Former Deputy Bank Negara Governor Lin See Yan’s personal testimony that claims of GTP/NKRA success in reducing crime do not translate to Malaysians feeling more safe from becoming victims of crime

In Parliament, DAP and Pakatan Rakyat MPs had posed the question to the Home Minister and the Deputy Home Minister whether Malaysians feel more safe from crime and the fear of crime despite government and police claims of success of the Government Transformation Programme (GTP) in delivering results for the National Key Results Area (NKRA) target to reduce crime – to achieve at least a 5% reduction in overall reported index crime every year for the next three years and for street crimes, a 20% reduction by December 2010.

A very eloquent answer was given yesterday by former Deputy Bank Governor Governor, Tan Sri Dr. Lin See Yan, in his article “The mystique of national transformation” arguing that “The challenge is to convince stakeholders to buy in and take ownership of the array of programmes” in the StarBizWeek Year Starter issue with the theme “In Transformation”.

This is what Dr. Lin wrote:

Important how the public ‘feels’

The Prime Minister declared that success of the ambitious blueprint hinges on its effective implementation: “Execution needs to be flawless.” As I see it, discernable progress in four areas of priority concern to the rakyat and investors needs to come early enough to build confidence. They are corruption, crime, education and private enterprise.

It is not enough to show that in the first nine months of 2010, crime fell by 16% (but still have 132,355 unresolved reported cases) and street crimes fell 38% (18,299 unresolved reported cases) or that 648 people were arrested for corruption.

The public and investors (with ears on the ground) have to “feel” any improvement. Raw and biased statistics cannot tell the real story, and don’t impress. At this time, it would appear the rakyat and investors don’t “feel” any material improvement in the crime and corruption situation. That matters. But they don’t rush to judgement. What they want to “feel” is for today to be better than yesterday, and tomorrow to be better than today; and come tomorrow, their expectations are fulfilled.

Incidents from personal experience reinforce this. Damansara Heights (DH) is rated as a top spot to work and live in greater KL. I stay there and my office is in nearby busy Plaza Damansara. Last week my car was parked three doors away from my office, and within 10 minutes (no joke) the car was gone stolen (sophisticated anti-theft gadgets didn’t help).

Although a police pondok is nearby, I still had to go to report at a police station far away and took altogether three hours just to get a police statement taken. Many more steps still have to be made before I can file an insurance claim. That’s another story. Because my car was a popular brand, we were told that four such cars were stolen in DH in recent days.

Not so long ago, my associated office in DH was broken into and computers were stolen. When friends and neighbours learnt of my predicament, I had an earful of equally unfortunate incidents nearby, including muggings, holdups and handbag snatching. The point is simple: crime remains a problem of serious concern, even in the most liveable area in KL. People and investors just don’t “feel” safe whatever the data may show.

What Dr. Lin wrote is personal testimony by the former Bank Negara Deputy Governor that claims of GTP/NKRA success in reducing crime does not translate to Malaysians feeling more safe from becoming victims of crime.

What Dr. Lin wrote reflects the feelings of the people in the street and validates the contention of Pakatan Rakyat MPs in Parliament – that Malaysians do not have an improved sense of safety, personal or property, or a reduced fear of becoming a victim of crime despite the government and police claims of success in GTP and NKRA to reduce crime.

This will not only have a serious impact on Malaysia’s international competitiveness, discouraging FDIs and tourists, but will also cast doubts on the credibility of government claims of success of its other GTP and NKRA programmes, whether fighting corruption, enhancing education or reducing poverty.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 10:18 am

NR n cabinet members r well guarded (paid 4 by us rakyat) at work, home, n play
    Of cos lah, what me worry? Crime? What crime?
    Rape, where got lah? Cars stolen, got meh?
    NR n cabinet members, happy go lucky mah!

2. #2 by sotong on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 10:23 am

Criminals know there is a fair chance they could get away with it.

