Experts doubtful of 1 Malaysia e-mail security

By Yow Hong Chieh | TMI

KUALA LUMPUR, April 20 — Computer security experts have questioned the rationale behind the 1 Malaysia e-mail initiative and whether the Najib administration can keep the service secure and affordable.

Open source expert Colin Charles said he did not think it was a good idea for Malaysians to use an e-mail account controlled by the government as there was no guarantee its contents would remain safe.

“The worst that can happen is that someone in the government can read your e-mail,” he told The Malaysian Insider.

“My general advice is: don’t use the e-mail account to write about anything you care about.”

While he thought it an interesting idea, Charles was sceptical of the project’s long-term viability given that Datuk Seri Najib Razak would eventually have to step down as prime minister at some point.

Charles explained the prime minister’s successor would want to stamp his mark politically and was therefore unlikely to continue any of Najib’s 1 Malaysia initiatives, including the e-mail account.

Another expert, Gareth Davies, said it would be costly to provide e-mail accounts for every Malaysian aged 18 and above, estimated to number some 16 million.

“Even if they had 16 million accounts and you give everyone 100 megabytes… that’s a lot of storage,” he pointed out.

“And that’s only 100 megabytes. Imagine if they give one gigabyte,” Gareth said, adding that this was even before the cost of computer architecture, bandwidth, staff, management and software was factored in.

Najib announced yesterday all Malaysians aged 18 and above will be given secure 1 Malaysia e-mail accounts that will allow direct and secure communication between the public and the government.

The account is also part of a new one-stop web portal for government services, which will include social networking features as well as online bill payment and citizen application facilities.

The project is owned and operated by IT company Tricubes Berhad, which will use software from Microsoft — the company that now owns the free Hotmail account service.

The 1 Malaysia email service is part of Najib’s Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) to achieve developed nation status by 2020.

He said today that the RM50 million investment will have a gross national income (GNI) impact of RM39 million up to 2015 and will enhance delivery of public services.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 11:27 am

Soon, the Americans will be offering free email services to Osama and his alqaeda gang. So people are so stupid.

2. #2 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 11:41 am

Pemandu and the PM claims that this is a private sector led initiative. And they also claim it is voluntary and not compulsory. Baloney!!

Mark my words. After it is implemenmted they will insiduously and slyly manipulate it in such a way that you are forced to use it because they will make sure that every correspondence you want to make with ANY Govt depts, agencies or GLCs requires you to use this email address. You cannot escape. At some point you will need to deal with the LHDN, JPJ, PDRM, TNB, TMNET, Immigration etc. and they will simply tell you that the only email address they will accept is this “not compulsory” email address or your application or correspondence will not be entertained.

And if for one moment you think for security and privacy reasons you can safely use another email address for private correspondence while using this for Govt. correspondence, think again. There are now software available that can match writing styles to determine the commonality of the authors. Such software are now used to detect plagiarism in universities. All they have to do is to compare your private emails with the one you sent to the Govt. and they will know who is most likely to have sent those critical of the Govt.

This scam is rubbing salt into injury. This is more than the scamming of the rakyat’s money. It is a sinister tool to control the Net users, invade their privacy and last but not least, a propaganda tool to brainwash the rakyat. How much dirtier can you get!?

3. #3 by born in Malaya on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 11:47 am

It is another futile attempt by Najib to tell citizens that they are not a racist government.

4. #4 by dagen on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 11:49 am

I think cinapek used the right word to describe that Free Jibby Mail thingy.

Yeah. It is nothing but a scam by none other than Jibby Jib himself!

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 12:02 pm

Will all Malaysians be given a ‘free’ banking account with Bank Jibby after this free email a/c?

6. #6 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 12:08 pm

“The worst that can happen is that someone in the government can read your e-mail.”
    Ha, ha, what lah, what worst, dis is exactly what NR n UmnoB want – BEST 2 them

7. #7 by Winston on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 12:38 pm

So, what are you all waiting for!!
    Do the right thing in the next GE!

8. #8 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 2:10 pm

Will MCA call 4 1Chinese movement? MIC, 1Indian movement? What else, 1Dayak?

9. #9 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 2:15 pm

BIG Liar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

10. #10 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 2:38 pm

E-government thingy..mmm..can make tons of money effortlessly…every day…cash..very fast cash…express billionaires will be borned.Cinapek has his points outright but there are more hidden objectives.Macc dog is one of the fews,wagging his tail that he’ll be assigned automatically as his job requirement to oversee or ‘overlook’ e-thingy and learn couple of up to-date technology.Not bad for a canine ya?While most of his puppies will be denied to touch the e-thingy cause they are not big enough to roam without any order.Oh my…a cat has got my tongue!

