? Its like paying lamborghini prices for a kancil.. Who is going to come up with the money for buying so many lambo?