Najib’s most difficult question in the forthcoming five-week parliamentary meeting – how many Cabinet Ministers are Malaysian first, race second in keeping with 1Malaysia policy?

I have posed what is probably the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s most difficult question in the forthcoming 22-day parliamentary meeting:

“How many Ministers in his Cabinet, naming them, regard himself/herself as Malaysian first, race second in keeping with the 1Malaysia policy”.

It will test Najib to the limit of his intellectual prowess and political acumen to answer this question, as he will have to be a David Copperfield political magician to try to “square the circle” in view of two diametrically polar positions:

• The declaration of the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap that the goal of 1Malaysia is to create “a nation where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second”; and

• The declaration by the Deputy Prime Minister and UMNO Deputy President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin in December last year that he is Malay first, Malaysian second!

Will Najib be honest and give a frank and straightforward answer to this question, without ifs and buts?

Or will he try to evade it by resorting to the classic Barisan Nasional parliamentary tactic of getting the question rejected on the spurious ground that it has run afoul of one Standing Order or another?

We will know soon enough how Najib handles this question, which I deem as his most difficult question in the forthcoming six-week parliamentary meeting from Monday June 8 to July 13, which has the 11-day debate on the Tenth Malaysia Plan as its centerpiece.

1. #1 by ekompute on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 4:40 pm

Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world where race is first and nation is second. Well done, Malaysia…. see you in the drain come 2019!

2. #2 by monsterball on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 4:50 pm

hahahahahaha…It sounds like musical chairs being added for his whims and fancies.
    I bet you…Najib made more Senators in one year than any previous PMs.
    He also have the most Deputy Ministers.
    He also made most slogans.
    He offered most bribes in by-elections outwardly…with no fear.
    He outwardly made deals with voters…with no shame.
    His bribes were taken and voters abandon him…..feeling no shame?
    What kind of balless PM do we have?

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 4:56 pm

Tsk. Tsk. Tsk.

Not a single Sikh, all these years.

After all we have done for the nation.

Not even a Senator.

Ranjit was disappointed. No phone call.

4. #4 by monsterball on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 5:11 pm

I understand…Juswan Singh considered….but he takot Karpal Singh strap him on a Rocket and send hgm…to Sherrif Singh ..whose cousin…Balwan Singh is looking for just one to ball around.
    Nasib Najib kurang biak.
    Betul tak…Chengho?

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 5:12 pm

What does Najib does when he is asked difficult question? He runs away or squirm his way out with the most ridiculous answer.

The only people that seem to be able to get Najib to answer a difficult question is Perkasa. You have to give that to Ibrahim Ali.

Honestly he should be more worried about his answer to Perkasa than any question anyone else will throw at him right now. ‘Melayu Bangkit’ is less than two weeks away and if it goes through will burn him politically..

6. #6 by ekompute on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 5:23 pm

Bigjoe :
    Honestly he should be more worried about his answer to Perkasa than any question anyone else will throw at him right now. ‘Melayu Bangkit’ is less than two weeks away and if it goes through will burn him politically..

By all means, let Melayu Bangkit to save Malaysia from impending bankruptcy. Just hope they don’t expedite the penenggelaman Malaysia.

7. #7 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 5:48 pm

Najib’s GST (goods & services Tax) – half baked.

Najib’s Subsidies cuts – half baked.

Now Najib’s NEM – half baked.

How can we expect to get a strauightforward answer from such half baked mentality????

8. #8 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 6:20 pm

Under Najib …. bankrupt in 2019

Under Moo …. bankrupt in 2019 -5 = 2014

Assuming Ibrahim Ali becomes the PM (Pasar Malam), bankrupt in 2011

Vote PR …. For Peace and Prosperity

9. #9 by taurus 88 on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 9:40 pm

Erhh…Uncle Lim, caution is the word, push Jibby too hard he must just C4 the lot of you…. lol.

On a serious note, is this the best Malaysia of today can do???? What type of a PM is this? Why do we have a spineless, motiveless, corrupt and a bloody fool as a PM? For fcuk sake, he is suppose to lead our nation. The image projected by him is akin to Benny Hill. Remember Benny Hill folks? This
    PM with his ministers is so similar to Benny and his troupes, a big family of idiotic comedians. At least Benny is a professional comedian doing what he do for a living and he was good at it. But this bunch of clowns in Putrajaya is the laughing stock to all.

Come on Malaysians, I am sure we can do better than this. Let’s keep our head up high instead of being the laughing stock of a nation. Let’s make it happen, come GE13 let’s show the world what we Malaysians are made of. Show these bunch of clowns where they really belong! Confine them to Tanjung Rambutan would be most ideal!

People is time we male a stand to safe our Motherland and make her a better place for our children.

