Will IGP and Selangor CPO apologise for starting the trial by media and defaming Aminulrasyid and Azamuddin and their families when the two boys were called “criminals”?

The Cabinet yesterday belatedly expressed its distress and condolences to the family of Aminulrasyid Amzah, 14, who was killed by trigger-happy police about 100 metres from his Shah Alam house in the early hours (2 am) of Monday, April 26, 2010 when trying to flee home driving his sister’s car.

The first question that comes to mind for Malaysians is why the Cabinet did not express its distress and condolences at last Wednesday’s Cabinet meeting, which met more than 48 hours after the fatal shooting and killing of Aminulrasyid.

Is it because the Cabinet had relied on the first public account of the heinous police killing by the Selangor police chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar who said Aminulrasyid was shot dead “while reversing his car in an attempt to run over several policemen”, describing the Form III student as a “criminal”?

In his first statement which appeared in Tuesday’s papers, Khalid said the policemen were on patrol in two cars when they spotted two men behaving suspiciously inside a car.

The police signaled for the driver to pull over for inspection, but the driver sped off, resulting in a police chase.

Khalid said that after beating several red-lights, the patrol cars managed ‘to corner the suspects’ car”.

Khalid said: “A male passenger jumped out and escaped on foot while the driver reversed his car and tried to run over the policemen, forcing them to open fire.”

Khalid said one of the policemen fired four shots at the tyres of the car but one of the bullets is believed to have hit the boy, killing him instantly. He said police found a parang inside the car which is believed to have been used in robberies.

Investigations into Aminulrasyid’s death had not been completed, as the Attorney-General Chambers had returned the police investigation papers last Friday for more investigations to be conducted.

What then is the basis of the Cabinet’s expression of distress and condolences to the bereaved family? Is it because the Cabinet has come to realize that the Selangor police chief’s account was a false and spurious one?

The Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan also publicly endorsed and joined in Khalid’s trial by media of Aminulrasyid in painting the Form III student as a criminal – with the insinuation that the parang in the car had been used in robberies!

Musa even compounded the trial by media against Aminulrasyid by publicly postulating that “A speeding vehicle which can be used to plough into policemen is also a dangerous weapon” which could endanger the lives of enforcement officers and other roadusers.

The clear picture emerging in the past ten days is eye-witness account that Aminulrasyid was fleeing for home and had never tried to reverse to ram policemen to justify the firing of over 15 shots, one of which hit him at the back of his head and killed him while at the steering wheel, causing the vehicle to crash into a tree, a retaining wall and into a drain!

With the Cabinet’s expression of distress and condolences to the bereaved family, will the IGP and the Selangor CPO themselves apologise to Aminulrasyid and his family as well as to Azamuddin and his family for falsely describing them as “criminals”.

The Selangor CPO and IGP were the first to start the trial by media defaming Aminulrasyid and Azamuddin Omar and their families saying that the two boys were suspected to be “criminals”? In fact, Azamuddin’s father is a police officer himself.

The IGP and the Selangor CPO, as well as the Home Minister, had promised fair, independent and professional investigations into Aminulrasyid’s killing – which the trio failed to deliver as the police investigations were inadequate and unsatisfactory, which was why the police investigation papers submitted to the Attorney-General’s Chambers last Friday were remitted back to the police the same evening for further investigations to be conducted.

Aminulrasyid’s killing had been classified under “murder” during police investigations but the IGP is asking for an inquest. This is most extraordinary for it could only mean that as of now Musa rejects any charge of murder or homicide against the police personnel concerned!

What has shocked and outraged many is that the MCA leadership has decided to officially side with the IGP and the Selangor CPO despite rising anger over the Amirnulrasyid’s shooting death.

The MCA NGO liaison bureau chief Datuk Ti Lian Ker attacked the press conference by Azamuddin, the sole companion in Aminulrasyid’s car that fateful night, as an “unethical move” and “trial by media”, saying it “may influence public perception and judgment.

The MCA leadership were silent and subservient when the IGP and Selangor CPO conducted a trial by media against Aminulrasyid and Azamuddin immediately after the tragic killing.

No wonder the MCA cannot recapture the support not only of Chinese but also Malays, Indians, Ibans and Kadazans who constitute Najib’s 1Malaysia.

