Chin flays ‘ungrateful’ folk

By STEPHEN THEN | The Star

MIRI: The lack of gratitude shown by some urban voters in Sarawak towards the ruling government worries the Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP).

SUPP organising secretary Datuk Seri Peter Chin said there were people who had forgotten what the Government had done for them and now they wanted to bring it down.

“Who gave them jobs? It was the Government. Who provided hundreds of millions of ringgit every year to build roads, houses, schools, health facilities, basic amenities like water and electricity for them?

“Was it the Opposition parties who did all these? Of course not. It was the ruling Government.

“SUPP feels very sad that these forgetful and ungrateful people do not look at the good things we have done for them,” he said at a Gawai Dayak gathering here on Saturday night.

Chin, who is Miri MP and Minister for Energy, Green Technology and Water, said the ‘’ungrateful people’’ blindly believed and supported the propaganda of Opposition parties.

He said he wanted the urban people of Sarawak to ask themselves what they could gain by bringing down the Government.

“The Opposition parties blame the Government for everything. They are always negative.

“They find fault all the time. They find issues to play up to fire up anti-Government sentiments among the people.

“They deride government leaders, criticise every decision we make no matter how much benefit we bring to the state and country.

“They run down the ruling government at every given opportunity but they never stop and think about the peace and stability we are enjoying and who was responsible for keeping this country safe,” he said.

Chin said it was high time that the urban people change their anti-establishment attitude, recognise the good the Government had done for them and show their gratitude during election time.

1. #1 by johnnypok on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 10:52 am

It is time for old fox like you to [deleted] before voters bury you alive in the coming election.
    You have misled and cheated the rural people all this while, but things are going to change from now.
    What have done for Miri?
    If not for the hard-work of DAP, Miri would not have received any grant from the government for development. Urban folks are very disappointed with you and your lap-dog party.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 11:03 am

“He (i.e. Chin) said he wanted the urban people of Sarawak to ask themselves what they could gain by bringing down the Government.”

A much, much better government? They have had enough of you lot. Comprende?

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 11:06 am

Ask these BN dogs who gave them jobs? It is the PEOPLE. The dogs are now fired

4. #4 by johnnypok on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 11:19 am

Question: “What do you gain by bringing down the government?”

Answer: (1) Save Sarawak from going to the dogs
    (2) Get rid of all the crooks like you
    (3) Make it easier for ordinary folks to obtain business licenses, without paying for “copy-O” money.
    (4) Check corruption and eradicate crime

5. #5 by Thor on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 11:22 am

You are damn wrong, Mr Peter Chin!
    The one who’re ungrateful is you and your ruling party.
    What have you done for the past so many years.
    People in Sarawak cannot be fooled forever!
    Sarawak is very rich with plenty of resources and your ruling government took it all and spared just a little for its people.
    Those people in Sarawak are treated worst than most of us here as in the west.
    Sarawak should be as advance as compared with most asean countries but with you people “pocketting” all those riches, they’re way ahead behind.
    They’re just lucky that they’re not staying on tree top, that’s all!
    If you think those dayaks are forever a “sakai”, you’re damn wrong again, Mr Peter Chin!!!

6. #6 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 11:42 am

This is the typical attitude of a sore loser. Just look at those poor Sarawakians these days. They are more worst off than they were 52 years ago. In fact some poor folks may even become aliens to their own land. My foot, you still; have the cheek to say that BN and cronies like you have done a lot for Sarawakians. Actually the poor Sarawakians have been milked dry of their wealth and rights all these years. You and your cronies who betrayed your own people for selfish ends should be bundled into pig cages and thrown into the sea and drown.
    Dear Sarawakians, as your all aware now, rise up and help PKR/DAP/PAS wrest back your wealth and rights come GE13.

7. #7 by SENGLANG on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 11:47 am

hello MP Chin

It was the voters who give you the jobs and not the other way round. What an arrogance you are. Please go back to the basic and do not bark at the wrong tree. Voters did not own you a living.

