Rahim not prosecuted for RM40 million corruption in the nineties in return for relinquishing all government, statutory and party positions?

In Parliament yesterday, I had asked for the government response to Monday’s Open Letter to the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Ismail Omar by former Kuala Lumpur CID chief Datuk Mat Zain Ismail who had expressed lack of confidence that Tan Sri Abdul Rahim Tamby Chik would be prosecuted over the Carcosa sex video scandal because of the ultimate involvement of Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail as Attorney-General.

Mat Zain was the police officer who headed the initial investigation into the 1998 case of Anwar Ibrahim’s “black eye” assault while in police custody in Bukit Aman but whose recommendation that the then Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Rahim Noor be prosecuted for criminal assault against Anwar had been ignored until the subsequent establishment of a Royal Commission of Inquiry.

As KL CID chief in 1999, he handled the four police reports lodged by Anwar Ibrahim in Sungai Buloh prison, one of which was on the abuses of power by the then Prime Minister Tun Mahathir, the late Mohtar Abdullah who was Attorney-General and Gani Patail who was head of prosecution AG’s Chambers, although the Anti-Corruption Agency had compiled enough evidence to prove a “prima facie” case against Rahim for corruption involving money and shares worth RM40 million.

The questions which Mat Zain posed, and which I asked for answer in Parliament yesterday, were:

• Persoalan yang tidak kurang pentingnya ialah adakah Peguam Negara mempunyai kuasa untuk “indemnify” kesalahan jenayah mana-mana orang berdasarkan pertimbangan Politik?.

• Adakah Peguam Negara berhak melepaskan wang Rakyat RM 40 juta sebegitu mudah untuk Rahim menikmatinya tanpa sebarang tindakan.

• Adakah ini sesuatu yang adil kepada Rakyat sedangkan Peguam Negara yang telah mengesahkan bahawa Rahim memperolehi harta sedemikian banyak menerusi salahguna kuasa dan rasuah.

Earlier in his Open Letter, Mat Zain alleged that Rahim had not be prosecuted for corruption as the Attorney-General had “indemnified” him from all his crimes in return for Rahim’s agreement to resign from all government, statutory and political party positions.

In his reply in Parliament yesterday in the winding-up of the Prime Minister’s Department during the committee stage of the debate for the second 2010 supplementary estimates, Nazri replied that the Attorney-General had no powers to indemnify any person for his criminal action based on political considerations.

However, he asked for time to investigate and respond to Mat Zain’s allegations that Rahim Tamby Chik had not been prosecuted in the nineties for corruption involving RM40 million in return for relinquishing all government, statutory and party positions.

Not only Mat Zain and MPs but all Malaysians await Nazri’s anwer to Mat Zain’s allegations.

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 6:48 pm

The moral of the story is that it is always dangerous for those who have skeletons in their own closets to try open other’s closets.

2. #2 by DAP_VICTORY on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 6:52 pm

that guy no guts to answer, because snake & rat live in same home

3. #3 by DAP man on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 7:05 pm

Nazri needed time to think of something to defend the AG. He will probably say that the AG, on closer scrutiny found that there was not enough evidence to charge Rahim. NFA.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 8:09 pm

I would like to know if the Attorney-General would “indemnified” Altantuya’s murderer from all his crimes in return for the murderer’s agreement to resign from all government, statutory and political party positions.

5. #5 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 8:13 pm

Oops!

would “indemnified”

should be

would “indemnify”

6. #6 by limkamput on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 9:27 pm

Jeffrey :The moral of the story is that it is always dangerous for those who have skeletons in their own closets to try open other’s closets.

Wrong again. Some with skeletons can have their closet wide open. Some with empty closet shall skeletons put there. All these, there is not damn thing you can do about.

7. #7 by limkamput on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 9:31 pm

Sorry, repost:
    Wrong again. Some with skeletons can have their closet wide open. Some with empty closet but shall have skeletons planted there. All these, there is not a damn thing you can do about. The rational conclusion of what you said is whatever accusation levelled against Anwar is true. Don’t be smug.

8. #8 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 10:20 pm

Nazri has to wait for his boss Najib for an answer. They are all playing the “cover up” games with the public! One day they will have to face the truth before almighty God.

Vote in the opposition to clean up the mess!!!

