The 10th Malaysia Five Year Plan : Old Wine in New Bottles – Part 7 (National Agenda for all Malaysians instead of a mutating NEP)

A dispassionate analysis of the forty years of implementation of the NEP-NDP provides many lessons. These include:

• There is no alternative to pro-growth policies if Malaysia is to attain the original goals of the NEP, namely eradication of poverty irrespective of race and economic restructuring; pro-growth policies are also essential if the Vision 2020 goals are to be achieved.

• Malaysia has achieved rapid growth and prospered when the policy framework has been pro-market and liberal.

• On the other hand, pro- distribution policies such as those favored and advocated by Faaland in the early 1970s and again revived now championed by PERKASA, have led to slow overall growth and more specifically low achievement of the restructuring targets.

• The private sector constitutes the main engine of growth. Over-regulation of the sector under the NEP framework creates impediments to investment, both domestic and foreign, thereby impacting on poverty eradication and opportunities for restructuring.

• There is a high cost of doing business when there is over-regulation or bureaucratic control. Distortions emerge that create opportunities for rent-seeking and corruption.

• Ethnic polarization surges when the economic cake grows slowly or not at all. National unity can only occur in circumstances when there are no perceived feelings of deprivation.

• Human capital investments have the highest rates of return and contribute to upward mobility for the disadvantaged. At the same time they are a prerequisite for attaining competitiveness. Present policies are skewed against real human capital development.

What the nation needs is not a return to failed and distorted policies, but a shift towards new instruments and approaches that will contribute to improved competitiveness, strengthened institutions that will deliver cost effective services in an efficient manner, eliminate corruption and rent seeking, and promote ethnic harmony via a Malaysian national agenda rather than promote divisiveness via ill- conceived and failed policies.

What the nation needs at this critical stage in its history is not rhetoric but vision. For one brief moment, hopes were raised that the adoption of the NEM would present an opportunity to move to a framework that would offer the means to escape the constraints of the NEP framework.

Alas, that opportunity has not been grasped. A mutating NEP lives on.

Malaysians need to be brought together and made to engage in a united war against divisive forces preaching race and separatism. A step in that direction would be the convening of a national congress to arrive at a consensus about national priorities foremost among which are the elimination of corruption, adoption of an educational system based on excellence, respect for good governance and the rule of law, and last but not least a return to the underlying principles of the Merdeka Constitution.

This critique of the 10th Plan has attempted to question some of the assumptions and assertions contained in the Plan. It has argued the case for a fresh set of policies and a different approach to confronting the many challenges the nation faces both domestically and internationally.

First and foremost, the majority of Malaysians desire a National Agenda that is not ethno-centric that contributes to national unity, prosperity and a future in which we are identified as Malaysians – not divided into Bumiputras and non- Bumiputras.

Second, there is a deep desire to live in an equitable society with absolute poverty eliminated, and income and wealth disparities reduced.

Third, Malaysians yearn for an open society that is just, in which human rights and the rule of law are respected.

Fourth, there is a deep desire for a society in which tolerance and respect for diverse views prevails.

Fifth, there is transparency and accountability in the process of governance.

Reaching these goals is as much part of the vision for Malaysia as a developed nation in income terms by the end of the coming decade. That status goes beyond some magical per capita income level. Sadly, the 10th Plan evades these issues and puts the nation on a path that entraps it further as a mediocre middle income country. Circumstances demand a new mix of policies that embrace:

• Rational Fiscal Policies: In the near term, bringing the fiscal imbalances under control; eliminate the distorting effects of both consumer and corporate subsidies in gradual stages and by increasing public sector productivity through elimination of waste, fraud, and corruption.

• Curb the scourge of inflation through a combination of fiscal, monetary and exchange rate policies that take account of market factors

• Improved delivery of public services by revamping the public service together with a restructuring of employment, including opportunities for non-Bumiputras to be hired and not constrained by a glass ceiling

• Deregulation to remove the dead hand of the bureaucracy to enable the private sector to operate effectively to achieve growth

• Address the issue of absolute poverty irrespective of race by a combination of measures that would include skill development, faster employment creation, and a coherent wage policy. Establish effective safety net programs that protect the weak and the poor.

• Introduce a minimum wage to ensure that those in the lowest rungs of the labor force receive a living wage. This would lift many out of poverty, reduce income disparities, and enhance competitiveness and modernizations of industry as private employers will be forced to become efficient and competitive.

• Equitable distribution of wealth; Support for competent Bumiputra entrepreneurs rather than cronies and the well connected; review the methodology for estimating equity share capital.

• Address the issue of quality at all levels of the educational system by enforcing standards and providing support to those in need to pursue educational opportunities; remove polarizing effects of various measures now in place

These proposals should be non- controversial and contribute to the development of a National Agenda that is unifying and not polarizing. It is the deepest wish of all Malaysians that there be a coming together, to confront the obstacles and challenges that lie ahead.

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 14 June 2010 - 7:41 pm

The nep has caused malaysia to be bankrupt by 2019.

2. #2 by negarawan on Monday, 14 June 2010 - 7:57 pm

800mil on new parliament that we don’t need, another 800mil on new palace announced just a couple weeks later, and I’m sure more multi-billion mega white elephants to be announced soon. Are UMNOputras worried they will loose power by next GE therefore in a hurry to make money while they can? At this rate of spending money, I think the country will be bankrupt well before 2019!

3. #3 by a-malaysian on Monday, 14 June 2010 - 8:22 pm

If You Are Not Angry…You Are Not Patriotic !

GE 13 – Change The Federal Government No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty two years.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Monday, 14 June 2010 - 9:58 pm

AI mentioned Agroscience Industries Sdn Bhd n National Feedlot Centre (CORRUPTION)
    Want 2 know abt them n moo-moo?
    Visit lah
    http://malaysiataxpayer.wordpress.com/2008/11/13/rm250m-national-livestock-corporation-sdn-bhd-under-investigation/
    Perfect example of Malays getting super rich fast n furious under NEP, MMK’s style
    How not 2 b BANKRUPT?

5. #5 by boh-liao on Monday, 14 June 2010 - 10:08 pm

New Sibu MP gave a good maiden speech in d parliament, bravo, keep up d good job

6. #6 by voice2009 on Monday, 14 June 2010 - 11:20 pm

The PM knowing that the 30% quota blockingstone for Malaysia to be excellent.

But he do not want to be hero of Malaysia history doing the righteous thing for all Malaysians leading us to be excellent.

The PM chosen to be COWARD and bend to PERKASA demand.

7. #7 by voice2009 on Monday, 14 June 2010 - 11:23 pm

The PM chosen to be COWARD and bend down to PERKASA demand.

8. #8 by voice2009 on Monday, 14 June 2010 - 11:34 pm

Chosen to be an liars rather than be an honor man.

What does his father said? NEP be expired in about 25 years in order to get non-malay trust to support….after 50 years not even one review..so Is this a lie?

Can you trust their words?

9. #9 by steven chan on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 12:00 am

The NEP is BN’s wheelchair and unless it is thrown away BN will forever remain an OKU. There is no such thing as Bumiputra status for a certain group. This is not INDIA (caste system) as planned by the Mamaktahir so that he will divide n rule forever.
    Look to yr brother , Indonesia where the NEP has been scrapped and no such thing as bumiputras to certain group. In fact all are bumiputras and all citizens are equal.
    This erroneous mindset should be cast off now or else we will loose out in the global world

10. #10 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 1:59 am

Think NR will lead us 2 our dreamland or d darkest nightmare, kaput bankrupt
    Learn fr history, read:
    http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/an-open-letter-from-dr-tan-kee-kwong-jibby-bankrupted-felda/

11. #11 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 3:06 am

What is good and bad for the the nation – what the nation needs – is something many, including our political elites know except that our ruling politicians are not prepared to put their self interest after the nation’s greater interest as evinced by their stance of being identified with their race first and Malaysian second rather than the other way around!

They make decision simply on what will keep them in office, or what will get them re-elected and if that requires playing the race card, perpetuating the NEP and patronage ridden system, protecting the excesses of the few in priority to the moderate needs of the many other country men, so be it, even if its inimical to the country’s competiveness and survival in the global environment.

They are not bound by any moral compass of what is right versus what is wrong or what is rational versus what is irrational. Thats farthest down in the scale of priorities….

They have either coalesced themselves with the other players having a vested interest in or resisting change of the patronage ridden system, or even if not, have evinced a plain lack of resolve to contest and challenge the reactionary forces against change.

