Karpal – Giant in Malaysian law and politics

Tribute for Karpal’s 70th Birthday Special Publication – “Karpal Singh: True Malaysian” dedicated by DAP Malaysia

Karpal cut his teeth paving the way to become the country’s foremost criminal and constitutional lawyer with landmark controversies in the Seventies like the case of 14-year-old boy who was sentenced to death for possession of a pistol and who was finally commuted after an intense national and international campaign; Fan Yew Teng sedition and my Official Secrets Act trials – going on into the Eighties and Nineties as counsel in the landmark public interest litigation suit against the United Engineers (M) Bhd and the Government of Malaysia for improper award of North-South Expressway privatization (“piratisation”); the Mahathir contempt case; the Lim Guan Eng sedition and “false information” trials in defence of an underaged Malay girl and the two sets of Anwar Ibrahim trials divided by a decade.

In his stout and intrepid defence of human rights, the rule of law, the independence of the judiciary and the principles of accountability, transparency and good governance, Karpal is not just counsel but active participant – which was why he wears the badge of honour as a former Internal Security Act detainee, incarcerated with five other DAP MPs (Lim Guan Eng, Dr. Tan Seng Giaw, the late P. Patto, the late V. David, Lau Dak Kee and myself) in Kamunting Detention Centre under the infamous mass ISA “Operation Lalang” dragnet by Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohammad when Prime Minister in October 1987 with 106 people detained under the swoop.

Karpal is himself no stranger to malicious persecution, whether for his conscientious and fearless defence of victims of political prosecutions or for upholding the principles of the Malaysian Constitution and the rule of law in the country.

Although presently wheel-chair bound because of an accident, Karpal has not allowed his physical infirmities to deter him one whit and his voice continues to boom in the Chambers of Parliament to speak up for justice, the rule of law, accountability, transparence and good governance.

Karpal is a giant in law and politics and most of all, a great Malaysian!

Happy 70th birthday, Karpal. Look forward to your 80th birthday anniversary!

1. #1 by HOHOHO on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 12:42 pm

Ho Ho Ho
    HAPPY 70th Birthday to YB Respected Karpal Singh with all the best wishes n best of HEALTH always….
    Ho Ho Ho

2. #2 by the reds on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 12:54 pm

Mr. Karpal, you definitely inspire a lot of young Malaysians! Save Malaysia! We don’t want Malaysia to be destroyed by incompetent BN/UMNO politicians!

3. #3 by k1980 on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 12:59 pm

Such a big difference between Karpal and that “Cash-swindler” from Perak. The former is “Singh is King” while the latter is “Cash is King”

4. #4 by Dap man on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 1:05 pm

I call upon the Sikh community to recognize Karpal contribution. Has lifted the community’s dignity single-handedly.
    Which other Sikh can measure up to him. Many are engulfed in self interests.

5. #5 by grace on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 1:19 pm

KARPAL, THE NATION SALUTES YOU ON YOUR 70th BIRTHDAY!
    Yes, you fought fearlessly for the poor and weak.
    You work tirelessly for the betterment of the nation.
    More importantly, you do not compromise your priciples for any monetary gain!
    You have won the hearts of many Malaysians for your integrity and sincerity.
    All right thinking Malaysians are very proud of you. I am sure your family and Sikh community are very blessed to have you!
    GOD will be with you always!
    A VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!

6. #6 by frankyapp on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 2:40 pm

Happy birthday to you Mr. Karpal Singh and may you continue to fight and up hold justice in the country and setting good example to other lawyers and law aspirant. And most of all wishing you can stand up and walk again.

7. #7 by baochingtian on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 3:16 pm

Happy Birthday to YB Karpal Singh. May you stay healthy always.

8. #8 by yhsiew on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 4:09 pm

Well done, Karpal!

9. #9 by jontye on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 4:51 pm

YB Karpal,

Wish you Happy Birthday, good health forever. God bless you and family!!

10. #10 by habis on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 4:56 pm

YB Mr Karpal Singh you Don’t to be a Tun Sri, Tun or Datuk But You are a True Son of Malaysia, an icon where all Malaysians who loves our country are Proud to stand beside you.We pray for your Good Health and may God grant you a long fruitful life to continue our struggle for a Just Malaysia.HAPPY BIRTHDAY OUR MALAYSIAN HERO MR KARPAL SINGH.

11. #11 by habis on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 4:57 pm

need to be-topo error

12. #12 by dagen on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 5:55 pm

… YOU WERE BORNED IN THE ZOO.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO THE ONE AND ONLY TRUE LION IN MALAYSIA.

13. #13 by raven77 on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 6:20 pm

You are one of us…no Datukship, Tan SRi Toon, etc etc etc etc

A man dedicated to this nation

Happy Birthday!

14. #14 by boh-liao on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 6:25 pm

Happy birthday, Lion KS!
    No cage can contain your fighting spirits! ROAR!