1. #1 by chengho on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 7:37 am

no body discuss the root cause of the problem ,
    ” mat rempit culture “, ” kopi tiam culture ” and ” tea tarik mamak culture” they can operate 24x 7 dirty and no discipline ….can you find restaurant open after late midnight in 1st world country ?

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 7:37 am

I believe Ti Lian Ker is a CSL ally. CSL has a close relationship with the police which is how he managed to handle his whole sex-tape thing so well. TLK also has a history of stepping up on occasion as a barking running dog (chow kow) for UMNO, their institutions and CSL.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 9:26 am

D cabinet just realised dat there is a buy election coming in Sibu – got 2 pretend 2 b ppl friendly n con suckers into voting 4 BN once again

4. #4 by Hassan on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 9:55 am

Every time i read anything on killing of innocent, I’m so angry, no words can descrbe it..and i believe so do other malysian..let us continue our unprecedented support to DAP,PAS,& PKR..maybe if Pakatan Rakyat in power, aminulrashid still playing rugby in his school, kugan still with his family and beng hock can celebrate his new born baby..Lets bring justice to them, vote PR.

5. #5 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:01 am

This apology is just “Too little, too late”. It just shows that the Home Minister did not know the correct response after the case was revealed and simply sided with the police even after the IGP threatened to take his men off the streets.
    That was a direct challenge to the Home Minister and just like in the rejection of the IPCMC, the government baulked or chickened out.
    Now we have the police interrogating the youth for so many times when it have been done in one go. Are they trying to frighten the only witness and his parents into exonerating the culprits?

6. #6 by artemisios on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:02 am

Just this morning in theStar there is some expert saying it was the kid’s fault

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/5/6/nation/6202592&sec=nation

I couldn’t finish reading what that ‘expert’ said. He was wasting my time with arguments that were completely unrelated & immature.

I assure all of you here, that you can’t survive past the 4th paragraph without dozing off.

Which makes me wonder… if the victim was the expert’s brother/son/grandson… would he still say something like this?

7. #7 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:02 am

sorry typo:
    “when it could have been done in one go”

8. #8 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:04 am

you must understand – this so-called expert is probably employed by some government-linked university.
    Associate Prof hardly qualifies as an expert, IMHO.

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:06 am

Police versions of incidents are not necessarily the correct ones. They can be disputed.

As someone asked: “Who police the Police?”

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:22 am

““A lot of violent crime takes place after midnight and a speeding car pursued by a group of motorcyclists fits the scenario perfectly,” said Dr Teoh who is the Head of the School of Natural Health and Sciences in Sunway University College.” The Star

Gee. What a dungu. He quickly jumps into conclusions.

What if the motorcyclists themselves were the criminals chasing an innocent driver to rob him? So where were the motorcyclists subsequently?

And does this chase justifies the police shooting 15 to 20 rounds at the vehicle? What if an innocent by-stander gets shot by one of the bullets?

Did the police radio their HQ for instructions? Is this Manchester or LA?

Where is the parang that was “found”?

Why and on what basis did the police immediately conclude that the driver was a “dangerous criminal” and not a drunk driver?

Just what does this Assoc. Prof. teach at that university?

11. #11 by seage on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:26 am

The kids are criminal because they have parang in their car… the police have foresight? Or perhaps the kids have the parang displayed on the front of their car just like the Jaguar on a Jaguar brand car… Interesting. All the “evidence” and “Justification” is non-existing until the victim was found to be just an innocent 14 year old boy. Why is it so degrading to admit that they are indeed black sheeps in the PDRM? I guess there’s a whole load of shits up this Khalids’ a$$ that he has to cover for his dudes.

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:29 am

“Just what does this Assoc. Prof. teach at that university?”
    1Malaysia or how to be a compliant citizen?

13. #13 by artemisios on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 10:39 am

Hi Sheriff,

I think what the professor meant to say is:

the cops were RIGHT to shoot an unarmed kid for speeding.

That’s just so embarrassing.. a professor reasoning in such an idiotic manner.

To guys who look tough or fierce (just on the surface).. i suggest you draw a bigggg, nice smile on your face at all times. Because you might get shot because you “looked dangerous”.

And based on an expert… it’s OK to shoot you. Just read his argument on a major newspaper.

