When is Najib going to provide leadership and take a stand against Malaysians “whose heads are not right” who have caused unprecedented inter-racial and inter-religious strain?

Speaking at the Interfaith Relations Working Committee luncheon yesterday, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said the world contained individuals whose heads were “not right”.

He was referring specifically to the recent threat by an American pastor to burn the Quran and the Sept 11 attacks on the World Trade Centre by terrorists who “hijacked Islam” and said such conflicts were caused by ignorance.

He said: “Without understanding and knowledge, there can never be goodwill and understanding. We need to know the beauty found in every religion.”

What Najib said yesterday is very correct but Malaysians are entitled to ask why he had not provided leadership to take a stand against those in Malaysia “whose heads are not right” in the past 18 months of his premiership resulting in the escalation of the rhetoric of racial bigotry and religious extremism despite his proclamation of “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” policy?

It is precisely because of the Prime Minister’s failure to take a stand against individuals “whose heads are not right” that there had been such inter-racial and inter-religious strain in the past 18 months, destroying his political honeymoon as new Prime Minister, undermining his credibility and derailing his key policies like the New Economic Model – a phenomenon never seen in the first 18 months of the previous five Prime Ministers, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein, Tun Mahathir and Tun Abdullah.

Sadly, many of those “whose heads are not right” are also to be found in his Cabinet, which is why despite his 1Malaysia policy “to create a nation where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second and where the principles of 1Malaysia are woven into the economic, political and social fabric of society”, only one Cabinet Minister – Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz – has so far the courage, conviction and gumption to declare that he is Malaysian first and Malay second.

Malaysians are very disappointed that in the past 72 hours, no other Cabinet Minister had emulated Nazri to publicly declare that he or she is Malaysian first, race second.

Isn’t this the best proof the Najib’s Cabinet is populated by too many individuals “whose heads are not right” who dare not declare being Malaysian first race second, thus making a total mockery of Najib’s 1Malaysia slogan and policy?

Who is the second Cabinet Minister to declare that he/she is Malaysian first and race second?

When will Najib’s Cabinet have a majority of Ministers who can publicly declare that they are Malaysian first and race second to demonstrate that his 1Malaysia policy is being taken seriously by his own Cabinet?

1. #1 by Joshua on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 11:44 am

This is so meaningless as in Ecclesiastes

7: 29 This only have I found:
    God made mankind upright,
    but men have gone in search of many schemes.”

2. #2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 11:53 am

Hopefully, those “whose heads are not right” will have their heads made right by the rakyat come 13th GE.

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 12:08 pm

//those “whose heads are not right” will have their heads made right by the rakyat come 13th GE.//

Why should they worry? Losing the GE merely means that they would be appointed as BN “coordinators” with 4-figure salaries PLUS heaps of “development” funds for the constituencies that have rejected them. Meanwhile the real winners from PR get nothing….

4. #4 by dagen on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 12:35 pm

“Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said the world contained individuals whose heads were “not right”.”

Damn right jib. Our heads are always in the middle or centre if you like; and it has sufficient flexibility to move left, right, front and baaaack. Heey there it is. Cintanegara’s rambutans. Right behind me and I didnt even know.

5. #5 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 1:15 pm

“When is Najib going to provide leadership and take a stand ……..”

Never! A zebra doesn’t change its stripes. You recognise a tree by its fruits.

See the “zebra stripes” and “fruits” on Najib over the last 30 years…..see……….see………
    And now, all this crappy slogans and lip-service…
    Hello, Jib, ingat Rakyat buta ke?

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 1:33 pm

“Anifah said the Malaysian mission in the United States headed by Ambassador Datuk Seri Jamaludin Jarjis had received many requests by world leaders for talks with Najib on the sidelines of the general assembly.”

Wow…Najib meeting “world leaders” …Bangladesh, Kosovo, Croatia, Slovenia..
    Bet Najib will be bored to death.
    Thanks Anifah and JJ for the bullshit.

7. #7 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 1:38 pm

It was good that Paris Hilton did not come. Else I wonder how would the immigration and police deal with her since we are so strict on drugs!

8. #8 by hotspur11 on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 2:05 pm

Pls read http://rayaputeh.wordpress.com/laporan-tragedi-13-mei/

After reading this, i could understand why malay people have so much fear about losing their special rights. People, pls so read and show me other source of information in regard to this (if any). I dont want to hear it from only one source.

9. #9 by dcasey on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 2:11 pm

YB Kit says it is precisely because of the Prime Minister’s failure to take a stand against individuals “whose heads are not right”….kinda like makes pinky jibby one of them….after all birds of the same feather flock together. So come GE13, those “whose heads are not right” should have their heads rolled and not made right instead….so no more 4-figure salaries PLUS heaps of “development” funds even from Timbaktu!!

10. #10 by Comrade on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 3:33 pm

Many BN voters are of the ‘whose heads are not right’ kind
    Including those who are misled and truth-blind
    But not those in the know with right thinking mind
    The weakened BN has an axe to grind
    However, its strength must not be undermined
    They have the advantage of all resources combined
    PR must be united and their vision aligned
    To educate the ignorant PR and supporters are assigned
    Come the 13th general election may we find
    The seats won by BN will be greatly declined
    The winner PR will ensure Malaysia is not left behind

11. #11 by TOKKU on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 3:46 pm

Hi KIT SIANG

I think NAJIB is referring you as those people “whose heads are not right”. Do you realize you & your party comrades are the ones who constantly challenges the Constitution pertaining to ‘Special Malay Rights’? Do you know it’s clearly written in our Constitution that Malay rights MUST always be protected regardless whether one likes it or not?