15. #15 by Indran on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 9:23 pm

Happy Birthday Mr Karpal Singh. “Singh is King” in this part of Cyber Kingdom

16. #16 by Winston on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 9:38 pm

Fellow bloggers, you’ve said it all!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO KARPAL SINGH!!!!

17. #17 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 9:55 pm

Happy Birthday, YB Karpal.

Like all other Malaysians, I wish you all the choicest blessings that only the gracious ALMIGHTY can give you.

It is our fervent prayer that HE will continue to give you the strength, stamina and wisdom to serve the cause of all Malaysians.

GOD bless and keep you in his peace.

18. #18 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 9:59 pm

Hey, YB Karpal, u don’t mind if i squeeze a wee bit of an interesting headline here:

Malaysianinsider: Guan Eng: Umno’s struggle is catching thieves of RM52b equity
    July 17, 2010

Lim asked Muhyiddin whether “Umno wants to catch the thief or be the thief?” —

I think I know what Muhyiddin and Najib’s answer would be:

Why catch thieves when u can be the thief?

19. #19 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 10:10 pm

YB Karpal, just 1More, ok?

Hello, Najib – what did i say? Gillard, new Aussie PM, barely days after being ushered in by her party to be PM has already called for a general election on 21st August.

Now, Listen, Najib boy, u have no right to overstay. Besides, very, very few Malaysians actually like u and yr dubious character. So, call for a GE if u think u have even 51% popularity rating. Jangan kita muka tebal macam …..bila orang ramai tak nak, kita tolak diri. Itulah maruah.
    Selain dari tu, yang paksa memaksa …itu ‘rape’.

20. #20 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 10:43 pm

A true living legend.
    He is fearless …suffered and sacrificed so much for Malaysians.
    Such is a politician for the people..by the people and with the people..and country.
    He is a People’s Power leader.
    I pray he has a long and happy life.

21. #21 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 6:10 am

Karpal should go into history as the only Malaysian who had fought the government of the day for their injustice and to save people from the injustice of the law.May his soul be blessed by the Almighty that he be given many more years to continue with his struggle.

22. #22 by wanderer on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 8:53 am

…..with Karpal a champion to the conscience of the nation and a great fighter from the injustice of this corrupted UMNO-led govt. On the other side of the fence, we see the famous AG, a dog of the nation who unashamedly, practise the the laws of the jungle aided by the monkey judges in our kangaroo courts!
    Malaysians have no difficulties in recognizing the two men of laws, “The beauty and the beast”

23. #23 by House Victim on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 9:16 am

May Karpal live at least another 70years so that he still has a chance to change the Law of Malaysia back to Justice in the Parliament:
    1. To amend the Constitutions to rightly stipulate what should be for the People and not just for the King or the Administration for the sake of Politics.
    2. To re-instate the Power of the Parliament and put the Cabinet and PM under proper monitoring of the Parliament.
    2. To set up a fair Act to put MP into a Rights and Obligations systems such that MP have to perform and not just sleeping through the terms.
    3. To abolish the BIAS immunity clause in all Acts that “save” the Public Servants from the fearless of mal-practice or ignorance of their own duty.
    4. To incorporate clauses on Public Servants, especially the Disciplinary forces under better monitoring by the Public and abolish the sole discretion of PM.
    etc, etc..

Hope the at least another 70years can help Malaysians to catch up with the draw-back of the last 53/4 years so that Justice could be alive again!!

24. #24 by wanderer on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 9:35 am

Where is Eunuch Chengho? Not invited to the party?
    Monsterball, release this low life from your cage la…

25. #25 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 11:22 am

hahahahahahaha wanderer….you have great imaginations.
    And do you notice…..the smartest one that have migrated….because no one wants to employ him… have no good wishes for Karpal?
    That self proclaimed scumbag cannot vote but keep teaching everyone .

26. #26 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 11:36 am

So there are three to be caged……one way or another……….hahahahahaha
    And you do not expect these three to come here talking nonsense about Karpal?
    They will be slaughtered by all.
    Perhaps Chengho found new love life..no time here?
    Cintanegara praying hard for a UMNO B miracle?
    And that scumbag needs to work hard sweeping and cleaning dishes.
    Do not expect the scumbag and the other two BN supporters to wish Karpal ..happy birthday.
    Just watch out ……especially the said scumbag…twists and turns.

27. #27 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 11:45 am

Amongst the three….I always say chengho is the smartest and I do like his wits and foolishness.
    Perhaps he is caged by one who love him day and night…for his/her pleasures.
    Don’t worry..he will return one day.

28. #28 by hurricanemax on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 1:56 pm

Mr Karpal Singh sir, HAPPY BIRTHDAY…and you have many many more birthdays to come!

29. #29 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 1:58 pm

We love Karpal (no doubt, he deserves so) or is it because we are desperately depending on his leadership, expertise and sacrifice? I wrote a piece about Karpal and Kit Siang looking so aged before the March 8 election in the sense that the fight for democracy, justice and governance is still very much dependent on the old horses . In many ways we want to cling on to these well tested leaders simply because younger leaders are hard to come by. Recently we do see a younger group emerging, but frankly their endurance, tenacity and principle are still very much in the wood. Winston Churchill once said, “never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few”. This is how I feel – that so many of us are just depending on a few to fight for a better Malaysia. That is why I want a clear message sent that those who had sacrificed in the course of freedom and democracy must be adequately compensated, like TBH. So odd ball have you contributed yet?

