Gambling: It’s in Malaysia’s genes

by Dr. Lim Teck Ghee
Centre for Policy Initiatives
27 June 2010

Life as a gamble

The cabinet decision not to issue a sports betting licence to Ascot Sports Sdn Bhd is the right one but it was made for the wrong reasons. According to prime minister Najib Razak, the reason for not legalizing sports betting was “the impact it will have from the perspective of religion and politics.”

To get a proper perspective of the issue, it is necessary to get off the religious and political high horse and acknowledge that we are a nation that loves the occasional flutter. And also let us admit that there’s nothing wrong with gambling so long as it is not taken to extreme lengths and becomes a pathological, compulsive or destructive habit.

In a sense, all of life and the various decisions that we make are gambles. Although it may be too much to say that we all have gambling in our genes, scientists have been debating on the extent to which gambling is a manifestation of human behavior for a long time – at least during the last 200 years or so.

In an article, ‘Human Behavior and the Efficiency of the Financial System’ (February 1998) Robert Schiller, the noted financial economist, wrote that “a tendency to gamble, to play games that bring on unnecessary risks, has been found to pervade widely divergent human cultures around the world and appears to be indicative of a basic human trait.”

Further he pointed to studies that estimated that 61% of the adult population in the United States participated in some form of gambling or betting in 1974. They estimated that 1.1% of men and 0.5% of women are “probably compulsive gamblers,” while an additional 2.7% of men and 1% of women are “potential compulsive gamblers.” These figures are probably much higher today.

Similar numbers are recorded in all the highly developed countries whose status the country aspires to. All the countries that our elite regard as role models whether in the East or West, North or South take a liberal position on gambling or gaming as it is sometimes referred to.

Dr Mahathir: Nation’s No. 1 gambler

Even if we do not view gambling as part of normal human behaviour, it has certainly been part of Malaysian culture and politics – not only of the Chinese or non-Malay communities but for the majority of the country’s inhabitants, especially amongst the elite and leaders.

When Dr Mahathir Mohamad stated that he would have approved the sports betting licence for his long-time buddy Vincent Tan, he was being unduly coy and modest in leaving out his own addiction to trying to beat the odds.

In fact, gambling has long been a part of Dr Mahathir’s strategy to make Malaysia a developed nation. It is well known that Mahathir in his first year as prime minister gambled in the tin market with disastrous results. Speculating in tin caused Malaysia – then the world’s leading tin producer – about RM660.5 million in losses.

This staggering loss does not appear to have cooled off the gambling habit of our prime minister at that time. Using Bank Negara money, Mahathir speculated in currency, principally on the British pound which resulted in an even bigger multi-billion ringgit loss when the sterling collapsed in 1992. Estimates of this loss have placed it at over RM30 billion.

The details of Mahathir’s super high stakes betting which went dreadfully wrong have been given some attention in Barry Wain’s book, ‘Malaysian Maverick’. It could be that it was this content rather than any other part that led the Malaysian authorities to think twice about permitting the book’s distribution in the country.

In Dr Mahathir’s defence

In the former prime minister’s defence, it may be pointed out that some analysts see his ill-timed gambles as part of his attempt to take on Western economic dominance. On a more personal note, it should also be pointed out that he was not betting his own money – only the nation’s money. Also that whatever gains that could have been made would have gone into the national treasury – or at least one expects that was the honorable intention.

Finally, as part of the mitigating factors, it may be noted that Dr Mahathir was engaging in a national pastime. Gambling takes place everywhere in the country – as raffles where prizes are given in the form of goods, services or cash; on golf courses as friendly bets between fellow golfers; as part of sales promotional services where you make a purchase on your credit card in the hope that you may end up with a free vacation; and in the stock market where it is glorified as speculation. In short, it is part of our national culture though it has not yet been enshrined into our national cultural policy.
Future policy on gambling licences

Despite the poor track record of our former prime minister in gambling and this latest decision by the current prime minister, let us approach the subject rationally. It is important that this refusal to grant the gambling licence is not a precedent leading to religious norms being further imposed on the population – not only on the larger gambling issue but also on other facets of life and behaviour targeted by killjoys and hard-line religious zealots who are determined to show off their lily white credentials.

