Ibrahim Ali doesn’t represent all Malays, says Hisham

By Melissa Chi
May 15, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

SUNGAI BESAR, May 15 — UMNO Vice President Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein (picture) said today that Perkasa President Datuk Ibrahim Ali does not represent all the Malays in the country.

“I don’t think Ibrahim Ali represents all the Malays or all the Muslims. Same as Osama bin Laden, he doesn’t represent all the Muslims. There are extremists, I’m not saying Ibrahim Ali is an extremist, please don’t quote me wrongly but I’m saying that there are different levels of understanding. so let the public decide who they want to represent (them),” he said, adding that there are extremists in the Chinese community as well.

Despite police still investigating unsubstantiated reports of a move to a Christian Malaysia, the Malay rights group president threatened Christians nationwide last night that he would wage a crusade or holy war should they proceed with their agenda to usurp Islam.

The pint-sized Pasir Mas MP said that he was willing to take the fall for his statement for the sake of defending the dignity of Islam.

He also said his blood was boiling with rage and “hairs standing on end” following recent reports of a Christian conspiracy between religious leaders and opposition party politicians.

When asked if the controversial leader’s statements on racial and religious issues could have consequences as he is considered as an influential figure among the Malay community, the Home Minister said that Ibrahim is only influential if “you all” make him out to be influential.

“He can have one (holy war) but he would have to have one that is really affecting everybody, he will have to have the majority with him so you are all responsible, the fact is that if you don’t highlight the sensitivities and emotions.

“And that’s why Datuk Seri Najib said to stop … when he saw this coming in Penang, he said enough. Give it time for the temperature to go down,” he said.

“It is also the responsibility of the media to make sure the temperature goes down so that we can move forward but there are others who are going to fan the sentiments of hate and divide,” Hishammuddin said.

Ibrahim was referring to the recent row over a controversial newspaper report in Utusan Malaysia entitled “Kristian Agam Rasmi?” (Christianity the official religion?) where it was alleged that DAP leaders and Christian priests were conspiring to take over Putrajaya, abolish Islam as the religion of the federation and install a Christian prime minister.

Christian leaders and DAP members have denied the reports and Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak was even forced to host a meeting with the religious chiefs to solve the issue but Ibrahim insisted last night that the report was true.

For one, he pointed out that a Muslim DAP member had also lodged a report on Friday claiming to know the true story of what transpired during the meeting at a hotel in Penang recently.

Utusan Malaysia’s Christian conspiracy report is presently under police investigation.

1. #1 by Loh on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 3:18 pm

///“I don’t think Ibrahim Ali represents all the Malays or all the Muslims. Same as Osama bin Laden, he doesn’t represent all the Muslims. There are extremists, I’m not saying Ibrahim Ali is an extremist, please don’t quote me wrongly but I’m saying that there are different levels of understanding. so let the public decide who they want to represent (them),” he said, adding that there are extremists in the Chinese community as well.///

Those Chinese who oppose discriminatory policies perpetrated by UMNO are considered extremists. By that definition, all those country and people that practise true democracy are extremists. I am happy to be counted as one.

2. #2 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 3:33 pm

Kris, are you saying IA is like Osama and yet unlike him? Then you said he is an extremist but only because we the people make him one. Can you treat me the same if I say the same thing like him, threatening others with rage of holy war? Would you just say, let it be, I am someone like Osama but I am not an extremist. You see, Kris, we have to be rational and honest in order to make statements that are logical. You can not spin a lie logically. You have to learn enough mathematics to know what I am saying.

What is a big deal of Christians gathered together to fellowship and to worship. Honestly, if Christians gathered and pray to their God for divine intervention – to see more right minded people, irrespective of their religions, assuming leadership role and for more Christians to participate in politics to bring about greater equality and better governance, do all these constitute asking for Christian state and Christian PM? What about when we pray in our heart, because obviously our God know what we are yearning for. What are you going to do about it? Prayer is different from conspiring to do something illegal, evil or unconstitutional. When Muslims pray for the well being of this country, may I know what exact words were uttered? Do you know?