30. #30 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 3:08 pm

Wanderer ….you know what I meant about the [deleted]?

31. #31 by limkamput on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 3:43 pm

We condemn people with awards and titles and respect those who truly live their life with principles and conscience. But if we give a datukship to this odd ball, he will probably write the title on his forehead with a marker pen before joining his low life friends at the coffee shop.

32. #32 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 4:11 pm

What a way to crave for attentions.
    Wanderer wandering away….ignoring [deleted]……hahahahahahaha

33. #33 by monsterball on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 4:37 pm

Wanderer my friend…who said this….
    “I was born under a wandering star”
    We are so blessed to have Karpal Singh and Lim Kit Siang healthy and well to fight for our freedom..so much so…migrations are by half past sixes and racists and no more smart Malaysians…once change of government comes to reality….all due to the efforts of our brave Freedom Fighters……like Karpal and LKS.
    Teoh Beng Hock’s son was shown today at Teoh’s one year death ceremony at his grave yard..cuddled by LKS.
    This shows Malaysians love and respect the old guards more than ever…never need to change as Kapal and LKS are rare breeds sent by God to free Malaysians.
    Any scumbag can talk as much as he wants..but he is not going to get the pleasure of our attentions..especially to one that have migrated and is such a busybody …keep yearning for attentions.
    In the past…I confront scumbags..but once known to be a useless good for nothing big mouth…best to ignore..as he can do nothing good for Malaysia regardless who he stands for.
    There is this scumbag in this blog….a braggart that no one wants to employ…in Malaysia.
    Let him talk to ghosts and anyone that may enjoy taking him up..for the pleasure to pass time.

34. #34 by somaris on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 5:19 pm

HAPPY 70 BIRTHDAY YB KAPAL SINGH.
    May God Bless You .You Dont Need Tun,Tan Seri, Datukship as its Cheap Can Be Bought With money.
    You Cant Bought The Heart Of The People Who Love You And Bless You as Always. Thats Are The True Gift Of ALL.
    May GOD Bless YOU And YB LIM KIT SIANG.You BOTH Are Our Hero Of Our Heart.May You Both Walk Hand In Hand Towards Putra Jaya Next.We Love you BOTH. GODs BLESS
    From ,
    Ireland with LOVE

35. #35 by k1980 on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 7:16 pm

The top Britons for the last two millennia, according to an expert panel and readers of Heritage Magazine, and published in the Daily Mail (20.11.99) are as follows:–

William Shakespeare
    Sir Isaac Newton
    Sir Winston Churchill
    William Caxton
    Charles Darwin
    The Duke of Wellington
    Queen Elizabeth I
    William the Conqueror
    Alfred the Great
    Captain James Cook

Scientists, politicians, leaders, explorers, a printer, a playwright, two kings, a queen, a duke and a couple of knights – but just the one woman.

Karpal will be among the top 10 Malaysians in history

36. #36 by victimofcorruption on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 11:11 pm

2 most respectable person in Malaysia:

LKS and KS

Tony Pua is on the way to the list also

37. #37 by monsterball on Monday, 19 July 2010 - 12:49 am

God has blessed Karpal with two wonderful intelligent sons.
    His birthday party was attended by 400 special invited guest from all over Malaysia.
    All details headline news in Malaysiakini.

38. #38 by OrangRojak on Monday, 19 July 2010 - 9:48 am

For he’s a jolly good fellow,
    for he’s a jolly good fellow,
    and so say all of us!
    and … etc

Happy birthday Karpal Singh! The Royal who honours you with recognition for your superb patriotic efforts will also honour themselves.

Gobind was good in Lukut recently – even the kids watched quietly!

(I can’t help but wonder which of Karpal’s 4+ [jagdeep, gobind, ramkarpal, mankarpal …?] sons monsterball has decided are unintelligent!)

39. #39 by artemisios on Monday, 19 July 2010 - 11:30 am

Happy Birthday Karpal,

I respect you, so do millions of true M’sians.

The millions of rakyat depend on you to express their disgust over BN’s thieving ways & fight against injustice.

Best wishes

40. #40 by monsterball on Monday, 19 July 2010 - 1:51 pm

I did not know he has four sons….Orang Rojak.
    Thanks for the info.
    I commented seeing the twp sons so loving and were reported as intelligent..in Malaysiakini.
    I am sure…the other two sons..not seen at the birthday party must be intelligent…..likf father……like son… still studying overseas?

41. #41 by OrangRojak on Monday, 19 July 2010 - 10:48 pm

Here you go monsterball, I didn’t have a complete tally either:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/9/10/lifefocus/20060909190214&sec=lifefocus