9. #9 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 11:10 pm

There’re so many damning holes in the cabinet lineup that Nazri will find it hard to cover them up including sai full parting hole.More screwable holes will come soon to burden this poor Nazri.

10. #10 by Thor on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 11:47 pm

Nazri has to wait for his boss Najib for an answer. They are all playing the “cover up” games with the public! One day they will have to face the truth before almighty God.

Whether if they’ve to face the truth before almighty, we don’t really know yet ‘cos when the day comes, we don’t get to see them burning in hell.
    What we ought to see is the day when they get punish in this earthly world before they’re to drop dead.
    Our commitment now is to kick them out in this coming GE and we just let Anwar deal with them after that.

11. #11 by Captain on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 - 11:56 pm

As long as Gani Patail is the AG, nobody can touch Rahim Tamby. As top man in UMNO before, he probably knows about the skeletons in najib’s closet too. So, ‘you expose me, I expose you’ thing. Anyway, 40 mil is now kacang putih lah. Mahyuddin just scaterred few hundred in Sarawak.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 12:45 am

///The rational conclusion of what you said is whatever accusation levelled against Anwar is true. Don’t be smug./// – Lim Kam Put

Thank you for commenting. I shall waste no time thinking much less responding more than what I do here to an idiotic remark.

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 2:10 am

Oh by the way, on the correct usage of the word “smug” or smugness” my thesaurus defines the word as meaning an often unjustified feeling of being pleased with one’s supposed ability, superiority, or correctness, one of the manifestations of which is statements like “All of you may be wrong” (meaning that he is only one right).

14. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 2:38 am

Mahathir encouraged stealing and cheating for 22 years.
    You think anyone dare to put UMNO B crooks into jail for corruptions…when Mahathir dare to take RM1.2 billion to save his son?
    And we know why not one is arrested and put int jail..don’t we?
    Imagine…RM40 million..just resign …all OK.
    I guess…it is called stealing from the enemies are not stealing at all.

15. #15 by k1980 on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 7:31 am

16. #16 by dagen on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 8:37 am

Mahathir encouraged stealing … monsterball? I thought he stole too. And with big time effort. Well maybe not personally. But certainly through cronies and family members. Taib-the-goner of sarawak learned all the tricks from him. He is now a billionaire. And he is only the chief min of a state and dr mamak was then the PM. Dr mamak has a much much larger cookie jar to dig his arms into.

17. #17 by boh-liao on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 9:04 am

NR is surfing high, felt like a well loved peeM, after a successful encounter in Muar, now ready 2 go 2 Penang 2 meet his beloved netizens n 2 b loved by them
    O dat Tambi chap, sold his service 2 NR n RM lor 4 another 40 mil or more mah, eazi $

18. #18 by Godfather on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 9:26 am

Why are we giving this unwarranted publicity to this guy ? Even within UMNO circles, he is treated as a “has-been”, so why must we discuss the whys and the why-nots about his colourful past ? Don’t we have bigger issues to discuss and implement ?

19. #19 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 9:45 am

It must be in the PR Election Manifesto that after PR takes over Putrajaya, a Commission will be set up to review all these dubious cases for impropriety and abuse of power / discretion.

No one should be spared if they did wrong.

20. #20 by dagen on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 9:54 am

A (supposedly) witness was interrogated to death over a suspected corruption involving several thousand ringgit.

And for 40million ringgit corruption, this umno idiot gets to roam free. In fact so free that he found time to produce the carcosa sex clip.

One important lesson people. Be greedy like umno. Open your big mouth. 40m is a small amount in jib’s gobermen. Ask for 400m. More, the better. You would be indemnified of all prosecutions if the amount is large, otherwise you would be interrogated to death. The choice is your and actually, it is quite obvious.

21. #21 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 10:08 am

RM40 million so easily ‘sapu’ by just one individual.From this instance,you can imagine how many other ‘RM40 million’s have been just looted and become private possessions by the Umnoputra politicians.No wonder the nation is so poor now and the people can merely afford a hand to mouth existence.Enough is enough.I think we have seen enough of all these lootings and should be ready to boot them out once and for all in the coming elections.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 10:16 am

///Tan Sri Abdul Rahim Thamby Chik has denied any wrongdoing in the dismissal of his graft charges in 1999 claiming that these decisions were “within the remit of then Attorney-General Tan Sri Mohtar Abdullah”……………. “AG Abdul Gani had also declined to comment on the claims when contacted by The Malaysian Insider” /// – By The MalaysianInsider Shannon Teoh’s report March 31, 2011.

