Lim Kit Siang

Bouquets for Bersih

by Martin Jalleh

Brilliant quotes related to the biggest and boldest march in Bolehland:

* “They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.” – Benjamin Franklin, one of Founding Fathers of the USA.(To those who are afraid, we understand, but please give a thought to the wisdom above!)

* “I don’t make jokes. I just watch the government and report the facts.” –Will Rogers, an American cowboy, comedian, humorist, social commentator, vaudeville performer and actor and one of the best-known celebrities in the 1920s and 1930s.(The above comment is specially dedicated to the One Malaysia Government that has become One Big Joke.)

* “When I was a boy I was told that anybody could become President (Prime Minister). Now I’m beginning to believe it.” – Clarence S. Darrow (1857-1938) American lawyer (This is especially true in the land where all things, including the most ridiculous, are possible!)

* “It’s not the voting that’s democracy; it’s the counting.” ~Tom Stoppard, Jumpers(Will the Election Commission of Malaysia be able to comprehend such a gem?)

* “Democracy is a government where you can say what you think even if you don’t think.” ~Author Unknown (The above through-provoking comment is specially dedicated to the Deputy PM of Malaysia and his cohorts in Government.)

* “Governments never learn. Only people learn.” – Milton Friedman, a recipient of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences. The Economist described him as “the most influential economist of the second half of the 20th century…possibly of all of it.”.

* “If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there’d be a shortage of sand.” –Milton Friedman (Was Milton then thinking of the Government of Malaysia?)

*“Government big enough to supply everything you need is big enough to take everything you have…The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases.” – Thomas Jefferson, 3rd President of the USA.
(Of course, Malaysia follows such a “course of history”!)

* “Government is not reason and it is not eloquence. It is force! Like fire it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master. Never for a moment should it be left to irresponsible action.” — George Washington, 1st President of the USA
(Surely the Government of Malaysia has a lot of “irresponsible action” to boast of in the past few days?)

Exit mobile version