One may have a “dispassionate analysis of the forty years of implementation of the NEP-NDP” and elucidate on its many lessons but who in the political position to change things for the better of the nation is bothered to heed these lessons when self interest is, at all material times, prioritised over the wider nation’s interest ???

There is also a prevailing sense of cynicism.

A politician senses his tenure of office is transient. If he spends that limited time trying to do right for country he will just end up ruffling too many vested interests all around that will coalesce and galvanise themselves to evict him out of his position of power and political influence. The conventional wisdom is knowing what can be changed from within the system and what cannot and knowing the difference betwteen what can and cannot.

Since any attempt to change from within will, in all probability, be an exercise in futility -when all around are fed by it and resist its dismantling and fight the reformer tooth and nail – one may as well recoil, make hay while sun shines, and leave the country’s fate to more intrepid, capable or self sacrificial political players of future times. It is called pragmatism, cowardly or not edifying notwithstanding!

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 7:22 am

“A politician senses his tenure of office is transient”.
    That is true in most democracies but in Malaysia and a few backward nations, our retired politicians don’t just fade away – they get their children to take their places and hang on to well-financed positions of influence.
    Even in the Philippines, the son of Aquino will be the next President but at least he was voted by the people. In Malaysia Najib became the PM with the support of a few dozen UMNO leaders who decided that Badawi had to go.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 8:24 am

What are the big holes in the plan.

1) GDP projection is way too high. We are entering a period of slower growth because the developed countries have debt indigestion and China/India economy is entering a new maturity that will mean slower growth.
    2) Private Investment which have fallen short for a while now is only going to worsen because of capital flight. We should have a period of decent private investment because of large scale property projects by the govt. But these vast projects will lead to massive capital flight if the market slowdown that will be permanent.

The rest of the stuff – changes in govt etc..we are basically in limbo so long as Najib in power. He cannot really move on the right-wing of his Perkasa which he can only do if he is willing to move on corruption, police, judicial system which he cannot do unless he figure out a way to give himself immunity from his own misdeeds. He not only do not and cannot do anything in those areas, he continue to participate in its perversion.

So we know the rosy projection like most of Najib grand talk are crap. Will we Malaysian effect change because of mediocrity? Not likely, we are likely to just find ways to cope or migrate. I predict human capital flight in grand scale and not confined to the best and brightest.

In the end, the only thing that will trigger real change is financial. We are condemned to live through a financial disaster before there will be real change. In the end, that is who we are.

14. #14 by habis on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 9:23 am

What is the necessity to build a new parliament house and spend 800 million? Money can be put better use to benefit the rakyat.Other countries around the world dont do it but Malaysia Boleh.First in squantering rakyats $$$.New palace 800 million without open tender another good show by BN govt of how they manage out economy.No wonder First Malaysia is surely the way to third world status if we dont wake up and change this corrupt govt.50 years of mismanagement is enough!!!Having Mr Maverik playing up racial issues to project popular support is his new game behind Perkasa and Katak.Cost of living going up and up but who cares??Our rich UMno MPs are pocketing all the $$ with their cronyies companies.Najib`s First Malaysia is just an empty slogan to mislead Malaysians into false hope for a better Malaysia.

15. #15 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 9:47 am

south korea 2 : greece 0
    japan 1 : cameroon 0
    malaysia : bola boleh bola boleh bola tak boleh ahmoi boleh…..

16. #16 by c730427 on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 10:19 am

Why do we need a RM800 million Royal Palace when the money could be used for rural development.

Funds could be allocated to Perlis, Kelantan and Sabah to eradicate poverty by developing the human n enterprising skills.

17. #17 by k1980 on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 10:54 am

From “malaysia boleh” to “malaysia bankrap”— all in the space of a decade, thanks to jibby

18. #18 by habis on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 11:10 am

East Malayians Bumis are lagging behind but now the BN govt realise their safe deposits are going bust cos ppl over there are not stupid. They know the rots and the big fat worms in the BN govt eating up and destroying our country economy.Giving peanuts to appease them is an insult to their intelligence.In UK their Queen still stays in the same palace built decades ago.PM and their Parliament still stays in same place But over here we spend like nobody business becos of corruption.On one hand the govt says our currency is up but what do we see?Prices of daily commodities are up cost of living are sky rocketing and the poor are badly hit.Who cares? BN brokes are loaded with their illgotten gains.Soon we will be like Zambawee.Sport betting licence should be given to a govt agency set up so that all profits be plough back to the rakyat to improve their standard of living.We need to spend Rakyat $$$ wisely .Stop all white elephants projects and concentrate on eradicating poverty improving infra structure and investing wisely all Petronas $$$.No more divide and rule and send all racist party to hell. They are the real culprits that hinders us from integrating as one people one nation.

19. #19 by wanderer on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 11:12 am

Scrapping the bottom of the barrel only scums are left. One should not be surprised at the vision -less corrupted UMNO regime…as long as the UMNOputers are looked after, what do they care about others and the nation!

20. #20 by dagen on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 11:39 am

Hah that means malaysia too could beat greece and cameroon. Because we used to trash S.Korea and japan. Yeah we are good, man.

Huh? Were good? Oh! So we ought to be better now! That means, we are in the league of world champions. Whooooa! How fantastic. So that kinda makes jib a world champion pm and and … and chengho a world champion bola carrier. Wooow.

21. #21 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 11:54 am

Putrajaya has no funds for bright students
    Huh? Apa itu? No money, pok kai?
    Yet only recently, NR promised $$$ like no 2moro in HS n Sibu: U know what I want, give me what I want n C me 2moro 4 cash ceks, RM millions, no problemo
    Yet got $$$ 2 increase new palace cost fr RM400 million to >RM800 million
    Yet got gomen largess n gravy train 4 UmnoB/BNputras n cronies, like Agroscience Industries Sdn Bhd n National Feedlot Centre

22. #22 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 12:27 pm

The Never Ending Policy to be amended to the Never Ending Model. New Palace cost more than doubled. I guarantee you that the new convention centre to be built by NAZA will also escalate dramatically. New Parliament building at RM800 million ? Wait for the final number….these thieves have honed stealing into a fine art…with phantom variation orders.

23. #23 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 12:37 pm

KS Jomo speech is virtually blows entire 10MP, NEM, 1Malaysia, Najib, out of the water. Basically says everything that Najib says and doing is nonsense. Najib is reduced to basically an prodigal child holding a job meant for giant adults. I especially liked the description of Vision 2020 as ‘khayalan’.

Malaysia is like a house where the adults left on vacation nd let the children run wild. Time for the adults to go back home and put children in place.

24. #24 by negarawan on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 1:06 pm

MALAYSIA’S former premier, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, on Sunday warned his country’s majority Malays that they are at risk of suffering the fate of their ethnic cousins in Singapore – who are a minority not protected by the Government, he said.
    —————————

During the separation, many Malays actually opted to remain in Singapore, and some even made their way to Singapore. The Malays in Singapore have a totally different mindset and are doing much better than their counterparts in Malaysia in all fields of economic and social development. Mahathir’s statement can’t be further from the truth and is born out of malice. The fact that Lee Kuan Yew is a statesman recognized internationally and highly seeked for his advice on regional economic and political matters, while Mahathir is even despised and ridiculed in his own country speak volumes.

25. #25 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 1:13 pm

in this mutation, bn had to die. if not, the disease will continue and kill the whole country.

26. #26 by dagen on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 1:16 pm

Does not matter if we go bust. It does not matter one tiny bit. Coz we have angkasawan. His smile alone can feed 26m malaysians.

Cannot say the same for singapore. If they go bust, they will just go bust. End of story for them.

Not us. So you see why jib is so confident?

27. #27 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 1:23 pm

The absurd reason for a new RM800mil+ palace for the Agong and the denial of scholarships as the government cannot affor it shows how woefully, wanton and wasteful the Bankrupsi Negara government is.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2010/06/wrong-priorities-of-bankrupsi-negara.html

28. #28 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 1:24 pm

sorry typos:

the government cannot afford it shows how woefully wanton and wasteful

29. #29 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 1:42 pm

Scholarships you cannot engineer any benefits to UMNO. Contracts you can give to your cronies and get some funding from the overpriced contracts.

30. #30 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 2:00 pm

Once a liar always a liar. Lee Kuan Yew stood up in Singapore Parliament a couple of months ago to point out that the things given to the Malays in Singapore such as funding for education in Singapore are their privilleges and their rights NOT assistance.

