DAP wants parliamentary probe on Najib’s Sibu ‘promises’

By Shazwan Mustafa Kamal | The Malaysian Insider
June 24, 2010

KUALA LUMPUR, June 24 —The DAP demanded today that Datuk Seri Najib Razak be referred to the parliamentary rights and privileges committee over “inconsistencies” concerning money promised by the prime minister during the recent Sibu by-election campaign.

“Najib, through a written reply yesterday to Sibu MP Wong Ho Leng and Bandar Kuching MP Chong Chien Jien, had said that the government had not promised any projects to Sibu folk during the by-election in Sibu.

“This is a clear lie. We have the recording on Youtube, which has now attracted over 90,000 views. It shows Najib, during a speech in Rejang Park, promising RM5 million if people voted for BN,” said Chong.

During a last-minute pitch on the eve of the by-election, Najib announced an allocation of RM5 million for flood-mitigation projects in Rejang Park provided the BN candidate was elected.

“If Robert Lau becomes the MP on Sunday, on Monday I will ask [for] the cheque to be prepared. Do we have a deal or not? We do! You want the RM5 million, I want Robert Lau to win,” Najib told the crowd.

The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) has also agreed to investigate claims that the prime minister committed an election offence during the Sibu vote, with his pledge to solve flash floods there if Barisan Nasional retained the Parliamentary seat.

The DAP had earlier today in Parliament moved to refer Najib under Standing Orders 36(12) to refer to him to the parliamentary rights and privileges committee for “misleading Parliament.”

Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin said that he would look into the matter first before deciding any further action.

“This money was an assurance given by the PM. I want the money. The Sibu people want the money. He (Najib) should be responsible for this,” said newly-minted MP Wong.

The Najib administration revealed yesterday that it had approved 107 projects and programmes collectively worth RM37.7 million during the recent Sibu by-election.

However, the government denied that the approval for the projects was done because of the Sibu by-election to attract voters to vote for Barisan Nasional (BN).

“The projects which have been approved for the Sibu parliamentary seat have been planned by the government long before the by-elections had been called, same as every parliamentary and state seat throughout the country,” said the statement.

“We want to know if the RM5 million promised by PM is part of the RM37.7 million used for projects in Sibu. If it is not, where is the money promised by PM? His denial contradicts what he said in Sibu,” added Chong.

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 24 June 2010 - 4:39 pm

Parliamentary probe ? Even if they agree, it’ll be nothing but a whitewash. AG will say that Najib has broken no laws. The only value here is to provide some sort of warning that they should not be too blatant during buy-elections but then do we seriously think that they will mind your warning ?

2. #2 by Godfather on Thursday, 24 June 2010 - 4:41 pm

I can assure you that the Youtube recording is not admissible in a court of law – Bolehland style.

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 24 June 2010 - 4:50 pm

liar, liar, batang on fire

4. #4 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 24 June 2010 - 5:26 pm

I just dun bloody understand why all the readers and commentators are so upset and burning with hatred for BN……Is there anything you can do about it?..None huh?.
    So just relax lah…..work hard and harder to get more new voters for PR via your own ” Voter get Voters” campaign for PR.
    Then comes GE 13 we can bloody Fcuk BN good & proper. Smart me huh?

5. #5 by Brats195 on Thursday, 24 June 2010 - 6:25 pm

I would suggest that opposition start a blog focusing on scrutinizing BN spending. Call it blog.BN$Watch.com.

Each and every potential spending greater than RM0.1Million should be highlighted in this blog for public scrutiny and public pressure. The objective is to deter BN from spending tax payers’ money!

I believe this is a more effective use of blogs. Take actions to stop BN from spending our money!

Public scrutiny on RM800M parliament building is one good example of fruitful effort by bloggers.

I would expect opposition and BN component party MP’s to post at least 1 BN spending finding each per week and subject to rigorous public scrutiny. This is so much we can do to curb BN(or rather Najib) spending!!!

6. #6 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 24 June 2010 - 10:35 pm

Mind you, if I were a foreign investor, I would be smart to avoid investing in this lying and corrupted Bolehland.

7. #7 by ringthetill on Thursday, 24 June 2010 - 10:59 pm

Yes, a parlimentary committee probe is approprite. Because MACC reports to the PM it will not be able to conduct any probe on the PM’s conduct.
    And, while you are at it, can the parlimentary committee also check if Ascot Sports have been granted a licence. There is contradictory reports by Ascot and the PM. We need to know.
    Let’s wait in hope, many thanks.

8. #8 by negarawan on Thursday, 24 June 2010 - 11:29 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dkd-RSDfbbc&NR=1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvmedK0L688&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcS54ieL2Es&feature=related

The story of the natives of Bakun pretty much summarizes what the BN government has been doing in Malaysia for the last 50 years – shortchanging the rakyat to line their own pockets. I am really saddened by how the children suffer, no schooling, no proper nutrition, living in poverty, because their families were cheated and sidelined by the BN government in the name of Bakun Dam.

