Najib’s infamous Sibu campaign speech – Seeing is Believing

I read Mariam Mokhtar’s article “‘Deal or no deal’ falls flat” in Malaysiakini this morning dismembering Prime Minister Najib Razak’s RM5million-for-offer speech at Rejang Park, Sibu in the final hours of the Sibu by-election campaign Polling Eve on Saturday.

I knew about Najib’s dishonourable RM5 million offer to the people of Rejang Park to mitigate their flood problems – a drop in the ocean as Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin had admitted that it would cost at least RM1 billion to resolve Sibu’s long-neglected floods problem – in return for BN candidate Robert Lau elected as MP for Sibu.

But I had not seen the video of Najib’s infamous speech and I did not fully believe what Mariam wrote – as I just could not imagine the Prime Minister of the country saying, doing and behaving the way she has written.

This is why I started on the hunt for the video on the Internet. It was not difficult to find. The Malaysiakini video had been put up on many sites, including other electronic websites.

I was just astounded that Mariam was 100% right and Najib did say, act and behave as she has described and rightly castigated him.

It is indeed “Seeing is Believing”.

Mariam’s was a Must Read article. This is a Must View video!

1. #1 by monsterball on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 4:54 pm

yea…..he did say “bullsh..t” and if you type the exact word here…LKS will not approve the message.
    “Bullsh…t” is not a vulgar word. I hope LKS allows commentator to write the full word and approve the comment.
    I viewed his speech..2 times….laughing at our hypocritical PM…..performing.

2. #2 by monsterball on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 5:13 pm

“Deal or no deal”….is clearly a corruption act by Najib to Rajang Park voters..using Malaysians money…..by the millions…to buy votes.
    It’s all in the video….and why is MACC so quiet?
    Here we can see…what kind of a government we are having.
    Yes….this little dictator is exactly like his adopted father…thinking Malaysia is own by their fathers…handed down to them..to do.”talk as they like with our money.

3. #3 by jbozz on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 5:17 pm

The Indian in the Hulu Selangor fall for it, not the chinese. And now in Sibu, majority of the chinese voted against it.

Who causes the flood, it is the BN government, they chopped down the trees to build Bakun Dam and their personal interest. End up, those money could have projected to develop and make Sibu a more attractive place to live in, instead it become worst year after year. The CM in Sarawak owned a rolls royce and his daughter bought a mansion in Canada. Well, this is all not reported? MACC tidur ke?

4. #4 by burn on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 5:17 pm

he is treating sarawakian like a bladyfool!
    for that 500m commission alone, it can be use for the drainage…

5. #5 by chengho on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 5:20 pm

i am glad you post the video , fair and articulate people prime minister . he deliver what he promised .
    Kit , u should become COP ( chief opposition of parliment )

6. #6 by Winston on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 5:44 pm

The electorate has great admiration for the PR because, unlike the MCA, where the Brutuses have no qualms about stabbing each other in the back, front and sides, for the lucrative top job, such is not the case with the DAP, PKR and PAS!
    To them, it’s not a matter of position; they all serve the interests of the people and the country to the fullest! So whoever is the COP (chief opposition of Parliament) is of not consequence!
    Also, unlike UMNO/BN, there is no dominant party that treats the rest of the component parties like serfs and beggars!
    It is indeed very bruising to the ego for anyone, let alone the bigwigs in a component party to be treated as such; yet they soldier on!
    How very surprising indeed!

7. #7 by ekompute on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 6:26 pm

chengho :
    i am glad you post the video , fair and articulate people prime minister . he deliver what he promised .

Hi Chengho, I wonder what your values are or do you have any. Your loyalty to UMNO is commendable and deserves to be rewarded. Have you received your millions yet? If not, you should go and strike a deal with Najib. UMNO needs people like you!

8. #8 by limaho on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 6:30 pm

The speech is just disgusting. I’m ashamed that our Prime Minister can stoop that low to offer money for votes in such a brazen manner. What will the rest of the world think of Malaysia after watching this video clip? Please PM try to show some class.

9. #9 by Peng Lam on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 6:36 pm

Najib would have been sacked for bribery (and abuse of government resources) if he is an employee of any multi national corporation. Is he giving a green light to all civil servant to bribe? Should we continue to let him bribe and get away with it?

Is this the value we want to instill to our children?

10. #10 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 6:45 pm

A desperate PM who has lost his mind. A product of NEP, low IQ, not intelligent enough, and only knows how to use money, he is so used to using money, and thinks money can buy everything, even erection, he thinks Sibu people are stupid like him, and he thinks people are cheap, so cheap …what is 5 million to Sibu? Even 50 or 500 million is too small an amount. “One-Money” PM.

