1Malaysia

Questions thrown out, opposition MPs cry foul

October 11, 2010

By Rahmah Ghazali Free Malaysia Today Mon, 11 Oct 2010

KUALA LUMPUR: Some issues are political potatoes too hot to handle or so it seems when the Dewan Rakyat got down to business today.

The wealth of Sarawak Chief Minister Taib Mahmud, Perkasa, Biro Tata Negara (BTN) and 1Malaysia concept were all brought up but were never debated.

When the bell rang for the session to begin, 16 Opposition MPs, mostly from the DAP, and an Independent MP, stood up to protest that their questions were thrown out. They claimed the questions on these “hot” issues were rejected “without any apparent reason”.

The ball started rolling when outspoken veteran leader Karpal Singh (DAP-Bukit Gelugor) said that his question, asking Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak to state his stand whether he is a “Malaysian first or a Malay first” was rejected.

“Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin had once said he was a Malay first and Malaysian second, while Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Nazri Abdul Aziz said he is a Malaysian first and a Malay second.

“I don’t understand why my question was rejected. Why give special protection to the prime minister? Can I get an explanation from the Speaker?” he asked.

His colleague, Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timor), also suffered the same fate when his question on “racist” BTN (National Civics Bureau) was not entertained by Najib.

“I asked the prime minister why, after 18 months since 1Malaysia was introduced, a senior civil servant has failed to embrace the unity concept?” he asked, apparently referring to BTN assistant director Hamim Husin.

(Hamim sparked a public outcry recently when he allegedly uttered racial slurs when he labelled the Chinese and Indians “mata sepet” (slitty eyes) and “kaki botol” (alcoholics) respectively in a closed-door meeting with Puteri Umno.)

‘Valid question’

Bandar Kuching MP Chong Chien Jen was also not spared when his question on the controversial wealth owned by Taib was rejected.

“I wanted to find out whether the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) will take any action (against Taib), based on a report by Sarawakreport.org which alleged that the chief minister owned hundred of millions of ringgit worth of property overseas.

“This is a valid question because the report has been reported… I just want to know whether an investigation has been initiated. But why was it rejected? Is the government too scared of Taib? Is the question taboo?” he asked.

Teo Nie Ching (DAP-Serdang) also got a “red card” when her question on Umno-linked Utusan Malaysia was rejected by the home ministry.

Teo, who was recently embroiled in the controversial surau visit, claimed that Utusan has ignited racial hatred over the incident.

“I asked the home ministry why no action has been taken against Utusan for fanning racial sentiment when it accused me of giving religious talk in a surau.

“The newspaper also published false news, claiming that the main suspects linked to the murder of cosmetics millionaire Sosilawati Lawiya were DAP life members. Until today, the ministry has not taken any action and I am only seeking an explanation from the minister,” she said.

Need for clear procedure

Gobind Singh Deo (DAP-Puchong) also protested when his question on Malay right-wing NGO Perkasa was thrown out.

“I merely asked the home ministry whether it would take action against Perkasa and Utusan Malaysia for their racist and insulting statements towards other races. If it has not, I would like the ministry to give a reason. But this question was ignored,” he said.

According to Nasharuddin Mat Isa (PAS-Bachok), whose his question was also rejected on technical grounds, Parliament should make clear its procedure for answering questions.

“Who has the final say on these questions, the government or Parliament? If the House is influenced by the ministers’ decision not to answer any questions, what is our role here then? There should be check-and-balance in this institution,” he said.

Upon hearing the complaints, Speaker Pandikar Amin Mulia said he would look into the matter and provide the answers.

“I am looking at this matter very seriously and will let you know the reasons… I will be the first person to support any good suggestions proposed by MPs,” he said. He, however, did not give a time frame.

Other MPs whose questions were also rejected include Sim Tong Him (DAP-Kota Melaka), P Ramasamy (DAP-Batu Kawan), Nga Kor Ming (DAP-Taiping), Ngeh Koo Ham (DAP-Beruas), Tan Seng Giaw (DAP-Kepong), Wong Ho Leng (DAP-Sibu), M Manogaran (DAP-Teluk Intan), Nizar Jamaluddin (PAS-Bukit Gantang), Loh Gwo Burne (PKR-Kelana Jaya) and Chua Soon Booi (Independent-Tawau).