Dear Kit — Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah

Breaking Views
Feb 19, 2011

FEB 19 — After a long journey in your political career, weathering the often rough and tumble of Malaysian politics, you somehow managed to survive and carve a popular name, an icon among your admirers and a ‘political bug’, so to speak, among your opponents.

So, you are now 70 years of age — not too young but not too old either — to go on treading the political journey.

You have consistently upheld and stood your ground on matters relating to the fundamental rights of all the rakyat, irrespective of race, to free and responsible speech, the rights to enjoy a just and fair distribution of the economic and social wealth of the nation, and to political, judicial and legal justice.

You have consistently and courageously spoken up against the corruption and the various misdeeds and defaults of the government and demanded actions, both in Parliament as well as outside it, despite the possible reprisals, the threats and even possible punitive actions that might be taken against you, which in fact you have suffered in the past.

But you have not kept your silence; you continue to grow bigger and speak even louder.

In the end, it seems to me you are the winner because, despite what your opponents say about you, as long as you know and believe what you stand for is good for the poeple and the country, you are on the right path.

Politicians, and especially those who have been given the mandate to ‘rule’ or ‘govern’ the country, must be honest, trustworthy, clean and efficient.
They must have PRINCIPLES and be consistent in their upholding and promotion of the principles for the good of the rakyat and the country and not be swayed or swerved by their personal interests and greed.

The rakyat look up to a Wakil Rakyat or to a government leader not because he or she is a Malay, a Chinese or an Indian, an Iban or a Kadazan; they look up to you because of your principles — principles that they can respect, trust and emulate.

On this auspicious day, may I quote Georges Pompidou who once said:

“A statesman is a politician who places himself at the service of the nation. A politician is a statesman who places the nation at his service”.

Let me now say “Selamat Menyambut Hari Jadi Yang ke-70”, in other words “Happy Birthday to You”.

Wishing you good fortune, good health and long life. May you continue to tread the rough and tumble of the Malaysian political road with even greater tenacity and thrust in the years ahead until we can all together ensure that no one in the country is allowed to create a situation of disaster of the type we have just seen in Tunisia and Egypt.

* This is Gua Musang MP Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah’s birthday greetings to Lim Kit Siang who turns 70 on February 20, 2011.

1. #1 by jimmykhoo on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 2:58 pm

Dear Kit n Ku Li….

our Malaysian politics have not progress that much since independence.still base on race and religious politics..political parties still tune to this demand and Malaysians will forever live in divided state..what happened in Tunisia and Egypt should make all Malaysians awake because here we are facing the same problems of Government like Tunisia and Egypt…when can we have a truly real democratic Malaysian way of politics building the strength from our diverse and differences in ethnic/cultures/religion/etc?
    the non violence style of revolution can create big impacts too..who will lead?
    http://www.aeinstein.org/organizations103a.html

2. #2 by tak tahan on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 3:40 pm

Mr Lim Kit Siang has been constantly championing for equal right and welfare of every Malaysian from his first day he stepped into political arena.An honour man full of determination and integrity aknowledged not only among opposition supporters but in a shy distant,no less also revered by the members of the ruling party.

3. #3 by Winston on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 3:42 pm

Uncle Lim, what better tribute on your birthday than this birthday message from none other than Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah!!

4. #4 by k1980 on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 3:47 pm

‘Twas the night of the 13E, and Jib and Moo had lost.
    Moo says to Jib, “I can’t sleep.”
    Jib replies, “I have no trouble. I sleep like a baby.”
    “How the hell do you do it?”
    Jib replies, “I get up every two hours and cry.”

5. #5 by limkamput on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 4:09 pm

Ku Li, you talked about statesmanship and serving the rakyat and the nation. But have you ever noticed that many political leaders in our country today are in no position to even openly condemn corruption and abuse of power. They talk about grandiose projects, transformation and development in general, but we could hardly hear them talking about corruption, incompetence, abuse of power and inefficiency that are now so endemic. I guess when they have plenty to hide, it is easier to talk on the positives rather than to highlight and condemn the negatives. Like they said in the scripture, it is always easier to be the light of the world than be the salt of the earth. When you concentrate in doing good, the bad guys would most probably tolerate you. But when you start to condemn the bad guys, they would probably kill you. I think this is the fundamental role played by Kit. He is in the position to condemn the evil because he has no skeleton to hide. I wonder how many politicians are there left in the country with such credential.

