Preaching moderation globally, practising it locally

The Malaysian Insider | May 17, 2011

MAY 17 — Perhaps it is really the Malaysian thing. Go abroad and we are all Malaysians, we live together, play together and tell everyone that we are a multi-racial, multi-religious muhibbah country.

Then we come back home and argue with each other, go the extreme length and then cite sensitivities to stop the argument as we nurse ill-feelings towards each other.

So, it’s no surprise that Datuk Seri Najib Razak went to Oxford University and promoted his idea of a coalition of moderates and inter-civilisational understanding.

Well and good.

After all, the prime minister did say this in Oxford, “Ladies and Gentlemen, diversity, dialogue and peaceful co-existence are important themes in Islam. In the holy Quran, Allah SWT expounds that, the very reason He creates human beings into distinct nations and tribes is as a blessing so that humanity may embrace and celebrate their diversity.”

And on those who strap themselves with explosives and blow themselves up, Najib said they are committing a grievous sin, adding “So too, all those who preach hate and stoke the fire of intolerance in leading to this most blasphemous act, they too are as guilty as the perpetrators.”

Thank you, Mr Prime Minister. Eloquent as always but we have a few questions to ask you.

What about Malaysia? Where is the moderation? Where is action to stop extremists from hijacking the national discourse on economy, race and religion? Where is your move to ensure we can keep to the foundation of our nation, where everyone has a place in the country?

Why do you allow Utusan Malaysia and your party supporters to lie about a Christian plot to usurp Islam in the Federal Constitution? Why do you allow some allies to distribute sex clips to smear someone’s reputation? Why don’t the police take action against such people?

Why don’t you do anything but speak abroad of moderation but keep silent in the country that you lead?

Are you like Pak Lah who wanted to be thought leader of Islamic moderates worldwide but did not do much when Hindu temples were being demolished and when he swept the crisis over the conversion of a few Hindus (such as mountaineer M. Moorthy) under the carpet.

Why do the likes of our leaders like Najib feel they need to persuade international community that they are progressives when it is at home when they face the biggest challenge of reining in the conservatives within their party who are against progress.

To be fair, Najib also said this in Oxford yesterday, “But while one man standing in the road is a nuisance, a mere distraction, 10 men standing together are far harder to ignore. And if those 10 become 100, a thousand, a million, a billion even, they become a force so big, so strong and so united in their common cause that those who espouse hatred will face a very simple choice.

“They can join us, or they can remain where they are and be crushed by the force of our collective will,” he added.

The vast majority of Malaysians are moderates and ready to gather against those who spew hate but they are waiting for Najib to join them.

After all, he quoted Edmund Burke, the philosopher, saying “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing”.

You are a good man, Mr Prime Minister. Now, do something about this extremism in Malaysia. Or let Burke’s words echo for all of us to hear.

1. #1 by cseng on Wednesday, 18 May 2011 - 11:22 am

He is suffering from double characters syndrome.

He vows 1 malaysia to Malaysian, he said 1 melayu in Umno.
    He say opium is bad somewhere, he said Ketuanan and NEP are good for the Malay in Umno
    He say no money to subsidy the malaysian, he said BN got plenty to give away during election.