14. #14 by Ridzuan Aziz on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 11:42 am

I wonder, if this incident happens the other way round-what if the kid shoots the police and the police dies?

What would have been our reaction then?

there is according to Maxwell (1993), a world of difference between a person who has a big problem and a person who makes a problem big.

what the professor is saying is that, the way the two drivers were driving (now u need to understand that the police were not aware who were in the car at that time) posed serious harm to road users-at 3am in the morning-when a car grazed another car, and speed away, one must be thinking that they must be criminals.

15. #15 by chengho on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 11:50 am

any body care to the followings;

Soldier dies after collision with Tian Chua’s car

Saturday, March 13th, 2010 11:48:00

JOHOR BARU: An army private died when his motorcycle collided with a car with Batu Member of Parliament, Tian Chua, in it at KM49 Jalan Johor Baharu-Mersing near Hutan Lipur Panti, near Kota Tinggi, Friday.

Kota Tinggi police district chief Supt Osman Mohammad Sebot said the incident happened at about 9pm when the private, Mohd Salleh Hamdan, 22, who was attached to the Iskandar Camp, Mersing was on his way to Kota Tinggi while Tian Chua was headed towards Mersing after attending a get-together in Kota Tinggi.

16. #16 by boh-liao on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 12:13 pm

Ti Lian Ker is MCA (Mah (Chai (Always), got 2 talk like dat what

17. #17 by machiavelli on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 12:21 pm

I would like to draw your readers attention to two news report in the Star, page N4.

1) Hisham: Don’t politicise shooting.
    2) Minor at fault in shooting incident, says expert.

1) Mr Home Minister, with all due respects, the Malaysian public wants an inquiry to ensure our policemen have acted professionally, responsibly with all reasonable restraints, that they felt that their lives are at risks before opening fire.

This is not about politics. This is about public safety and the conduct and professionalism of our police force. We the public wants to have full confidence in our police force.

The Malaysian public also want to know why the Home Minister had not come down hard on the IGP for his irresponsible and unprofessional response to the criticisms made by him over the incident.

2) I do not know who this Assoc Prof Doc is; I just want him to know Malaysians are not fools.

“A lot of violent crime takes place after midnight”; a lot of drunks are also driving after midnight, we do not want them to be shot for ramming into a road block; eventhough they are wrong in the first place.

We have seen lots of real life chase incidents on TV and we have seen the restraints shown by these policemen. There are proper rules of engagement.

The Assoc Prof Doc can sympathise with the IGP for all he wants, that is his opinion and perogative. But it still does not justify the IGP irresponsible and unprofessional comments of pulling his policemen from th streets by one iota in response to criticisms over the incident.

Amirulrasyid is a young kid who have acted irresponsibly and he compounded it by trying to flee the police. He is just a scared young kid trying to get home. His death is too high a price to pay for being at fault Mr Assoc Prof Doc.

18. #18 by cto on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 12:47 pm

chengho on Thursday, 6 May 2010 – 7:37 am
    muttered

….can you find restaurant open after late midnight in 1st world country ?

——————

Yes absolutely.

19. #19 by cto on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 12:49 pm

Ridzuan Aziz on Thursday, 6 May 2010 – 11:42 am wrote

I wonder, if this incident happens the other way round-what if the kid shoots the police and the police dies?

—–

Wonder no more. The kid will get incarcerated and if he is old enough, he will be hanged.

20. #20 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 12:52 pm

The issue we face today is not about a disobedient/wayward boy making a silly mistake and deserve to get shot mistakenly. The issue is the whole conduct of our police force. Are they trigger-happy, not respecting human life and human rights and cannot maintain cool under duress or in an emergency situation. May be our police were never trained this way. They are trained to only uphold their right to enforce the law irrespective of those I mention above.