8. #8 by johnnypok on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 11:59 am

1. Explain how the new Miri Port at Kuala Baram become a white elephant.

2. Why everything in Miri is more expensive than elsewhere?

3. Why flash-flood still occurs in many areas, after raining for a few hours only?

9. #9 by Bigjoe on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 12:21 pm

OH MY GOD! Is the old fart OFF his bonkers? ‘Ungrateful People’? Who the f*** does he think he is? Talk of BNputra entitlement gone crazy… Frankly the people of Sarawak ought to drag this silly fellow out, tarred and feather him and hang him up in the town square for children and women to throw rotten food at him..

The man brings to shame his parents, his family, his children and grandchildren. What a freaking IDIOT!

10. #10 by johnnypok on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 12:47 pm

His comment will make people more angry, and more determine to get rid of him.
    He should apologise to the people and then step down gracefully, for hurting the feelings of the people, cannot forgive and cannot forget, and just cannot wait for the opportunity to get rid of him at the coming election.
    Vote for the opposition and save the country from going to the dogs.

11. #11 by artemisios on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 1:00 pm

How dare you Peter???

“the good things” you have done for the Sarawakians?

“who provided millions….”

REALLY??? Are you for real Peter???

Again, you’ve shown BN’s attitude. You think you own Malaysia. You think the state’s riches & Sarawakians’ taxes belong to you.

If you said what you’ve said without your police & security guards, I promise you the rakyat will slap you in the face so hard that you’ll feel you’ve just been run over by a train.

Shut up peter.

The more you talk, the angrier i get.

12. #12 by Comrade on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 1:02 pm

Mr Peter Chin, look at the Penang state
    Where the people brought down the BN government
    And PR/DAP was given the mandate
    And is doing much better than the last management

13. #13 by johnnypok on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 1:16 pm

Miri = Oil-Town where the first oil-well is located, but sad to say, all the oil money has been siphoned away by BN/UMNO, to develop Malaya, Langkawi, build the stupid Petronas Twin tower, KLIA, F1, and what not.

And you think people are blind to all these?

No need to wait for GE13 … God is coming soon.

14. #14 by ReformMalaysia on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 1:29 pm

The People has given Barisan Nasional the mandate for close to 50 years to prove themselves….

But let say the full marks is 10…Barisan Nasional only scored 4 …… so how can you expect the Sarawak People be grateful to Barisan Nasional? You performed below the expectation of the people… so the people would like to give opportunity to someone else to proof their worth…..

THe is the result of Barisan Nasional KPI for Sarawak

1. Many long houses and ‘orang asli Sarawak’ do not have access to piped clean water supply and electricity.

2. Many roads in Sarawak are among the worst in Southeast Asia (Ba’ Kelalan, Lapok, Kapit …. just to name a few)

3.Jobs are not enough for the Sarawakians.

4. Poor Infrastructure in Sarawak turned away potential investors

5.Rural areas like Bario have to pay much higher price for fuel and other goods….. a 14kg LPG gas could cost about RM170 in Bario (instead of RM27)

6. Many people are living below poverty line…

7. Sarawak is rich in natural resources… but the people are among the poorest in Malaysia

So how you rate Barisan Nasional performance? It is not the people that are not grateful to Barisan Nasional….. It is the Barisan Nasional ‘s performance that is NOT SATISFACTORY from the people’s perspective….

15. #15 by k1980 on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 1:31 pm

Peter Chin boy, Gratitude must be earned, not demanded!

16. #16 by ekompute on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 1:48 pm

QUOTE: The lack of gratitude shown by some urban voters in Sarawak towards the ruling government worries the Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP).

In a democracy, you can’t talk like that. The people has the right to choose whoever they want to govern. SUPP should take a good look at the mirror. Who gave them the right to govern? And what makes them think that they deserve to govern? The people are the boss. They decide who they want and even if they make a wrong choice, they have the absolute right to do so.

