Is CSL going to apologise for producing a MCA President and MCA Deputy President who betrayed the trust of the people and country as Transport Minister in the RM12.5b PKFZ “grand corruption”?

MCA President Datuk Dr. Chua Soi Lek astounded Malaysians and the world with his smug reaction to the corruption charges against a second MCA Minister yesterday – former MCA Deputy President and former Transport Minister Tan Sri Chong Kong Choy – in connection with the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) “scandal of scandals”.

Chua said Chan’s court case will not affect MCA. He said when a person was charged in court, it did not mean he was guilty.

He said: “We should let the legal process take its course.”

Chua’s comments raise many intriguing questions. Has the MCA President been given an assurance by the “higher-up” that Chan was not guilty of three charges of corruption laid against him yesterday for which a RM1 million bail was posted – and that the former MCA Deputy President would be cleared in the trial, most likely after the next general elections?

Or has Chua any good reason to believe that the corruption charges against Chan as well as the corruption charges made previously against former MCA President and former Transport Minister Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik were just “a political charade” and that the charges would be quashed with the duo declared innocent after the next general elections?

Whatever the future outcome of the corruption trials against Ling and Chan over their role in the PKFZ scandal, the question is how Chua could come out with such a smug response yesterday that the charges against Chan will not affect MCA when for first time in history, a second MCA Minister was accused of “grand corruption” and betraying the Prime Minister, Umno, Barisan Nasional and the nation in the RM12.5 billion PKFZ “scandal of scandals”?

Never before in the nation’s 53-year history had a Cabinet Minister been accused of such “grand corruption” or of misleading the Prime Minister (Chan’s case) or the entire Cabinet (in the case of Ling) resulting in the country’s worst financial scandal – whether from Umno, MIC, Gerakan or the Sabah/Sarawak component parties of the ruling coalition.

Now, two former senior Ministers have been charged in court one after another for “grand corruption” and what should be completely unforgivable of misleading and cheating the Prime Minister and the entire Cabinet landing the country’s in the worst ever financial scandal – one who was MCA President and the other MCA Deputy President.

Chua himself said yesterday that “anyone who had committed an offence in the eyes of the Attorney-General should face the music” as “This shows that the Government is fair because it doesn’t just go after the small fish but also the big fish”!

Isn’t Chua, as current MCA President, going to apologise not only to UMNO and Barisan Nasional but even more important to all Malaysians for producing a MCA President and MCA Deputy President who had betrayed the trust of all Malaysians and the country in being involved in “grand corruption” and cheating the Prime Minister, the Cabinet and the nation in the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal when they were Transport Ministers?

1. #1 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 4:01 pm

Another Sandiwara with bloated numbers, that’s all.

2. #2 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 4:08 pm

that Kasitah case during Badawi’s tenure perhaps have set a template for future operations – before GE, put a few reputable names in the dock but after GE, semuanya ok.

probably same with Teoh Beng Hock’s RCI.

call me paranoid or what, it seems that some form of racism is being played out in the sequence of indictments relating to PKFTZ.

personally, a crook is a crook but I am so used to seeing racial politics being played out hence can’t help myself to consider the political maneouvre planning have considered from a racial point of view.

Chan KC been indicted for misleading Mahathir – a careful step not to upset the grand old man who still have considerable influence?

Mahathir’s denials disguised as selective amnesia, in my opinion, relinquish his preception to a fair trial – from forgetting material events in Lingamgate RCI to 1987 chat with opposition leaders…just pile up the evidence against him, take over Putrajaya, reform the judiciary personnel & system and indict him according to due process of law

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 4:12 pm

How do we know that Chua will not be the next to be charged? not for corruption, but for performing ‘that thing.’

4. #4 by DAP man on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 4:17 pm

Both Ling and Chong said they have faith in the Malaysian Judiciary.
    What they meant was, they have faith in being acquitted by the kangaroo courts.

5. #5 by drngsc on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 4:30 pm

Sandiwara, Sandiwara.
    In fact, the rumour flying around, since Khir Toyo was charged, was that this is a cleansing process. These big fishes, will be charged ( whether MACC or the courts ) and be found innocent, so that they can surface again as angels.
    It is all a show, befitting of an Oscar.

6. #6 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 5:15 pm

bintang RTM, bintang RTM…100% guaranteed not guilty. they will be freed when they say “I dont remember. I dont remember. I dont remember”, 3 times. that’s how our justice work in bodohland ruled by umno goons, supported by MCA prostitutes and MIC p@ri@hs.

In chinese beliefs, the name says it all…Chua Soi Lek, Lau Tiong Lai, Chan Kong Choy, Ling Liong Sik…in hokkien it sounds like..

chua so le, lau tiong lai. chan kong choy!! luan luan sek…in english….