Also, by closing the door on sports betting (temporarily, I hope), let’s hope it does not open the Pandora’s box of religious and political taboos to extend to other aspects of entertainment, relaxation and culture that are part of the life of modern society everywhere in the world – everywhere that is except for a few nations that continue to deny their nationals their full freedoms and rights in the name of ‘piety’ and ‘moral virtue’.

The right way for the prime Minister and his Cabinet to handle this – and all future gambling issues – is not to deny Malaysians the right to spend their money as they please but to ensure that lucrative gaming licences such as the sports betting one are given to recognized charities and non-profit organizations and not to cronies.
Various religious or ethnic groups are of the view that they should not partake of such “tainted” money. These groups are of course entitled to this view and should refrain from sharing or taking any part in the “dirty” profits associated with gambling. But there is no reason why the other communities that make up 1Malaysia should be made to toe the strict religious line.

In fact, given the limited resources of the government and the perennial financial constraints in funding schools and other projects for minorities, it makes sound economic sense to tap this source for the national good. There are many good practices that we can emulate such as the Hong Kong Jockey Club’s non-profit gambling operations and the casinos in the United States that are operated by the native Indian communities on Indian reservation lands and where the employment opportunities and profits accrue to the marginalized communities.

For a start though, let’s not show the red card to legalized sports betting prematurely.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 10:42 am

Lets stop the pretense. The single biggest reason NOT to allow sports-betting is it put money into UMNO/BN hands – the same goes for GST, removing subsidies, allowing toll hikes/subsidies, and just about every mega project including Kampung Baru no matter how deserving they are of development. I am even against developing KTM land in Singapore even if its the right thing to do.

Bottom line is NO REFORM, no money..

2. #2 by johnnypok on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 11:52 am

I suggest to transform Johor into the Las Vegas of SEA, in order to out-perform Singapore.
    Or better still, just sell the whole state to Singapore.

3. #3 by Godfather on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 12:07 pm

There is nothing wrong with regulating gambling. However, if the licences for gambling are given to UMNO cronies without any form of transparency or competitive bidding, then I would rather have the free-for-all that is currently in place – most of which is underground. I don’t mind giving my money to underground bookies – but I’d be the last person to want to give money to Vinny Tan – knowing that this is a key guy who keeps feeding the BN crooks.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 12:11 pm

Just to underlie how much I think no money should go to UMNO/BN, I rather give the money to bookies and illegal bookmakers than give the money to UMNO/BN. In fact, if gambling was tax deductible, I’d give my taxes to the bookies and illegal bookmakers rather than UMNO/BN

5. #5 by frankyapp on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 2:10 pm

I think gambling is part and parcel or a kind of cultural of all malaysian. Malaysian bets on anything long before casino and 4 digits are being introduced,for example,cock fighting,fish fighting and in even top competition,(casing) .However I think those days people go for betting is just for the fun of it. Whereas nowadays people bets or gambles,hoping to become rich and powerful. But most ended up in big trouble. The funny thing is though all gamblers know that 9 out of ten gamblers would ended up being death/bankrupt,yet there’s no ending to it. Whether you legalise it or banning it,there’s no stopping the people to gamble as the urge to become rich instantly is always in everyone’s mind. Talking about legalised 4digits,I’m pretty sure everyone knows that every one ticket sold there’s are 10 or more sold in the black market as it’s much cheaper.Frankly gambling is a world phenomenal parasite and no man and law can undo it.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 2:46 pm

Dr. Lim Teck Ghee says, “the cabinet decision not to issue a sports betting licence to Ascot Sports Sdn Bhd is the right one but it was made for the wrong reasons”.

So can we now equally say that Pakatan Rakyat’s decision to oppose issuance by the government of a sports betting licence to Ascot Sports Sdn Bhd is also the right one but it was made for the wrong reasons?

