No regrets

By Hirobella
June 11, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

JUNE 11 — I have been following closely articles written by like-minded people like me who chose to leave Malaysia and others who chose to stay. For those who have chosen to leave or about to leave the country, someone like me can easily identify with their choice. After all I made the same decision over 20 years ago to come to Australia with my wife and one-year-old daughter.

I was born in a small town in the nine states (NS) to a large Chinese family. Life was pretty frugal as Father eked out a living serving mainly Malay customers. Our family did not have much material things and we didn’t expect much from anybody or the government. Teenage life revolved around friends and life was simple and peaceful.

Things started to change when after Form Six I could not further my tertiary education in a local university. The reason was obvious to everyone. This was my first taste of official discrimination when Bumis with pathetic results could easily get places in the local universities.

To cut the story short, I managed to enrol and graduate from a university in Australia with my father’s hard-earned sponsorship. How I wish the Malaysian government could have chipped in – a futile dream I suppose.

Upon graduation I still believed in going back to Malaysia. I did that and worked in KL for a few years but after Operation Lallang in 1987 I decided to say goodbye for good.

Last year, both my daughters graduated from university in Australia and both enjoy what life has to offer here. We are very happy for them because they can pursue their dreams without those prejudices and discrimination we faced in our previous homeland.

Recent migrants from Malaysia shared the same story about why they migrated. We heard those same stories 20 years ago and believe we will hear them again from migrants who will come later. Is it ever going to change?

To conclude, once a previous prime minister of New Zealand was asked by a reporter what he thought about Kiwis leaving NZ to settle in Australia. He replied it was a good thing as both countries’ IQ will increase. But if the smart and educated migrate to Australia or other Western countries, the average IQ for Malaysia will drop.

This is compounded when the Malaysian government grants citizenship to unskilled Indonesians or unskilled workers from South Asia. Do you know why things don’t work as well as they should in Bolehland? How can it ever work when the average IQ of Malaysians keeps declining all the time?

Now do you still want to stay in Malaysia and contribute to change and make a difference. God bless you.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Saturday, 11 June 2011 - 6:38 pm

Same old sad story, M’sian diaspora first studying overseas supported by FaMa scholarship with no bond n then migrating later
    Mama can follow later 2 b GM of d enterprise formed there
    All driven by d racist governance of UmnoB/BN
    If 1 is with d ruling vampires, then 1 can return 2 d land n join in d privileged blood sucking of d masses (can even afford 2 give up PR obtained earlier – like a female vampire of minister grade)

Note: FaMa = FatherMama, GM = GrandMother

2. #2 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 12 June 2011 - 9:40 pm

the writer has made the right choice for himself and his family, jolly good for him.

however, when I read his statement,
    “Now do you still want to stay in Malaysia and contribute to change and make a difference. God bless you.”

I take this statement as a selfish, arrogant, ignorant, dismissive and insulting disrespect to those who stayed on and fight on for all.

clever people might choose the best option for themselves, great people will choose the option that better the lives of others and putting his or her own self interest secondary.

Numerous DAP leaders and other opposition leaders suffered internment, and Teoh Beng Hock paid with his life. I witness Pas Pasukan Amal volunteers took tear gas cannisters in their midst and numeorous lowly paid PAs for Opposition leaders doing too much, getting too little pay and receiving too much undeserved brickbats.

Hirobella, jolly good for you but you are not fit to lace the shoes of those whom you have insulted.

3. #3 by 1orangkaya on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 - 6:36 am

I applaud your decision Hirobella, if the TIME COMES we may b joinning you too…perhaps elsewhere if not Australia. Bye bye SickLand!