DO IT AND MAKE IT HAPPEN.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 9:58 pm

Whether 1Malaysia, 2Malaysia(s) or 3Malaysia(s), it is not going to make any difference. After all, the nation is going bankrupt in 2019!

11. #11 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 10:11 pm

I have a dream. If I am the PM, I will send an open invitation to the people of India and China, and offer unlimited numbers of instant citizenship to them from the moment they land in Malaysia. I will pay them well, and take good care of them, knowing that they are highly productive, clever and hard-working, and will become a price asset of the country. I will deport all the Indon and Filipinos, and all the trouble-makers, including all those faked Malays / Mamak like toon bak kut teh, and revoke the citizenship of anyone who fail to contribute economically to the country.
    I will abolish NEP, NEM, AP, and remove all the subsidies, no income tax, no more double-standard, all criminals will be executed by firing-squad on the spot (employ Police from China), no more drug addicts, no more mat-rempits, no gambling, no alcohol, no cigarette, no golf-course, everyone must work hard, make money, and save money, until Malaysia becomes the richest nation in the world …. WAWASAN 2200

12. #12 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 10:32 pm

BN => Bankruptcy Nation
    PR => Prosperous Rakyat
    Thus, vote PR for Prosperity of Rakya!!!

13. #13 by monsterball on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 10:42 pm

Ask this to Tsu Koon..he will faint not knowing what to reply.
    Cabinet must need Gerakan man…no matter how lousy he is spoken loud and clear by voters
    Najib decides..not Malaysians voters.
    That’s his “1Malaysia”…one Malaysia dictatorship government….take it or leave it.

14. #14 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 2 June 2010 - 11:52 pm

When the Japanese PM just resigned, it hits me hard that in spite of our policy of looking East, how come non- of our PMs or even Ministers behave like those Japanese politicians? We tried to copy everything except their MARUAH! I believe by not copying them in toto was our problem. We copy their car by Mitshubishi when the top 3 [ Toyota, Honda & Nissan] did not buy our idea and after some 25 years we still used the basic engine. We started off with the Korean and now the Chinese has come out with their electric cars. then we got involved with Perwaja using a technology which the Japanese was experimenting with, at that time. We wanted to be ADVANCE! but ended up with scraps! what else can we do? All in all, it would appear we just can’t do any thing based on race! and the fact, that our Maruah is so important that we just refuse to accept reality. so in the end, we could have saved billions if we just imported the Japanese Maruah in the first place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

15. #15 by baochingtian on Thursday, 3 June 2010 - 12:18 am

Jib – Bapa Symbiosis – u help me, I help u – mutualism, to be exact.

16. #16 by monsterball on Thursday, 3 June 2010 - 12:51 am

hahahahaha…Najib cannot see eye to eye with MCA new President….so appoint his son…a young fut as Deputy Minister and said it is based on qualifications.
    Thousands of more qualified Malaysians…he has to choose Chua Soi Lek son to carry his balls.
    Wait for Soi Lek ever grateful support to Najib.
    Such is Najib low class fisherman tactics…have all ikan bulukangs in his cabinet…because he love talking and doing sh..t stuffs.
    Yes..UMNO B have become a sh..t party…besides robbers and thieves daily planning how to suck us dry.

17. #17 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 3 June 2010 - 6:30 am

As far as I can read, 1Malaysia is BN (bini Najib) first, Najib second, UMNO third, Soi Lek fourth, Tee Yong fifth……….aiyah, semi value below 100, Koh TK….rather not mention-lah, embarassing for gerakan which is unranked.

18. #18 by shaolin on Friday, 4 June 2010 - 11:07 pm

If Najib aggravates Msia’s economy crisis n leads Msia to bankruptcy in 2019, he must resign as PM
    immediately if he cannot create n bring in Real wealth to Msia’s economy n boost up our GDP this year!!!! Bring in ‘Subsidies to goods’ are just painting fake pictures n showing fake economic growth rate to Msia ppl to fight real INFLATION situations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

19. #19 by shaolin on Friday, 4 June 2010 - 11:15 pm

Msia Govt (BN & UMNOputras) are cheating the Msia ppl by playing with economic growth figures in %!!!!

Actual economic growth rate is LOWer than what the Annual Report published by Msia govt each year for the past decade!!!!!!!!!! All of us hv been cheated n fooled by BN Govt!!!! So do you still want to support BN govt with Dirty Policies n Poor Integrity???!!! Really mensiasuikan n memalukan all Msians!!!!!!!!!!!!

20. #20 by good coolie on Sunday, 6 June 2010 - 12:55 am

My idea of 1Malaysia is the Malaysia once seen by our old (over 60) chaps: genuine respect for all races and equal opportunity for each person within the bounds of the Constitution.

Anything less than that is not worth the paper on which the slogan is printed; it would be a mere rabbit out of a political magician’s hat.