Also fact more Malays migrate to Singapore than the other way.

31. #31 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 2:40 pm

I think if a poll is call in Singapore whether the malays citizen wish to go back to malaysia permanently,the result would be “none” However should Singapore opens its gate to allow malaysian malays to settle in it,I think Singapore can easily attract them by the thousands. Guys see the difference,in Singapore the minority is protected whereas in Malaysia the majority is protected. Does it make any sense ? In another word,the strong needed protection against the weak minority,it does not make any sense ,right ? I think no where in the whole world has this policy except in “boleh land “.

32. #32 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 2:40 pm

/// What the nation needs at this critical stage in its history is not rhetoric but vision. ///

More than just a vision. We had Mahathir’s Vision 2020; we had the myopic vision of Perkasa; and now we have the highfalutin NEM which is turning into a nightmare instead of a vision.

What is needed besides a vision, is to translate the vision into concrete plans, and implement them properly. The devil, as usual is in the details and in the actual implementation.

33. #33 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 2:59 pm

Thus far the Bankrupsi Negara government has been only good at creating mirages with never ending visions.
    Let’s rename Vision2020 as MIRAGE2020.

34. #34 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 3:11 pm

The real issue is in the definition of “30 pct”. It’s a never ending definition in the eyes of the BN gomen. It’s a moving target which gives them unlimited access to funds and projects.

Frankly, I think this country has to go bankrupt first before it can right itself.

35. #35 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 3:50 pm

Not the country first.

Its the State Assemblymen who gets bankrupted first.

To avoid his money woes, he declares himself “independent” and “BN- friendly”.

You know I know lah, this solves all his money problems immediately. Many have already benefited from this move so why not man. Its a short life. Better enjoy now.

I am a disappointed, very disappointed Singh.

36. #36 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 4:06 pm

I am informed through the ‘network’ the man is really in a big dung. Car repossessed, business bad, leadership not helping him and he’s got a family to think about.

Being, big, strong and friendly is not good enough. You can’t live on fresh air and sunshine. Get real.

DAP must set up a pokkai fund to hel its members lest they go away.

Quick LKS, LGE, Nizar, do something. Its still not too late, I am told.

37. #37 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 4:08 pm

Little Napoleon immigration officer molested girl n extorted $$$ fr her n her fiance
    http://www.kwongwah.com.my/news/2010/06/14/173.html
    It happened to them, it could also happen to anyone of us, including our daughter, sister, mother, grandmother, aunty, etc

DAP’s Keshvinder Singh became a toad today, jumped jumped, kaya raya
    In d land of silver, Malay, Chinese, n Indian ADUNs all happily jumped, muhibbah
    Tot someone said it was 2 b d other way of jumping, fr BN 2 PR

38. #38 by Brats195 on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 4:39 pm

1) Who cares about whether it is “old wine” in new bottle or “new wine” or “wine blended to taste new”? What is important is to safe guard tax payers’ money and Malaysia wealth against BN!

2) BN can not be trusted to manage tax payers’ money. What is important is to keep BN away from our tax payers’ money?

3) Today, tax payers’ money can be given away at a stroke of a pen or uttering of words in public place! This is scarrrrrrry…..where is the check and balance?

4) I question the effectiveness of PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA in parliament.

5) I question the effectives of PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA in pushing for a check and balance system to safe guard tax payers’ money.

6) I question the effectiveness of PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA in demanding for tax payers to be involved in the utilization of tax payers’ money.

7) I question the effectiveness of PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA in demanding for clear and concise approval process with regards to requestor’s name, beneficiaries, costing, 3 levels of approval.

8) I question the effectives of PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA in demanding for PM to distant himself in the approval process. Approval should involve tax payers, states and federal government. A non political independent third committee consisting of NGO, tax payers and professional should be asked to evaluate and approve spending.

9) If PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA MP’s were to fail in demanding for strict control of tax payers’ money, why do we need PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA MP’s at all? This is a sheer waste of tax payers’ money for their perks and salaries.

10) Why do we need PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA MP’s if their mere existence is to write and complain instead of acting in a concerted effort to deprive BN of the right to utilize Malaysia wealth and tax payers’ money.
    Today, PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA MP’s are as good as their spoken words and written blogs. They can not do a damn thing to keep BN away from squandering away tax payers’ money. Why do we need PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA MP’s? This is a sheer waste of the tax payers’ money.

11) Today PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA MP’s are totally incapable of influencing the parliament claiming minority seats as obstacle to effect changes. Have you tried to stand up and be counted? I ask.

12) I believe quality counts instead of quantity. If any of the PKR, DAP, PAS and MCA MP’s were righteous to speak his or her mind, I believe righteousness would prevail eventually though constrained by the lack of majority vote.
    13) While number counts, it does not stop any DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA MP’s from standing up and speak.

14) When will DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA MP’s be able to scrutinize BN spending and ask for third party approval/audit committee to be set up to limit spending and stop corruption?

15) The time is now, “voters get voters” Vote neither BN, DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA but focus on controlling the use of tax payers’ money.

16) The time is now, “voters get voters”. Vote for an Independent 3rd party. We do not need BN, DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA MP’s.

17) The time is now,”voters get voters”. Malaysia would be richer, happier without BN, DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA MP’s.

18) Why? The answer is clear, BN sucks. DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA are talks only. They can not do anything at all! WHY ARE WE SPENDING MILLIONS’ OF TAX PAYERS’ MONEYTO KEEP THEM? Malaysia can do without BN, DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA MP’s.

39. #39 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 4:46 pm

Once in a while, we get comments that want to make us vomit blood. Brats195 is a classic example. BN cannot be trusted. PR cannot be trusted. So how ? Vote them all out. So who’s going to be in charge ? Independent party. Like a firm of auditors ? KPMG or Price Waterhouse ?

Sometimes I think it is simply too difficult to talk some common sense.

40. #40 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 4:49 pm

In an election, we don’t vote people out until we can vote some other people in. And if there is no one to vote in because we trust no one, then the incumbent stays. Is that too difficult to understand ?

41. #41 by Brats195 on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 5:43 pm

1) I vomit blood too…..but on writing.
    2) There is absolutely nothing that you and I can do except to vent our frustration on writing. We are just like Lim Keat Siang, DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA, talking, talking, writing and writing but can not do a damn thing!
    3) The message is to have a process and check and balance to safe guard our tax payers’ money.
    4) New brooms sweep cleaner, how you can be sure that it will not gather dirt over times?
    5) When the brooms get dirtier and it hurts RAKYAT in the process, we vote in a NEW broom. There goes the cycle….
    6) The key is a sustainable check and balance involving tax payers’ & professional in the decision making process.
    7) I’m still vomiting blood each time I read about Lim Keat Siang’s blog and the comments. TALK ONLY but NO ACTION…
    8) We need to make DAP, PAS, PKR and MCA work harder since they are empowered to do something in parliament.
    9) For you and I, no chance……TALK ONLY…..

42. #42 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 5:52 pm

To ALL readers & commentators : Complained and whinned ALL you want,there is NOTHING,absolutely NOTHING you ALL can do. However there is one and ONLY one thing which we ALL can and SHOULD do viz is start your own “VOTER-get-VOTERS” campaign for PR. Do it not tommorrow but NOW cos GE13 is just around the corner..closer than you think. Start this ” VOTER-get-VOTERS 4 PR” campaign NOW by chain emails,sms,words of mouth to everyone….for a BETTER Malaysia..Join us at “VOTER-get-VOTERS for a Better Malaysia ” in facebook

43. #43 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 5:52 pm

Taling is important too as it enables us to discuss how we want to change Malaysia.
    Five years ago, all the resentment was simply bottled up and the GE of 2008 showed that Malaysians want change.
    Of course change is never easy and things seem to be getting worse before it can get better.
    So hang in there and keep working to get new voters.

44. #44 by Godfather on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 5:54 pm

Brat195, maybe for you, it’s TALK only, but for some of us it is not. We walk the talk because we help either financially or with our efforts in by-elections, etc.

As an aside, how do you know that Pakatan will be the same as BN in times to come ? Yes, if they become dirty, then we vote BN back in again. Give them a chance,that’s all we are asking. Give them a chance to prove that they are NOT BN. You can’t get well with a particular doctor, change the doctor. Don’t just conclude that all doctors are the same, and you can never be well.