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 6:54 pm

Our PM is an outlaw. He broke the law. He had a chance to correct by giving the money anyway and and YET he did not. So not only is he an outlaw, he is a dumb outlaw. Which crook would not cover his hide when he got caught?

Najib should resign for sheer mental mediocrity..

12. #12 by Dap man on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 6:58 pm

He is a bull shit PM. A low down, low IQ talk. He talks as though the people are idiots with no brains.
    Every sentence is an insult to the people integrity.
    In fact he was mocking the people.

He thinks he owns the government’s kitty and that money belongs to his father to dispense as he pleases.

He talks about making a deal. Didn’t he also make a deal with Altantuya?

13. #13 by son of perpaduan on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 7:20 pm

In order to survive the and keeping alive, Chinese voter must dump MCA once and for all. MCA coexistence with Umno pose a long term illness similar like during the opium war collarborate with the English who destroy the Chinese people. Vote MCA out first follow by putting the final nail to Umno.

14. #14 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 7:24 pm

chengho :

Fair? By your standard it is fair?

If a person is sincere in helping another person, there should not be any ‘string attached’!

This is an abuse of power… An abuse of power is a form of corruption.. UMNO -directed Judiciary system has jailed Anwar Ibrahim for 6 years for “abuse of power” not too long ago….

So if Najib is judged by the same standard, probably there will be another “by-election”…..in Pekan, Pahang

15. #15 by SGPR on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 7:25 pm

This is not just a Must View Video…

This is also a must collect item that will entertain me for the rest of my life…

16. #16 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 7:40 pm

Probable similar deals being offered to the

1.Perak’s frogs and other frogs..

2. Saiful

3. P Bala -retraction of Statutory Declaration 1

4.and other cases … -in X-files

“You help me, I help You”!

17. #17 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 8:03 pm

Malaysian must be wondering whether the charging of Golalakrisnan is politicaly-motivated

Below is an exceprt from Bernama:
    “…….PENANG, May 14 (Bernama) — Padang Serai Member of Parliament N. Gobalakrishnan was on Friday fined RM3,000 or six months’ jail by the Magistrate’s Court here for obstructing police eight years ago.

Gobalakrishnan was found guilty under Section 186 of Penal Code for obstructing a police officer, who is also a civil servant, from conducting his duty in Jalan Utama, Georgetown at 12.20am on Jan 29, 2002…….”

The incident took place in 2002 …. and only charged 8 years later -when there is a political incentive to charge him now(as he is PR Member of Parliament……?

18. #18 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 8:09 pm

This was the most shameful and disgraceful speech.

Its a pure outright corrupted breach of election laws but no action will be taken.

Its can only come from a corrupted mind and only from those from a party who has been practices and condo corrupt practices for long long time.

Bn is on the sun set trend and it has no return.

19. #19 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 9:02 pm

You must be ‘fair’ to Najib, the 1Malaysia PM.

The fellow in the video certainly “looks like him, sounds like him, smells like him and behaves like him, but is he really him?”

His lawyer, one Mr Lingam, who has considerable experience in these sort of matters, said vehemently, “Legally speaking, its not him. It could be him but we need to do some DNA tests to confirm it. We need expert consultants to carry out tests on this before we can conclusively say ‘Its NOT him”. In the meantime and legally speaking again, it will be mala fide, contempt of due legal process and sub-judice for anyone to say so. Further, mens rea is not proven. A slip of the tongue is not enough to prove guilt. He could have been temporarily be out of his mind due to stress. No judge in this country will convict him based on these ‘facts’. Its baseless, I tell you. Correct, correct, correct. NFA.”

20. #20 by monsterball on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 10:09 pm

The standard of balls carrying Najib by Chengho is the highest I have ever seen in all blogs.

21. #21 by Jamesy on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 10:13 pm

“This is the government that cares for the people….this is the government that fights for the people….that’s why I come here….I don’t have to come here…But I come to Rejang Park….Why?…This is not a place for a Prime Minister to come…..I am the Prime Minister for all…I am with you…I am with the people of Malaysia…I am the people’s Prime Minister….” – PM Najib, 15 May 2010.

The statement especially “I am the Prime Minister for all” reminiscent what Tun Abdullah Badawi has said in 2004/2005, yet he got rejected by people in 2008. Sunday’s BN lost in Sibu merely confirmed that a mere rhetoric, especially the 1Malaysia concept has no effect on the people, especially the Chinese community.

“Don’t talk about promises….That is all talk…..That is I don’t want to say…it’s all bullshit…..” – PM Najib, 15 May 2010.