17. #17 by drago2008 on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 2:13 pm

Peter Chin has a mindset that is severely challenged. The people have awaken and cannot be fooled forever by SUPP. He is just a sore loser talking thru his nose.

18. #18 by johnnypok on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 2:40 pm

When SUPP was in the opposition during the early days of its formation, people from all over scrambled to join the party.
    “Got money contribute money, no money contribute soft-drink” …
    All the leaders were highly intelligent and respectable, and people simply love them and respected them like God.
    And who destroyed the unity? How to forgive those who betrayed the people? Sarawak would have been much better off under the opposition rule.
    Vote for the opposition …. Vote DAP and save Sarawak from being bankrupted by BN/UMNO.

19. #19 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 2:51 pm

The main problem with BN’s leaders is their complacency of the needs of the average Malaysians basing on their own environment. Their incomes have being used as the basis for their comparison with the incomes of others. Hence, his remarks that we are ungrateful, just like TDM’s. The only conclusion one can make out of this, is the time is up for such forgetful monsters in our midst. It is sad that we have to live woth such antiques over all these years. Malaysia Boleh needs change: ASAP!

20. #20 by Bigjoe on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 3:05 pm

This guy is just pissing me off talking about things he don’t understand.

They now make nuclear reactor that can fit into car. I say that every UMNO/BN politician that vote for a nuclear power plant should have one in THEIR OWN HOUSE OR IN THEIR OFFICE starting with Peter Chin for a few years before they even decide to build one for the country..

21. #21 by johnnypok on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 3:09 pm

Initially one of their circus clowns created a joke with his “Don’t Make Me Angry” warning.

People has yet to stop laughing, before another joker crawled out of the dog-cage and bark at the urban folks of Miri.

Do you still want to vote for clowns and jokers like them?

22. #22 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 3:23 pm

johnnypok :
    Miri = Oil-Town where the first oil-well is located, but sad to say, all the oil money has been siphoned away by BN/UMNO, to develop Malaya, Langkawi, build the stupid Petronas Twin tower, KLIA, F1, and what not.

Johnnypok, you forgot to mention our former Sleeping PM wasted Billion Ringgits for our “Space Tourist”, hypocritically BN/UMNO called him as astronaut LOL, aboard Russian Capsule to ISS to show off Teh Tarik at zero gravity! Too bad other world REAL & qualified astronaus don’t how-to show pouring liquid across at zero-gravity; but only our Bodohland can do it to the entire world? What a laugh stock? Worst off, the schedule had been cancelled due to “what sort of” technical reasons? Our neighboring nations and Pacific nations laughing at our Bodohland was so silly…..

23. #23 by frankyapp on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 3:23 pm

Chin said it was high time that the urban people change their anti-establishment attitude, recognise the good the Government had done for them and show their gratitude during election time.////Datuk Seri Chin,it’s not anti-establishment but anti-corruption and that’s precisely the reason most urban voters don’t vote for BN. Frankly whatever good intention the governmant had for the people diminished when its implementation of projects is conseal,un-fair and corrupt. Hence it’s weird that chin is expecting gratitude from the people. I think chin must be sleeping all the time in his chamber.

24. #24 by sheriff singh on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 4:00 pm

He had one too many at the Gawai.

It was the liquor talking, not him.

25. #25 by yhsiew on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 5:08 pm

If BN Sarawak refuse to reform, it is only fair that Sarawakians reform them (BN).

26. #26 by yhsiew on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 5:26 pm

If Chin is so keen in building a nuclear plant in Malaysia, I suggest he builds one next to his home.

27. #27 by BoycottLocalPapers on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 5:31 pm

Sarawak is much bigger than tiny little Brunei but why 1 Brunei dollar have more purchasing power than 1 RM used by the Sarawakians?

