Part IV: Crime – Raw stats or real story?

Celebrating Police Day! (4)
By Martin Jalleh

The rakyat was told that the government’s battle against crime showed good results in 2010. Home Minister Hishammuddin Tun Hussein announced in May 2010 that his Ministry’s success in reducing the crime rate index for the first four months of the year had surpassed the initial target.

Minister in the PM’s Department Senator Idris Jala revealed the results of the National Key Results Area (NKRA) for crime were outstanding for the first quarter and what the police and the ministry had done in that period was totally beyond expectation.

In Oct. 2010 a very elated IGP Ismail Omar proudly declared that police statistics indicated a significant drop in street crime by 38% and in the overall crime index by 16% between January and September.

But strangely, and as was so aptly put by Lim Kit Siang in October, “…up and down the country, ordinary Malaysians do not feel this dividend of fall of crime index in their daily lives as they do not feel comparatively safer in the streets, public places or privacy of their homes…”

In fact Kit Siang’s sentiments were so eloquently echoed by former Deputy Bank Governor Tan Sri Dr. Lin See Yin, in his article “The mystique of national transformation” which appeared online before the year ended:

“As I see it, discernable progress in four areas of priority concern to the rakyat and investors needs to come early enough to build confidence. They are corruption, crime, education and private enterprise.

“It is not enough to show that in the first nine months of 2010, crime fell by 16% (but still have 132,355 unresolved reported cases) and street crimes fell 38% (18,299 unresolved reported cases) or that 648 people were arrested for corruption.

“The public and investors (with ears on the ground) have to “feel” any improvement. Raw and biased statistics cannot tell the real story, and don’t impress. At this time, it would appear the rakyat and investors don’t “feel” any material improvement in the crime and corruption situation. That matters. But they don’t rush to judgment.

“What they want to “feel” is for today to be better than yesterday, and tomorrow to be better than today; and come tomorrow, their expectations are fulfilled. Incidents from personal experience reinforce this.”

In spite of the claims by the authorities and public surveys of a drop in the public’s fear of crime thereby signifying growing confidence in the police force, the fact remained, as John Sebastian wrote in the Malaysian Insider (18 Nov. 2010) that:

More housing estates are having to handle own security, hire guards and put up barricades.

Police are more reluctant to accept reports from public.

Malaysians are altering their lives every day because of fear of crime.

People are putting in more locks, closed-circuit or cyber-camera systems and alarm systems. Because they don’t feel safe.

“So if Pemandu and any other alphabet soup committee actually believe the better crime situation in the country, they must be on magic mushrooms.

“The day Malaysians don’t feel the need to engage their own security guards to guard their homes and family is the day when the tide against crime has been turned.

“That day isn’t coming as soon as the next general elections. So give us a break. Spare us the good news according to surveys. Just do more to make all Malaysians feel safe.”

Perhaps the public would feel more confident about the police, about being more safe and secure and that the statistics truly reflect the crime rate reality – when the police stop playing politics and government sets up the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC).

1. #1 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 6:44 pm

..Police. Poli=many. Lice=kutu. Many kutu in this Polis Di-beli Ringgit Malaysia.

PDRM=polis derhaka rakyat Malaysia
    PDRM=polis diarah rosma mansor
    PDRM=Polis DR. M

2. #2 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 6:53 pm

Crime rate index is “dropping” because Sarawak general election is coming mah!

If crime rate index is rising, how can BN win the election?

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 7:50 pm

///Raw and biased statistics cannot tell the real story…///

Yeah right. First thing, statistics come from police. Statistical source is not perceived ‘independent’. They have an interest in presenting figures to show themselves in best light, to meet KPIs in Key Results Area (NKRA). Besides we don’t know how or what they define as crime. Eg there is no crime when TBH fell to his death or A Kugan succumbed to his injuries. Do statistics cover white collar crimes?

There are unquantifiable numbers of crimes reported but perhaps not investigated and therefore may not have been counted as crime in statistics – or other cases of unreported crime. The victim either feels it’s pointless and waste of time to make a report where the chances of seeing results are zero or the officer at the desk in the Balai is perceived reluctant to accept a report (because small matter).

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 7:52 pm

So what really matters is one’s felt experience – besides personal experience, the anecdotal evidence gathered from listening to friends and relatives of how they and their friends and relatives were victimized by criminal incidents. There is also a measure from the regularity of new reports on criminal incidences.

To establish IPCMC may improve police prevention and resolving of crimes, which is but only one side of the equation, not touching the other side, the larger forces at political and societal level in play (including endemic corruption, relative poverty, foreign influx etc) that propel this crime trajectory.

Unless the latter are also addressed – and there are no indications they are – this problem won’t lessen even if the police somehow miraculously become more efficient.