The right reason for the objection appears, judging from the collective wisdom of some of the comments here, to deny a company controlled by an alleged crony of a former PM a lucrative sports betting licence given, without open tender, with fears that it may profit and benefit ultimately the BN’s political cause of “luring kataks” though the reasons actually given (publicly) were: –

(a) in the case of DAP/Penang State Government, it was the “excessively high number of draws -12 draws or special draws conducted weekly by the three gaming companies licensed by the BN government, which should be reduced” as they are not promotive of healthy lifestyles…

(b) in the case of PAS, its haram, from perspective religion per se, not very different from Najib/BN’s “impact it will have from the perspective of religion and politics.”

Doesn’t anyone make right decision based on right reasons anymore? To make right decision based on wrong reasons may be as dangerous as making wrong decsions based on right reasons!

Dr. Lim Teck Ghee also wrote “by closing the door on sports betting (temporarily, I hope), let’s hope it does not open the Pandora’s box of religious and political taboos to extend to other aspects of entertainment, relaxation and culture that are part of the life of modern society everywhere in the world – everywhere that is except for a few nations that continue to deny their nationals their full freedoms and rights in the name of ‘piety’ and ‘moral virtue’.”

Well if both BN as well as PR’s parties decision to oppose issuance of sports betting licence to Ascot Sports Sdn Bhd “is the right one but made for the wrong reasons”, then Dr Lim Teck Ghee’s fear of the opening of the “Pandora’s box of religious and political taboos” become real and is legitimate.

7. #7 by k1980 on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 2:48 pm

If a person has money to spend, it is his inalienable right to gamble it away as he sees fit. However, the issue here is that gambling attracts the destitute man, as sugar attracts ants, who earns not enough for himself, not to mention his family.

The law of probability decrees that it is impossible to multiply one’s wages by gambling. I daresay that the ah longs will close shop once the poor stops gambling. This also lead to the poor idiots seeking winning numbers from bomohs and other conmen. The late Datuk Mazlan met his ghastly end at the hands of bomohs when he sought their help to gain material wealth.

8. #8 by k1980 on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 3:00 pm

A bum approaches a man and asks him for $5.

Man: “Will you use it for buying booze?”
    Bum: “No, sir”
    Man: “Will you gamble it away, then”?
    Bum: “Absolutely NOT!”
    Man (bemused): “Why don’t you come home with me. I want my wife to see what happens to a man who doesn’t drink or gamble.”

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 3:12 pm

///in the stock market where it is glorified as speculation/// – Dr. Lim Teck Ghee.

Its often said our Stock market is also a casino, more probably lost their fortunes/net worth in dabbling and punting stocks that they could in sports betting (unless they have invested (ironically) in Genting Shares! Should we desist then from entering the stock market – and for that matter futures & forex trading – for same reasons (degeneration to unhealthy lifestyle for majority unlucky)? Bursa Malaysia will thank you Dr Lim for suggesting!

Then again I have heard of a lucky or perhaps skillful few who consistently make more than they lose in gambling (horse racing bets) or even in Genting Casino.

How far can one stretch the term ” gambling”? If parallel to almost “sure to lose” risk taking bets/ventures, wouldn’t many of these mega ventures (from PKFZ to Bakun Dam to Sime’s loss making ventures in Qatar) look like gambling? That makes the govt biggest gambler, ain’t, with public funds?

10. #10 by limkamput on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 3:19 pm

There are many good practices that we can emulate such as the Hong Kong Jockey Club’s non-profit gambling operations and the casinos in the United States that are operated by the native Indian communities on Indian reservation lands and where the employment opportunities and profits accrue to the marginalized communities. //lim teck ghee

OBVIOUSLY YOU CAN’T DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN PRINCIPLES AND REALITIES. PLEASE DON’T GIVE YOUR VIEWS HERE IF YOU ARE NOT SURE OF THE FACTS. How convenient, we have lottery, betting and gambling for charity. Oh yes, I forgot, Miss Universal and Miss World contests are also for charity cause. What difference have they made to the world other than providing fame for some and some sex scandals for others?

On your views on Mahathir, I think you have to sort out the difference between risk taking and foolhardy gambling. Calculated risk taking is scientific and based on intelligence and information. Mahathir’s gambling is based on big ego, hatred and on someone else’s money.

11. #11 by limkamput on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 3:33 pm

sorry off topic, read in the Star: Contractors who violated work regulations, including failing to pay their workers, in the new Istana Negara project will be blacklisted by the Construction Industry Development Board Malaysia (CIDB), Works Minister Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor said.