45. #45 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 6:06 pm

sorry typo
    Talking

46. #46 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 6:19 pm

Don’t expect MCA MPs 2 speak up n against BN bcos they r BNputras n d cause of problems

Keshvinder Singh claimed dat he left DAP 2 protect d interest of d people in his constituency n 2 ensure continued developments
    What bullSht is dat? If he really wanted 2 bring benefits 2 his constituents, then he SHLD RESIGN 2 force a BUY ELECTION
    NR, d Chai Shern Yeh, will go to KS’s constituency 2 rain $$$ n benefits 2 KS’s constituents
    So, Keshvinder Singh, 4 d love of your constituents, RESIGN LAH or better still KICK D BUCKET!

47. #47 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 6:21 pm

BREAKING NEWS!. Najib issued statment about sports-betting license that means Vincent Tan broke securities law that is punishable by JAIL!!!!

Perfect example of Najib plans leading to nowhere and you get screwed for trusting him..

48. #48 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 6:58 pm

I don’t expect Keshvinder Singh to resign as if he has financial problems, he will want to keep his ADUN allowance and then pension after completing his term.

49. #49 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 7:07 pm

Wuz told one Tan Sri yelled in triumph: “Up Yours LGE”.

Now which Tan Sri do you think he is?

No prize for correct guess. Small change to him. Shouldn’t have angered him.

So now PR needs more than 3 frogs from the other side of the Kinta river. But it is the frog mating and baiting season.

50. #50 by Tikus Belanda on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 7:55 pm

The main question is who can be the HEAD of PR, to lead openly against BN? Seems PR is like loose sand, unable to hold on together. Each bickering at each other. When does one know unity is strength?

I’m sure all our talks in this forum is being taken into consideration. However, when we are out there talking with our friends, relatives or whoever, let’s bring up this subject & convince them of this necessary change. Agreeing among ourselves is good, why not let the rest of outside people agree with us too? This is the concept of voters-get-voters campaign.

Then comes GE13, see the tide turn……..

51. #51 by monsterball on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 9:38 pm

The art and style of brats195 is nothing new..to insult DAP and PR.
    It is nice to read he is vomiting blood to…after reading Godfather’s respond.
    Yes guys..we are riding high.
    That’s why…Mahathir is at his best in race dirty politic…which actually carry no weight and contradicting Najib’s “1Malaysia”..while Najib try his luck to fish for more Muslim votes with another style…by way of a much bigger budget King Palace…hoping Malaysia Will be so proud of UMNO B.
    Fortunately…whatever these downright hypocrites and liars are doing…they are digging their own graves…by contradicting and exposing themselves…who they are.
    That should make brats195 vomit blood looking at his heroes making fools of themselves..while he is trying so hard to be one here too.
    Yes..I am reading everyday with pleasure..until this brats195 comes in and spoil my silence.

52. #52 by monsterball on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 9:48 pm

Do not ever forget…..in 12th GE…all those voting for keDAILan…DAP..and PAS voted for the symbols…and careless who that candidate was.
    So few frogs have emerged and more to come…who cares.
    I am sure PR have learn the lesson …especially from that female crippled frog from Perak..who started it all.
    It’s the 13th GE that counts and winning Sibu by-election is litmus test favoring CHANGE of government is a must.
    Let all those frogs jump as much as they want..and getting decorated with better tittles….and let all who left BN be prepared to give up all those useless titles.
    That’s it…titles are for all heroes in BN…free and easy.
    Want one?..just jump like a frog..having make a deal with Najib…big house and Merz car guaranteed…..besides the frog’s fee to jump.

53. #53 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 11:13 pm

Well, SemCorps just appointed the former CEO of Petronas to its Board. It reminded me of the former traffic Manager of PKA who was napped by PSA in the early 70s. Marican could be older but see what Chang Geh Choo did to PSA? Semcorps is smart,as usual. Today PSA is leagues ahead whereas PKA is burdened with a bill of $12 plus billion! Yes, we are bothered by giving or is it selling titles of no sequence when the rest of the world is fighting hard to compete and to improve.
    So all the big plans we have would just remain plans in beautifully bound copy; only those projects that guaranteed pay outs will be done.

54. #54 by chengho on Tuesday, 15 June 2010 - 11:39 pm

What had happened to YB Keshvinder Singh ?

55. #55 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 12:12 am

Money talks. The top teaches the bottom and when the bottom starts doing what the top does, the top tries to put a stop to it. If the top is not disciplined, how credible it is to discipline the bottom ? Money in exchange for materials in exchange for votes. Transform and turns back into the same old thing again. Like the transformer cartoon. When it is time for the machine to attack, it will transform. After the attack, it will go back to its’ original form. This means that in reality there is no permanent good transformation. Only for show.

56. #56 by BoycottLocalPapers on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 12:44 am

Nazri: Putrajaya has no funds for bright students (MI) http://bit.ly/acflP1 But there is money for RM800 million new Parliament

There is no funds for bright fellow bright Malaysian students but there is enough funds to sponsor Palestinians to study for bachelor’s degrees, Master’s degrees, and doctorate.

Nik Aziz said: Palestine people still required assistance under the programme, which involved costs exceeding over RM700,000, and added that for this year alone, the fund targeted RM800,000 to sponsor another 30 students.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/MB-Kelantan-gives-monthly-aid-for-Palestinian-education/

Questions to UMNO regime and Pakatan Rakyat leaders:

(1) If our country Malaysia have no funds for our own bright Malaysian students, then why are we wasting our limited funds on [deleted] Palestinians that will not contribute anything to our economy?

(2) Why Pakatan Rakyat is setting up Palestine People’s Education Aid Fund programme instead of Penan People’s Education Aid Fund programme?

(3) What make the Palestinian more special than our fellow Malaysian?

(4) There are many bright Kelantanese students of Chinese and Indian descents who are working in Singapore as machine operator in factories or waiter in hotel because they do not have money to study in college. Why can’t these poor Chinese and Indian students receive that money given to the Palestinians? What make the Palestinians more special than our fellow Malaysians of Chinese and Indian descent?

(5) If we do not have enough fund for our bright students, then why waste money on that floatilla? Why can’t our bright students receive that money used for that floatilla?

(6) Who is more important to Pakatan Rakyat – Palestinian or Penan?

I hope DAP or any Pakatan Rakyat leaders can answer my questions. I have given up hope on UMNO & BN regime. So don’t make me giving up hope on DAP & Pakatan Rakyat as well.

57. #57 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 12:45 am

cemerlang
    sounds like you are describing some sexy scene! Hahaha ….just kidding.
    Please excuse my joke.

58. #58 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 9:20 am

Cemerlang’s cryptic posting can pass off as something related to sex – especially the part about “when it is time for the machine to attack, it will transform. After the attack, it will go back to its’ original form (I imagine the “flaccid” form)! This all begins with his remarks “the top teaches the bottom and when the bottom starts doing what the top does, the top tries to put a stop to it. If the top is not disciplined, how credible it is to discipline the bottom ?” Which is true because all nauughty acts at the bottom begin with freakish thoughts at the top giving the signals!

Yet though he may not exactly intended a salacious sexual pun, it is however entirely appropriate IMHO to the “context” of what he meant to say.

Sex –like the drive for financial security and from there over the boundary to excessive greed – is basic, recurrent, and a challenge to restrain. It afflicts people of all kinds of political persuasion and both sides of the political divide.

They pose same problems to BN’s parliamentarians and assemblymen as they would to Pakatan Rakyat’s….Once the top is not “disciplined” in these basics, the “signal” is given for the downwards to misbehave.

59. #59 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 9:34 am

Cemerlang’s comment is in response to chengho’s raising the Keshvinder Singh’s ‘defection’ within the broader context of this thread’s discussion of 10MP being humburg and incapable to address major issues of cronyism wastage and leakage arising from avarice/greed of the ruling coalition – though that DNA is also embedded too within elements on the PR’s side.

When it comes to that, the side that has money is BN (because it could forage on resources of the state), and its a game the PR cannot win – as evinced by the phenomenon of the largely “one sided” flow of “kataks” from PR’s camp to the BN’s and not the other way around ever since Anwar first opened the pandora box of September “take over” of Federal Govt by over 30+ crossing that never materialised!

To cross from BN to PR one has to be motivated by high principles; to cross from PR to BN requires just money and other enticements.

In a contest between high principles of fighting the People’s Cause and saving the country from bankruptcy on one hand and that of Basics (whether Sex or Money) the latter wins amongst most – depending on the Price – though not all people whether in BN or PR.