5. #5 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 8:12 pm

Crime and KPIs in Subang Jaya
    ===================

At PJS across from Sunway, a student from China was mugged twice.

A friend in USJ 2 had men with parangs enter his house.

A group of foreigners holds up students playing basketball in broad daylight at a park in USJ.

Snatch thefts and break-ins are common place in many townships around Malaysia. Yet I read with horror that the Home Affairs Minister scored a perfect 100 percent in his KPIs.

Obviously public safety and crime were not on his list of KPIs.

If there was a decrease in the crime rate last year, it is only because of the desperate attempts by residents in almost every township in Malaysia to engage security guards to watch their neighbourhoods.

I don’t see why Hishamuddin should get the credit. In fact, I am considering putting in my receipts from the security company in my tax relief form next year.

Public safety and security are now sub-contracted out by residents to private security companies when it should be the duty of law enforcement officers under the jurisdiction of the Home Affairs Minister.

We pay taxes and yet we cannot be guaranteed a reasonable level of safety in our own homes.

How can the Home Affairs Ministry get a perfect score for his KPIs? The Prime Minister’s programme of “people first, performance now” is of no consequence to the rakyat as it has not improved our lives at all.

by Meng Yee
    31 Jan 2011

6. #6 by Dr. W on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 8:18 pm

I am here to drop a word:

Kit Siang, my anger is growing day after day.

Get everyone together for the ultimate showdown. I want to go home.

You will always have my support.

7. #7 by gofortruth on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 8:46 pm

See how our disgusting BN led federal government rips off Malaysians:-
    http://hsudarren.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/beijing-shanghia-bullet-train-and-our-mrt/

We must vote in the opposition to clean up the mess!

8. #8 by negarawan on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 10:15 pm

Najib is the modern day equivalent of Pontius Pilate, constantly abusing power for selfish ends and persecuting his political opponents by fabricating trumped-up charges against them. Think about it when you vote.

9. #9 by monsterball on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 10:39 pm

Petty thieves and lady handbags snatchers maybe reduced…to make publics safer to walk at streets.
    But the Public by large are feeling unsafe to walk at streets to face pro UMNO B racists and police officers more than ordinary thieves…as all are armed to kill as the like.
    Najib’s provocations to arourse angers and tempers flying out are most dangerous…and Malaysians do feel unsafe with him around as PM..for he has a mission to stay in power…by hook or by crook….revealing his CORRUPTIONS have given him lots of nightmares .with Atlantyuya ghost flying around..haunting him day and night.
    I suspect.. Najib wears lots of charms to protect him from evil spirits.

10. #10 by drngsc on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 12:56 am

Amazing, simply amazing. Catch one thief, you solve 10 thefts. You shot dead one ?criminal, you solve 10 murders. Datuks showing VCDs are not criminals. People dying in lockups, just bad luck. Died from sudden death??
    Gated communities are just being civic minded helping the police.
    Crime rate decreasing? It must be a joke, that only Idris and Hishammuddin can understand. It is only in their world. None of us believe it at all.
    We need to change the tenant at Putrajaya.

11. #11 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 1:09 am

Gated communities charging yearly fees are like thugs collecting protection money.
    If gated communities are civic minded..it should be asking for donations and not yearly fees to so call protet residents.
    Check out the total collections gainsat monthly expenses…and the so call gated communites are sittig in their asses earning huge incomes without working.
    Naturally..such peopole get Najib’s support..to cover up his Govt’s weak managements.

12. #12 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 2:05 am

Gated commuinities charging yearly fees are like thugs collecting protection money.
    Minus the monthly fee to hire security guards…go and check out the balance
    It is not profitable business as one may argue.
    MODERATOR…here he comes!!!

13. #13 by DAP man on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 9:15 am

How can the Home Affairs Ministry get a perfect score for his KPIs?

This is how. The score is based on
    1. How many Pakatan ceramahs they have successfully banned or stopped or disrupted?
    2.How many Pakatan members they have arrested?
    3.How many prosecutions they have brought against Pakatan members?
    4.How much time and man power they have allocated to fabricating evidence against Anwar Ibrahim in Sodomy ll?
    5.How much protection they have given to UMNO and Perkasa gatherings and demonstrations?
    6.How they have split up the Hindraf leaders into splinter groups?
    7.On police success in keeping lock ups dirtier than hell.

14. #14 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 10:25 am

Monsterball… not only this blog, but now perkosa also want to moderate us in every blog.

15. #15 by Thor on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 11:08 am

The rakyat was told that the government’s battle against crime showed good results in 2010. Home Minister Hishammuddin Tun Hussein announced in May 2010 that his Ministry’s success in reducing the crime rate index for the first four months of the year had surpassed the initial target.

