PM’s Sandiwara in Sarawak!

By Martin Jalleh

The PM has excused himself from his duties in Putrajaya (at the taxpayer’s expense of course) and planted himself in Sarawak for six days till polling day to give the BN campaign a much-needed push.

He seems to be panicking for he has asked the whole Cabinet to park themselves in the Land of the Hornbill and endlessly praise the component BN parties there, whilst pouring scorn on the Opposition.

It appears that Taib Mahmud’s campaign has been quite pathetic. After 30 years as CM there is little proof that the people have progressed! But, he now promises he will turn Sarawak into the richest state after the elections!

Najib believes that as PM his personality, popularity, position and plenty of “I-help-you-you-help-me” pledges, will lessen public preoccupation with Taib and successfully persuade the masses to vote for BN.

It was pure comedy though when Najib gave his assurance that Taib will step down as Sarawak CM “some time after the state election” and Taib responded he will – “in a few years”! Najib smiled, painfully…

Najib’s first public meeting, a 1 Malaysia meet-the-leaders session which was plied with goodies in exchange for their attendance, degenerated into what Lim Kit Siang described as a “1 T-Shirt, 1 Tupperware circus”.

Not to worry, the PM will fly to many more places to parade and preen on the political stage, promote his “Transformation” programmes and relentlessly pooh-pooh the Opposition’s combat cry of “Ubah”!

Najib had proudly proclaimed to the Sarawakians that the BN not only promises “but we can deliver and we have delivered for the country”. Pray tell, what has Najib delivered since he became PM two years ago?

His think-tank “Performance Management on Delivery Units” (Pemandu) has provided Bolehland with only a plethora of projections, programmes, powerpoint presentations, persuasive charts, and promising plans!

Indeed, it has been a prime “performance” by the Prime Minister, thereby making perfect his slogan “1Malaysia: People First, Performance Now”, as he offers the rakyat a pipe-dream and a pie in the sky!

Sarawakians need to only look at last year to recognize the PM’s play-acting for it was clearly a year of public relations, publicity stunts, political rhetoric, populist slogans and pure propaganda puff by the PM to win over public perception.

Najib’s flagging image was re-engineered by Apco Worldwide, a global public relations consultant (paid RM77 yearly with taxpayers’ money). He was portrayed as a premier who was ready and raring to redeem Bolehland with his purported radical reforms.

But all he has managed to achieve so far is to present to the nation his slew of acronyms, showcase of plans and pledges, and spate of potential privatised projects costing trillions!

His 1Malaysia slogan spun out of control when it was pointed out to him that it is a concept propagated by a Government that promotes and perpetuates a race-based party system – which is the main obstacle to our unity!

Since the introduction of 1Malaysia there has been unprecedented racist extremism and religious bigotry emanating from Perkasa and within Umno and in particular by Umno-owned Utusan Malaysia.

Whether it be human rights or civil liberties, the mainstream or online media, Najib’s government continued to spin its illusory world and Bolehland’s standing in international indexes continued to plummet.

When it came to the economy, Najib chickened out of reforming the “bastardised” NEP and relegated the “New Economic Model” (NEM) to merely a “trial balloon”, as a very pleased Perkasa patted him on the back for giving in to their pressure.

Statistics in 2010 showed that our 2009 national debt rose to RM362.39 billion or 53.7% of GDP, its highest level in five years. It soared to RM407.1 billion in 2010 but the Government said it was no cause to worry!

There was an exodus of money from Malaysia on a scale which surpassed that during the Asian crisis. Malaysia’s FDI plunged 81% and we were the only Asean country to experience negative FDI flow in 2009.

Najib’s “transformation programmes” did not deter the damning diaspora data in Bolehland to rise to a level which he himself admitted has threatened his vision of transforming Malaysia into a high-income nation by 2020.

In 2010, in the midst of Najib’s many pronouncements of transformation, the people (especially those in Sabah and Sarawak) struggled with soaring prices and senseless high cost of living while corporate giants and the PM’s cronies escaped subsidy cuts.

By the end of 2010, the Father of Transformation had only farcical changes, fantasised figures, flip-flops, a frail economy, failing institutions and flawed policies to show, resulting in persitent public protests.

Hopefully, the people of the Land of the Hornbill will put a halt to Najib’s hype, hypocrisy and hogwash by rejecting the BN component parties at the coming polls, thereby paving the way for genuine transformation in the next general elections!