60. #60 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 11:15 am

That’s why sex and politics do mix.
    Politics gives power and that is one heady mixture that gets into everyone’s head. So the basic solution is that we must not allow anyone to stay in power for too long.
    Returning to the topic of 5-year Plans, Nazri has just debunked that notion. Bankrupsi Negara government does not plan anything beyong the next “I help you, you help me” crony contract or the more devious “I know what you want, you know what I want” negotiated deal that is never fully disclosed.
    After spending RM150mil just 5 years ago, they now want to move Parliament so the “white elephant” in Putrajaya can be redeemed.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2010/06/what-to-do-with-this-bankrupsi-negara.html

61. #61 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 11:41 am

Cashvinder Singh has proved that Cash is King, while Singh is not always king

62. #62 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 11:58 am

No, Singh is Lion King.

But I am feeling sad da man let us all down. He’s a disappointment to the community.

That’s why PR must not be too nice when others play dirty.

And Nizar must not assume he will automatically be the MB if PR manages to get back power.

63. #63 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 1:18 pm

chengho :
    What had happened to YB Keshvinder Singh ?

Well, that is a male frog joining a female frog which had hopped earlier…

That two belong to the same frog species _ with scientific name: “Rana MurtadfromDAP4moneyae”(a new “species”)

64. #64 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 1:38 pm

Cashvinder’s claim that he has lost faith in the dap is nonsense. It’s just that he has gained faith in $$$ from umno

65. #65 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 1:45 pm

Has streamyx ever done this to you?

http://www.emmitsburg.net/humor/pictures/2010/todays1.gif

66. #66 by Loh on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 1:51 pm

Malaysia is a failed state because the government services have failed. The GS fails because it is the reservoir of ‘buta gaji’. The government servants do not perform the functions expected of them. Thus at the ‘retail’ level, the policemen do not protect’ the people, and the ordinary citizens need protection from the uniformed personnel instead. At the ‘wholesale’ level where government policies are determined those who are assigned authorities to spend government funds are wasting them resulting in completed government buildings waiting to collapse, submarine refuses to submerge, and a one billion project overruns to cost 10 billion and more. Yes, it is the political masters who call the tune, in Malaysia. They can do that because the government services are not independent of political parties. Indeed more than 90% of government servants outside the teaching occupation are Malays and 90% of them are UMNO members. Consequently government services are an extension of UMNO>

The UMNO members among the government servant have only NEP mentality. They believe in the right to ‘buta gaji’ and that they are sitting in the position as though they had tendered for the right to use the power to enrich themselves. When the government servants who are supposed to ensure rule of law fail to do their job, there is no law in the country. The country has then reverted to dark ages.

It is clear that the resources available to Singapore are much less that what are available to Malaysia. It is clear that Singaporean Malays are enjoying a higher standard of living, including the fact that they live in dignity rather than fearing that Malays would disappear from the earth, like what is happening in Malaysia when the true Malays are outnumbered by pseudo-Malays, and the so-called affirmative action at the expense of the pride of the Malay community has been hijacked by the Malays who have ‘two spoonfuls of Pakistani blood. Singapore attains her current social and economic development because Singapore Government has the government service that performs their expected function. Around the world, the level of social and economic development among the countries is linked to their government services. But very few countries experience what Malaysia has gone through in destroying its government services. Malaysia started the destruction with NEP. Najib considers it more important to rescue his PM position than to turn the country around.

67. #67 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 2:03 pm

Time 2 convince MCA voters 2 abandon ship
    Esp female voters, ask them how can they support a party headed by a womaniser, fornicator, adulterer who F around d clock?
    How low can d MCA voters go? Limbo rock now
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgCHOrF5ryY&feature=related

As Obama said “What I will not accept is inaction.”

68. #68 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 2:06 pm

PM Najib said that “the government has no intention of doing away with affirmative action for the Bumiputeras”. “What I promised is that it would be more market friendly and based on merit” but he never promised to do away with affirmative action” (Source reference – Malaysiakini’s report by Joseph Sipalan | Jun 15, 10 11:57pm).

It is trite that the NEM by its financial liberalization, abolishment of FIC’s approvals, easing of investment rules and other measures, seek, as primary objective, the attracting and appeasement of foreign investments and funds into the Malaysian economy. (The liquid and free nature of foreign capital is of course part of the reality of the global economy). This has been emphasized in the many roadshow by the PM & entourage to meet foreign investors. Going hand in hand in the march to make Malaysia a high income country and to dismantle, in that process the patronage ridden structures of our economy, is the reformulation of the national ideology of ‘1 Malaysia’ based on plurality and inclusiveness of all Malaysian citizens regardless of race and religion.

Having said that it is also trite that the NEP and its affirmative policies/action seek, as primary objective, to uplift in major areas of policies only one major segment of the citizenry – the Bumiputras – which has been going on for the last 40 years and which have spawned the very patronage ridden economy reeking in wastage and leakage that the NEM, 1 Malaysia and 10 MP are supposed to rectify.

It can be seen from the above that there is no way that values and objectives of NEM & 1 Malaysia are reconcilable to that of NEP. In fact they are diametrically opposed. For example the NEM speaks of the removal of FIC requirement of 30% Bumi equity for public listing but now the 10MP, unveiled outlined a minimum 30 per cent bumiputera equity share target in company ownership. It is a direct contradiction!

After rejection of the NEM by Bumiputra Congress of 76 Malay NGOs led by Perkasa and after conferring with UMNO Supreme Council the PM has backtracked and is now put in the position of having to justify reconciling the irreconcilable. It is to be recollected at in his speech to that Congress he was reported to have said ‘Malay equity has remained at 18% for last 10-15 years and joked the definition of “craziness” was doing the “same thing” repeatedly and expecting different results each time….” – (Source reference: The MalaysianInsider report by Yow Hong Chieh May 30, 2010).

The PM had made it clear in not so many words – that the way the NEP has been implemented has caused so much wastage and leakage and talent outflow that we’re stuck in the middle income rut, and there is a need to do things a new way to facilitate economic growth and income generation, which if successful, will benefit all Malaysians in general but more the Bumiputras of all levels of social/economic stratification especially the poorer and needy since they form the majority of populace. The argument is anything that brings the country to higher growth and prosperity will benefit the Bumiputras more since they are majority consistent with the Malay agenda that he has not abandoned contrary to allegations of his detractors. However his detractors stop him. They can’t see his vision. They have vested interests in the present system, which they don’t want changed – which forces the PM to engage in political dialectics to try show how opposites (NEM & NEP) are and can become identical!

No plan (including 10MP) – no matter how well written and advised – will succeed unless there is indomitable political will to translate vision to reality. If its hamstrung by feudal sentiments and blocked by vested interest appeased, and defensible only by engagement in dialectical polemics, it is hard to see how the plan will succeed.

69. #69 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 2:36 pm

///Najib considers it more important to rescue his PM position than to turn the country around.///

His argument is that if he loses his position then the question of turning around the country does not even arise.

The PM’s position is not owed (directly) to majority of rakyat and their votes dictating what they perceive good for the country. (In contrast the US president is directly voted by citizens).

Here the PM’s position depends on votes of party delegates as influenced by power brokers/warlords. If they favour status quo NEP – because they have vested interests in it – then the PM (unless he’s very strong with supporters at all level within cabinet and party/coalition and public at large) has to abide by their dictates or faces eviction from office and replacement by rival defending that status quo.

70. #70 by dagen on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 4:09 pm

Sorry off topic.

Heard that the contractor who built that stadium with collapsed roof is also the contractor now engaged in the 100% cost overrun palace project.

If ibrahim bin perkasa cannot see that we are truly pharrked that way, even god cant help him. I am not wishing the agong bad luck. I just hope that the palace roof too would collapse and with the agong inside. You see many a commoner like us have been sacrificed and yet the umno gobermen is still completely insensitive and could not be bothered. So let us see what would happen if (just if) the agong was injured because of some shoddy work by umnoputras!

This is not a bad luck wish for the agong. Dont get me wrong. I am just postulating. I am only working on probabilities and track record. And that contractor has a poor record which we all knew well.