It’s kind of lucky of you that NAJIB did not impose the ISA on you & your fellow comrades. I think NAJIB is really understanding in some ways though. That guy in your party by the name of TONY PUA should watch it. He’s kind of playing with fire sometimes.

Cheers!

12. #12 by wanderer on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 3:54 pm

…when the cow jumps over the moon and…..
    Perkasa Ibrahim Ali {deleted] is color blind!!

13. #13 by BoycottLocalPapers on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 4:18 pm

In Malaysia, we have many bigots whose heads are not right. These irreligious bigots:

(1) Ban the Christians from using the Arabic word “Allah”
    (2) Destroyed the church of Orang Asli in Kelantan
    (3) Confiscate the Bibles of the Christians. What are they going to do to the confiscated Bibles? Burn the Bibles?
    (4) Destroyed Hindu temples & churches
    (5) Unlawful demolition of the chapel of Orang Asli by authorities in 2005 in Johor http://malaysiakini.com/news/143404
    (6) A Mufti who almost caused people to riot when he spread false rumours about a Christian church converting Muslim boys.
    (7) Denying Lina Joy her rights to exercise the faith of her choice.
    (8) (Ir)Religious Authority snatching dead bodies of non-Muslims.
    (9) Giving PR status to Indonesian Chief of Terrorists Abu Bakar Bashir because he is a Muslim Indonesian but denying PR to Vijay Singh, the professional golfer because he is not an Indonesian Muslim.

Many more examples can be cited.

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 6:12 pm

If he were to do as LKS suggested, the first person he need to get rid of is his deputy. Najib may be ‘all PR and little substance’ PM but his deputy is Mr. Excuses who is very likely to zealous about us, the rakyat, paying until we cry before he has to pay the price for his wrongs..

15. #15 by Loh on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 6:13 pm

///Speaking at the Interfaith Relations Working Committee luncheon yesterday, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak said the world contained individuals whose heads were “not right”.///– Kit

Yes, we have proportionately more of that kind of individuals in Malaysia. When people in USA talked about burning Koran, the book, in Malaysia we have people who burned churches, who severed cow head to belittle Hindu belief, who declared that the word Allah cannot appear in written text of Bibles written in Malay. We have also people who tell Malaysians to balik Tongsan or India. These people claim to know, and to speak Malay habitually but they do not even understand that one balik to the place from where one comes. For those born in Malaysia, is Malaysia known as Tongsan or India in alias?

Those are only ordinary people in Malaysia. We have also people who are known outside the country. A particular one said that anyone opposes racism is racist, and also anyone who supports meritocracy is racist. We have have famous people whose heads are ‘not right’.

Malaysia claims itself boleh not for nothing. To begin with we have people whose heads are ‘not right’ led the government in the past, and others who are currently ministers. Possibly that is the only aspect of human quality that Malaysia beats other countries flat.

16. #16 by cemerlang on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 9:33 pm

Betul. Betul. Betul. Our heads are not right. We came in with our heads right in the centre. These days you find our heads swinging everywhere like a spring. Something happens there, our heads will eject off to that direction. Something happens here, our heads will spring back here. That is why most have acquired schizophrenia. One second, it is yes. Next second, it is no. One second, it is like this. Next second, it is like that. No wonder there is a high demand for psychology professionals to be around. The system is all screwed. Both the leader and her followers will surely fall in the mighty South China Sea. Wasn’t it reported that she loves rambutans and what other fruit is that. Never mind. Let her dignity heals before she makes another international travel. The moral of her story is to think and really think before doing something that will forever leaves a mark.

17. #17 by yhsiew on Thursday, 23 September 2010 - 10:55 pm

Here it is – “whose head is not right”.

Dr M warns Malays to lose power if Pakatan defeats BN

@@http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/dr-m-warns-malays-to-lose-power-if-pakatan-defeats-bn/

18. #18 by Scuba Princess on Friday, 24 September 2010 - 1:29 am

Our PM is merely a wolf in sheep’s skin.What he had promised The Rakyat is still to be seen…the only benefits that he has done is only benifitting himself & UMNO’s cronies.

Wake up & do not be hoodwink!!!

Say ‘NO’ to BN.

19. #19 by boh-liao on Friday, 24 September 2010 - 2:58 am

C’mon, if NR were 2 take a stand against Malaysians “whose heads are not right” who have caused unprecedented inter-racial and inter-religious strain, all current and ex-UmnoB/BNputras, including himself, would hv 2 b exterminated
    Macam ini mana boleh berlaku? Play play, shout shout, NATO, OK lah

20. #20 by Taxidriver on Friday, 24 September 2010 - 6:22 am

Why talk about the world when we have so many individuals among us whose heads are not right. Come on, Najib, show us he is PM material. Name those ”individuals” and stop playing the ‘guessing’ game with us.

It ii time the PM went after propagators of racism without fear. Incidentally, they are his own party members who are plotting his downfall. Najib should make a pre-emptive strike now or he will have to join AAB real soon.

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Friday, 24 September 2010 - 8:21 am

His excuse for not asserting leadership is either that it is inherently very difficult to lead a group counting amongst whom many “whose heads are not right” or that there is stronger leadership competing against him and his agenda from other leaders “whose heads are not right” !