Sibu people thankful for Najib’s RM15 million for Chinese schools in Sibu but the Prime Minister should be reminded that it should be at least RM30 million if not RM150 million cheques he should have distributed yesterday

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak came to Sibu yesterday as a very-early Santas Claus in the month of May instead of Dec. 25, with bags full of goodies and presents.

At a gathering of some 1,000 Chinese educationists and school teachers yesterday, Najib presented financial allocations of RM15 million for 65 Chinese primary schools and five independent Chinese secondary schools in Sibu.

This works out to RM10 million for the 65 Chinese primary schools and RM5 million to the five independent Chinese secondary schools.

This means that the five independent Chinese secondary schools gets RM1 million each while the 65 Chinese primary schools will get RM153,846 each.

The people of Sibu are thankful for Najib’s RM15 million for Chinese schools in Sibu but the Prime Minister should be reminded that it should be at least RM30 million if not RM150 million cheques he should have distributed yesterday.

Why?

Firstly, government financial allocations for schools, regardless of stream of education, should be part of citizens’ right and not a gift from the government, as the government funds are derived from the people’s taxes.

Secondly, government financial allocations for schools should be institutionalized and not personalized depending on whether there are by-elections or not. This is to avoid abuses of power and injustices to different groups of Malaysian citizens in the country. As such, will Najib give an undertaking that what he allocated yesterday for the Chinese primary schools and independent Chinese secondary schools will be an annual feature of his administration to demonstrate that Malaysia is a government of laws and not of men?

Thirdly, if the RM10 million allocation to the 65 Chinese primary schools and RM5 million allocation to the five independent Chinese secondary schools are to be an annual feature, this will work out to RM15 million a year. As this year Najib’s second year as Prime Minister, he should have signed cheques for RM30 million to include last year and the new year ahead.

Fourthly, the figure should actually be higher than RM15 million a year. Taking into consideration the great contributions Chinese primary schools and Chinese independent secondary schools in Sibu had made to nation building particularly in the education and creation of highly-qualified human resources (many of whom are forced to leave Sibu and even go overseas to find a living), what the Federal Government should allocate annually should be in the region of RM1 million for each Chinese primary school and RM2 million for each independent Chinese secondary school – which will work out to RM65 million for Sibu’s Chinese primary schools and RM10 million for the five Sibu independent Chinese secondary schools, i.e. RM75 million. For two years of Najib’s premiership, this will work out to RM150 million.

This is why the people of Sibu, while thankful for Najib’s RM15 million for Chinese schools should remind the Prime Minister that it should be at least RM30 million if not RM150 million cheques he should have distributed yesterday.

After all, if the Federal Government can spend RM77 million just to secure a meeting between Najib and President Barack Obama during the Prime Minister’s recent visit to Washington, and the country can write off RM320 billion-worth of the oil-and-gas rich Blocks L and M in South China Sea to Brunei in trying to secure the Sultan of Brunei’s consent to drop their territorial claim to Limbang (and failing), the people of Sibu are fully within their rights to ask for an annual allocation of RM75 million for Chinese schools in Sibu.

1. #1 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 1:30 pm

If no by-election in Sibu, Tua Pek Kong would not had given a single cent to the Chinese schools. US President Kunta Kinte must be informed that such a “democracy” exists, which is comparable to that being practised in Myanmar

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 1:42 pm

You see? Must put up sign with the $$$ number mah! $3mil here, $5million there… then ok lah.. Like these, get peanuts – he then push through GST, remove essential subsidies, hike traffic fines, give gambling license etc.. Peanuts all go back to him and THEN he put a few billion into his and his cronies pocket..Rasa check look like chicken feed compared to those that goes into him and his cronies pocket.

Cannot, cannot. Must have another buy-election..

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 1:47 pm

somewhere, some place in bolehland, a poor chinese school head is thinking: ” I need rm3 million to repair my derelict school building. The only way i can get the money is for my assemblyman to kick the bucket. Mmmm, now how the hell do I make him kick the bucket…..put a bucket in front of his front door so that he can kick it when he comes out?”

4. #4 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 1:56 pm

Robert Lau finally realised his market price: 15 million ringgit. If without him passing away, we don’t get this amount of our money. That is for a period of 27 years when he acted as MP. This is on the average of 0.5 million a year.