71. #71 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 4:31 pm

Eevn if a portion of the insinuations of the 10th MP is true, then the prediction of Jala will come true sooner than later. The “negotiated tenders” will never vanish from Bolehland; no wonder the FTA with USA couldn’t move. I don’t think any clause to help the poors is the issue; it is the open corruption that is the issue. It certain looks like the Gomen is throwing a CHALLENGE TO ALL THINKING MALAYSIANS, try me if you dare! It is also obvious that if the leaders of the largest Community refuse to take this challenge to save the nation, then it is definitely on the WALL that the nation has flown into the River of No Return. Take the challenge and ensure that leaders who refuse to take action on behalf of the PEOPLE are thrown into the river of no return come the next GE!

72. #72 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 4:55 pm

///M’kini: On June 12, Nazri announced that some 60,000 Siamese in the peninsula, who are categorised as bumiputeras, enjoy special rights like the Malays. ///
    So you see, there’ll be another 60k votes for bn n the other local non malays r considered no way near to the siamese. I C this is how 1Malaysia works!

73. #73 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 5:39 pm

60k muslim Siamese in peninsula and with over a million illegal muslim philipinos and muslim Idonesians in Sabah too are catergorised as bumiputersa and enjoy special rights like the malays,I think the Chinese,Indian,the KDM and Iban/Dayak now have no choice but to unite absolutely to remain relevent in Malaysia. I think failing which in no time these four grouping would be categorised as “lain2 or others ” and may ended up as refugees and pandatang.

74. #74 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 7:59 pm

Yeah, a big fat hard slap on Indians and Chinese who have been here 4 many generations, contributing 2 Merdeka n d economic growth of M’sia
    Not enjoying d privileges of Bumi
    But true pendatang baru Muslim Siamese n illegal Muslim Filipinos n Indons r enjoying d benefits of Bumi

To LKS: Admit not so young like b4 lah, cannot fire fighting here, there, everywhere, MAKE SURE U have good rest, don’t push yourself n your luck too vigorously
    TAKE CARE n STAY HEALTHY, many good shows n actions 2 come nearer d next GE

75. #75 by son of perpaduan on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 10:43 pm

The current economic situation in Malaysia is very disappointing. The trend of economic globalisation bring new changes to the world situation. Therefore, if a clever goverment should play an important role by encouraging local investor invest more on our own soil informed the latest world by keeping their eyes and ears open. The new situation requires immediate understanding of events, swift research, correct judgement. and quick response in our international studies. In an information society. the public can acquire a large amount of relevant information right after any event takes place. Private and public investor should be given a key role to lead our market in order to convince international investor participation. Objectively speaking, everyone can particpate in diplomacy in the information age. When you make judgements and responses, we should take domestic opinion as well as international opinion into consideration, since foreign affairs and internal affairs are interrelated. In other words, our diplomatic activities should win the support of the internal public as well as the international community.

Economic globalization is having a strong impact on the global economy and political structure. It is very negative and unimportant in particular, Umno-BN monopolize, mislead the public, control main stream media information, which are circulated to spread and fabricating rumors, marginalize others too. Failing on the recognition of your on rakyat means failed on your OneMalaysia as well. How can you compete with the outside world where you can even take care of yor own nation. You must understand that Chinese, Malay, Indian, even people from Sabah and Sarawak needs each others and work together as a TRULY Malaysian to compete with outside world intead of marginalize them. Coexistence of multiracial must not deny, whether you like it or not, you have to face the challenge.

From a historical perspective on international relations, we can see that religious and racial conflicts often reignite problems that were thought to hsve been brought under control or even solved after a great change in 1969. Religion is a Pandora’s box, which is easy to open and hard to close without long-term efforts. Reminder to Perkasa @ Tun Mahathir too. Religion is an inevictable phenomenon in human society. It is a religious concept that the year 2000 marked the start of the third millennium worldwide. The history of human society is certainly much more longer than 2,000 years. For the whole of human society, everything undergoes changes and the process of birth, growth, development, and death. But the history of religion is much longer than of any country. Therefore, religious issues deserve our attention. PAS is moving into this direction of HOPE positively.

76. #76 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 16 June 2010 - 11:21 pm

See what money can do. RM 5 million court case against Keshvinder and Hee. What do you think, people of Malaysia ? Good idea or bad idea ? Good because politicians will think twice about their loyalty to the party. Bad because this will give negative impressions. Gila.. Gila… The next day the news was able to dig out something about Keshvinder. Seems that he has some money problems. Well he is right though. Being BN friendly has more advantages. However it seems that PM is highly cautious of him, according to the sound of the news people. Wonder why he is unfairly discriminating. He is open to Miss Hee. But not so to Mr Keshvinder. It does look like the fourth floor boys have been doing some homework. Therefore the moral of the story is before you decide to jump into any one political party, you must think. Loyalty is like trust. Imagine when the trust is gone. Imagine when people smile but in their hearts they curse. Unless you know how to play the game well.

77. #77 by limkamput on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 12:33 am

Limkamput has never felt more disappointed. Limkamput has migrated to a far away place, with tears in his eyes and heart filled with pain. But Limkamput will be still watching and writing. Come next election, DAP/PR should let Jeffrey, Godfather and Monsterball (if he is not too old and too half baked) to stand as their candidates. They are better bet than all the tiumiamah politicians we see today.

78. #78 by monsterball on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 1:08 am

Get lost and don’t come back. Nobody will miss you.
    Talk alot and no vote expected..to support PR…just talk talk talk.
    I knew from the start…studying all his messages..this scumbag…is a swinger.
    Don’t be fooled by him…supporting PR.
    This MCA scumbag is here to tease and ridicule.

79. #79 by monsterball on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 1:21 am

At least we know for sure.Chengho will vote for BN…and will not migrate.
    He is a true Malaysian to fight it out ..to stay makan gaji buta.
    Failing which…driver to Monsterball…also no problem…correct Chengho?
    That scumbag…have been judging and promoting how smart he is. That’s all.
    You can bet your last ringgit..he has been going for many interviews….bragging and all rejected him.
    Who wants to employ such a braggart?
    No job…no money…no future…no income…out he goes looking for a job…in Timbuktu.
    Goodbye…get lost.
    Hope you can live as long and strong as me…happy and well.
    You want to insult….be sure your are 100 % sincere and brave…and dare to walk the talk..faceless scumbag.

80. #80 by Loh on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 3:49 am

Najib said that 30% was the NEP target of Malays ownership of corporate sector equities. He has not said what that 30% relates. Is it the total share capital level as at 1970, even assuming it is adjusted to present value? That 30% might be based on the total equities in 1990 when the NEP was supposed to have ended, but extended to attain that 30% threshold. The 30% cannot be based on the current year, since for that to be the basis, NEP cannot end. That is because nobody knows what would the figure be the following year. The late Tun Razak stated the 30% as an indication that Malays had achieved self-reliance entry point, and no more crutches would be needed.

If the government has an indication of target, such as the 30%, there shouldb e a transparent assessment of whether that threshold has been reached. The government has not shown to be sincere in honoring the promise that the NEP has the 30% target as achievement. If it had, it would have done public accounting on the progress achieved, particularly since NEP has overrun its sunset time. Najib as DPM in late 2006 promised that the EPU would bare the basis of ownership data computation to prove ASLI wrong for stating that the 30% target had long be achieved. As PM, Najib has to honour his words. By claiming that NEP would continue without having first confirmed with hard statistics that the 30% target had not be achieved, Najib proves that he is just a bully.

81. #81 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 7:23 am

I am sure that the 30% has already been reached AND also wasted away in extravagent living like the lifestyle of the rich and famous. Everyone knows that whatever target is set, the goal is impossible. The situation is similar to the story of the little boy on the beach who was trying to fill up a hole on the beach with the sea.
    Since a Minister himself has forecast that Malaysia can go bankrupt, there is another statistic that should be studied. What is the percentage of the national budget is being spent on driving the 30% target?
    As Loh mentioned, no proper audit is being done and presented to Parliament each year-so how do we know the plan is working? Indeed if there is any plan at all. I suggest we should refer to this grand insane illusion as MIRAGE2020.