For a Prime Minister to utter the word “b*ulls*it” in public speeches is already an utter disgrace!

“lu mau 5 juta kan?…gua mau robert lau menang, boleh tak?…..lu tak payah keluar duit…gua kena keluar duit…..very expensive, you know?….” – PM Najib, 15 May 2010.

For a Prime Minister to speak in this type of language to the Chinese audience only implied that:
    1) the Chinese are money-faced.
    2) the Chinese can be bought with money.
    3) the Chinese are stupid to believe the RM5 million comes from Najib’s pocket.

Utter disgrace!

22. #22 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 10:24 pm

With such an approach taken by a PM, I believe many apoltical Malaysians will not be apolitical any more. In trying the 1 Malaysia idea, I believe he should be given a chance. Afterall he is being pushed by characters like Ali and his Mentor [ wonder what happen to the later’s brain?] Judging by this speech, many apolitical Malaysians would cerrtainly have a second thought if they should continue to stay apolitical and support such leaders! having seen the expectations of the average Malaysians since 308, I wonder if the leaders of BN have actually lost touch with reality in their attempt to win back the support from the people. in the world of IT and Ipods, all the control over the printed media is useless! Remember that. such action impinges on the intelligence of your citizens who will feel insulted by such tokenism!

23. #23 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 10:29 pm

What was this guy doing, wiping his mouth with his handkerchief? Was he frothing just like Shaberry Cik?

24. #24 by lee wee tak_ on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 10:49 pm

it looks like vote buying, sounds like vote buying but it is not vote buying

the simple test is, had the other Robert Lau not kicked the bucket, would the same RM5 million be offered like that for a specific purpose?

i hope our learned judges, post 1988 era, can give a proper comment on this

25. #25 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 10:51 pm

The guy on Youtube video is such a suave and confident bribe-giver.

Now he looks like, talks like and has the money and power like Najib.

If u then accuse our PM of being a bribe-giver, is there anyone who could/would stand up and say he is also a bribe-taker? Generally, bribe-givers have no qualms in being bribe-takers. They talk about making deals like the PM just did.

But if u accuse our PM of that, u must show proof. Can anyone show proof? Or is the smoke sufficient evidence that there is a fire? Now we are all deeply embarrassed by such a cheapskate PM becos of this video now viewed worldwide.

26. #26 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 10:58 pm

YB LKS, why don’t u forward a copy and share it with cnn or the white house. I’m sure Mr Obama would be entertained n most wondered how the NEM was developed.
    Mr Chengho, i see you r truly blinded by the luv u hv for your tokok2. Yes, luv is blind.

27. #27 by madguyho on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 10:59 pm

Now I know what Najis said to the Sultan Perak. Your guess is as good as mine….it’s on the Youtube!

28. #28 by drago2008 on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 11:08 pm

Absolutely true….seeing is believing. If this one video clip cannot convince people of various ethnicity in Malaysia how low the government of the day can behave, then they must be village idiots. Let the whole world see this infamous video and know what the present govt of Malaysia is all about. Do the people still want to be ruled by this shamobolic govt?

29. #29 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 11:10 pm

You notice all the UMNO Ministers especially the b-carrying ones like Muhyiddin, Nazri, Rais, Hish, etc are all sooooo very quiet. Not even defending this mother-of-all-‘incentives’.

Even Ibrahim Ali and MM have not said anything in support or against this “carrot”.

There’s kind of a big hush-up.

30. #30 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 11:16 pm

Every time he wipes his mouth he’s quietly saying “Bullxhit”.

31. #31 by ekompute on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 11:54 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/breakingviews/article/why-does-the-rooster-crow-lim-mun-fah/

Why does the rooster crow? It is said that wild roosters crow loudly early in the morning to warn other roosters that: “This is my territory and don’t you try to invade it!”

Now I know why Ibrahim Ali crows. He claims Malaysia as his territory. If that is the case, then the orang asli communities deserve to crow louder.

Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Taib Mahmud said: “Jangan sangka apabila seekor ayam berkokok, maka ertinya hari sudah siang (Don’t think it is necessarily dawn when a rooster crows).”

Let him continue to sleep, LOL.

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 11:54 pm

///He insulted the intelligence of the people by making deals in exchange for public service/// – Mariam Mokhtar in Malaysiakini May 17, 10

Mariam is right. PM mixed up public service with business. When one asks “deal or no deal” based on RM5 million for drainage/flooding problem for delivery of BN’s Robert Lau as parliamentary member, one has to ask the first question – “what is a deal???”

