Lim Kit Siang

70 and looking forward to more democratic breakthroughs (3)

Many have asked whether I have plans to retire after 45 years of politics.

With the DAP founding chairman Dr. Chen Man Hin a hale and hearty 86, keeping vigilant daily scrutiny of political developments; the declaration by DAP Chairman Karpal Singh, who is eight months my senior, of unremitting commitment in the cause of justice and freedom despite his physical problems; and the “good wishes” of the doyen of Barisan Nasional politicians, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, 74, that I “continue to tread the rough and tumble of the Malaysian political road with even greater tenacity and thrust in the years ahead until we can all together ensured that no one in the country is allowed to create a situation of disaster of the type we have just seen in Tunisia and Egypt”, the least I could do was to pledge, as I did at my 70th birthday dinner at Hotel Equatorial Penang, that I will continue to contribute to party, people and the nation so long as I can be of use and contribution.

Three years ago in Feb 2008, I made a birthday wish that the DAP can succeed in winning the Penang State Government in the 2008 general election, which I had not made public at the time. This had come true.

My 70th birthday wish is that Malaysia will become a normal democratic country with the two coalition system fully institutionalized where change of political power would be regarded as a normal process and not once invoking threats and intimidations of national calamity like riots and unrest.

I was honoured by the presence of the “People’s Judge”, Datuk N. H. Chan of “Something is rotten in State of Denmark” fame, and his wife, Anne, especially as the restoration of a just rule of law and a truly independent judiciary must top the agenda of national reforms 54 years after Merdeka.

Others from the civil society pantheon who did me honour with their presence included former Bar Council presidents Yeo Yang Poh and Ambiga Sreenevasan, Aliran President P. Ramakrishnan, FOMCA President Marimuthu Nadason, Director Centre for Policy Initiatives (CPI) Dr. Lim Teck Ghee and stalwarts like Wong Chin Huat, Tommy Thomas and my old friend Dr. Goh Cheng Teik.

I thank Anwar Ibrahim, Mohd Sabu, Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, Syed Husin Ali among many others for their well wishes.

I must mention bloggers like Sakmonglol AK47 who were gracious in joining many in extending birthday greetings.

The Penang Hotel Equatorial reception was the occasion for the biggest gathering of my extended family – with brother Kit Hee and family, brother-in-law Ho Lai Chee and family, sister-in-law Yeo Keng Hong, nephews/nieces Bok Wu, Bok Sze, Bok Xin and family members from Batu Pahat, Petaling Jaya and China; Neo Kim Seng, Kim Thong, Kim Chuan, Poh Lai, Poh Choo, Poh Tuan, Poh Lay, Poh Lian and families; Dr. Lim Kok Hoo, Kok Seng, Kok Kuan, Lay Yong and Lay Cheng and families, etc.

Thanks most of all to my children Guan Eng, Hui Ming, Hui Ying and Guan Choon as well as Betty and Siew Suan for the idea of the 70th Birthday reception, and my wife, Neo Yok Tee, for sterling support down the decades despite the trials and tribulations.

Exit mobile version