82. #82 by monsterball on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 7:50 am

The 30% has been achieved years ago…but you can leave it to UMNO B interpretations …it has not been achieved.
    A well known renowned economic scholar who works for the government have proven it so clearly the facts…and had to resigned …being so call proven wrong. His name slips my mind right now…but it s a fact..the 30% have been achieved.
    The moment it is proven being achieved ….UMNO B cannot champion anymore for the Malays…so it must always be not achieved yet…as long as UMNO B is in power.
    How else can they keep playing race politics..and keep fooling Malays…if Malays do not depend on UMNO B?
    The problem for Najib now……is that majority Malays are aware of UMNO B lies and deceits.
    I need to talk “Malays” …as if I am a racist to exposed UMNO B racists.
    Malaysians by and large are not racists….except UMNO B keep promoting racist politics on one hand ..and on the other…promote “1Malaysia”…to keep confusing Malaysians.
    Anything done by UMNO B government can never be simple and straight forward.
    It must always go round in circles…to make things look difficult to get the results….and when it is soooooo simple…just wait for ideas from UMNO B crooks to amend this and amend that to make it complicated again.
    How else can UMNO B ever hope to rule forever…it things are simple to govern?

83. #83 by monsterball on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 7:58 am

Mahathir is proven a racist and a liar….yet he is hailed as UMNO B hero by Najib and his band of robbers.
    This itself tells you…the better you can lie and twist and master the art of double talks…you are the best UMNO B leader…and no one can beat Mahathir….the greatest liar and hypocrite…you can ever find.
    We need to ignore CORRUPTIONS…as the government is corrupted to the core…and therefore…all asses are well protected…as long as UMNO B is governing.

84. #84 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 8:26 am

Najib view that he don’t have to to get rid of NEP but yet be more market friendly and based on merit comes down to unsubstantiated faith in micromanagement and refusal/reluctance/incapacity to swallow needed pain of change. Basically walking a thin line that he has no track record of doing nor anyone in UMNO/BN really has. Besides, that its still misses the point.

The point is there is too much of both corruption and a disincentive to perform. The problem begin with the Malay ruling class and permeates a huge group of people from civil servants, businessmen, even workers and regardless of race and religion. At the crux of why the problem exist is because the NEP and its associated Malay right and Ketuanan Melayu inherently does not have a mechanism to counter it, does not have an answer to it. So the only way to get rid of network of corruption and disincentive perform is to get rid of the pandora’s box that brought it – the NEP. There is no other choice.

Will getting rid of NEP get rid of all corruption? Of course not. But can you be more meritocratic and market friendly without getting rid of NEP? Far far more improbable.

Najib view is prodigal idea is borned of years of an inbred system that basically is what UMNO Baru build by Mahathirism. He is too much part of the system to see and believe in the necessary cathartic change. He has been too much part of the system to believe change must come with great pain. And he does not have the skills to pull it off.

All Najib is doing is squeeze a few more year out of a failing system. The Last Emperor of a dying dynasty if one buys into the feudal analogy of Malay administration. The system allows it to do so but ultimately we will have to pay the price of his mediocrity..

85. #85 by dagen on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 8:50 am

Wish you well LKS.
    Take things easy for a couple of weeks.

86. #86 by victimofcorruption on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 9:31 am

Kesh deserve none of my concern. But anyone knows what happened to LKS? He has not been updating his blog for few days already. Hope he is fine. Our country will bankrupt sooner without him.

87. #87 by boh-liao on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 9:39 am

Forget abt 30% – as Jomo n Lim TG had explained many times, impossible 2 satisfy d blardi greed of UmnoB/BNputras on d pretext of reaching 30%
    MMK n his gang of thieves knew dat d 30% target had been achieved many times over in d last 20 years
    It’s like filling up a jar with cookies – every time d cookies reach 30% of d jar, big fat greasy greedy hands go in n scoop off d cookies, leaving a miserable % in d jar
    How can d jar ever reach 30% or >? No way
    N d owners of the jar, who also happen 2 own d big fat greasy greedy hands, keep crying wee wee 2 d rakyat dat more cookies, robbed fr other ppl’s possessions, hv 2 b put into d jar 4 them 2 enjoy, their privilege they claimed
    Wow lah, dis is unending n ensures d owners of the jar remain kaya raya 4 many generations
    Dis is d legacy of racist MMK n his gang of UmnoB/BN thieves, n now + Perkasa crooks
    MMK of cos supports legalised betting through his bosom or tit fren VT’s company, U know I know lah d sweet rich profits

88. #88 by boh-liao on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 9:43 am

From LKS’s TWITTER:
    Not feeling well past few days. Had medical check up. Seems to be generally ok. Advised to slacken pace.
    Will take the slack for two days.

89. #89 by dagen on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 9:51 am

Hey fellas, plucked this from malaysia today. It was written for a local chinese paper and translated into english for posting in MT.

LKS is unwell. Let him have some rest. We shant trouble him with new postings/threads. So here we go:

“The “Melayu Bangkit” rally only managed to draw the participation of about 1,000 people despite the much hoohah created before it was kicked off.

Among those who “rose up” in the rally were Dr Mahathir, Terengganu MB, and some prominent Umno leaders.

It is not hard to imagine that the rest of the audience made up of kampung folks driven in in tour coaches.

No, not the 10,000-odd Gertak (Terengganu’s answer to Perkasa) had vowed to bring in. In its stead, we only saw about 1,000 villagers coming in just to join in the fun.

Dr M was dead disgruntled.

So, he asked peevishly why the event had not taken place on May 13.

Weird! He seems to have a special liking for this particular date.

The organisers said the date had been fixed for Dr M, who seemed to single out the historically significant date for the rally.

Probably the day was particularly inspiring to him.

Even though the rally was later postponed to June 14, Dr M still had May 13 deeply planted in his heart, and in his speech May 13 was fondly mentioned.

This time he said May 13 was actually a clash of classes, where the impoverished Malays ran into the wealthy non-Malays.

In other words, it was the manifestation of the most fundamental belief of Karl Marx, the Father of Communism: a clash between the classless and capitalists.

And because the capitalists had preyed on the classless, the communists had to wage a class war.

Vladimir Lenin, Leon Trotsky, Joseph Stalin, Mao Zedong, the Gang of Four and so on and on. All these people “rose up” by uplifting Karl Marx’s Das Kapital, and had themselves influenced every other people to “rise up” against the capitalists, anti-revolutionaries, democrats and intellectuals.

In the end, save for a handful of privileged people, everyone else continued to be classless.

Having discarded the class theories, ironically those who have “risen up” today–from Beijing to Moscow–are, you guess, capitalists.

This set of class theories has been dumped into the trash can of history.

Which Dr M is happily picking up and recycling.

But lacking proper training in political ideologies and having little knowledge of historical common sense, the recycling of discarded philosophies wil not produce any promising outcome.

Race and class are two entirely different concepts which we should not associate with each other.

Many non-Malays here were no capitalists during those turbulent times of 1969. Many Chinese families were either working as rubber tappers or mine coolies, or petty traders who barely made enough to make ends meet.

There were of course big tycoons, but they didn’t make up the majority.

If Chinese were the capitalists, then the Communist Party of Malaya would not have a market here.

And not all Malays were classless back in those years. Many Malays took up civil posts offering assured livelihoods. And with houses inherited from their ancestors, they hardly qualify for the “classless” definition.

In addition, some Malays had already done pretty well in politics, enjoying rather lavish life.

A clash between the impoverished Malays and the loaded non-Malays? Please, stop belittling our wisdom!”

90. #90 by k1980 on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 10:36 am

//RM 5 million court case against Keshvinder and Hee//

Sure lost case as they will dig up Augustine Paul from the grave to preside over the case. DAP may have to pay RM5 million in damages to each of the toads for damaging their “good reputation”

91. #91 by baochingtian on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 12:10 pm

///STAR: Dr M: People free to hop///
    I think the man is truly sick la and craving for power and attention too!

92. #92 by Loh on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 1:03 pm

Mamakthir s/o Kutty observes that May 13 was a class struggle because there were rich Chinese but not rich Malays in 1969. Obviously the Rulers of the various states were not only rich but also held position as Rulers were more superior than the few rich Chinese. Mahathir thought that the Malay Rulers did not make Malays proud. Mahathir has left unsaid that the position of Malay billionaires are more noble than Malay Rulers and so he had to use Petronas funds through NEP to make some Malays and mostly pseudo-Malays like himself super rich so that May 13 would not repeat.

Locally produced Malay graduates might believe Mahathir’s justification on his actions through NEP, particularly in making his sons billionaires. As UK trained graduates, is Najib similarly convinced?

93. #93 by frankyapp on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 2:33 pm

Pretty weird in Malaysia no matter who you are, Siamese,illegal Philipinos,Indons,Indians,Pakis,Mamaks,mat sallehs,chinese minus surname,KDM,Ibans/Dayaks etc for along as you are a muslim,you are equal to malays and hence are entitle to enjoy your rights and privileges of a real malaybumis. No wonder thousands of thousand of our muslim neighbours even risking their lives to come to Malaysia to seek for such opportunity and succeeded indeed. I think at the present on going rate of these illegals coming into our country, say 10-20 years from now,Malaysia will be truly an Islamic malays state.