This is one of the many reasons people are considering leaving the country for their safety and piece of mind.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 10:34 am

As expected, MCA kakis will raise coconuts n botols n yell “Ya, ya” n “Betul” 2 NR n HH’s declaration dat Malaysians feel more safe fr crime
    View lah http://www.kwongwah.com.my/news/2011/01/02/24.html
    Safe fr crime indeed!

4. #4 by k1980 on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 10:38 am

Statistics can lie! For example,

2009– 20 murders and 80 snatch thefts = 100 cases
    2010– 50 murders and 30 snatch thefts = 80 cases

Don’t try and fool people that the crime rate has gone down by 20/100 x 100% = 20% !

5. #5 by k1980 on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 10:54 am

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 11:20 am

///When friends and neighbours learnt of my predicament, I had an earful of equally unfortunate incidents nearby, including muggings, holdups and handbag snatching. The point is simple: crime remains a problem of serious concern, even in the most liveable area in KL./// Deputy Bank Governor Governor, Tan Sri Dr. Lin See Yin.

Interestingly he and many talk about muggings, holdups and handbag snatching, car jacking, robberies without mention of white collar crimes such as:-

• Corrupt Politicians’ stealing from the public purse;

• White collar crimes like Insider Trading?

• Or Corporate fraud, embezzlement, computer crime, medical crime, identity theft etc

• Complicity of authorities in covering up and pushing under the carpets criminal behaviour of powerful political and corporate figures???

7. #7 by yhsiew on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 11:26 am

I wonder how much Tan Sri was paid to write that article.

I was assaulted by a group of five Malay youngsters (aged around 24) in November 2010, while walking along the little lane beside the Wangsa Maju LRT station at 10.00pm on a Saturday night. The guys were sitting at the top of the staircase when they saw me passing by. They then pounced on me from the top of the staircase, kicked in my face and knocked my head against the roadside iron railing. A big lump appeared on my head and fortunately, there was no internal bleeding in the brain. They wanted to snatch the computer-bag that I was carrying. I quickly let go the bag as there was no computer, IC and money in it. They took my bag and ran away. As a result, I was able to save my life.

I have always reminded myself not to carry computer bags in public. Somehow on that day, I forgot to take such precaution in a rush to meet somebody.

After the above incident, I was fully convinced that Malaysia is an unsafe country as far as public safety is concerned.

Yesterday evening’s SinChew reported that burglars intruded into an MCA member’s house and tied up his children. This is the kind of public security we have in this country!

8. #8 by tak tahan on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 12:09 pm

When one unlucky non-malay had an accident with malay in malay residential area,bunch of them will appear to overpower the unlucky non.Sadly this uncivilised incidents still happening in bolehland.There were two cases during new year eve in my hometown as i knew.First,a group of mat rempits were racing and scratched a car but still had the courage to chase the car.Another one,the typical case(everyone growns up here aware) in malay residential area;a small group of malays bashed up the non.Most of these incidents happening due to ‘no thanks to the ignorant and irresponsible police forces’.There are many more to add and these two cases which i mentioned only happen in bolehland.Someone correct me if i’m wrong.

9. #9 by the reds on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 12:31 pm

Only those with bodyguards will feel safe in Malaysia! People like me or like you definitely will not feel safe.

10. #10 by k1980 on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 1:05 pm

#7 by yhsiew

pssst, get yourself another computer bag. This time fill it up with 50 kg of TNT, and ask our local expert Nordin Top to rig it so that the whole thing will go off when opened. Walk to the Wangsa Maju LRT station again and with luck, those monkeys would snatch the bag again. Then walk to the nearest kopi tiam and celebrate when you hear the big bang.

11. #11 by dagen on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 1:50 pm

It is all a matter of perception (feel). So eat some rambutans dr Lin and you will surely feel safe. Ask cintanegqara.

12. #12 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 3:39 pm

Feel? I don’t need to feel. I know the statistics given by the govt are just damn lies. As they say there are lies and than there is statistics..

