Ipoh born, Cambridge educated, Malaysia’s loss, Singapore’s gain

By Mariam Mokhtar

He did his parents proud, his teachers are equally elated, his birthplace is euphoric to claim he is one of them, and his country would have been ecstatic.

His name is Tan Zhongshan and he was born in Ipoh. He chose to read law at university because he said, “Being in the legal line gives you a chance to make changes that have a far-reaching effect.”

In June, Tan received a first–class honours in Bachelor of Arts (Law) at Queen’s College, Cambridge, one of the world’s topmost universities. Cambridge, England’s second oldest university, usually contends with Oxford for first place in the UK university league tables.

Tan excelled as the top student in his final-year law examinations, but he also won the “Slaughter and May” prize, awarded by the Law Faculty for the student with the best overall performance.

In addition, he managed to bag the Norton Rose Prize for Commercial Law, the Clifford Chance Prize for European Union Law and the Herbert Smith Prize for Conflict of Laws.

Tan distinguished himself and was a source of help to his fellow students, according to his tutor and the dean of Queen’s college, Dr. Martin Dixon.

Dr. Dixon said, ““He is probably the best Malaysian student I have seen in the last 10 years. He is the most able, dedicated and one of the most likeable students I have taught in more than 20 years at Cambridge. He works really hard, has great insight and intuition. He is a problem-solver, listens well and learns.”

However, the 23-year-old Tan shrugged off his accomplishments which he said was due to “consistent work and a detailed understanding of the subjects.”

Tan, who plays classical guitar, was modest about his success, “It was a pleasant surprise as it is hard to predict the end results.”

Sadly, this brilliant, young Malaysian will not be working in Malaysia.

Tan, who has been in Singapore since August, expects to complete his Bar examinations by the end of 2011 and said, “I will also join the Singapore Legal Service in January”.

After completing his A-levels at the Temasek Junior College, the Singapore Ministry of Education awarded him an Asean scholarship.

Tan will not be the first nor last Malaysian who we let slip through our fingers.

It makes many ordinary Malaysians quietly fill with rage that the policies of our government reward the mediocre or the ‘can-do’ types and ignore the best and the brightest. When will this madness end?

Our judiciary was one of the best in the region, but today, it is not fit for purpose.

Sadly, we have clowns and fools to dictate how our courts are run. The best comedy act was played out recently in the Teoh Beng Hock trial when Thai pathologist Pornthip Rojanasunand was cross-examined by presumably the best of the attorney general’s bunch of merry-men.

If that is how Malaysian lawmakers prefer to project their image to the world, then they really need their heads examined.

We are haemorrhaging our best talent to countries that receive them with open arms. Record numbers of Malaysians are leaving – doctors, surgeons, nurses, lawyers, accountants, lecturers, engineers, quantity surveyors. We are experiencing the biggest exodus in our 53-year history.

It is estimated that there are over 1 million Malaysians living and working abroad, many of whom are highly qualified personnel.

If the government thinks that it is only the non-Malays who are leaving then they are wrong. If Malays are also leaving in large numbers then it should be obvious (which it is presumably to the ordinary man in the street but not to our government) that preferential treatment for Malays is not a major pull nor conducive to the normal thinking person.

What other countries do is to offer Malaysians opportunities – something which is not available, to the majority of Malaysians, of whichever racial origin. Our government fails to realise that people need to feel appreciated and thrive in conditions which stimulate personal development.

Government interference in the things that affect the personal lives of its citizens is what has kept many overseas Malaysians away. At the end of the day, most people value the things that have to do with their quality of life (not just for themselves but especially for their families), the laws, bureaucracy and tax.

Apart from having the best brains, those who left are probably the more assertive ones, the highly ambitious people who would have made good mentors, able and strong leaders. Their absence from our system only weakens us, as a nation.

Will these people return if the ISA is around? No. These people would probably find living in Malaysia under such conditions, like treading on eggshells.

How about corruption, nepotism, cronyism, lack of transparency, limited civil service and educational opportunities, questionable performance-based promotion, lack of freedom of worship, expression and speech, unfair preferential housing, fear for their personal safety and lack of open tenders for government contracts?

These are some of the things that are due for immediate review, but only if Najib is serious about reversing the brain-drain and only if he wants to improve Malaysia’s economy and reputation.