Sarawakians & Sabahans must have made a very big mistake in rushing for independent from the British. If they have waited a little bit longer like what Brunei did, they would be more advanced than Peninsular Malaysia today.

28. #28 by boh-liao on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 5:49 pm

Bludi blood sucker PC – how dare he b ungrateful 2 d voters?
    He shd thank d dumb voters 4 electing him n his band of robbers as PMs n ADUNs
    High time 4 Sarawakians 2 BURY him, SUPP n BN in d next election – vote in a PR gomen 4 d people

29. #29 by dagen on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 6:52 pm

Ungrateful? So wot? Its my blardy right. Dont you forget that!

BTW ppl reject umno because of knuckleheads like you.

30. #30 by ekompute on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 6:58 pm

drago2008 :
    Peter Chin has a mindset that is severely challenged. The people have awaken and cannot be fooled forever by SUPP. He is just a sore loser talking thru his nose.

Right on! Peter Chin thinks that Sarawak belongs to his great-grandfather.

31. #31 by king cobra on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 10:04 pm

his brain must be filled with rubbish for far too long , comes out of his mouth also rubbish , really smelly ………………

continue to utter more rubbish , come state elections , all these rubbish will be sweep away by tsunami & drown in south china sea……..

32. #32 by HJ Angus on Monday, 7 June 2010 - 10:16 pm

Instead of scolding Peter Chin, we should thank him for acting out such a “farewell scene”. It is as good as Najib’s “you help me, I help you” video.
    Compile into a nice VCD with the title “What BN leaders think of voters”.

33. #33 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 12:23 am

These greedy n ungrateful BN MPs n ADUNs do not even realise dat they r there bcos voters errorneously elected them in d last GE
    They forgot dat voters r their bosses n they r supposed 2 use d rakyat’s $$$ wisely
    Sarawakian voters must kick PC n other BN barggers out; strip them naked of power

34. #34 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 2:57 am

They have no voice in parliament, and they are there as BN lap-dogs of the worst kind, taking orders from UMNO goons. They dare not even open their mouth to comment about the Allah issue, and many other issues that directly affect the people, for fear of losing their rice-bowl. They only pick up some left-over which UMNO spit out and throw on the floor for them. And of course the kampong folks don’t know. Only the urban folks know.

35. #35 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 3:46 am

Though Peter Chin is an old hand in politics, but unfortunately he does not understand what is democracy. He just imitates his UMNO brethren.

Next we must brief him on the meaning of “democracy”
    It is a form of government, where a constitution guarantees basic personal and political rights, fair and free elections, and independent courts of law.
    Does Barisan where SUPP is part of it has the three ingredients ? I hope Peter Chin can answer this before he opens his mouth which share the same foul smell as those from UMNO by saying that the people who do not vote for BN are ungrateful. To my mind this idiot thinks that Democracy is a zero sum game where BN must always be the winner and stone cast as the government of Malaysia.

It is high time you move away from the BN led by the UMNO skunks who cheats, plundered, pilfered, corrupted to the heels and gambling through the backdoor.
    If you still thinks that such government must exists till kingdom come, GOD BLESS YOU. Obviously you do not know how to differentiate between a devil and a savior because working with the devils had merged you with the same appearance but unfortunately you still thinks your ugly silhouette is beautiful.
    SUPP= Same Ugly Pretending Prostitutes.

36. #36 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 7:33 am

All BN MPs need to spend at least 2 terms in opposition to get the chance to appreciate how a democracy should work.
    Of course a few also need to be investigated for corrupt practices – we can retire those or let them contemplate in jail.

37. #37 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 7:53 am

a typical bn rat. He talks like the government is there to do nothing. We elect them and pay taxes so that we get no basic amenities and peace. If we do get it, it is a blessing from bn. Go fly kite la peter chin gong. Years of eating money have corrupted your brain and soul. Judas chin is more befitting.