If indeed we have black-listed contractors who violates regulations, profiteered, and did shoddy jobs, Malaysia would have no contractor left. This is a typical sh!tty solutions from the sh!tty Minister to our perennial sh!tty problem. Like “gambling for charity” discussed by Teck Ghee earlier, are these contractors not supposed to do their honest jobs earning honest profits? If we can’t regulate contractors, can we regulate gambling in Malaysia? Just like many have said earlier when nuclear plants were proposed. If we can’t build a proper ceiling, can you build a nuclear plant?

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 3:35 pm

Central to issue is whether you like a “paternalistic” government ie government that acts like a father, nanny all in one, telling you and by laws making sure you do what is “right” for yourself and don’t do harmful things to ourself like gambling or immoral things like extra marital sex – where by such laws, you have no free will or option to exercise your own judgment or misjudgment to do what you think is right or wrong for yourself; where you live in a cultural environment clinically clean and supposedly healthy where only healthy lifestyles encouraged, and unheathy lifestyles as defined by your betters, disdained if not proscibed/criminalised, a world very “moral” without vices….

13. #13 by limkamput on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 4:00 pm

The Finance Ministry is planning to channel revenues collected from non-halal sources in a separate account so that they would not get mixed up with revenues from halal sources, deputy minister Datuk Dr Awang Adek Hussin said.// from the star

May I know what is the purpose of keeping the gambling revenue in a separate account? Why halal and non halal? Are you saying that non halal revenue is for the use of “non halal people” only? What is non halal people then – people who gamble only? What about people who eat pork? I can see the lobbyists working over time to see the sport betting licence approved. I am saying we should move one step further, ban all 4d and sport toto bettings. Let them go underground and if the government truly cares for the people, it should enforce the law diligently and strictly. All gambling, whether legalized or otherwise, are meant to cheat people, period. There is no charitable gambling, gambling for a good cause, or gambling to raise revenue because for every cent the government raises, it probably has to spend many times more to handle the ill social consequences arising from gambling.

14. #14 by Loh on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 6:53 pm

limkamput :
    The Finance Ministry is planning to channel revenues collected from non-halal sources in a separate account so that they would not get mixed up with revenues from halal sources, deputy minister Datuk Dr Awang Adek Hussin said.// from the star
    May I know what is the purpose of keeping the gambling revenue in a separate account? Why halal and non halal? Are you saying that non halal revenue is for the use of “non halal people” only?

The ‘non-halal’ citizens or non-Muslims would be happy to benefit from the non-halal funds. But they should not be restricted to utilize only non-halal funds, if that was the intention of separating government funds into halal and non-halal account. The minister should clarify whether income tax collected from non-halal citizens belong to non-halal account.

15. #15 by monsterball on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 7:40 pm

On this subject..it is so clear race and religion are played and used.
    Saying that to please the Malaysia Chinese.
    It’s Najib’s “I Malaysia” and “People first. Performance now”..at it’s lowest class hypocracy..trying to make Malaysian Chinese happy to win more votes… like he did in Sibu.
    UMNO B Supreme Council knew the double talks…double standards application gone too far.
    Mahathir and Najib..should feel very shameful indeed.

16. #16 by dawsheng on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 9:23 pm

The article seems to suggest that since we live in a hell hole we might as well make some good out of it. It’s beyond me to comprehend what tickled Dr. Lim’s faculty to write this never ending story.

“In a sense, all of life and the various decisions that we make are gambles.”

Who is to argue with such a wisdom?

17. #17 by dawsheng on Monday, 28 June 2010 - 9:35 pm

Also, by closing the door on sports betting (temporarily, I hope), let’s hope it does not open the Pandora’s box of religious and political taboos to extend to other aspects of entertainment, relaxation and culture that are part of the life of modern society everywhere in the world – everywhere that is except for a few nations that continue to deny their nationals their full freedoms and rights in the name of ‘piety’ and ‘moral virtue’ – Dr. Lim

Jeez! I am glad I didn’t get that much of education to understand this.