As is ordinarily understood a deal is a bargain. It is an agreement between parties (usually arrived at after an exchange) fixing obligations against delivery of benefits of each. A deal is appropriate in business context. The reason for this is that between one business man to another, neither owes the other any obligation. It is in short “arms length”. If neither owes the other an obligation then when one party offers a benefit to the other that it desires, the other has an obligation to reciprocate quid pro quo in giving back to the first party what it in turn wants. The fixing of such a bargain and each party’s benefit and obligation in relation to onbe another is a deal.

The relationship between a constituency / rakyat and the elected representatives including the PM representing the government is not the same at all as that between two businessmen at arms length.

When we vote in the politician to high political office and when we vote in the government – which presently is BN’s government – the relationship is that of trustee and beneficiary. The rakyat are the benficiary. The people voted in, empowered and designated the government as trustee of the land and other natural resources, the Consolidated Fund and all other assets of the nation with the object that the government as trustee administer these resources efficiently and fairly for the common wealth and benefit of the people as beneficiaries. That is precisely why they say Democracy is government of the people, by the people and for the people….. The very basic concept of trustee and beneficiary is that the Trustee derives no personal benefit beyond basic remuneration, some perks and respect as recompense for carrying out trustee duties. The bulk of benefit should go to the people as beneficiaries. After all the assets comprise their money in form of taxes, direct and indirect.

This means if Sibuans suffer from years of flooding, then it is duty of the trustee government to alleviate their pain by giving development funds sufficient to rectify the problem. To not do so is a fundamental breach of trust! To insist that such financial resources to alleviate the problem should be pegged against a condition of delivering Robert Pang as Ahli Parliament or else no deal, is double breach of trust!

Public service as what Mariam said is the government’s duty and the people’s entitlement. It cannot be perversely restructured to the extent that public service is not an entitlment but a mere privilege to be extended by the government only if quid pro quo the people reciprocate by voting for Robert Lau! To put forward such a deal as in deal or no deal shows clearly thaqt the deal maker has no notion whatsoever of the concept of government as trustee for the people as beneficiary and mixing up what is essentially a fiduciary relationship with that of an arms length businjesds relationship between persons who owe nothing to each other!

Once the basic concepts are mixed up/confused, the other issues raiserd that Bn will honour its promise to pay becomes irrelevant and trivial. This is hardly the point!

33. #33 by ekompute on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 11:59 pm

Jeffrey :
    ///He insulted the intelligence of the people by making deals in exchange for public service/// – Mariam Mokhtar in Malaysiakini May 17, 10

We elect a wakil rakyat only to find that he now wants to hold us to ransom if we do not continue to elect him!

Sounds ironical if only it were not true. But UMNO has been ruling since independence and they now think that Malaysia belongs to them.

34. #34 by boh-liao on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 12:07 am

When he met the Indonesian president 2 discuss abt d maid issue, he said: Psst, psst, U help me, I help U, boleh tak? Deal?

This piece of classic video should be incorporated in d teaching of “Malaysia Negaraku”, one of d new subjects to be taught under d new Standards-based Primary School Curriculum (KSSR), aimed at instilling a sense of patriotism in students

35. #35 by boh-liao on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 12:27 am

Actually NR, UmnoBputras, n BNputras DON’T understand Y ppl r making so much noise here
    They r thinking: What’s wrong, mates? Ini biasa lah 4 UmnoB n BNputras. We own d money, we decide what 2 do with d money. Don’t like it, get lost.
    U ungrateful ppl, we offer $$$ 2 benefit U, your churches, n d your town (bludi town not fit 4 PM 2 b there). We could easily pocket d whole lot of $$$ n build more palatial mansions 4 ourselves.
    KTK is thinking: Ya lah, it’s part of our KPI n culture. No sweat. Y so much hoo hah?

36. #36 by boh-liao on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 1:16 am

Hv a good look at d recent decisions of our courts n we can decide if our judiciary system is independent or under d sarong of our executives
    So, Y should NR worry abt Karpal n Zaid – ask polis investigate lah, sue lah, apa nak buat

So, LKS n all PR MPs n state assemblymen, DO B CAREFUL, don’t simply touch a BNputra or piss by d roadside or say “Got deal or not?”, you may be found guilty, fined >RM2K or jailed 4 a few months n you will b disqualified as MPs or state assemblymen, so senang saja

37. #37 by Richardqed on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 2:41 am

Dirty BN, see their dirty tricks here:

Sibu: Glaring flaws mar postal vote credibility

http://bersih.org/?p=3375

The Sibu postal votes drama: Opposing views

http://bersih.org/?p=3398

38. #38 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 5:53 am

In the USA, (quote): “Under the Ethics in Government Act of 1978, all top federal officials are required annually to disclose their financial interests.” Even Obama and Biden declared all their assets & public has access to info.