38. #38 by danieltkb on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 8:52 am

chin message no weight, in the fact that any party taken over to rule the country will provide the basis necessary.
    why didnt he mention, where all the riches in sarawak gone to , only a few ?
    when “kemiskinan” still at large and local issue eg transportation, land, birth right. still be in question list.
    if i was the PM of sarawak, i will never one to see what really happen to-day like bakun project take > 10 yrs , the penan land issue, the land issue, the “balak” issue, and only few very rich, i will retain its manpower to develop sarawak, instead of them working in E Msia.
    So in short, had chin, knowledge enough to address such instead of claiming the govt had provided to its people, he has eye see not nor ear to hear not BUT his own illusion life.

39. #39 by victimofcorruption on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 9:42 am

he only referred to urban voters because he knew that urban voters have “eyes” to see what is wrong with our country’s governance. he knew that rural voters are still safe deposit for BN so he does not have to worry about them. he thought that branding us as ungrateful will cause us to regret what we have done and vote for BN in the future. too bad, his act backfired!!!

40. #40 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 9:51 am

PC doesn’t understand this:
    Give PR d same hundreds of millions of ringgit every year, PR most likely will do better than SUPP n BN in terms of service 2 rakyat
    D $$$ will benefit rakyat n improve basic amenities n services
    PC just refused 2 accept d better deals n performance in states controlled by PR
    He shd count his lucky stars 4 what he is today despite his stupidity n numerous failures

41. #41 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 10:36 am

Urban folks ungrateful. They have lost confidence in SUPP. They are angry. The support for DAP is growing.

The “Don’t Make Me Angry” president will eat humble pie.

What shall we serve for the “Ungrateful” Park Kui?

42. #42 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 11:43 am

Peter Chin is a champion mama-topper and sucker. He has been sucking BN/UMNO balls and cocks without shames! Get rid of these suckers by voting PR in the coming GE, rakyat!

43. #43 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 12:23 pm

From your nick are you one of them?

44. #44 by sotong on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 1:03 pm

Everyone is responsible for the peace and stability of the country…in particular those in position of power and influence.

The ordinary people owe you nothing.

45. #45 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 4:09 pm

I was at the Johor Bahru Immigration office recently to renew my passport. I sat next to this young woman cradling a toddler. She looked sad and forlorn. Pitying her I asked her waht was she doing there. She told me she is from Sarawak and is waiting for her husband who is applying for a passport so that he can go to Singapore to find work. Curious I asked her why did they come all this way to apply a passport to go to Singapore to find work. She said her husband is unable to find any job in Sarawak and after also trying in Peninsula in vain, he has no choice but to try his luck in Singapore.

If Peter Chin and his gang has been doing a great job providing jobs, this young family would not have to run around like unwanted immigrants. I also heard the same thing from the Sarawakian making coffee at my favourite coffee shop. No wonder we hear of all those East Malaysians sleeping on the streets in KL. And Peter Chin had the cheek to claim BN has been providing Sarawakian jobs?

Peter Chin said:
    “Was it the Opposition parties who did all these? Of course not. It was the ruling Government.”

That is the most idiotic statement I have ever heard. Of course the Govt has to do all this because they have their grubby hands on the taxpayers money and not the Opposition. We can only make a comparison if the Opposition has the same and equal access to these fundings. But no need to go into all these. The corruption and rape of the state and country’s resources and assets by the ruling BN is plain for all to see. The reason voters are voting against you is simple. They are sick of your mismanagement of the country.

46. #46 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 5:19 pm

PC, Pek Moh, Georgie boy, SUPP, n all BNputras r driving Sarawakians to d little red dot 2 cari makan
    Some of them turned violent n went back to their headhunting culture – recently a gang of 7 Sarawakians became d notorious Sarawak ‘Kallang Slashers’ or monsters (4 robbing, murdering, slashing)
    http://blog.omy.sg/alvinology/2010/06/04/the-7-kallang-sarawakian-monsters/

47. #47 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 5:27 pm

Shd d 7 Sarawakians (who may face death sentence or long jail term, should they b found guilty) b GRATEFUL to PC n SUPP 4 depriving them of jobs in Sarawak, while BNputras there r getting filthy rich through corruption n cronyism?