At a time when the country needs to tighten its belt and take effective measures to build a quality nation based on its human capital, Najib seems to build pointless monuments in mega-projects. Why not channel the funds and invest in its best resource – its people?

Malaysia is now paying the price for its crippling policies which our government feels unable, incapable or fearful of changing.

Najib recently warned us about the dangers of not embracing change. He is right. And we are all for it.

Forget about directing Talent Corporation to search for these ‘overseas’ Malaysians. If Najib refuses to make the all-important changes in the country, they will not be swayed.

So when will he legislate for change?

And one last thing: We congratulate Ipoh-born Tan Zhongshan on his outstanding achievements and wish him a bright future.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 12:30 pm

//Sadly, this brilliant, young Malaysian will not be working in Malaysia.//

And he will not be allowed to work in Malaysia until and unless he passes his CLP exam, which local law grads need not take.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 12:40 pm

Back in 1M’sia, TZS has also 2 listen 2 BTN’s crap n insults, as well as 2 intern with Lazak-like self-strangling loyar, all 4 a pittance in utter humiliating conditions

3. #3 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 1:07 pm

Najis and UMNO will turn back and say “This is no loss to Malaysia!”. After all, this guy is not a MALAY but just another pendatang!!!!

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 1:35 pm

Do someone really have to point out that it was Razak, Najib’s own father that told LKY that the likes of Tan is ‘good riddance’???? You expect Najib to do anything about it?

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 1:39 pm

With both SAPP and PKR contesting against BN in Batu Sapi, that seat is as good as gone. Why can’t SAPP and PKR work out a compromise deal, such as rotating that seat between the 2 of them? Worse comes to worse, their 2 leaders should “1-2-som” so that the winner can represent both parties to take on BN

6. #6 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:02 pm

How many best talents did we loss to West Malaysia? Many and too many. Yet we don’t cry around. We are too proud to be supplying our best people to Malaya.

Malaya should have the same mentality of being proud by supplying the best people for the benefit of the rest of the world. We should not be narrow minded. There is no boundary between different nations. One day, Pakatan will be for the world and not just for boleh land.

7. #7 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:05 pm

Singapore must be laughing all the way to alaska. Well, if not for this tiny red-dot, Zhongsan could be just an office boy or dvd seller in his own country.

for the sake of this country, the evil regime must be voted out at any price. we had too many monkeys in the system.

Tan ZS could be in the future, fight and win for singapore in another island or territorial disputes. If our creme de la creme lawyer is like the one we had in MACC, then we can say sayonara.

Probably the best they can do is raise their keris and shout ketuanan on their side of the causeway lead by froggie ali.

8. #8 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:07 pm

/// Cambridge, England’s second oldest university, usually contends with Oxford for first place in the UK university league tables. ///

And usually beats Oxford for the first place. (Disclosure – I am biased towards Cantab.)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QS_World_University_Rankings

http://www.university-list.net/rank.htm

http://www.webometrics.info/top12000.asp

http://www.topuniversities.com/university-rankings/world-university-rankings/2009/results

9. #9 by Fatty Doc on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:11 pm

Of coz Bolehland wouldn’t want him here! otherwise, he would solve the Teoh Beng Hock and Altantuya mysteries in no time; and the true culprits would have to face the music! Therefore, it is better off he disappears from here, so that injustice can continue be served!

10. #10 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:11 pm

What seems to be the problem?, No one I asking him to leave…It’s his personal choice…As for me…I will always be patriotic for my country…

11. #11 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:21 pm

I will always be patriotic for my country…//

i would too, if i can sit under the shade provided by the rambutan tree and expecting a free meal to be served. any monkey would be more patriotic than you. and who would leave while having this rambutan tree?

• #12 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 22 October 2010 - 9:08 am

Well cintanegara only needs the rambutan tree or maybe later a durian tree and basedon that he will avhieve 2020 vision of us$15 k income. By the way Zimbabwe allows it people to handle billion dollars notes, and that would be his dream of 2020!!

12. #13 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:27 pm

We don’t need people like Tan Zhong Shan.

If a Third Class law graduate from a local U and a third rate (maybe fourth rate) lawyer can become Attorney General, why do we need anyone smarter?

And if a Diploma in Law holder from a police training center in Kuala Kubu Baru can become IGP, why do we need anybody better educated or better?

The benchmark has been set.

We are 1Malaysia and we are happy with our ‘standards’.