May I ask Tua Pek Kong who is next BN MP to die for their people?

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 2:07 pm

Not a single sen to the Dayak, Iban and local Bumiputra schools, villages and local communities. Maybe they don’t need his help financially. They are all well off.

So much for 1Malaysia.

6. #6 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 2:12 pm

For the long houses, each one got 600 ringgit. Didn’t you read it? This was not advertised in the media.

For the Chinese, we, as individual, did not get any angpao.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 2:40 pm

This line is just pretty amazing..

“It won’t cost you anything to give us what we want. We will do what we should to give you what you want. ”

Amazingly telling that is
    1. It won’t cost? Yeah – you and the cronies money comes ultimately from the people who voted you in.
    2. Should to give you what you want? If its should, its not for him to give, its for him to deliver.
    3. Does it even cross his mind giving out money during election campaign is fundamentally wrong – a real bad practise, a crime in places with proper systems and institutions? – Its just screams Malaysia election system is a freaking joke?

Someone wrote that Najib has got a pretzel brain and his ideas are pretzel ideas, it convoluted and always end back at the same place.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 2:51 pm

– the same crappy place that is..

9. #9 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 2:53 pm

“Does it even cross his mind giving out money during election campaign is fundamentally wrong – a real bad practise, a crime in places with proper systems and institutions? – Its just screams Malaysia election system is a freaking joke?”

It shows how desperate the BN is to win by elections.
    Our political leaders are acting worse than whores – buying votes with public funds.

10. #10 by Dap man on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 2:58 pm

If the Chinese community in Sibu vote for BN in exchange for the money then I will conclude that their forefathers (or mothers) came here from China to work as prostitutes.

This money for vote is also political prostitution.
    Will the Chinese, a very distinguished race stand up against prostituting with Najib.

11. #11 by Godfather on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 3:01 pm

Take the money, Sibu folks. Take the money that came substantially from Chinese contributors to the state coffers. No need to be shy about it. Take the money and then vote Rocket !

12. #12 by Yee Siew Wah on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 3:36 pm

Here comes the Santa Clause again. Millions$$$$$$$$$ will be handed out. Just like the Ulu Selangor by-election. Why only now BN politicians hand out money during the by-election. What they hasve been doing all these 52+ years? A clear case of vote buying using the rakyat money.
    I suggest, voters take the money and vote DAP/PAS/PR.

13. #13 by Dipoh Bous on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 3:46 pm

…millions for the chinese schools and to the poor bumis ??….

Well, the idea is to try win the chinese votes. The bumis, on the other hand, are mostly diehard BN voters. Let them be, since the desperate and the poor are the ones who are very likely to vote for BN.

If 80% of the chinese vote DAP and just 30% of the “others” do likewise, that would suffice…

GET BN’s GIFTS but VOTE FOR DAP !!

14. #14 by ekompute on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 3:56 pm

“The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak came to Sibu yesterday as a very-early Santas Claus in the month of May instead of Dec. 25, with bags full of goodies and presents.”

Well, it’s Tua Pek Kong’s birthday so what’s wrong with the God of Prosperity feeling rather generous? It would have completed the act if he also dressed up like one, LOL.

It just goes to show how jittery UMNO is, these days. It is feeling extremely insecure and it is doing what it knows best…. buy people, be they voters or frogs.

The amount of money that UMNO is pouring in to buy a win in every by-election is an indirect salute to Pakatan Rakyat, weak as it may be. If PR can get its act together, you never know what miracles it can do.

Let’s see how Sibu will react. Will they ask, why only now, or will they be blinded the very moment they receive the money? And how about the rest of the country? Are they asking why only them? What about us? Well, the people gets the type of government that they deserve. So don’t complain if you are going to vote for BN.

15. #15 by cskok8 on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 4:02 pm

This again confirms my belief that the greatest service any MP or state assemblymen can perform for his constituency is to die in office or resign.

16. #16 by johnnypok on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 4:11 pm

It could be an empty promise, with condition.
    Also, don’t play-play with Sibu people.
    God will make sure BN lose and pave the way for Sarawak to get out of the federation.