3. #3 by DAP man on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 3:34 pm

I agree with the Minister.

IBRAHIM ALI REPRESENTS THE MALAYS IN UMNO.

4. #4 by tak tahan on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 3:40 pm

Toad bRa him is the lead vocal singer for umno and led by the nose,soiled Leg is the back-up bass singer.Inseparable trinity of jihadist,racist and running dog.

5. #5 by drngsc on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 4:24 pm

True, he does not represent all Malays, but he is blatantly making up stories, and inciting religious and racial hatred in multi-racial Malaysia. He must be arrested and put behind bars to cool down. He is playing with fire, unless the goumen agrees with him.
    I am very concern. Front page incitement of religious and racial hatred, kick a few cow heads, or burn a few Holy Books or Holy Pics, burn a few churches, declare Emergency, no GE 13. Is that the general design.
    Allowing IA to walk around and talk like that, is very irresponsible of the goumen.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya.

6. #6 by wanderer on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 4:34 pm

Police detained four DAP members in anti-Lynas protest but, allow the racist fanatical swine to run wild! Keris-muddin do us all a favor, go and suck marbles!!

7. #7 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 4:35 pm

This …mudin will always say if there are Malay extremists, there will be Chinese one as well. same excuses he used for the utusan fiasco. I can’t stand this bird brain as a minister. he is just plain stupid and being arrogant at that too.

forget about high income, 1malaysia blablabla with these type of pokey mucks around. Boy, my blood is boiling like that croaking toad.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 4:45 pm

True but he represents Mahathir and hence enough vote to decide Najib stays as PM or not and whether UMNO/BN stays in power.

9. #9 by tak tahan on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 5:25 pm

At home comment something peacefully also kena ISAed.How to be freedom fighter?

10. #10 by robtang on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 5:43 pm

HH, who doesn’t know there are extremists in every community? What we would like to know is what your stand is with regards to this one extremist? By not condemning his view, are you with him? Oh, silly me to have asked this… What can one expect from a keris waiver?

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 6:05 pm

Did HH say Ibrahim an extremist? He said a lot and in the end said nothing. Pure sophistry. Eg “I don’t think Ibrahim Ali represents all the Malays or all the Muslims. Same as Osama bin Laden, he doesn’t represent all the Muslims.” Here by comparison he appeared to insinuate Ibrahim Ali an extremist. But then by next sentence he made it clear again that that’s not the case as when he said: “There are extremists, I’m NOT saying Ibrahim Ali is an extremist, please don’t quote me wrongly but I’m saying that there are different levels of understanding. so let the public decide who they want to represent (them)…” In other words whether one is an extremist or not is subjective, depending on who makes the judgment depending on his “level of understanding”. If the one who makes judgment were extremist then they would adjudge an extremist as moderate, and a moderate an extremist?

12. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 6:25 pm

1STUPID Home Minister who doesn’t know what he is talking about.

This happens when someone talks in knots, the result of knotted tongues and tongue twisting garbage.

13. #13 by dagen on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 8:09 pm

Yes. Damn right there. Ibrahim bin perkasa represents umno and umno does not represent all malays. Therefore ibrahim bin perkasa too does not represent all malays. Umno represents only umnoputras. Therefore so does ibrahim bin perkasa.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 8:25 pm

UMNO should stop using Ibrahim Ali as mouthpiece to win support from the Malays.

15. #15 by negarawan on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 9:12 pm

Why ISA not taken against Ibrahim Ali for life threat against Christians? It is obvious and expected that Hishamudin and UMNO only act against Christians and other religions for no valid reasons while UMNO malays can issue death threats and no action taken. 1malaysia=1BigLie

16. #16 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 10:48 pm

Ibrahim Ali @ Ibrahim Ali Bin Laden?

Ibrahim act like …….Malaysian’s Osama Bin Laden

17. #17 by johnnypok on Sunday, 15 May 2011 - 10:49 pm

He represents only the devils and hantus