So all you smarties out there, no jobs for you here. You don’t meet our ‘standards’. Go away.

13. #14 by k1980 on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:36 pm

//under the shade provided by the rambutan tree and expecting a free meal to be served//

Ahoy there, matey. He is not expecting a free meal to be served. He is expecting 3 free meals a day for the rest of his life to be served.

Continuation #5
    Anwar should watch the movie “Red Cliff” to see for himself how the kingdoms of Xu and Wu combine their resources to defeat the mighty Wei. Or else he is going to receive yet another black eye courtesy of umno while languishing in the dungeons as saifool laughs all the way to the bank.

14. #15 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 2:52 pm

Malaysia Bodoh

Singapore Boleh

15. #16 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 3:05 pm

No 13 – the most disgusting statement ever…

• #17 by ChinNA on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 7:53 pm

Cintanegara, is that really disgusting?
      If that is the truth, then accept it. If not, ignore it.

There is nothing disgusting or emotional about it.

Fact, SGP per-capita GDP is higher.
      Fact, you earn more in SGP.
      Fact, crime is lower in SGP.
      Fact, productivity is higher.
      Fact, FDI is higher.
      Fact, purchasing power is higher.

Fact, some just refuses to acknowledge the facts.

16. #18 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 3:19 pm

“Being in the legal line gives you a chance to make changes that have a far-reaching effect.” – Zhongsan

Really? I thought it depends on individual.

17. #19 by DAP man on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 3:33 pm

“Tan will not be the first nor last Malaysian who we let slip through our fingers.” MM

“slip through the fingers” would mean inadvertently allowing something to escape.

In this case it was deliberate. UMNO didn’t care a damn if a non-Malay left the country. It will rejoice.
    It wants Malays who know how to carry cow-heads, make police reports, wield the keris and demand for discounts and perks without putting in any efforts.

18. #20 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 3:41 pm

At a time when the country needs to tighten its belt and take effective measures to build a quality nation based on its human capital, Najib seems to build pointless monuments in mega-projects. Why not channel the funds and invest in its best resource – its people? – Mariam Mokthar

Wait a minute! Think about this carefully. What do we mean when we said people are our best resources?

19. #21 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 3:57 pm

20. #22 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 4:09 pm

Please lah! What kind of democracy is this when you still blocked your reader’s posting?

21. #23 by Godfather on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 4:16 pm

Tan Zhong Shan’s decision to work in Singapore for the government there is a blessing for Bolehland. After all, the AG himself only had a general degree from Universiti Malaya, and his sidekick, the head of prosecution (who gained fame for trying to strangle himself) als had a general degree from UM. [For the uninitiated, local universities don’t really want to fail their students, and if they are really really bad in their exams, they will be awarded a general degree i.e. with no honours.]

Bolehland’s finest legal brains are honed on disputes regarding the rambutan tree and its fruits. Sometimes, the disputes also centred on who gets the shade from the rambutan tree. These are definitely not taught at Cambridge, so Tan Zhong Shan will be irrelevant here.

22. #24 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 5:06 pm

The best law firms in the world are waiting to hire him and it does not have to be in Singapore. He has the choice of working in an environment where he knows he can contributes the best. He will be a blessing if he fights for the good in Malaysia. But he will have to withstand the jealousy of many.

23. #25 by monsterball on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 5:25 pm

The more brilliant Malaysians from other races…especially Malaysian Chinese leave Malaysia…..the more happy UMNO B is… for with racists ad half past sixes are what these crooks can con.

24. #26 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 5:47 pm

All these comments r irrelevant to UmnoBputras, 4 they r very happy a pendatang has decided 2 leave 1M’sia
    They hv enuf UmnoB talents 2 fill up d judiciary, bye2 lah, good riddance pendatang

25. #27 by Winston on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 6:48 pm

I think that when the PR is in Putrajaya, then the smartest and brightest may consider coming back.
    So, it’s our job to make this a reality!

26. #28 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 7:13 pm

PR to Putrajaya? How can you be so sure? Scared they will lose majority of their seats in the next GE…

27. #29 by ChinNA on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 7:49 pm

Is PR ready for Putrajaya?

28. #30 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 8:36 pm

We have such a stupid DPM cum Minister of Education, we have no hope for Malaysian education system in the foreseeable future!