May I take this opportunity to wish Sdr Lim a very happy 70th birthday. May I also urge Ku Li to seriously considering leaving UMNO. I think UMNO has outlived its usefulness and it is beyond reform.

6. #6 by drngsc on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 5:22 pm

The woods are lonely dark and deep
    And I have promises to keep
    And miles to go before I sleep

Robert Frost

I wish you Happiness always, long live, good health and great Wealth.

Happy Birthday, Kit
    Happy birthday, Kit.

7. #7 by sotong on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 5:50 pm

We have jokers as ” leaders ” for far too long – from bad leadership, gross mismanagement to rampant corruption.

Imagine our country without you…..and the great leaders of your party!

The damage from decades of bad leadership could be irreversible with bumi the major victims.

Happy Birthday.

8. #8 by sotong on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 6:02 pm

….and Tengku, our country need you to speak from your heart!

9. #9 by monsterball on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 6:05 pm

The best birthday message I have ever read from one old politician to another old politician.
    This reminds me of the old days before Mahathir too over..where oppositions do greet each other in festive seasons.
    What an honour to the birthday boy from Tunku Razaleigh.
    HHH…AAAA..PPP…YYY BIRTHDAY LIM KIT SIANG.

10. #10 by dcasey on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 6:30 pm

Dear YB Lim Kit Siang, you have been and still is a rock solid beacon of light to this nation of ours and what better than an affirmation of this from an old timer like Tengku Razaleigh himself.

Happy Birthday.

11. #11 by monsterball on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 6:46 pm

He is Pisces in English horoscope….and a Snake according to Chinese horoscope.
    The Chinese horoscope was spoken by Buddha himself.
    The exact time …date and year he was born …whether day or night is more accurately foretold by soothsayers from India..for his destiny.
    Great palm readers can read the future and past accurately too.
    There is no need for all Malaysians to guess what Lim Kit Siang’s future is….by reading his horoscope.
    He has exposed himself like an open book..for all Malaysians to observe and see.
    Is he a liar…or a righteous politician?
    Leaving out personal likes and dislikes and politics.. like Tunku Razaleigh…is rare and good.
    Good not because he showered compliments upon Lim Kit Siang…but because what he spoke are all true.
    And for all Malaysian freedom fighters….Lim Kit Siang inspires all with his love for the country and people.
    He is no doubt a living legend for Malaysians as a man who fears no one…telling the truths for decades.
    I pray he has a long and healthy life to see the seeds he sowed bear more good fruits of happiness for him.
    Right now…he must be the happiest politician…being rewarded with his son as CM of Penang…voted in legally and with great strong majority. It is up to LGE to make his future stronger now.
    There is no doubt in my mind …what Lim Guan Eng is is due to his father being loved and respected by vast majority Malaysians.
    There will never be another Lim Kit Siang.
    May he live long…healthy and happy.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 7:05 pm

YB Kit told reporters during his birthday celebration in Penang last night that “a mature democracy will have a two-party system and a better democratic space for everyone.”

Malaysians who wish democracy for the country are forever indebted to him for speaking up fearlessly in advancement of this high cause – something that even his political opponents could grudingly respect though not openly admit.

13. #13 by gofortruth on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 7:24 pm

Thank you Uncle Kit we Malaysians are indeed in debted to you. Wishing you a happy birthday & all good health!

14. #14 by wanderer on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 7:46 pm

“Follow your heart desire without over stepping the line”

Yb LKS, “Happy Birthday and many happy returns of the day”

15. #15 by alikim on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 7:52 pm

Happy birthday and Good health, YB Kit.
    Malsysians need you to save the country from going bankrupt.

16. #16 by cemerlang on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 9:07 pm

Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.

17. #17 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 9:19 pm

Tengku, you have seen Malaysian politics just about as long as Kit.

You have been in government as well as in opposition.

You know BN then and you know BN now.

Your lamentations of BN as it stands today is common knowledge. You know as well as all malaysians know that you are as good as finished in BN becos of its exclusive politics and the patronage system.

Now you can still stand tall and be remembered in the annals of Malaysia if you do what is courageously RIGHT.