17. #17 by limkamput on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 4:20 pm

A new beginning for Malaysia! Now corruption can be practised openly, it is legal and acceptable from Hulu Selangor to Sibu.

From now on if ever our leaders talk about ethics, governance, moral and values, we should actually ask them go fly kite.

To our young people who are in love, I want to say this: you have your rights to talk to your boyfriends or girlfriends in the park or in the privacy of your home. If they come after you, don’t panic. There is no need for you to feel ashamed. There is no need for you to run or jump. Just stay put, let them take you to court. Don’t plead guilty and also don’t pay the fine. Let start this as a national movement. All these farting leaders have no right to talk about moral values anymore.

18. #18 by grace on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 4:32 pm

Mathew 23:27.
    Woe to you, hypocrites! For you resemble whitewashed graves, which outwardly appear beautiful but inwardly are full of dead men’s bones and all uncleanliness.
    This verse aptly applies to all BN leaders!
    To all voters. especially the Christians, take heed of this verse when you vote.
    REMEMBER BN APPARENTLY APPEAR TO BE GOOD, BUT DEEP INSIDE ROTTEN TO THE CORE!
    VOTE DAP and you will not regret!

19. #19 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 4:32 pm

The shameless repeat performance to use money to buy votes….in a by-election.
    But this time.he is asking for it.
    RM15 million 65 Chinese schools….while more than RM100 million to Felda settlers?
    Schools should get much more…but these schools are Chinese schools.
    Felda settlers are all Malays.
    The truth is again revealed.
    He applies double standards thinking Malaysians cannot see that.
    Let hope Sibu voters can see how Najib treats Chinese Malaysians.
    He said that now he has given.. ..he wants Sibu Chinese voters to give theirs votes to him.
    Is that not a bribery and corruption statement.

20. #20 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 4:35 pm

Great message….Grace.

21. #21 by newchief on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 5:20 pm

how much of our hard-earned money has been wasted away by the much much desparate bn to win a by-election ??? i’m very very sure it runs into thousands of millions !!!!

if there’s a by-election every month, the country might just as well go BROKE !!!

bn is saying to wipe out corruption and bribes , the way all by-elections were held, najib TAKES THE LEAD to show the rakyat HOW TO BRIBE !!!!!

we just hope the bribe-takers take the money and DO NOT VOTE FOR THEM !!!

22. #22 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 5:54 pm

The Sibu people should all wake up and vote for the Rocket.By doing so,they will help to kick out all the corrupted(including the White haired regime),the opportunists,the hypocrites,the racists,the religious bigots and also the biggest crook of all,the 53 year old BN the mother of all evils and mismanagement of our once very rich country endowed with natural resources.They also will wipe out the cheats,the thieves,the robbers who have stolen and plundered the wealth of the country and have made it soon to join countries like Zimbawe one day.

23. #23 by limkamput on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 6:21 pm

And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men (sound familiar to you?)

But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen.

Matthew chapter 6 verses 5 and 6

24. #24 by yhsiew on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 6:21 pm

Just watch how low the country’s corruption perception index will plunge to after the Ulu Selangor and Sibu by-election!

25. #25 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 7:03 pm

A vote for BN is a vote for CORRUPTION & RACISM. Malaysia is for ALL MALAYSIANS & not for a handfuls of Corrupted ,racist & bigoted umNOputras including corrupted MCA,MIC,Gerakan,SUPP and other BN subservient component parties. Lets rebuild a BETTER Malaysia for ALL Malaysians irrespective of races,religions n creed

26. #26 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 7:12 pm

“……and go ye, men who control the purse strings and of government, go ye to the streets, the markets and public places and give handouts to everyone…for they who receive might think about voting for ye….or else…” BeN Jamin 2: 10-15.

27. #27 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 7:13 pm

To ALL readers & commentators : Complained and whinned ALL you want,there is NOTHING,absolutely NOTHING you ALL can do. However there is one and ONLY one thing which we ALL can and SHOULD do viz is start your own “VOTER-get-VOTERS” campaign for PR. Do it not tommorrow but NOW cos GE13 is just around the corner..closer than you think. Start this ” VOTER-get-VOTERS 4 PR” campaign NOW by chain emails,sms,words of mouth to everyone….for a BETTER Malaysia..Join us at “VOTER-get-VOTERS for a Better Malaysia ” in facebook.