1. #1 by hallo on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 4:55 pm

The Justice is in our hands

The Freedom is in our hands

The Righteous is in our hands

Today is the day

We are the Justice, we must tear down the wall of our enemy the Corrupted Politician Devils from our land who is bringing us unjustice in our land

We are the Freedom, we must free our god beloved children from the Corrupted Politicians Devils of Fear who is threating us to support/partake with their Devils

We are the Righteous, We must fight with brave against the Corrupted Politicians Devils of Greed who bribing us with Devils of Greed to lead us support/partake their evil acts of devils

Today is the day

The Future is in our hands

The Hope is in our hands

The History is in our hands

We must not VOTE FOR THE CORRUPTED POLITICIANS DEVILS OF GREED

We must not VOTE FOR THE CORRUPTED POLITICIANS THREATEN US WITH DEVILS OF FEAR

We must not VOTE FOR THE CORRUPTED POLITICIANS CHEAT US WITH DEVILS OF LIE

As we are god beloved children

We must VOTE FOR JUSTICE

We must VOTE FOR FREEDOM

We must VOTE FOR RIGHTEOUS

WE MUST UBAH UBAH UBAH

WE MUST VOTE FOR CHANGE

TODAY IS THE DAY

2. #2 by monsterball on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 5:22 pm

Cannot imagine Najib have the cheek to face Sarawakians day and night with that humilating Sibu defeat with his “I help you.You help me” making Sibuans gave him a slap on his face..all forgotten.
    He is so desperate to win with such a thick skinned face.
    Not only that…..he ordered all the cabinet ministers to go over to Sarawak.
    For th first time in 55 years…a PM does as he likes….totally irresponsible to the whole country.
    His ‘People First” slogan is a sham.

3. #3 by Thor on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 5:59 pm

BN creating lots of stupid acts at very last minute.
    Calling Sarawakians Orang Utan and then blaming it onto DAP.
    Splashing red paint on their own signboard and then placing a threatening note with a rocket logo in it.
    Just look at that old idiot pretending to cry in front of those journalists while holding the note as proof.
    I just can’t stop laughing seeing him “cry”.
    What da lousy actor!

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 6:22 pm

sarawakians, please kick najib and gang back to the peninsular this saturday. then from saturday onwards, we peninsularians will kick najib and cohorts to sit by the corridor of parliament.

5. #5 by dcasey on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 6:39 pm

Najib had proudly proclaimed to the Sarawakians that the BN not only promises “but we can deliver and we have delivered for the country”.

Yeah man, he certainly did deliver, he delivered T-shirts and Tupperwares. What a shame, this 1-Cheapskate!

Sarawak, wake up all and know whats urgently needed…UBAH for the better….choose PAKATAN.

6. #6 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 9:37 pm

Agi idup agi ngelaban……come on you ibans. vote BN out. peck them with your hornbills. butt them out. Kick them out. trash them out. vomit them out. don’t show any mercy to these political mercenaries. they are going to renegade, rape and rob your land after they win the election. Why let them?

7. #7 by Loh on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 10:41 pm

///When it came to the economy, Najib chickened out of reforming the “bastardised” NEP and relegated the “New Economic Model” (NEM) to merely a “trial balloon”, as a very pleased Perkasa patted him on the back for giving in to their pressure.///

If Najib chickened out of his reform promise, then he is not performing as a Prime Minister since he must have been convinced that NEP was bastardized. Would that mean he has no support in UMNO? Or rather Najib is an opportunist. . But if Najib is the son of his father, who was the country’s first big-time racist, being the person who created FELDA before May 13 but kept Felda for Malays only even when the constitution did not allowit, can we believe that he really think in terms of 1Malaysia minus Ketuanan Melayu since he would not accept Malaysian Malaysia? What is that nonsense 1Malaysia which does not accord equal rights and opportunity to all citizens?

One possibility is Najib plays both the white face and black face as in wayang. He shows the non-Malays that he knew the harm of NEP, and he got Perkasa to oppose NEM, so that NEP stays. He now pretends that he is not political strong enough to do the right thing and ask for support. If he was really that weak, Muhyiddin would have taken over. Now Mamakthir is really not that supportive of Muhyiddin after having made used of Muhydiddin to topple AAB. Mamakthir now wants his son to be the DPM. But if Anwar returns to Putrajaya Mamakthir will have to think about migrating. Let’s hope that 416 will change Sarawak, and send Mamakthir packing.

8. #8 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 14 April 2011 - 2:38 am

>Najib’s flagging image was re-engineered by Apco Worldwide, a global public relations consultant (paid RM77 yearly with taxpayers’ money).

did you read that Ghadefi do the same thing by paying an western consultant in order to shape up his image?

9. #9 by k1980 on Thursday, 14 April 2011 - 8:51 am

Cannot blame the ibans if they vote for Taib this Saturday. After all, the brunei sultan was so fed up of them that he gave them (comprising 95% of his land) to James Brooke, leaving only 5% (Brunei) for himself. Good riddance to get rid of them, he said in relief.

10. #10 by mauriyaII on Thursday, 14 April 2011 - 10:49 am

We have UMNO pendatangs calling Chinese and Indians as pimps and alcoholics in Peninsular Malaysia.
    Now they have gone over to Sarawak to call them orang utans. This ketuanan mentality has to be incised before it becomes another form of Interlok image profiling.
    Sarawakians should show these shameless rapists, pirates and murderers that they are not as dumb as the ketuanan type try to portray them to be.
    On 16/4, show these scumbags their days at Putra Jaya are numbered. The tsunami you Sarawakians create would cause the washing away and demise of the UMNOputras and their shameless cohorts in Barisan Neraka that the rakyat is fed up with corruption and the ‘lu tolong gua, gua tolong’ mentality of these cheapskate politicians.

Sarawakians, show these scumbags from UMNO/BN that you are not easily bought by pre-election goodies.

Agi idup agi ngelaban!