Indians

‘Beng Hock and Interlok will not derail BN’s target’

January 22, 2011

by Regina Lee Malaysiakini Jan 22, 11

Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin is unfazed by the opposition’s attempts to raise the issues of Teoh Beng Hock’s death and the controversial textbook ‘Interlok’ at the Jan 30 by-election in Tenang.

Muhyiddin said he is confident that it will not dent the BN’s efforts to regain the 5,000-vote majority it had at the 2004 general election.

The BN’s by-election commander-in-chief said the opposition would be hard pressed in finding real issues during the contest, and would thus resort to spreading lies.

“There are not many issues in Tenang. The land demands by the second generation of Felda settlers is being considered by the government,” said Muhyiddin during a press conference after this morning’s nominations.

“In any by-election, there will always be new issues repeatedly played up by the opposition. They will look for one or create one that includes lies and slander.

“Although I don’t think it will effect us but we cannot keep quiet. If they make false statements, we will have to explain ourselves, lest the voters believe them,” he said when asked about Teoh Beng Hock and the novel ‘Interlok’.

‘Johor is an Umno fortress’

Muhyiddin did not let up on his earlier onslaught against PAS and continue to take a swipe at the opposition party’s ambition to set up an Islamic state.

“Ever since way back, PAS has refused to amend their party constitution on the Islamic state. The issue is very much still on their minds,” he said.

At the same time, Muhyiddin said that he does not want to underestimate Pakatan Rakyat and PAS in the upcoming by-election.

“Johor BN is one of the strongest and most powerful in Malaysia. Indeed, Johor is an Umno fortress. But having said that, we should not underestimate PAS because this is an Umno area.

“We cannot take this lightly. I want all the BN leaders to see this as a big challenge and I want to see that the transformation programmes by the party president is accepted here.

“We cannot be ‘cincai’ (be nonchalant) in our campaigning as we aim to get the highest majority possible,” he said.

5,000 majority target within reach

Muhyiddin reiterated his target of a 5,000-vote majority in favour of BN from this Sunday’s by-election.

Adding that the target was not some lofty figure plucked from the sky, he said that voter sentiment is quite different compared to the 2008 general elections.

“The last time (in the 2004 general elections), we won a majority of more than 5,000. So it is a challenge for us to achieve a very specific target. This will be the key performance indicator for the party members in the area,” he said, adding that the tide is turning against the 2008 ‘political tsunami’.

“There are some indication to that effect. Every time there is a by-election, we see a remarkable improvement in sentiment among the voters,” he said.

BN won with a majority of 5,517 votes in the 2004 general elections but that majority was slashed four years later to 2,492.

“Since 2008, there is a renewed confidence that BN is not finished and that the 1Malaysia concept is alive and accepted,” Muhyiddin said.

When asked if he was tired of by-elections, with Tenang being the 14th since the 2008 general elections, he said:

“No, I’m not tired of by-elections. I’m energised in fact, although I don’t like to face them one after another. But it’s something we don’t expect. In a way, it’s a blessing from God,” he quipped.

The eight-day campaign for the Tenang by-election in northern Johor today kicked off after the nominations were completed this morning.

PAS candidate Normala Sudirman, 38, is squaring off against Umno’s Mohd Azahar Ibrahim, 39, in a straight fight.