28. #28 by chengho on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 7:33 pm

vote for dap you will regret , do not allow dap export their ideology to Sibu
    VOTE for BN , Najib is great leader with universal value and color blind not like dap

29. #29 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 9:21 pm

“……This is why the people of Sibu, while thankful for Najib’s RM15 million for Chinese schools should remind the Prime Minister that it should be at least RM30 million if not RM150 million cheques he should have distributed yesterday….” -Kit

Whether it is RM15 Million, RM30 Million or RM150 Million….. it is depend on Sibu’s ‘fair market value’ … Sibu was formally held by Barisan Nasional with over 3000 votes majority…. so perhaps with such majority , the fair market value for Sibu is RM15 Million…… If the majority was 2000 votes, the fair market value could be RM30 Million……….. If the previous majority votes for BN was 65 votes….. perhaps the fair market value is RM100 Million…… And if the seat was previously held by Opposition party with a majority of 1500 votes, then the fair value for Sibu would be RM150 Million…..

So the Quantum of funds poured in by Barisan Nasional will be depending on the ‘fair market value’ of the constituency … Don’t you remember…. THIS IS A “BUY-ELECTION” ?

No election -no allocation ……!

30. #30 by boh-liao on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 10:07 pm

SIBUANS, how lucky u r, NR is pouring $$$$ into Sibu, all bcos NR n UmnoB want 2 use our taxpayers’ money 2 buy u 2 vote 4 BN
    Should u vote 4 BN in d coming buy election, NR n UmnoB will continue 2 insult nonMalay citizens as PENDATANG n as descendants of beggars, robbers, n prostitutes
    NR n UmnoB will continue 2 ban d use of Allah by Christians

NR n UmnoB believe they can use taxpayers’ money 2 buy nonMalays’ votes n then 2 degrade/insult nonMalays’ dignity

BE SMART, SIBUANS, take the bribes offered by NR but VOTE for DAP/PR
    U have nothing 2 lose, as NR will come back again during d next GE 2 offer u MORE $$$
    No fear, make NR n UmnoB work 4 u

Non-Sibuans, you should write letters 2 your BN MPs n ask them 2 do you a great favour – ask them 2 please DIE very soon so dat NR can descend 2 your towns n offer millions 2 your local schools n communities

31. #31 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 10:32 pm

No matter how many commentators faark Chengho…he is still uttering same sh..t stuffs.
    This sickening UMNO B toad never stop carrying Najib’s balls openly…with no shame.
    Najib should be grateful and bestow Chengho a datukship title….like he did to Rocky recently.

32. #32 by Winston on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 10:46 pm

Say all you want!
    In the final analysis, all visitors to this blog should make it their duty to enlist the help of all those you know to help vote the UMNO/BN government out!
    The Philippinos have done that against all odds.
    Against murderous warlords aligned to the ruling party!
    The gave President Arroyo the mother of all tsunamis!!
    So much so that no amount of foul play during can help her.
    That’s the type of tsunami we will give to the UMNO/BN government in the next GE!!!

33. #33 by baochingtian on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 11:40 pm

Take the money, why not? Otherwise, it’ll land in some other people’s pockets, it may not be used for development work!
    Sibu people must be thankful to DAP for getting BN to donate generously to the state.
    If there’s a condition to the offer by BN, counter the offer, ask for more and vote them out. There won’t be offer without PR.

34. #34 by aiD_kamikuP on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 12:20 am

At the rate of all these precedents, soon all Chinese schools would only get fundings when a by-election is round the corner. Might as well rename them ‘Buy-election’ schools.

35. #35 by ekompute on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 12:22 am

chengho :
    vote for dap you will regret , do not allow dap export their ideology to Sibu
    VOTE for BN , Najib is great leader with universal value and color blind not like dap

Hi Chengho, I am Chinese and I want to join UMNO as a member. Can you help me?

36. #36 by Comrade on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 12:51 am

‘Santa Claus’ is again giving away the ‘red packets’
    Better than the money ending in BN pockets
    Take the bribes, Sibu voters, but don’t forget
    To go all out and vote for Rocket

37. #37 by johnnypok on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 4:20 am

15 million is nothing … he should give at least 20% of the 500 million which he pocketed from the submarine deal.