Do not cast your pearls before unworthy BN. Step out and join DAP; without any position. Just join them and be the MP for Gua Musang.

Take it from there and change Malaysia for the better. Save Malaysia.

I believe with your inspiration and leadership, Pakatan will still take over Putrajaya.

Ku Li,

“Only one life, twill soon be past;
    only what is done for the nation will last.”

God bless you and grant you the courage to do what is RIGHT in this testing hour.

18. #18 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 9:21 pm

Ku Li, of course, if I were Kit, I would still support you for PM’ship when PR marches to Putrajaya.

19. #19 by Loh on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 9:45 pm

limkamput :

May I take this opportunity to wish Sdr Lim a very happy 70th birthday. May I also urge Ku Li to seriously considering leaving UMNO. I think UMNO has outlived its usefulness and it is beyond reform.

When Pakatan Rakyat takes over Putra Jaya, we will still need opposition parties to form the two-party system. We should have KuLi be the leader there than Muhyiddin grabbing power from Najib.

20. #20 by Godfather on Sunday, 20 February 2011 - 10:11 pm

1 Malaysian. Happy Birthday, Kit.

21. #21 by hang tuah on Monday, 21 February 2011 - 12:01 am

kit, kuli said it well, u r the “SYMBOL OF JUSTICE”. without your struggle the country already gone to the dogs.

u will be remembered as a man with justice and dignity.

22. #22 by AhPek on Monday, 21 February 2011 - 2:49 am

Kudos to YB Kit.Even a guy from the other side and a former finance minister at that has to admiringly pay such a tribute to you for your unflinching stand against corruption
    and government mismanagement without fear of reprisals,threats or punitive
    punishment that might be taken against you.You have never been cowed by the likes of people like Mamak who has a habit of using ISA only to put all the blame now that to the police.This may perhaps be his attempt before he kicks the bucket to quickly wipe his slate clean so that future historians may write glowingly about that fair man who not only has treated every race fairly and well but is also a man who has not use the dragonian law although it is there at his disposal!
    TQ Kit for tiredlessly and relentless fight for a better Malaysia for everyone,and to many of us here you have been a great hero.

23. #23 by boh-liao on Monday, 21 February 2011 - 2:54 am

What else can TRH say? He who hopped here, hopped there n lost his principles n pride

24. #24 by Taxidriver on Monday, 21 February 2011 - 6:53 am

TRH should take note of views from limkamput#5 and ENDANGERED HORNBILL#17.

It’s time TRH made amends. HE dashed the hopes of millions of Malaysians when he returned to the fold of UNMOB.He fought to revive the Spirit Of ’46 ( Semangat 46 ) which is now destroyed, dead and buried. The present UNMO Baru is Mamak’s party.

Has TRH forgotten the ‘murdered’ UNMO and all that it stood for?

25. #25 by burn on Monday, 21 February 2011 - 8:29 am

happy belated birthday, yb!

26. #26 by Ray on Monday, 21 February 2011 - 10:45 am

Some people loves the country and hv wisdom , positive sound mind like YB LKS who speak ,stand up for the wellness of his national interests ,democratic values and justices..kudos to Kit !
    … but also some national leaders,men CREATED PRIDE ,CONFUSION,National Injustices CONSTITUTION ,WARS AND SmartTECHNOLOGY and inventions
    however GOD CREATED THE WHOLE UNIVERSE but ALL MEN ARE fair – EQUAL IN HIS CREATION FOR HIS ADMINISTRATION …… AND HE WILL REWARDS & exalt us ACCORDING TO our human HUMBLENESS MEEKNESS AND PURE CONSCIENCE,NO GREED CORRUPTIONS KILLINGS HATREDNESS TEMPTATIONS HARMS OF OTHERS NEIGHBOUR EVEN YR ENEMIES( WHICH BOUND TO HAVE DUE TO HUMAN PRIDE AND PREJUDICES )
    IN MY CONCLUSION

27. #27 by dagen on Monday, 21 February 2011 - 1:47 pm

The spirit that umno of today somehow cannot reconcile with. Two fellow malaysians can belong to opposing camps in politics and still treat each other with respect and dignity. There are leaders and there are also scums in every society. For the moment, the country somehow and definitely unfornately has fallen into the hands of the latter. But not for long. As scums they cannot trive for very long.