11. #11 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 2:50 pm

If this were to be announced in the West, Civil liberty would smash his nose flat, and then be requested him to step down voluntarily before embarrassing him more…

It is true that his Administration is going to manipulate and eavesdrop what & whom/who you write and correspond with…

As Cinapek termed as SCAM correctly, I would support and agree with him. In fact, it is high-tech SCAM to rip of Tax Payers’ monies! Pretty soon, the costs of maintenance is skyrocketing to double or triple!

Judging from this company, I would skeptical toward its expertise in hosting, managing and maintaining the servers as they never hosting any web servers before!!! Do you think that IT expertise can be mastered over night?? As some other experts pointed out with 16million users, the bandwidth, server capabilities and expertise to handle the huge and heavy traffics…

It is scams and suckers who always implementing unnecessary projects to fill their pockets… They are bunch of suckers!!!!!!!!!!!!!

12. #12 by habis on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 3:05 pm

This one of the dirtiest way to control the rakyat.It is sinister and if implement we will surely lose our privacy internet correspondence.Niamah this one filthy way to control rakyat through the internet and at the same time crony company will reap $$$$$.CANNOT BE TRUSTED BN

13. #13 by monsterball on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 3:07 pm

Najib will say….”Trust me. I know what I am doing.”
    Idea is good if the Government and Najib are trustworthy and respected by all.
    It seems to me…Najib keep ignoring UMNO B is corrupted to the core and anything he proposed cannot be trusted…without an ulterior motive to benefit his political party.
    Anyway…more than 50% Malaysians ..above age 18 do not trust Najib at all.
    End of story.

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 3:25 pm

There is only one possible feature to add to a 1Malaysia email account to other services already offer and and that is to link it to your IC. Firstly, its no guarantee of security but more importantly, its also increases potential damage to people if their account is breached. I would not use it even if they force me if that is the idea. Its as good as putting your personal information on the net including all your bank accounts and asset. Its a minefield.

15. #15 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 3:58 pm

Big Brother needs to watch you, control you.

Would you want this?

16. #16 by Ray on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 4:26 pm

Indeed Racism in Malaysia rooted in Umno and evolving with Mamaktir Racist Ideology for 22yrs Malay Dilemma ruling thus today all their leaders were doctrinated with Evil Aspiration .. …PoliticalAbuses and Lawlessless

Therefore whatsoever Umno initiatives based upon “1Malaysia” concept Will Be a Big Waste of Taxpayer Monies and national Resources or trying all means to unite ,integrate ,decieve Rakyat( the Liberal Educated Minorities communities )Becos 1 Malaysia Is Umno Racist Empty Kosong Scary Dream to rule Malaysia with Authoritarian similar toTunisia Iraq Iran Syria Lebanon or Egypt dictators leaderships>one person speaks for all .
    Unity,Racial Integration is Spontaneous within a Strong caring ,well respected honest Government Coercived Leadership regardless of races, religion where all the Rakyat have self confidence of equality, fair ,merit values ,feel secure policing at public , cheerful ,peaceful ,bountiful job opportunities and negbourliness harmonious families get together.
    In today globalised world we all witnessed nation engaged wars mainly due to these Evil Humane Doctrinated Falsehood Religions. ..>>The real facts “”Religions Divides ” But A Strong Fair Democratic Government Unites races of all creeds.
    …the Ink is Black the paper is White ,together we learn to read and write…Its a beautiful life

17. #17 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 4:32 pm

This is a cruel world. The survival of the most cunning. You spy on me and tell boss. Vice versa. Why if it is not to get to the very top, to have the very best. There is nothing wrong if he wants to know the truth and you are giving him the truth despite being hacked or unless the truth will be turned into something else. There are many free email services. But the internet service is not free. Electricity is not free. Cable is not free. Broadband is not free. Wireless is partially free. Everyone is using the internet. From China to Afghanistan or else how can any extremists threaten on a worldwide scale and within seconds ? Threaten and shown in online video.

18. #18 by joehancl on Wednesday, 20 April 2011 - 9:42 pm

Which stupid idiot needs free email from the govt? Especially this govt., its like asking a weirdo to look after your daughter. There is no direction, its just chasing it own tail.

19. #19 by k1980 on Thursday, 21 April 2011 - 9:55 am

Mamaktir is furious because he did not get the idea of a free email service, 1mamakemail, for the people.

Bad Awi is hopping mad because he failed to deliver a free email service, 1hadharimail, for the people.

Moo is planning another free email service, 1moocowmail, for the people when he gets the premiership.