Lim Kit Siang

Where is home?

GLB
May 20, 2011

MAY 20 — I am an east Malaysian living abroad. Some 25 years ago, I left for my studies but not on any funding or scholarship. I remember it well… I was young and ambitious but somehow it was a tough financial situation for my parents.

To cut a long story short, with a bit of luck and contributions from farsighted individuals I landed in San Francisco with US$4,000 to my name. Big money back then.

But the 4K was barely enough for a semester’s tuition fee, room and board in a university in a major American city. Foolishly — yes, that’s the word — with a feeling of desperation and uncertainty plus a whole big unknown future in front of me I went ahead to try my best with what I had. A university admission letter.

Today, I say “wow” — how did I do that? I recall working three jobs in between classes to make ends meet; get home from night shifts after midnight every day and very often hungry. I asked myself — am I here to work to pay rent or to get that degree?

Those “comfortable Bumi scholars” I met in university were set for good time. I never did understand why after many rounds of applications for financial assistance I was rejected. Was it because I was a native Bumi or just plain not Malay or Muslim? What does being a Bumi really mean? Many, many questions.

Yes, desperation and hard work got me to where I am now. This is where the kids say, “Borrrring!” Today, I would never have imagined that 25 years on I am the regional MD for one of the biggest electronics companies in the world (no need for names lah).

My work takes me to several dozen countries regularly and when I compare their economic potential, culture and history with my beloved Malaysia I realise one thing: I love my country Malaysia but I truly hate the unjust policies, social injustice, dirty politics, racial and religious divisions.

It’s so obvious, isn’t it? In my kampung even now — it’s true, back in the east — people from all walks of life, customs and religions are comrades. Come visit at the end of May and you’ll know what I mean. I seldom see that in Semenanjung. One day, I hope to live and see, a renewed Malaysia.

So back to the original question: why I left, well… it boils down to a single question: “Where is home?” I asked my eight-year-old son and he said: “Here, right here where I am now with you.” I agree. How do you dispute simple logic like that? Where is your home?

Exit mobile version