The diference between the two (Rahim and Abdul Gani) is that the latter knows what to say and not say (publicly) and when to not comment.

Rahim on the other hand didn’t deny what CID chief Datuk Mat Zain Ismail alleged about political “indemnification” except to fall back on the wide powers of the office of attorney general and that these decisions were “within the remit of then Attorney-General Tan Sri Mohtar Abdullah” – not quite aware that there’s such a thing as ‘abuse of power’ (not matter how wide vested).

Therein lies the usefulness engaging a so called ‘has been’ to open his mouth. He may not know so fully the implications and ramifications of what he says and where it may lead to; he may not even know he’s getting himself nd others into problems with what he says.

23. #23 by dagen on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 12:31 pm

Give up post etc to earn 40million. Woooooooow. Who wouldnt? Not you umnoputras. You people need more than 40mil. For the rest of us, we would gladly take it man.

So in conclusion: dont vote umno or barisan.

24. #24 by monsterball on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 1:36 pm

dagen…..Mahathir said all he was not corrupted and have not one sen stolen traced into his bank account.
    He said that to convince all the half past sixes he created…especially the Malays to trust him.
    You see he took RM1.2 billion openly to save his son…and not one sen in his bank account.
    Anyway..I said he encouraged corrutions by showing how corrupted he was as PM for 22 years….with Barry Wain wrote a book accusing him stole not less than RM100 billion in 22 years.
    And you can accused all the 2 ex and present PMs…mamak…dollah and nutty….on corruptions…not one dare to sue those accusers….for they are afraid more details will be revealed at court to rope all up.
    That is the first sign….how corrupted they are and all must deny and ignore.
    So…all bid time UMNO B crooks like Rafidah…Mat bin Mat…Tamy Chik…and many more…just resign or be voted out through hush hush advises …keep guiet..all OK..unless you talk too much like Toyo.
    Enough….MODERATOR may not like Malaysians to be reminded too many times.

25. #25 by monsterball on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 1:42 pm

Using Tamy Chik to try pin down Anwar with sex shows how desperate Najib is to convince Muslim voters…Anwar has no morals to be PM.
    The whole world is laughing for kettles calling a pot black.
    Such low class dirty politics.
    Such idiotic accusations,
    Such unbelievable hypocrites.

26. #26 by monsterball on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 1:47 pm

oopppp..1.42pm moderated.
    rewrite with some changes 1.46pm…also moderated.

27. #27 by k1980 on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 1:56 pm

Give up post etc to earn 40million PLUS no need to go to jail. His accuser went to jail in his place.

How will the world react if Berlusconi the Bonga-Bonga guy walks free and his accuser(s) are jailed in his place?

28. #28 by Loh on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 2:40 pm

Mamakthir said that through mutual friend he got Daim Zainuddin to resign the post of Finance Minister. Had Daim refused, Mamakthir would have taken him to AG. Would that be hard evidence or another sodomy case?

If Mamakthir had hard evidence and Daim got away scot-free, was not Mamakthir using the law selectively, to serve his political ambition? Was the AG then not in possession of the evidence, and Mamakthir kept everything files himself?

The 40 million ringgit talked about now is sub-sub-sui.

29. #29 by monsterball on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 2:51 pm

Yip…what is RM40 million taken by Tamy when billions are stolen by his bosses?
    Small matter…no worry…so said Ling Liong Sik.
    All help themselves.and that is how Mamak created millionaires by the thousands….encouraging CORRUPTIONS.

30. #30 by dagen on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 5:49 pm

Young rape victim was ridiculed publicly. Community leader who fought for her right had to go to jail for doing so. And the criminal walks free and continues to talk big and was allowed to keep his 40million ringgit corruption money.

Now ladies and gentlemen this is in a nutshell umno’s brand of democracy with asian values.

31. #31 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 31 March 2011 - 9:30 pm

AG Pigtail where got guts to prosecute tambik the draper? Behind him is the Gunung Mamak. Both can turn around and counter-prosecute AG Pigtail. In Bolehland, the Law can be translated and twisted by UNMOputra top loyars to suit themselves. AG Pigtail takkan tak tahu. Better not play play ah!