13. #13 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 3:50 pm

Jeffrey, you beat me to it, I came in too late to put those stuff you so pointedly mentioned. We have never tried to tackle our problems at their source or in the holistic way. We are forever only trying to tackle the symptoms but not the cause. High crime rates are manifestations of something very fundamentally wrong with the society we live in. Let me postulate a few: people find earning a living difficult; people think crimes pay, people think police are essentially useless in solving crimes; there are too many “transient” people in this country today (you know, people without proper addresses, you can’t really trace them) and people who know they will be protected no matter how heinous the crime they committed. Seriously, if the police force needs Idris Jala and companies to remind them street crimes and other crimes are no longer acceptable, that police force is as good as useless. Who would have known the crime rates and the types of crimes better than police? Who would have known better than the police on how to tackle crime problems in the country? By the time Idris knows about it, I think the problem would have become insurmountable. The whole purpose of setting up the police force is to control and solve crime. Why do you need NKRA and GTP to tell them to do their job? It is oxymoron to me. Go ahead formulate another 10 benchmarks and key result areas for the police force; it will not make an iota of difference to the crime situation in the country. To bring the crime under control, we have ask ourselves whether or not we have a professional, efficient, competent and corruption free police force.

14. #14 by DAP man on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 4:10 pm

Just ask ANY friend of yours and he will tell you crime stories experienced by him/her or friends/relatives.
    The only people who get robbed are those in BN.

As for Dr Lin, please note that there many others who have lost their cars. Nothing surprising since in Bolehland even jet engines get stolen.

As far as I am concerned, I will not be surprised if the car theft syndicate involved people in high places.

Dr Lin, the police will NEVER find your car.

15. #15 by Loh on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 5:00 pm

///It is not enough to show that in the first nine months of 2010, crime fell by 16% (but still have 132,355 unresolved reported cases) and street crimes fell 38% (18,299 unresolved reported cases) or that 648 people were arrested for corruption.///-LSY

The number of reported cases is just a fraction of what had taken place. Could the reduction of reported cases in 2010 be due to (1) the police made it difficult for making reports that caused some reduction, and the people are convinced that the police are simply useless that the chose not to report.

A senile minister was accused of raping his maid. This is not in the police report, just like the immigration record of Atlantuja went missing. BN government lies with statistics. Now the source of information is also manipulated.

The number of arrest for corruption at 648 persons would have made this country the cleanest in the world. BN should claim that corruption hardly takes place in Malaysia based on the number of arrest just like the talk about reduction in crime rate.

16. #16 by dagen on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 5:34 pm

Year in year out we read news proclaiming that yet another car theft ring was busted. Ironically, the incidents of car theft do not seem to drop at all.

The root of all problems in this country is umno (mic, mca & gerakan) and the 50 yrs it controlled the country. I believe that a lot of criminals (esp the big organised ones) actually hv political connections. Since umno can get away with everything, criminals who are policitally connected too can get away without problems. Not only that. In line with umno’s ever growing needs/greed, criminals too expand their illegal enterprises / operations. Try taking an apple out of tesco without paying. We would be too nervous to do it. Unless driven by desperation or are sufficiently confident that the consequences of being caught can be overcame by political means, we would not undertake such acts.

Jib Jib Boleh for Jib has tower power.

17. #17 by drngsc on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 5:39 pm

Of course Tan Sri Lin is correct. GTP, NKRA, NETP, NEM, NKPI,………… all slogan only, so that Najib can live in a fantasy world. The spin doctors spin, he consoles himself. The PM is no longer in touch with the people. We need to change to remind him and all his cronies that we live in a real world, and NO, neither Klang Valley, nor Malaysia is safer. It is obviously getting more dangerous, heading towards a failed state, with each man for himself. Maybe we should call this SSI – self survival index. This seems going up rapidly.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 6:07 pm

///What Dr. Lin wrote is personal testimony by the former Bank Negara Deputy Governor that claims of GTP/NKRA success in reducing crime does not translate to Malaysians feeling more safe from becoming victims of crime./// – YB Kit.