48. #48 by mycuntree on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 6:54 pm

The only change that the UMNO/BN political parties has taken is that they now take 1 step forward and 3 steps backwards, when they used to only take 2 steps backward for every one forward. Chin is proved that fact one more time!

49. #49 by ywcheah on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 11:33 pm

Hello, my dear good responsible Minister/MP and caring Malaysian to the Rakyat.

YOU ARE RIGHT. PLEASE CONTINUE GIVE THIS COMMENTS TO ALL SARAWAKIAN’S AND MALAYSIAN.

To :- Mr Lim and PR,

You may hope to have this good minister around. It make your works to Putrajaya more easier as they continue to irritate the Rakyat with thier shamless comments.

A well managed 5 states especially Penang, you no need to worry. Free advertisement for you. Used that as a reference and show to the Rakyat.

Good Luck.

50. #50 by steven chan on Tuesday, 8 June 2010 - 11:49 pm

Peter Chin you are not Peter Pan or Boss of Sarawakians. In fact the ppl of Sarawak is your boss . You have robbed , plundered, and raped the ppl of Sarawak by yr evil manipulations and now its pay back time for all of you stooges of BN.

51. #51 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Wednesday, 9 June 2010 - 1:12 pm

To ALL readers & commentators : Complained and whinned ALL you want,there is NOTHING,absolutely NOTHING you ALL can do. However there is one and ONLY one thing which we ALL can and SHOULD do viz is start your own “VOTER-get-VOTERS” campaign for PR. Do it not tommorrow but NOW cos GE13 is just around the corner..closer than you think. Start this ” VOTER-get-VOTERS 4 PR” campaign NOW by chain emails,sms,words of mouth to everyone….for a BETTER Malaysia..Join us at “VOTER-get-VOTERS for a Better Malaysia ” in facebook

52. #52 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 9 June 2010 - 10:13 pm

The Star should write a politically correct piece of news. Anyway, good questions are asked. Why are the urban people in Serahawakians having second thoughts ? Urban people, mind you. What about all the folks in some God forgotten areas; the Punans, the Penans and others whom we the Malaysians have not heard of even ? News reporters should go to these forgotten people and ask their views. Please record all interviews in audio and visual form.

53. #53 by harwin on Thursday, 10 June 2010 - 5:52 pm

T’is dumbo for sure has hit the over-the-hill or past the use-by date. Otherwise, how on earth could he indulged himself in ‘gratitude’ talk as if he were still living in the feudal age?

In case he ain’t completely beyond redemption & still could be enlightened, let him be ‘educated’ that it represents the duty & responsibility of the incumbent government to do a host of needy for it to remain relevant & legitimate in the eyes of the general electorate.

Job creation amid promoting sustainable economic growth & equitable wealth creation for all is just one of the many major responsiblities entails in the job of the government of the day.

The cold reality, the dumbo Sarawak BN gov’t had failed miserably on the sole count of job creation. If not, why on earth hundreds & thousands of Sarawakians have to leave its home soil to toil in various corners of Peninsula M’sia?

I bet that bloody Miri-dumbo doesn’t know how many Ibans, Bidayuhs, Kenyahs, Kayans, Melanaus, etc… or Kuchingites, Sibuans, Songans, Kapitans, Lawasians… are scattered all over W. M’sia, does he?

Does he know there are Sarawak gettos in Johore (e.g. Skudai, J.B.), Penang, Selangor & above all Singapura?!

What & how much more gratitude he or BN deserves? No more, not a tad anymore!!!
    Not for the stinkingly self over-rated Barsian Najis Sarawak, plz!