18. #18 by Indran on Tuesday, 29 June 2010 - 12:24 am

“We are not just talking about betting and gambling. We are also talking about human trafficking of women and children (for prostitution), human trafficking of men, money laundering, drug trafficking and even terrorism-related activities. This black economy is worth RM10bil,” said Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein.

Illegal gambling just drives human vices underground and continue to make our underground economy massive. That is one of the symptoms that is leading to the sovereign credit risk in Greece… Well, or perhaps, it is just a case of sour grapes for the rest of us who will not be privy to a money-making machine!
    In Malaysia, we have a great penchant to make every civil decision “from the perspective of religion and politics.” We have to congratulate ourselves for being pious and not suffering from political apathy that doom so many other more advanced economies.

As for the extensive discussion on gambling, I would like to provide an alternative view.
    Risk – a possibility of incurring loss or misfortune;
    “drinking alcohol is a health hazard”; “gambling is a money hazard”; Everyone is a risk manager. We either actively seek to eliminate or assume risk.
    Being alive is like holding a put option. We know that the our “put writer” will definitely be buying us back at expiry. The only uncertainty is the option’s time to expiration.

19. #19 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 29 June 2010 - 6:55 am

Of cos, MMK is d maha gambler with d gambling genes fr his father

20. #20 by HARGA diri on Tuesday, 29 June 2010 - 9:55 am

It is not fair and not right for Dr Lim Teck Ghee to say that gambling is in Malaysia’s genes. But while going into legal and illegal casinos is morally wrong, yet like you have said, even life itself is a gamble. Gambling grew out of a game that kids play. Kids play with points and gifts which are given to the winner. In gambling, real money replaces the innocent points and gifts. It is the desire to win and that desire can become an addiction. Bottom line is you have to ask yourself. What do you value most in life ? It all comes back to the self.

21. #21 by k1980 on Tuesday, 29 June 2010 - 3:03 pm

Now, the Chinese has a Malay leader to champion their rights– da mamak has defended the rights of the Chinese to gamble (till they commit suicide by jumping off buildings). Now what about their rights to scholarships?

22. #22 by dagen on Wednesday, 30 June 2010 - 8:19 am

Jib now says no sports betting licence because of “the impact it will have from the perspective of religion and politics.” By religion he meant islam jenis umno and by politics he meant umno’s shaky political position. The reason for the u-turn has nothing to do with the harm betting could bring to the people esp the chinese. In other words he is saying this to chinese: “Li si li ay tai chi.”

23. #23 by dagen on Wednesday, 30 June 2010 - 8:27 am

Dr mamak wanted to re-create the opium thingy in malaysia. He knew well that chinese are gamblers. So let them gamble on and see them rot.

Mamak oooh mamak. Not this time. Not in the 21st centuary!

24. #24 by k1980 on Wednesday, 30 June 2010 - 9:42 am

If all the non-halal income is put into a non-halal account for exclusive use by the non-halal citizens, the NEP would grind to a halt because no more money for the bumis

25. #25 by HARGA diri on Wednesday, 30 June 2010 - 8:31 pm

It was because not all China nationals were opium addicts or gamblers or hiding under the Empress’s skirt that they transformed China from what she was without any dignity to what she is today, a roaring tiger.

26. #26 by ktteokt on Thursday, 1 July 2010 - 9:53 am

Life is a gamble, so is politics! Look at the stakes Najis put in for the last few buy-elections and you know that he is trying to keep his nose above the water! But for how long? How many more “buy-elections” can he take? He had better cross his fingers and pray hard that no more MPs or Statesassemblymen get called by the Lord to minimize payout for promises during BUY-ELECTIONS!

27. #27 by johnnypok on Thursday, 1 July 2010 - 12:53 pm

All human-beings are born gambler.

You are a hypocrite if you disagree that God is a Gambler

28. #28 by HARGA diri on Thursday, 1 July 2010 - 9:49 pm

Did your baby know how to gamble ? We can manipulate the word gamble, gambling, gambler. When you are angry with God, you would think of the worst. But if you do not believe in God, you will not get angry because there is no God in your life to get angry with. In the beginning, there was no sin. The trouble is the mother of all women was too curious. Curiousity kills the cat.