I do not doubt at all the truth of what Kit or Lin see Yan said. The rising phenomenon of self help amongst residents of housing estates to appoint, at their own cost, patrolling guards, the launching of ‘Gated and Guarded Community’ housing projects by developers, the brisk sale of security alarms etc testify to the pervasive feeling amongst Malaysians of being unsafe against rising crime.

I posted what I did in #6 for a reason. It was not to intentionally deviate and distract from muggings, holdups, handbag snatching, car jacking and house-braking. (Their causes – socio-economic – go far beyond just police’s incompetence or manpower shortage, though the latter is an important factor).

These are however the more “visible” traditional crimes. The offenders are mainly drawn from the below average working class or poor local Malaysians or foreigners feeling they need to commit these crimes to eke out an income or otherwise lacking guidance or influenced by bad peer pressure.
    I mentioned in #6 other aspects of white collar crime not measured by GTP/NKRA to highlight the fact that (in part) much of the crime wave stems from negative attitudes and values prevailing here, including those relating to lack of a sense of honour or lack of bother for fairness & equity for all or a penchant for unfair gain and advantage over others.

It is seen everywhere from implementation of NEP to all kind of religious bigotry manifesting itself. The elites exploit these to their own benefit. They commit the crime of political corruption.

Their cronies commit white collar crimes (eg Insider Trading, corporate fraud, embezzlement, computer crime, medical crime, identity). These aspects are not highlighted. GTP/NKRA success or lack thereof is not measured against these. Largely such crimes are not so visible. The ordinary Malaysians are not too aware of them.

So the elites – and by these expression I refer to those powerful by way of having political/economic power, influence, connections, financial clout, whether in politics or in business – leverage maximum advantage, more often with impunity, escaping accountability/punishment or at best let off by a slap on the wrist!

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 6:11 pm

Sure, occasionally a member of elite is exposed and held to account when political patronage & protection is for some reason withdrawn but it’s more an exception than a rule.

By a large it is however not the case. It overlaps from white collar crimes to what Kramer and Michalowski (1990) called state-corporate crime ie crimes that result from public-private partnership and inherent distorted “incestuous” relations of the state/politicians and the policies and practices of corporations, whether government related or commercial, and their officers based on “I scratch your back and you mine” we protect each other quid pro quo and let the rest be suckers”.

Here it is also convenient that the security enforcement agencies help form an unbreakable link in a self-protective chain to protect the elites as well as themselves (in shooting and custodial deaths). So whether its a corruption or a white collar crime of embezzling or a blue collar crime like rape or by powerful politician or someone in authority including a cadet patrol policeman of a powerless, the self-protective chain protects by and large all.

Such is our unhappy state of social equity (not to mention a host of other racial & other inequalities) that even crimes are subject to class divisions – those white collar & state corporate committed by elites & their henchmen are shielded whilst blue collar crimes by the poor & lower economic strata are visible & highlighted subject to GTP/NKRA.

But how does one expect the masses of the poorer and less educated be more law abiding when their betters, the more educated powerful and influential (including the Tan Sri’s and Datuks) – the supposedly role models they look up to – care so little for the sense of honour, fairness & equity for those ignorant lesser educated and weak and a penchant to exploit them instead for unfair gain and advantage? They’re such bad role models.

If the leaders of society are like that, can the people, their followers, learn better attitudes and conduct themselves better???
    Here’s one major problem when it comes to attitudes.

The politicians in power by their laws, security apparatus prosecutorial and enforcement and agencies define crimes and construct the rules whose transgression constitutes crime and what and when in each instance crime is tackled, investigated, prosecutd tried and punished! The state/government and people in power are the major player in this process.
    It does not help the situation when they define and set GTP/NKRA/KPIs for traditional visible blue collar crimes committed by the lower economic classes and the disenfranchised, whine and complain about these when they affected too closely themselves but conveniently neglect crimes committed by members within their own class.