Can we have PM and entire Cabinet’s assets made public. Just want to know who will be the next billionaire saje!

39. #39 by dagen on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 7:58 am

I am glad that chengho was glad that the clip was posted for everyone to see the commission of election crime by the man himself.

40. #40 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 7:59 am

careful people. First he will $crew you, then c4 you later like the A woman. Just like a thief who would steal then spend the money merrily, these bunch of goons are behaving the same way.

41. #41 by dagen on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 8:49 am

There is a clear commission of election crime by him in sibu. And what is worse for him, he actually confirmed that the same thing was done in HS. In fact he was so pleased with himself (except that I wonder why the phaaark he had to wipe his lips ever so often?) for having done what he did in HS. So pleased that he went on to give a complete factual account on the matter – what he promised, how he promised, where he made the promise and how and when he honoured the promise.

In the face of such very blatant and absolutely open act he found the gall to deny wrongdoings. And he expects us to trust him, his gobermen and his innocence, including his claim of no involvement in the bodily disintegration of that beloved child of Mother Gobi?

What lembu!

42. #42 by dagen on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 8:59 am

Ahh ha. I got it! I have always wondered. How on earth jib’s got those unreal looking pink lips. Now the answer presented itself to the whole world. Look at the clip carefully. See what he did at the end of every other sentence he uttered. See. See what I saw? There. Q.E.D.

43. #43 by boh-liao on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 9:22 am

“why the phaaark he had to wipe his lips ever so often”
    Well, maybe while he was speaking, he was hallucinating n drooling over all d shiok shiok thingy 2 come later dat night with some nice nice ppl (not Lohsi Mah; CSL most likely his idol) b4 d great victory on Sunday, what he could do with his pinky lips, exciting, sexciting, sweat oozing out of every pore, such a stimulating erection, oops, election

44. #44 by artemisios on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 9:51 am

chengho,

sometimes i actually do read yr comments. Though it’s filled with racism & all those insecurities you are so famous for… i read them…

because you were CONSISTENT.

You knew what you wanted to say back then. You want eternal spoon feeding, you want the corrupt govt to stay in power so that you can continue to get your share, you want money, but you refuse to work, you want more money, and still refused to work, you are afraid of anyone who is capable of making their own living, not just the chinese, but all malaysians, you want only your own version of justice, you want this, you want that…

it’s really easy to guess who you are.

BUT NOW…. I’m no longer sure…
    I mean did you watch that video?? Did you understand English & Malay language??

“fair & articulate people PM”?? Come on. Really?

For the first time, you look absolutely lost. You don’t know the words that came out of your mouth.

Seems like that speech really screwed everything up big time for you & you gang of thieves at BN. The more you try to defend it with completely irrelevant comments. The more it shows.

45. #45 by ekompute on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 10:22 am

It is sad that the government of the day has absolutely no morals. Is it any wonder then that our public institutions are facing a credibility crisis?

46. #46 by ktteokt on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 12:48 pm

I think for a moment Najis was making his speech, he was dreaming that he was a CROUPIER in Genting Highlands Casino! DEAL or NO DEAL?

47. #47 by boh-liao on Thursday, 20 May 2010 - 3:30 pm

When approached by civil servants, polis, MACC officers, immigration officers, MPPJ enforcing officers, JPJ officers n testers, Rela officers, UmnoB/BNputras, etc …..
    “U know what I want, I know what U want, I help U, U help me, semua happy, OK, PM also did this, no problem one, deal?”
    What r we suppose 2 do aah?
    Can we say TAK NAK ke?

48. #48 by sarawak on Friday, 21 May 2010 - 3:42 am

5 millions ringgit is just a dip in the ocean in turns of the severity of corruption in Sarawak’s government, white hair and his family have benefited from all aspect of life in Sarawak, The natural resources (especially timber) have all been stripped clean with wealth going to few Chinese families in Sarawak, it’s time for Sarawakians to wake up to the call of this “rooster” which I am sure other “roosters” will follow.

49. #49 by bigwig on Sunday, 23 May 2010 - 4:06 am

i guess this is a very-very typical ‘ayat’ for most of UMNO’s post-election speech because i heard it before in Johor – one of the BN candidate did promise a surau for the school if UMNO win and right after election – they school got the surau……. i don’t know if it good or not but everyone seems to be happy without knowing they been ‘paid’ to cross for BN…..