9. #9 by monsterball on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 7:56 am

They have been lying and telling half truths and twisting ‘COMMISSION” uttered by Najib to “SERVICE CHARGES” knowing the French government treats commission as bribes..in that submarine deal.
    UMNO B will always give all sorts of explainations to treat Malaysians as idiots…and yes….most innocent Malaysians read and believe they are telling the truths….will now have internet to read and understand better.
    What are going on in the Parliament …Najib will feel no shame or guilt whatsoever…exactly like Mahathir.
    Vote them out…you will see all truths come out one by one…making Malaysians no more confused nor treated like suckers by Najib.

10. #10 by wanderer on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 9:09 am

If the arms of the law can reach these “untouchables”. The Federal and State Constitutions would not been abused. They will not be given the free hand to create so many Kangaroo Courts stuffed with monkey judges. Above all, the Institutions of the land will not be tainted with corruptions. The UMNO PM and The Sarawak CM will not be sitting so pretty and comfortably!!
    By the time if PR reached Putrajaya, C4 and Fat Mama would be sailing off with the latest underwater toy to the last frontier and “King Taib” will be a PR of Canada enjoying in his holiday resort home. Malaysia boleh!!

Eunuch Chengho, you will be most welcomed to be their baggage carrier…

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 9:49 am

I don’t need our screwed up Parliament to tell me he is guilty of breaking the law. I had a modicum of doubt about Najib and Altantuya before but after Sibu and Hulu Selangor, I don’t anymore. Breaking the law is a careless habit he started long time ago. He has broken the law many more times than you and I will ever know and he does not know it himself.

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 10:04 am

Raising in Parliament of the issue of PM Najib’s promise of RM5 million for flood mitigation project to Sibu folks during the by-election in Sibu by DAP Sarawak MPs is strategic and has put the PM/BN and Speaker in a dilemma difficult to wiggle out.

First of all, referring the PM to Parliamentary Rights and Privileges Committee (“PRPC”) is over the issue of “inconsistency” – a thing apart from separate issue of whether his promise constitutes corrupt act and criminal offence within meaning of Elections Offences Act, 1954.

Elsewhere in an earlier thread on why MACC dared not the PM on this matter (filed on May 21st ) I have already explained why by the 1981 Federal court case between DAP’s Teoh Teik Huat & MCA’s Penang Chief Lim Kean Siew over the Pengkalan Kota seat it was already laid down as law that promising development funds to a class of voters (as what Tengku Razaleigh as Finance Minister did in that case) is not an offence under the Elections Offences Act.

However although it is not a “criminal” offence under that Act, yet the act by the government of withholding development funds – to which the constitutency is entitled, whether or not they vote for the ruling coalition – until by election or election time to promise dispensation of these funds constitutes bad faith not in accord with best democratic practices for reasons that it:-

(i) smacks of using financial inducement to “bribe” voters to vote for ruling coalition’s candidate not based on candidates’ merits but on funds that the voters are entitled to anywhere as of right rather than a privilege in exchange for voting the ruling coalition’s candidate; and

(ii) puts Opposition on unlevel playing field since it has not the access to Federal development funds.

So to distance the PM from allegations levelled at him personally for skating at the “edge” of corruption by the Elections Act or being undemocratic and unethical in respects of (i) and (ii) above, the position is taken to disclose in Parliament (1) PM had not personally/specifically promised any project (including the RM5 million flood mitigation project to Sibu folk during the by-election in Sibu) and (2) there were already 107 projects and programmes collectively worth RM37.7 million prior approved designated for the recent Sibu by-election. This of course does not help.

In respect of (1) what the PM said in Parliament is blatantly inconsistent with what is shown in YouTube supported by all who heard his Rejang Park’s speech. In so doing and trying to deny the undeniable, he gets out of the boiling pot to hot pan – because he is now charged with misleading Parliament – which is contempt of Parliament if so determined by the PRPC. He’s likely to get off here because BN MPs dominate by majority Parliament as well the PRPC. This means he would referred to PRPC, and even if he were, PRPC would likely exonerate him.

The main point achieved (politically by DAP) (beside the PM’s charged for misleading Parliament) is that neither he nor the BN will, from such disclosure of pre-approved projects including 66 “cash items”, wiggle out from censure and rebuke. For such disclosure confirms rather than rebut allegations of undemocratic malpractices from standpoint of (i) and (ii) above stated (even though they might not, strictly by the 1981 Federal Court case, constitute technically an election offence).