That’s the limited purpose I first sought to point out in my earlier post.

20. #20 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 6:15 pm

Ha, ha, d number of car thefts, houses broken into, muggings, holdups, handbag snatchings, etc is DROPPING, of cos
    Y? Go 2 a polis station n make a report of 1 of d above cases, n U will know Y
    D recording polis officer will tell U: Biasa lah, banyak cases macam ini, your area each day a few cars stolen or a few houses broken into or a few residents kena mugged or handbags snatched, U still want 2 report ah?

21. #21 by yhsiew on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 6:22 pm

Folks, don’t take for granted that everything is safe with the presence of the police (esp. the happy-trigger ones).

Only last week a Chinese man, with black eyes, in his late 30s, made a police report on how he was being picked up by the police at a road block after he failed to renew his road-tax. The police asked the man for a bribe but he refused and even took picture of the police. The police then took the man into custody, punched and beat him up. They destroyed the memory card in his camera and also took away the RM13,000 that he had with him. The police claimed that they found a parang and some drugs in his car. The man vehemently denied he possessed these items claiming that they were planted by the police after he refused to hand over the RM13,000 to them.

The quality of our police force has deteriorated to such extent that many Malaysians, including myself, have completely lost trust in them.

22. #22 by digard on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 7:00 pm

I am amazed at how all the commentators until here argue about and around this serious problem of crime, and it looks like nobody has thought of what I am thinking.
    I for one wouldn’t bet a single Ringgit that the figures given have any truth in them. I for one bet, that these figures have simply been set arbitrarily, not considering any real figure of police reports at all. The arrogance of those in power: They are sure that they will get away with it easily. Others have gotten away with groping, raping and murdering.

23. #23 by asia on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 7:14 pm

It looks like there are two articles.

Article 153 – Special position to raise the status of them. It can be reviewed or cast a review from times to times by request or demand of Malaysians to reduce quota till phase out .

After May 13

Article 513 – Special position to raise the status of them. It will be sedition act to request a review of it.

Why the same number 153 or 513?

Maybe magic number 153 must be the same except rearranged it to be effective.

And maybe the number say something like 5 by 1 by 13 by 3.

The magic number be broken once the 513 completed.

Like.

Counting from after 513 PM, currently PM be no. fifth/5.

Promoting 1.(which mostly a lie)

Coming election is 13th.

New 3rd force forming.

exactly 5 by 1 by 13 by 3.

Now it is the good time the opposition should consider to promote Malaysians1 sound as Malaysian as 1/one may stand for equality as it maybe 1 to broken 513.

Malaysians1, this is what many Malaysians dreaming of.

Malaysians1.

24. #24 by DAP man on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 7:38 pm

Some time ago the police sent out fliers to all houses asking residents to inform them if they decide to leave their houses unattended when go on holidays.

None of the residents bothered with the flier . They said, ” If we inform them, they will come and ransack our houses.”

25. #25 by Godfather on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 7:48 pm

What are you folks grumbling about ? It is perfectly safe under my rambutan tree.

26. #26 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 9:26 pm

If the Gomen cannot realize that the man in the street must be the one feeling safe; then it is safe. The Ministers are in no position to judge the reality of the situation until they are no longer ones but then many of them would be decorated with Dato Sri and Tan Sri; hence the smart crooked police will know what to avoid.
    yes we heard it all, even from police friends who were told not to uproot the durian tree so long that you can get to eat the durian! If such things are taught at the academy; what else do you expect? I certainly do not want to blame the police at any level; the Political Masters must be held accountable for all these. And politicians are ACCOUNTABLE to us, the Raayat! Unless, we the Raayat are still so DUMB!!!

27. #27 by johnnypok on Monday, 3 January 2011 - 12:02 am

Trap them one at a time, like how you trap a mouse, and take your time to teach them a lesson. Then send them to rot in hell.