Wouldn’t humour this silly DPM. Just waiting for GE to knock off all those BN statuettes in Parliament.

29. #31 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 8:43 pm

Is PR ready for Putrajaya? by #25
    YES!YES!YES!But we won’t have so many mega projects to occupy the rambutan tree’s spaces for we will also allow the ‘right’ to tanjung rambutan people esp.. like cinta..nep,ke tualanciau ect

30. #32 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 9:33 pm

Khairy Jamaluddin already said no such a thing as pendatang. Therefore UMNO has to take heed in this. No such a thing as pendatang. Malaysia is not exactly like England whereby if the Conservative loses, Labour can take over and vice versa. The reason being many Malaysians have depended on Barisan Nasional for too long. No matter how far Barisan Nasional has gone off track, somehow the confidence is still there. Unless many are willing to give you guys the benefit of the doubt. Many Malaysians would want you to straighten the country’s financial condition. That would be the first thing to do on the list. Form a shadow cabinet just in case it does happen. Who knows ?

31. #33 by raven77 on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 10:06 pm

It’s indeed a loss to this nation…BUT…hang on…

Tommy Koh, Singapores Ambassador at large also had First Class Honours from NUS and law degrees from Harvard and Cambridge…but couldnt make it in legal practice and ended up in the Singapore Cabinet….

In direct contrast our own Lim Kit Siang and Karpal Singh may not have had such glittering law academic credentials BUT…they are in the forefront in saving this nation…..

You need brains AND guts….let the boy blend in…and hopefully he becomes a Karpal or LKS one day……..

32. #34 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 10:49 pm

raven77 :
    It’s indeed a loss to this nation…BUT…hang on…
    Tommy Koh, Singapores Ambassador at large also had First Class Honours from NUS and law degrees from Harvard and Cambridge…but couldnt make it in legal practice and ended up in the Singapore Cabinet….

Sure or not? Tommy Koh in Singapore’s Cabinet? Since when?

33. #35 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 10:55 pm

Malaysia is not BODOH! Malaysia still BOLEH but MATI!

34. #36 by tuahpekkong on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 11:01 pm

Tan Zhong Shan is only one among the 300,000 Malaysians/former Malaysians who have decided to contribute to the well-being of Singapore. Among the eminent Malaysians/former Malaysians who now serve in Singapore include a Cabinet minister and several MPs. Their 1st , 2nd and present Chief Justices were all ex-Malaysians. KL and PJ folks should not be unfamiliar with Jalan Yong Shook Lin in Petaling Jaya. Well, the late Yong Shook Lin was the father of Singapore’s 2nd Chief Justice Yong Pung How. The top liver transplant surgeon in Singapore KC Tan was born in Selangor and one of their top architects who has just won an international acclaim was born in Ipoh and the list goes on and on.

The fact that we don’t really cherish talent is clearly shown by the reluctance of our Government to recognize the Unified Examination conducted by the Dong Jiao Zhong on behalf of the 60 independent Chinese High Schools throughout Malaysia. The Unified Examination Certificate (UEC) is recognized by many world renowned universities but are not recognized by public universities here due to the fact that the medium of instruction in these schools is Chinese and hence do not conform to our national education policy. Yet, we are able to admit thousands of foreigners into our public universities. Mind you, most of these students also sit for the SPM exam and around half manage to obtain credit in their BM paper. This year, the Government unprecedentedly awarded scholarships to the top 50 students in the Unified Examinations. Of the 50, over half chose to further their tertiary education in Singapore. The National University of Singapore, which ranks among the top 40 universities in the world, enrols about 60 to 70 of these students yearly yet third rate universities refuse to admit them. What a mockery!

35. #37 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 11:06 pm

“is PR ready for Putrajaya”?

If you remember Singapore was kicked out of Malaysia with a few days notice and the tiny dot was in dire straits but LKY and his team of tough leaders pulled through.
    PR has been able to lead 2 major states for 2 years now with good results even though Putrajaya has been interfering at every step.
    I believe PR can lead from Putrajaya but the first few months will be tough.
    There is no easy way to rescue Malaysia and the going will be tough.

36. #38 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 11:30 pm

LKY was no stupid leader. He had successfully turned Malaysia’s ill human resource management into an advantage for his country.

