A year on, MACC tries to appease Beng Hock’s family

By Debra Chong | The Malaysian Insider
July 15, 2010

KUALA LUMPUR, July 15 — In a move to placate Teoh Beng Hock’s family ahead of his one-year death anniversary tomorrow, Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief commissioner Datuk Seri Abu Kassim Mohamed pledged today not to “cover up” the actions of anyone who maybe found involved in causing the DAP political aide’s death.

“The MACC will not compromise or cover up the actions of any culprit or anyone found potentially involved in the death of Teoh Beng Hock,” the nation’s top graft fighter said today in a brief statement addressed to the Teohs.

The statement was issued only in Chinese.

The 30-year-old political secretary to Selangor state councillor Ean Yong Hian Wah was found dead last year on a 5th-floor corridor at Plaza Masalam in Shah Alam, nine floors below the MACC’s Selangor headquarters.

He had been interrogated overnight by anti-graft officers probing claims his boss was misusing state funds.

“I want to emphasise that we will respect whatever decision that comes out of the coroner’s court,” Abu Kassim stressed, adding he hoped the inquest will come to an end soon.

In the statement penned in Chinese, Abu Kassim also expressed his sympathy with the Teohs.

“On behalf of myself and all MACC staff, regarding the matter of what happened on July 16, 2009, we grieve with Teoh Beng Hock’s family.

“We continue to also feel their hurt and sadness. As a father and head of my own family, I can deeply understand the incomparable pain in losing a family member,” said the man who took up his current job from the first embattled MACC head, Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan, in January this year.

Abu Kassim highlighted that the MACC had taken steps to tighten security during questioning of its witnesses “to ensure there will be no repeat of such an incident”.

Beng Hock’s younger sister, Lee Lan, told The Malaysian Insider today she had not read the MACC statement and would respond to it at a public talk organised by the DAP at the KL-Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall here tomorrow night.

She said she had only been alerted to the news by a reporter from a Chinese newspaper.

The MACC statement was not available in Bahasa Malaysia or English.

1. #1 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 15 July 2010 - 7:03 pm

Hypocrisy of the highest order:

Admit guilt and get the suspected murderers to surrender themselves and stop all your wayang and pretension. Stop the inquest, get your men to attend the Saturday memorial service at the cemetery and beg for forgiveness.

Malaysia Needs A New Federal Government

GE 13 – Change The Federal Government No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty three years.

2. #2 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 15 July 2010 - 7:24 pm

MACC is afraid that Teoh Beng Hock will haunt them every night & day.You know the guilt after killing somebody gives MACC sleepless nights.

3. #3 by habis on Thursday, 15 July 2010 - 8:12 pm

Another put up show by the MACC to pacify Public Anger with their high handed mishandling of the investigating method.All along the MACC is Never Fair and Biased towards the Opposition parties unlike their counterpart ICAC of Hong Kong.Expressing Sympathy and Sadness will Never bring back to life an Innocent Teoh Beng Hock.My Advice to the MACC is to Disband.It makes a Mockery of Justice And Police Impartiality in the implementation of Law.Charging insignificant small fries in court and Allowing all the Sharks to swim away is just is the norm.UNMOputras are Untouchable like Big Toyo until Now Still Investigating.

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 15 July 2010 - 8:18 pm

As always, its deeds that prove sincerity, not words no matter how contrite!

So a year on is MACC prepared to prove contrition by being prepared to be accountable? Is it prepared to, at least, admit in the on going Inquest that, from its investigations, TBH did not leap on his own out of the window in suicide?

Secondly, waive objection to Royal Commission to look into MACC’s procedures in relation to TBH’s death?

Thirdly in respect of Abu Kassim’s statement that “the MACC had taken steps to tighten security during questioning of its witnesses “to ensure there will be no repeat of such an incident” is MACC prepared, from now on, to:-

a. allow legal counsel during interrogation of witnesses called in for statements;

b. install CCTV/security cameras in interrogations rooms for all interrogations?

5. #5 by limkamput on Thursday, 15 July 2010 - 8:27 pm

No need to apologise, it is too late. If MACC truly feels sorry, then the police should investigate this case as MURDER. Why so difficult, who were last seen with TBH? Arrest them and make them sit on ice, I am sure the truth will come out very quickly. Isn’t this the normal modus operandi of police when investigating crimes? Why so different when come to deaths happening in government agencies? What inquest? It is worse than examining my ass.

6. #6 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 15 July 2010 - 8:53 pm

Another lip service from our MACC (Mana Ada Cukup Cakap)!

Please cut-off! Stop pretending and acting! Go and get those suckers!

You need to act and talk like Mr. T, “I gonna to get you, Suckers…” That’s what I like to hear….

7. #7 by boh-liao on Thursday, 15 July 2010 - 10:22 pm

Don’t blame MACC as MACC is controlled by Umno/BN

8. #8 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 12:02 am

9. #9 by jus legitimum on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 12:12 am

It is strongly and fervently hoped that MACC,Election commission,PDRM and what not under the current rotten Bn administration will be thoroughly swept cleaned and revamped by the new PR government after the next GE.

10. #10 by monsterball on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 12:34 am

There are few more mysterious deaths in the past….went unnoticed.
    Yes after 12th GE…hiding crimes by UMNO B getting more difficult.
    Dr. Porntip is coming.
    French Govt is investigating on another death…indirectly connected to the submarine deal by Najib.
    Malaysians are determine not to let out country be taken over by UMNO B dictators.
    22 years by Mahathir….what have it produced?

11. #11 by HJ Angus on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 8:04 am

I agree that we really need to change the Bankrupsi Negara government before any change can happen to our vital institutions like the Judiciary, PDRM and the MACC.
    If the government had set up the commission like IPCMC this case would have been investigated under those guidelines.

12. #12 by dagen on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 8:38 am

Hmmm…. So he pledged not to cover up anyone huh? Why should he so pledge? It is after all his public duty to investigate and get to the bottom of things. Not to cover-up. Ought this (i.e. no cover up) not be something we can all shut our eyes and still expect that it will not happen?

Jib Jib Boleh!

13. #13 by concerncitizen on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 11:59 am

To Teoh .. RIP, and to his family … we feel your lost.

To the murders … your day of reckoning will befall on you & your loved ones soon.

Karma …..

14. #14 by son of perpaduan on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 1:23 pm

As long Umno-BN still in power, the truth will never be reveal. Facts of abuse of power, marginalized, corruptions, discriminations and so forth is not the issues to be tabled anymore. What is more crucial is to counter and how we want the nation to be in future lies in every rakyat mind set and political party such as PAS, DAP and KeAdilan works as a executer on rakyat mandate.