13. #13 by Thor on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 10:12 am

Australia’s Kevin Rudd was ousted by his own Deputy due to his inefficiency in handling his country’s policy.
    He was made to step down for fear that his party will lose in the next election.
    As for our PM, he’s the worst of the worst as compared to him, so what are you Umno guys ( the good ones) waiting for?
    Don’t have the guts!!!

14. #14 by monsterball on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 10:59 am

No no guts..cannot do it…as all must stand united or else crooks play out crooks will have all crooks land into trouble.
    The moment this UMNO B band of robbers and thieves fight each other…that’s the end of UMNO B.
    But few signs are there…that the robbers of lesser amount..willing to take the risk to bring UMNO B down….like [deleted]
    The selfishness and greediness will be UMNO B’s down fall….sooner or later.
    That will never happen….unless we change the government..and if PR no guts to do the right things against corruptions…throw them out at 14th GE.
    People’s Power must dictate terms…not politicians.

15. #15 by habis on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 11:10 am

It just goes to show that whatever our gutter PM says you should never never take his words for he has no honour dignity at all. A leopard never change its spots and dont Malaysians ever trust this man for he can say one thing and the next moment he will deny whatever uttered just seconds ago.AG and MAAC are all powerless to do anything for to take any action they have to look up to get approval from you know who and they are after all puppets of the BN govt.So I hope all my fellow loyal East Malaysian uncles,aunties, brothers and sisters do be be fooled by the leadership of this corrupt blood-sucking BN govt who had been mismanaging and siphoning dry all our country’s wealth into their secret accounts and leading us to the verge of bankruptcy.

16. #16 by DAP man on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 11:18 am

Najib is a sick man!!!! He denies everything without even blinking his eyes.

He will even deny that is name is Najib.

17. #17 by DAP man on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 11:19 am

I look like Najib, I talk like Najib but I am not Najib.

18. #18 by second class citizen on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 11:25 am

hi , malaysia boleh land, Boleh rompak wang rakyat, like recent alibaba contract already rompak wang kita semua melaysian around 70 million to their gang/kroni who support each other like take comisen/present, this is the only one of it , i belive there is a lot that unknown yet, and yet a lot will stay unknown for able if we don’t take them out in the next big election, like recent by election they miss use alot of rakyat money to buy vote (u tolong saya ,saya tolong u ),kelantan under BN boleh get royalty minyak after past NO royalty minyak, Melaka get million on heritage work money, Penang get the money by Boleh kerajaan from kroni company, all who on BN like MCA/MIC and others want menteri post/power/money only. MCA should joint PR

19. #19 by Winston on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 11:37 am

By reneging on his promises, he can be sure that the next candidate that he supported will be ignored by the people.

20. #20 by baochingtian on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 1:49 pm

May be someone can interview the children who are well taken care of in overseas if they agree to what the father has done in Sibu.

21. #21 by samlgx on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 3:12 pm

Can Mr. Lim give us comment on why government wants to abolished the UPSR and PMR. TQ

22. #22 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 3:33 pm

if BN stop wholesale plundering,stop leakages, proper management…we would be far ahead of that little red dot. Would it not be nice that common folks can go to Singapore where everything is divided by 2..instead of X 2 ?
    So still wanna vote for BN ???
    So still wanna complained only and do NOTHING ???
    Or go ALL out and get new voters 4 PR .

23. #23 by frankyapp on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 4:54 pm

I think there’s no need to have a parliamentary probe as it’s just wasting time and money. The youtube video is indeed a clear and undoubtedly profound evident of Najib’s words for the Sibu people. What’s important here is Najib’s crediablity among the eyes and ears of the people,not the ruling of the law.Keeping showing the video recording to the people and let the voters decide who’s the real liar.

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 5:43 pm

Yes that Najib video “I help you, you help me” for Sibu is priceless.
    Any person with honour and integrity will resign when they admit such a grave offence.
    But I guess we are talking about Najib here. Add the Taib Canada empire and PR has really excellent campaign material that people can really understand.
    Definitely worth more than APCO PR makeovers.

25. #25 by monsterball on Friday, 25 June 2010 - 8:25 pm

I have viewed his Sibu speech more than 10 times ad each time….I learn more things…his art of lying and his unbelievable lying mentality. I guess he thinks Malaysians will move on and can easily forget…so act and lie…as much as he can.
    He said he never fail to keep his promises.
    He promised Youth Chief..to vote for Razaliegh against Mahathir and last moment he turned a traitor to Razaleigh.
    After more than 25 years..you ca never see Razaleigh appear close and friendly to Najib at all.
    The RM500 million commission on the submarine deal and the death of Atlantuya will bury him alive..sooner or later…unless there is no God or Gods in Malaysia.. at all.

26. #26 by kpt99 on Saturday, 26 June 2010 - 5:12 pm

Majority of the constituencies in urban areas will be capture by PR in this coming SE.Modern voters are not easily influenced by old and conservative methods of campaigns.PR will sure fair this time.