37. #39 by passerby on Wednesday, 20 October 2010 - 11:58 pm

In Boleh land, you don’t need to be the most brilliant lawyer, all you need is how to fix or manufacture your evidence or make your file or records disappeared. In the most difficult cases, you just use c4 or push your opponent from a high rise building and the apa nama moron can defend it was a suicide.

38. #40 by boh-liao on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 12:08 am

Racist MMK, NR, n Moo think aloud: C, no need 2 worry abt Cina kui n India kui 1, no need 2 give them scholarships 1, they r so much smarter than Melayu tuan n they can get scholarships fr other nations like Sg
    Furthermore, they no love 1M’sia 1 n sooner or later they migrate 2 other nations
    Dis is Y UmnoB must look after Malays 1, very fair mah
    If rakyat no like us UmnoB, vote us out lah, if only they can succeed
    Psssst, no way lah, we control everything including d EC n msm, hehehe…….

39. #41 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 4:00 am

Musing on what raven77 said: luckily Karpal Singh not poached by S’pore! Some of Malaysian best legal brains not poached by and indeed expelled by S’pore for their politics incompatible to PAP’s version! egs James/Dominic Puthucheary and many others.

We didn’t exactly lose Tommy Koh (one of lead S’pore counsels in Pedra Banca case) because Tommy is Singaporean.

Tommy, though ambassador at large not in cabinet because his ‘independent’ views not (at least in his early days) that palatable to SM LKY? We lost best “legal brain” Malaysian Tan Lee Meng though to S’pore.Tommy is not just best legal brain but (in my opinion) best overall intellect as an educated man (never achieved his PhD because he was tackling his wife (medical) at Harvard!
    And yes both Tommy & Lee Meng never made prominence in S’pore legal practice at all though latter is Judge, the fastest ever to reach the top of S’pore judicial heirarchy.

Life is complicated – so is “brain”.

And yes 1st class honours NUS or Harvard/Cambridge etc which can be said to be equal ( = ) to top legal scholastic brain is generally also NOT equal (=) to being top lawyer whether in terms of professional excellence or financial success. To be a Top Lawyer however way you define it is not necessarily guaranteed by just being a top legal brain, 1st class law in NUS or other top Ivy leaque universities like Cambridge & Harvard, though there’s some debate whether academic excellence and record is really good or bad to nurture a top lawyering professional development. Anyway most top legal brains join acadamia, so difficult to say! Tan Zhongshan is exceptional to join S’pore legal service, probably because he is bonded by scholarship obligation. The night mare is that he prosecutes you for any offence. Sure kena. For if he argues “self strangulate” like our own, then at least we have a chance to escape! S’pore also lost some “brains” because of PAP & LKY’s dictatorial policies against dissent. Dissident lawyer Tan Wah Piow (S’porean) like RPK in exile in UK (Wah Piow has by now successful legal practice in UK and is British citizen. he dares not go back yet to S’pore.

The best & prominent S’pore lawyer politician etc – the late Jew David Marshall – was third class law degree from some unknown university! And on Malaysian side top lawyer with reputation of unchallenged excellence – the John Skrine – had the worst legal qualification compared to the partners of Skrine ever since! In terms of financial success best lawyer are those that got UMNO’s jobs, they can even be very smart like Zaid Ibrahim but he never got 1st class (I think)! In terms of financial sucess there are many lousy 3rd class law graduates and in terms of professional legal excellence many middle of the road lawyers with mediocre academic legal qualifications. I don’t think ex judge NH Chan or our “Malaysian Lord Denning” Gopalan Sri Ram
    had 1st class at all – and even Lord Denning himself had “first” in Mathematics than law. (LKY & Wife had top lgal results in Cambridge though). The only exceptional ‘Malaysian’ legal brain with combination of best legal scholarship best legal professional prowess and best judgeship – late Eusoffe Abdoolcader (one of the 5 sacked during TDM’s time).

40. #42 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 4:24 am

To Tan Zhongshan I would say if you want to make good professionally – and lots of money – stay on legal service or better still after scholarship bond, join the top law firms in S’pore that will grab you. But if you have social conscience and want to fight for political and human rights civil liberty and the Underdog’s rights, and yet don’t want to be ISAed & eventually hounded out of Singapore to US like its former solicitor-general Francis T Seow (his book “To catch a Tartar”) Malaysia would be slightly better place, to join people (opposition lawyers) like Karpal, Dominic, LKS, Sivarasa etc.