See the psychological warfare being stage today in a farting MSM. I read in the farting MSM a view of a farting psychologist that the minor was at fault. Who really do not know that the minor and probably his parents were at fault? I want to puke after reading his farting views – police do not know who and what they will be up against, it is likely that one of the stray bullet could have hit him, police are overworked etc. See a moronic psychologist (who is probably also a “prostitute in three piece suit” in action). It is the job of the police to face the unknown each day. It is duty of the police to act judicially when to discharge and not to discharge a firearm, and contrary to general views, I don’t think the police in Malaysia are overworked or underpaid. Make no mistake, farting psychologist. No one is politicising this tragic episode. It is citizens’ right to see an honest and an accountable police force. The police statements so far have included: (i) there was a machete in car and (ii) the car was reversing to try to ram the policemen. We shall get to the bottom of this and see for ourselves who is telling the truth. I think Sunway University needs a new Head for its School of Natural Health and Sciences and the MSM carrying that piece of sh!t should be shut down.

It is the job of the police to face risk. If police love their own life too much and do not have the stomach for risk, they should consider other professions. Having said that, I am not suggesting that police should not or cannot take steps to protect themselves. By the way, how many of our policemen get shot at each year and how many of them actually died?

The issue here is whether or not the discharge of firearms is necessary. Yes, a car was speeding away from the police at 2 a.m., but did it ipso facto constitute a major crime requiring the ultimate measure. It is dark, the life of the police is not in imminent danger, so why the extreme measure?

21. #21 by cto on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 12:55 pm

chengho on Thursday, 6 May 2010 – 11:50 am

any body care to the followings;

Soldier dies after collision with Tian Chua’s car

———–

And your point being that this is equivalent to the shooting???

22. #22 by cto on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 1:02 pm

Ridzuan Aziz on Thursday, 6 May 2010 – 11:42 am wrote

there is according to Maxwell (1993), a world of difference between a person who has a big problem and a person who makes a problem big.

what the professor is saying is that, the way the two drivers were driving (now u need to understand that the police were not aware who were in the car at that time) posed serious harm to road users-at 3am in the morning-when a car grazed another car, and speed away, one must be thinking that they must be criminals.

——————–

Wow. Speeding drivers give the police the license to shoot?

Why use the speed gun when you can use the real McCoy, eh?

23. #23 by cto on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 1:23 pm

The extend to which some moronic police apologists here are rationalizing is getting quite ludricous. They are turning this whole episode into a comedic tragedy. If not for the fact that a life was lost, I would have been quite amused.

At any rate, thanks for the many attempts to amuse and entertain.

24. #24 by yhsiew on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 1:30 pm

///The MCA leadership were silent and subservient when the IGP and Selangor CPO conducted a trial by media against Aminulrasyid and Azamuddin immediately after the tragic killing./// (Kit)

MCA leadership were gagged by their Big Brother UMNO to make any comment on Aminulrasyid Amzah’s case.

25. #25 by baochingtian on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 1:33 pm

It’s truly upsetting to read Dr Teoh Hsien Jin’s statements on STAR today “A lot of violent crime takes place after midnight and a speeding car pusued by a grp of motorcyclists fits the scenario perfectly” C’mon, we can’t afford to make assumptions in such cases, this is not maths or science making certain assumptions for problem solving. How about a group of mat rempits going after the driver whom may be innocent and needs help from police?
    Dr Teoh further added “When they opened fire, it is likely that one stray bullet could hv hit him. In the dark, they were probably shooting to stop the car” Is Dr Teoh suggesting the police can shoot any thing any direction if it’s in the dark? If u want to bring the car to a stop, do it but if u hv instead put somebody’s brain to a stop, is this not a crime?
    Dr Teoh as reported in the ppr also said he sympathised with the IGP. “They r alrdy overworked n underpaid n politicising d matter does not help” Hellooo, overworked and underpaid have nothing to do with the issue here ok? The boy committed offense alright but definitely did not deserve to be shot dead because of darkness or assumption of violent crime taking place or passing mid night hours!

26. #26 by cto on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 1:36 pm

sheriff singh on Thursday, 6 May 2010 – 10:22 am wrote

—————

It could be logical thinking by counter example.

The nett result of an illogical response by the Prof to the irrational actions of the police is “1Malaysia tak tak Boleh = 1Malaysia boleh”

27. #27 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 1:56 pm

//When they opened fire, it is likely that one stray bullet could hv hit him. In the dark, they were probably shooting to stop the car” Is Dr Teoh suggesting the police can shoot any thing any direction if it’s in the dark?// quoted from baochingtian purportedly said by the farting psychologist

Look, farting psychologist (and I am sure the reputation of your dept at Sunway University will start to plummet starting from today), if you take a gun and fire blank at the recreation park (i.e. without aiming at anybody in particular) but in process someone is shot, can you be charged for murder? My answer to you, farting psychologist, is yes yes yes. A normal person under circumstance would know that it is likely to kill someone; it does not matter the killer have taken aim at someone in particular.