The snake slithers by and lies thru the middle. Chan says Choy!!! and take us round and round in circles on the PKFZ corruptions.

7. #7 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 5:55 pm

What a typical Bollywood movie. The civil servants get punished, but the real dealmakers get away with the goodies all stashed overseas.

What happened to Tiong ? What happened to Azim, the ex UMNO Treasurer ? What happened to Faisal, the UMNO Youth deputy CEO of Kuala Dimensi ? What happened to Faisal’s father in law, the local UMNO Chief ?

What is so difficult about doing forensics for this scam ? These guys got paid in full, and they must have transferred their funds outside of the country. To transfer such large amounts, they must have used banks….and the trail will not be difficult to track. All the talk about banking secrecy laws is just an excuse to do nothing about the big fishes.

Ling and Chan will not be found guilty. They simply know too much. RM 1 million bail for a cheating case involving RM 1.9 billion ? Wow…..such is the generosity of our legal system. If I were UMNO, I’d just ask Chan to retire to Taiwan and enjoy the goodies.

8. #8 by Loh on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 6:13 pm

///Chua himself said yesterday that “anyone who had committed an offence in the eyes of the Attorney-General should face the music” as “This shows that the Government is fair because it doesn’t just go after the small fish but also the big fish”!///

That is a total support for the attorney general and Chua Soi Lek has just praised the AG for performing his duties in a fair and just manner. Chua has just kiss Patel’s arse. Why has Chua to do that. Incidentally, if the AG is fair and just, why was the video tape actor not charged for indecent exposure?

In describing CKC a big fish Chua opines that as Minister, CKC would not be dealing with chicken feed corruption, like a couple of million such as the award of APs to small time politicians, but big amount involving billions with hundreds of million in kickback. So Chua believes that CKC was a big fish in terms of his involvement in corruption.

CKC was charged for deceiving AAB on three occasions at AAB’s office. The charge was AAB had been deceived because had AAB been given the stated information in the charge sheet AAB would not given his approval in awarding projects to Kuala Dimensi. From those, it would mean that AAB affixed his signature to approve the projects in the presence of CKC as soon as CKC submitted the proposal for approval. Thus AAB approved the three projects amounting to 2 billion ringgit in minutes, or hours. That was why AAB had no time to get feedback and related information regarding the project. So AAB was forced to sign the approval as if CKC had pointed a pistol at AAB’s head. The charge might be more convincing if CKC took hostage of AAB on three occasions and released him after AAB signed along the dotted lines.

Either the AG is joking with Malaysians that such a charge could stick, or he is trying to discredit AAB by showing that AAB could sign away contracts in billion ringgit without proper evaluation. If AAB gave his signature in minutes while CKC was sitting or standing in his office, AAB showed that he was only interested to get rid of CKC, and he has no interest in the consequence of his signature. In that case, AAB’s signature on all other contracts could be suspect, since CKC would not be the only exception. Why has the AG’s office found no other case to charge, such as in the purchase of military equipment?

9. #9 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 7:04 pm

Cheating the PM and Cabinet?
    You sound so kind and sarcastic, and I love it!

Shiok Guy

10. #10 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 8:02 pm

It is a simple strategy: UMNO has no more non Malays votes to lose. By charging MCA former president and deputy president, more Malay votes will gravitate toward UMNO. UMNO has given up courting non Malay votes.

11. #11 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 8:08 pm

We must have nincompoop PMs – both were cheated by equally stupid MCA president and deputy president. Come to think about it, PFKZ cost RM12 billion. I think both the PMs and the cabinet do not know 1 billion has how many zeros.

12. #12 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 10:14 pm

Aiyah..not need to argue la.AAB didn’t sleep enough to realise he penned down his signature on significant national interest scandal’s document.Ok?While mamak at the time of document presentation by his minister he ‘terlupa’ not to not sign simply without facts and figures going thru his mind.

13. #13 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 1 March 2011 - 11:57 pm

The Charges will freeze out!

14. #14 by monsterball on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 12:44 am

Arresting Chan Kong Choy….on the PKFZ RM14.5 billion ripped off…saying deceiving Dollah.
    I wonder who Ling Liong Sik was deceiving.
    Yes…Mahathir…Dollah and Najib prefered to be labelled as idiots and clowns right now…instead of masterminds in corruptions..to win votes.
    Mahathir even said Police have more power than him.
    And now…Najib is telling Middle East politicians about failed democratic or socialist governments…ignoring CORRUPTIONS and DICTATORS are what those Muslims got rid of.