—————————————–

Talk kok!!!
    This “puting” sucker always talk kok!
    Many people got mug and rob everyday and did’nt even bother to report.
    Why???
    Because they never trust police nowadays.
    Even if they go to police station, they’ll have to wait and after their report, how many are lucky to’ve their case solved?
    Waste of time, many will says.

16. #16 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 11:28 am

Undertaker888…..I get turned off when moderated and my clear message become somewhat stupid.
    One thing I noticed is that once moderator thinks you are taking out of line….you have had it.
    The problem is …up to now I do not know what is out of line and what is not.
    All I know is I part the informations I know to readers…….especially housing estate ..”Guard N Gate” collecting yearly fees from pensioners…retired people.
    Until it become a “Community Service” depending on donations…it is like thugs protecting …like is good old days at Jalan Raja Laut…all shops must pay something to gangsters ..monthly..or trouble will come.

17. #17 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 11:32 am

I dare say I did help to clean them and get rid of them in the 70s with the help of great police friends of mine.
    I still say….vast number police officers are good Malaysians.
    If Najib is so confident all police votes will go to him…and all civil servants votes too….he will not hestitate to call fOr 13th GE.

18. #18 by k1980 on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 1:14 pm

there is something very wrong with a certain old man who is the offspring of a little thambi. first he raped an underaged girl, now he videotaped people having sex. a real psychopath

19. #19 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 1:18 pm

I have never heard a more furious and angry speech made by Anwar…until the permitted 15 minutes one in Gombak recently.
    UMNO B with papers and TVs can talk as much as they like and Oppositions cannot respond without permits.
    This is the type of so call guided democracy we are having now.
    I am so glad..the more Najib tries to furstrate Anwar to break his spirit…the more powerful and strong Anwar becomes.
    Now wait for Omega watch decoded and condem Anwar.
    Najib is bankcrupt with ideas.
    Only sex and sodomy..to bring down Anwar?
    Why is his godfather..Mahathir who painted himself..the most honest and truth man.. so silent?
    You can bet he will open his big mouth if he has ideas how to twist and turn to favour the Govt and the 3 stooges.
    Silent is not golden.
    Silent means being cornered and move on with no shame at all…by these rouges and thieves.

20. #20 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 1:34 pm

Imagine Tamy Chik accusing Anwar with sex show.
    For years no arrests ..no charges for corruptions.. and rape a 15 year old girl……now come out to be Najib’s puppet.
    Where is Mat Bin Mat…another corrupted CM of Selangor?
    Where is AP Queen…Rafidah?
    You see…under UMNO B…all crooks are punished with no jail sentences as long as they shut up or disappear…but come out to perform again for the pleasure of Najib…OK.
    Punish all these corrupted crooks…Mahathir and Najib will be first and second..confronted by all crooks breaking the gangster code.. to protect each other until death…and anyone start breaking it…his days are numbered..including family.
    Mahathir and Najib are well known to be biggest liars to vast majority Malaysians.
    Can you imagine lies told to Malaysians for more than 30 years combined?
    That’s why…so many thousands of Malaysians believe in them…being pumped with lies day in day out…for 30 years…and that’s the power of our Govt. who thinks with that art and craft…they will rule forever.
    MODERATOR…here he comes!!!

21. #21 by monsterball on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 1:35 pm

Strange…when I type and challenge moderator…all comments approved.
    When I type and click to post…my comments are all under moderation.
    What games is this moderator playing with me?

22. #22 by hallo on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 1:56 pm

If I am opposition leader

I will explain to people the founder UMNO have destroyed

The new U*NO now was created by founder enemy Dr M

I would pursue the founder vision

I know the founder will be pleased I carry his name to battle his enemy and be won under his name

It will be a battle field between founder Tunku and Dr M

If I am opposition leader

23. #23 by boh-liao on Sunday, 27 March 2011 - 2:23 pm

Crime numbers dropped by >10%, wow, hurray, great job
    But, really, NOTHING 2 celebrate or cheer abt, cos when we went 2 a balai 2 report a house kena breakin, or a run away maid, or a car kena stolen, counter officer always said BIASA lah, bad luck, don’t bother 2 report lah, no get back 1, so figures drop naturally

24. #24 by Ray on Monday, 28 March 2011 - 10:03 am

All Rakyat Malaysia…the Democratic Civic Society
    Dont ever take Umnoputras Whatsoever Statistic for granted(either form police to Bank negara)……they are Plain Lies /Cheating and Vampire Traps meant for their Undemocratic Racist Political endurances so forth
    It thus has a significant impact on our daily Living hardship and Bleak futures if continues to support them BLINDly…. just becos getting a pc of RM 50 note Electioncampaign give away goodies again and again.
    Goodness grievences….

25. #25 by Loh on Monday, 28 March 2011 - 6:09 pm

UMNO is an expert in lying with statistics. Government services are extension of UMNO. How then can we ever trust government statistics?