If the Fat-lady can spend 1 million on advertisement, what is 100 million or 1 billion for education? He thinks the people in Sibu is so cheap.

38. #38 by chengho on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 7:05 am

BN accepting direct membership…welcome
    BN color blind ,very far from prejudice
    look what happened to Dap selangor , sand,sand,sand…..

39. #39 by monsterball on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 8:14 am

‘BN color blind” said Chengho…….hahahahahahaha
    And DAP sell sand in Selangor….or exposing corruptions of UMNO B sand deals?
    Wa.. DAP one year controlling Selangor…Chengho found how corrupted DAP is?
    He should be MACC chief….hahahahahaha
    Early in the morning I need to faark Chengho.
    If Malaysia looses to China tonight…I will faark Chengho day and night..to make him very happy…hahahahahaha

40. #40 by monsterball on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 8:27 am

If Sibu Malaysians sincerely love Tua Pek Kong…then they MUST vote SUPP out…indirectly vote UMNO B out.
    Can they learn to kill two birds with one stone?
    Sibu Malaysians should ask themselves….will the support SUPP who supports the devil….or get rid of SUPP….to get rid of the devils.
    Do Sibu Malaysians really trust Mahathir and Najib?
    In the past..no choice….understandable.
    Now they have a clear choice.
    No excuse to play balls with SUPP and UMNO B racists crooks anymore.
    If SUPP is so good…why do Sibu need RM18 millions from Najib…right now?
    Are you all beggars or can easily be bought?
    hi..voters…the RM18 million are your money.
    Will you save money and let an UMNO B Malays decide what to do with your money..and treat all of you …like childish fools?
    Are you men or mouse?

41. #41 by k1980 on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 8:34 am

The RM15 million spent is nothing. Billions more available the moment GST is implemented.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2010/may/13/vat-rise-budget-deficit

42. #42 by Godfather on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 12:05 pm

Monsterball:

You can’t faark chengho day and night. The first thing they will do is to charge you with consensual sex like they charge Anwar. They won’t charge chengho because he is an UMNOputra. Then chengho will go to the press and say he was raped by Monsterball. In true Malaysian justice, you will never win.

43. #43 by k1980 on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 12:42 pm

Unlike his mentor saiful, chengho will not pangsai for an entire 6 months, so as to keep the DNA up where it belongs in his rectum.

44. #44 by ReformMalaysia on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 10:28 pm

It is a BY-ELECTION for DAP/PR

but..

It is a ‘BUY’-ELECTION for SUPP/Barisan Nasional

Will the people of SIBU sell there principles and souls this coming Sunday?

45. #45 by monsterball on Saturday, 15 May 2010 - 2:50 am

Malaysia lost to China with no fighting spirit…because Chengho’s hero Najib…suddenly appeared making top players sick of playing…seeing his face.
    Let Chengho make one false move.
    I WILL faark him day and night.
    Knowing Malaysian justice.you are right…Godfather…I can never win….even if I can prove Chengho is so itchy and asking for it.
    Kopitiam fellas do not give changes to UMNO B toads…….especially Chengho who keep carrying Najib balls ….showing non stop bad examples to young readers….with false information.
    I go to jail…he will regret…and that will be too late for him…..lost in the wood…C4ed…into pieces. I also can afford to hire Road Runners…peep peep peep peep…boom boom boom….hahahahahahahaha

46. #46 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 15 May 2010 - 11:00 pm

A lot of people felt that Malaysian players lost their fighting spirit because they were fed up with the discriminatory and biased policies of BN.More so when they were playing against people coming from their ancestral home.How not to be half hearted when facing the Chinese players and think of being branded as ‘pendatangs’ and their grandmothers being called prostitutes?The idiotic chengho should be screwed left and right,front and back by everyone.

47. #47 by monsterball on Sunday, 16 May 2010 - 7:41 am

And I am faarking him with my mouth…not with my tool.
    If I use my monsterball tool…to faark him….Chengho cannot let go for weeks…die of sh…t poisoning…hahahahahahaha