15. #15 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 2:56 am

Tok tok tok chian, cho tai hei! Wayang lah, Oscars season, actors 1 by 1 appear n take a bow
    If Ling n Chan were found guilty, d entire Cabinet n BN politicians would also be guilty
    Where got enuf cells 2 lock them up? Follow China style lah, just execute them, a bullet each, clean n cheap, otherwise they would cost rakyat a bomb 2 feed them curry rice 4 a number of years

16. #16 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 7:18 am

Both Chong Kong Choy and Ling Liong Sik will be acquitted on all charges is a foregone conclusion.

The duo were “prosecuted” because of GE13. The government wants to show the rakyat that it is “serious” about corruption – serious in catching big fishes!

17. #17 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 9:43 am

chua so le, lau tiong lai. chan kong choy ling long sik

The snake slithers by
    Lies thru the middle
    Chan says Choy
    Circling round and round

The new taoist mantra to be chanted by the DAP faithful during the coming ceramahs for the 13GE……Amen, Amin and Ah Ming

18. #18 by Godfather on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 10:45 am

“We must have nincompoop PMs – both were cheated by equally stupid MCA president and deputy president. ” Limkamput

That’s why the cases will never come to trial. Can you imagine Sleepy Head falling asleep on the witness stand ? Can you imagine the smirk on Mamakthir’s face as he says “I don’t remember” ?

19. #19 by Loh on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 11:43 am

AG to AAB: would you have changed you mind if you had been given the information by Chan Kong Choy, which we consider you ought to know?

AAB: What information? I was asked to sign autograph all the time, on different government letter heads. What information you are talking about? You mean Chan Kong Choy not telling me information I needed? I can’t remember, but usually I told him don’t bother me with details, and just show me where I can put up my beautiful signature, with the pen given to me by my mother. You know I loves to sign letter. Evey time I used the pen my mother gave me, I think of her. So I told CKC not to bother telling me anything. What he knows is as good as I know. After all how can people expect the PM to think all the time. There are just too many things happening at the same time. Why do we employ ministers? They are supposed to do everything right. So whether he told me anything or not is not important. In fact I stopped him telling me detail every time he came for my signature.

20. #20 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 11:58 am

CKC: What? Me deceive the PM? No way, man. I just asked him for his autograph. What information you are talking about? You mean I was not giving the PM the information needed? How can, man. I can’t remember, but I think I told him I needed his autograph, and he quickly signed it. By the way, he looked annoyed when I woke him up from his afternoon nap. But then he was sleeping all the time, and waking him up was the only way to get the autograph signed.

What the hell are you talking about, the PKFZ? I can’t remember anything about the PKFZ. Go and ask Long Sick, he started it all. Just because I was Transport Minister doesn’t mean that I took the measely RM12.5 billion. Look, Mubarak took USD 70 billion and Gaddafi has even more. Go after me and stop pestering me. I am just a poor man trying to earn a living.

21. #21 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 1:54 pm

CSL does not have the moral standing to make any comments on the charges against Dr Ling or CKC. As the saying goes, “people who live in glass houses should not throw stones.”

As for the charges against CKC. I believed he was charged with cheating Tun Abdullah Badawi (TAB), not corruption. This raises the following questions:

1) Why would CKC want to cheat TAB for the benefit of Kuala Dimensi? Isn’t it obvious that this cheating case must be investigated further as to why CKC stuck his neck out for Kuala Dimensi? CKC could have not love YB Tiong of Kuala Dimensi that much?

2) To my layman’s view, cheating the PM is a far lesser offence compared to the possibility of corruption. Shouldn’t CKC be charged for the more serious offence as it is quite obvious from the charges made? And if that is the case, shouldn’t the givers also be charged?

2) Can TAB, when he was PM/FM, made unilateral decisions and grant approvals for billions of ringgit commitments with rakyat’s money without the process going through some due diligence vetting by the various agencies or ministries? Shouldn’t he check with his finance officers and advisors before he made the commitment? The rakyat’s tax money is not the PM/FM’s private kitty that he can spend as he likes.

This whole episode still stinks and cannot be whitewashed by charging Tun Ling and CKC. There is more than meets the eye.

22. #22 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 6:56 pm

Skrip ini sama dengan skrip AAB tangkap Eric Chia. Cuma pelakon lain aje. Penuntun kena tunggu sampai CKC dan LLS mati barulah tamatnya cerita. ( Sebuah filem Negara 1Malaysia dicipta party UNMOB )

23. #23 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 2 March 2011 - 10:44 pm

This is called chou tua hi.Good 1 lah though i did not understand and grasp the meaning of the stage performance during when i was in the same audience with my mum and family by the age of eight or nine.Unwilling participant though.Chou tua hi chou tua hi.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mw8xoNb7p7k