41. #43 by cemerlang on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 6:38 am

And the hardest cases in the world are not necessarily solved by the academically excellent lawyers. What is IQ without EQ ? Can Tan be like Mahathir ? Mahathir is a medical doctor and honestly speaking he is good in politics. He has that inborn God given ability to politic around successfully for 22 years. That very sweet catchy smile melt a lot of hearts. Tan is not a politician but one who is beginning to be a lawyer and it is a long way ahead. He is not like all you veterans who know all the highways and backlands of politics. All we can say is he is academically very bright but we do not know whether he will swing to the left or to the right or whether he is just an ordinary voter and not a serious politician. Let him grow. The question of minumum wage is yet to be solved because if you have a minuman wage for the lower category of workers, you must have a minuman wage for all workers including the professionals because the difference in salary speaks of the position they are in, what job they are doing. If you give a minuman better wage to the lower category of workers, they will have to work harder but if you refuse to increase the pay of others, then they do not need to work as hard as they have been doing. It is not you who have to pay the wage. It is the people who employ them and it is usually the private sector. If you do not increase their pay as well, how are they going to pay for the minuman wage ?

• #44 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 22 October 2010 - 9:17 am

Yea, the only tag-line he played was money to bait, religion to frighten the ill-informed and than ISa if no way out of his scheme! that is pretty brilliant as much as Hilter was to the Germans after WWI???

42. #45 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 6:48 am

Tan Zhong Shan must learn to say ” correct … correct … correct before he can practise in Malaysia.

43. #46 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 8:03 am

Tan, in order to make it here you just need to do what that chowkow ridhuan tee is doing. Be on umno’s pay cheque, and once a while make a racist rant about your own race. Ya, like a chink calling a chink a chink. Or in ketuanan terms, a si sepet calling a si sepet, a si sepet.

44. #47 by dagen on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 8:32 am

This is such a depressing topic. And cintanegara with his stupid remark made it worse.

45. #48 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 10:33 am

//Is PR ready for Putrajaya?///

PR=Putrajaya Ready
    BN=Being Nuked

46. #49 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 10:43 am

Zhongshan is NOT an UMNO Malay. So there is no great loss here. As far as UMNO is concern, NOT Malay means pendatang.

47. #50 by johnnypok on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 11:36 am

Previously, they mistook the famous Sophia for being a Malaysian, and could not wait to launch a rescue plan for her to come back.

If he is a bin somebody, I am sure they will promise him the sky to come back.

They can’t even qualify for the world-cup … so stupid.

48. #51 by johnnypok on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 11:41 am

Eventually, the whole of Maylaya will be sold to Singapore (or given free), and people like cinta-nonok will become a domestic servant.

49. #52 by cintanegara on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 1:02 pm

Is the tiny country really great country ??? just wondering why superstars like Anita Sarawak, Ferhad, M Nasir, Taufik Batisah, Ramli Sarip and many many more pursue their singing career in our beloved soil…

• #53 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 22 October 2010 - 9:21 am

Cinta, they do not go round bragging and sloganeering, they ” JUST DO IT”. like Nike! In Bolehland we keep on talking and talking just to pull wool over the poor kampong folks and surely you are a party to it since you have never bother to accept reality and truth!

50. #54 by lorry_driver_malaysia on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 1:40 pm

Sitting under the rambutan trees shake legs and do nothing must be so bored, so they need some entertainment from Singapore.

Singaporeans pandai cari duit.
    Malays boleh ke?

Just take away the letter y and u get the answer.

51. #55 by johnnypok on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 2:11 pm

Replace the letter “Y” with “S” … to reflect the real meaning and description of a handicapped / retarded idiot like cintanonok.

52. #56 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 2:33 pm

Only when the top student is a Malaysian, it makes big news. Many others are not Malaysians and thus they don’t deserve to be in the news. This shows our inferiority

53. #57 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 21 October 2010 - 3:13 pm

cintanegara :
    Is the tiny country really great country ??? just wondering why superstars like Anita Sarawak, Ferhad, M Nasir, Taufik Batisah, Ramli Sarip and many many more pursue their singing career in our beloved soil…

You dumb or what? Market, market, market. Those artists you quoted largely sing in Me-layu. The market in Singapore is next to zero for such products. That’s why they go to Malaysia or Indonesia. What, you expect them to go to Korea or Japan?