94. #94 by k1980 on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 3:33 pm

A year ago, lots of news reports about Pakis and Afghans going by boat to seek refuge in Australia but were turned away by the Aussie navy before they could land. Have they gostaned to bolehland? Are they among the 9 foreigners arrested in Gombak?

http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/Terrorplotfoiled/Article/

95. #95 by monsterball on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 5:02 pm

Dear LKS…take a good rest.
    Sleep as much as you can.

96. #96 by victimofcorruption on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 5:37 pm

i have read in The Star (few days back) a news that a Gov Officer saying that the Orang Asli are not expected to perform as good as other students in universities. How insulting can he be!!!

97. #97 by Loh on Thursday, 17 June 2010 - 8:48 pm

victimofcorruption :
    i have read in The Star (few days back) a news that a Gov Officer saying that the Orang Asli are not expected to perform as good as other students in universities. How insulting can he be!!!

Orang Asli should now replace Malays as bumiputras. The NEP should now be applied to target Orang Asli as beneficiaries rather than Malays. After all people like Mamakthir with two spoonfuls of Pakistani blood not only have hijacked the objective of NEP but has poisoned the mind of true Malays to demand rewards for not working.

98. #98 by frankyapp on Friday, 18 June 2010 - 5:16 pm

///STAR: Dr M: People free to hop///I think the man is truly sick la and craving for power and attention too!</blockquote

Why allow people to hop in politic only when it's pretty clear that it sorely benefits the ruling corrupted party ? TDM how about allowing people,say malays the freedom to hop religion ? Would you agree Tun ?

99. #99 by monsterball on Saturday, 19 June 2010 - 12:51 am

He is the dirtiest ….a downright corrupted rouge …encouraging corruptions..and the biggest double headed snake politicians you can ever find in Malaysia.
    He is a racist who picked and chose other races to play ball with him.
    Ling Liong Sik was his biggest ball player.
    Just look at UMNO B ministers and the PM now..what they say and how they behave…totally different from the original UMNO politicians/ministers.

100. #100 by Loh on Saturday, 19 June 2010 - 1:42 am

Mahathir said that May 13 riots were a result of class struggle, and that he was not a racist. Mahathir did not say where and what he was doing on the fateful day. But TAN SRI ABDULLAH AHMAD in his speech AT THE “FROM MAY 13 TO 1MALAYSIA – THE FUTURE OF MALAYSIAN NATION BUILDING” – FORUM held at 8 PM WEDNESDAY MAY 13 2009 AT THE CIVIC CENTRE MBPJ, PETALING JAYA gave the details hours before May 13 riots took place.
    Two relevant paragraphs of the speech are given below.
    2.The tragic and vicious incident need not have happened had Tun Razak’s message to Dato’ Harun Idris, the menteri besar of Selangor, reached him 30-minutes earlier or had Tan Sri David Tan Chee Khoon and Tun Lim Chong Eu spoken to Tun Razak 30 minutes earlier relaying their decision not to cooperate with DAP to form the state government of Selangor nor worked together in Perak and elsewhere. I was beside Tun Razak when he took the calls from them late past tea time on the fateful evening of 13 May. I recall clearly what Tun Razak told Harun “…the good news is you will continue to run Selangor. Chee Khoon and Chong Eu had just spoken to me that they want status quo preserved. So tell the people gathering at your house to disperse.” Harun thanked Tun and asked him to convey his gratitude to the two statesmen. Between five-to-ten minutes after that Harun rang Tun Razak to say that it was too late. As he was persuading them to disperse news reached the crowd that clashes had begun in Chow Kit Road and surroundings and beyond.

3.Tun Razak asked Harun to calm the gathering and urged him, in strong terms, to attempt his best to stop the clashes from escalating. The rest, as they say, is history. Though Harun and I were not on good political terms I must be fair. I think he did try, but by then, to no avail.
    UNQUOTE
    Though nobody would expect Tun Razak to apologize to the nation for not telling Harun much earlier in the morning of May 13 to avert the incidents we certainly cannot agree that Tun Razak should have chosen to create the impression that NEP was needed as a way to explain away the riots without having to take responsibility. At the same time NEP gave him the excuse to play racial politics to the hilt to get UMNO entrenched in power.
    Tun Razak promised that NEP was to be implemented for 20 years and the target of Malays participation by then in business would attain Malays’ ownership of 30% of equity share capital in corporate sector, in the country. That the 30% as a target threshold level should be based on the total equity at the end of the plan period at 1990 should be self evident. It means that NEP should end for all other sectors then, and that government funds such as the windfall gains through oil revenues should have been used to hold shares in trust for Malays. Indeed the GLC should have served the purpose. It was illogical to insist that the 30% level should be maintained at all time.
    The 30% target was set without taking into consideration how it would be possible to prevent poor Malays from getting jealous of the rich Malays especially when they obtain their wealth at the expense of other Malaysians while the Malays were encouraged at the same time to become jealous of other communities who earned their wealth. It was also illogical to pretend that Malays belong to a homogeneous group of persons capable of being classified on anthropological ground as evidenced by the definition of Malays as adopted under article 160 of the constitution. A tautological classification was adopted where Malays were classified as one who practices Malay culture among the other two requirements in terms of language and religion. Thus only religion is the only clear-cut criterion and the UMNO is eying the 1.2 billion Muslims around the world as Pseudo-Malays. It certainly would be an insult to the Islamic religion if Muslims are deemed weak and require affirmative action.
    NEP as formulated by Tun Razak and implemented beyond the promised period serves only the Islam religion and Muslims rather than the country.

101. #101 by House Victim on Saturday, 19 June 2010 - 8:00 am

Whatever it is to be called, NEP or whatsoever, it will not work!
    1. The parties running it, had failed to show any accountability, transparency and capability in doing so.
    2. All can be seen are a way of Buying Power not for the sake of People but for for the cronies.

It is so because the Constitution have been set, amended towards the centralization of power into the hand of PM with power but obligations in vague terms and no penalty if NOT. Same for MP or any Public Servants!!

When Rights & Obligations are not even clearly stipulated with Penalty clause or with proper and effective procedures to monitor and act, it will be based on the Self-discipline or Ethnic of those who got the power to do so. Unfortunately, hardly realized nor possible because the Judiciary System is only a Tool of the Power and not for Justice. The same happened to the MP or those in Public Service!!

The Government is not the Government for the People but the Cronies.
    But, How Many MP are for the People?
    WHAT SHOULD THE MP DO to convince that electing a MP is helping is the MOST IMPORTANT MESSAGE to the People!!

What can PR do and should do in the Parliament should be acted NOW!!
    It is not a matter of Sure-Win as to act. But, it is Surely a must to show the People that MP can at least Challenge the Government when they DO NOT work properly and EVEN with considerable Contents of Misleading, or, Missing Track,etc..

MP should at least show that they have the monitoring power and What are they monitoring!! At least to voice out to People that WHAT are missing from the Government!!

Any MP has the OBLIGATIONS to do so!!
    And so is for PR when they had got “Some” power during the 12th GE via the People’s Declaration!!

Power has to come with OBLIGATIONS or DUTIES!!
    There must be a way for those who failed to be CONDEMNED and, those keeping their Duties to be Rewarded!!

How far is these being practiced in Malaysia? Even in our daily life, in the society??

THE CULTURE HAS BEEN DRIVEN IN THE DIRECTION THAT
    “Only Poverty and Powerless are being Down-looked BUT not for Prostitutes, Thieves, or Gangsters!!”

IT HAS BECOME A BULLY SOCIETY THAN ONE WITH ETHNIC OR LAWS!!

102. #102 by monsterball on Saturday, 19 June 2010 - 7:52 pm

Like I said…Tunku Razaleih have exposed how corrupted UMNO B is..and we all know…who encourages corruptions and the gang leader…..don’t we.
    UMNO B can never change or admit stealing from Malaysians.
    The patience of Malaysians have reached it’s limit…no matter how hard Najib try to divert attentions.
    He is the architect of many corrupted deeds as Min.of Defense..and that’s why he is the PM today.
    He escapes jail sentence..but that does not mean he is an honest leader…far far away from the truth.