So are you saying that the police have the right to shoot in the dark? Can’t imagine you can be so moronic. What happen when that stray bullet has hit you instead while you are having your teh tarik nearby. That would be fun. I guess you are not a normal person, you are a farting psychologist, sorry.

28. #28 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 1:58 pm

“HOW TO FART”

29. #29 by boh-liao on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 2:19 pm

Aiyah, fart here fart there everywhere fart
    How can? Must show respect 2 d Ass Prof mah
    U know, he just received d Outstanding Child Psychologist Award 2009/2010
    Very respectable u know – how can u simply fart (or is it fark) him? Quickly say sorry lah

30. #30 by johnnypok on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 2:39 pm

The mattress-carrier owes DSAI a thousand apologies, and now owe the family of the late Amin another one thousand apologies … How to pay back?

31. #31 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 2:51 pm

In the old ages in Japan, such a grave dishonour to the term “Royal” would have seen the head of the police committing “hara kiri”.
    But Malaysia hs no such honour in the police ranks and the IGP can make such a blatant threat while the Home Minister just wrings his hands.

32. #32 by klaikw on Thursday, 6 May 2010 - 11:24 pm

15 to 20 bullets fired – 1 got hit the back of head and the kid is dead. It fits the scenario perfectly to my personal opinion that who ever fired his weapon truly really deeply wanted these two kid dead. Hello brainless IGP, did it ring the bell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

33. #33 by monsterball on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 4:36 am

yip….Chengho is very naughty to suggest indirectly…Tian Chua killed the policeman..without realising….Allah is protecting Tian Chua from Harm’s Way..to finish HIS job…that Tian Chua was chosen to do…to free Malaysia from UMNO B government.
    Chengho is so blinded with a job carrying Najib’s balls..he is expected to keep on talking cock all the time…to hero worship Najib….and UMNO B.
    No UMNO B government…chengho needs to find new job with half the salary…and take bus to work…no ore money to pay car and house installments.
    Chengho.. is as desperate as Najib to win 13th GE…and the way he utters..it is good sign UMNO B is bankrupt with lousy low class ideas.. and such sickening hypocritical acts.
    Chengho is not acting.
    He is a stool pigeon.

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 5:23 am

Limkamput used the word ‘fart’ something like 30 times in his short posting. This old fart needs to go fart somewhere else.

35. #35 by limkamput on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 7:52 am

Yes, sure that somewhere include right on your ugly face.

36. #36 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 9:52 am

In yesterday Chinese Newspaper, one of the woman was ordered to strip and another woman was ordered to spread her both leg so as to enable the policemen to see for traffic offences they did. What is this?????????

37. #37 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 9:54 am

Both of them made a police about that incidence……

38. #38 by Thinking Two on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 9:55 am

Correction:

Both of them made a police report about that indidence.

39. #39 by sheriff singh on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 1:35 pm

The police wants them to re-enact the incident again and again one by one to show exactly what happened.

Even the AG and all the DPPs wants to see as well so that they can understand the case.

40. #40 by boh-liao on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 1:56 pm

Polis: trust us, everything is under control
    Yesterday (6.5.10) morning, Selangor top cop Deputy Comm Khalid Abu Bakar’s official car Perdana V6 was stolen

41. #41 by ReformMalaysia on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 7:03 pm

“Making a false police report in Malaysia = can be charged under Section 182 of the Penal Code which carries a sentence of six months jail or RM2,000 fine or both.”

How about in the case where the police make ‘false report’ to the public(which is a ‘Criminal defamation in nature)- Is it not an offence?? The culprit will walk away ‘scot -free’ ?

42. #42 by rockdaboat on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 10:45 am

“Assoc Prof Dr Teoh Hsien Jin said the situation was getting out of proportion and that the public had overlooked the most important issue, which was that of a minor driving a car without a driving licence…” Quoted from the STAR.

Sorry Prof I thinkl you are the one who is out of proportion! A minor’s life is less important than his driving a car without a driving licence?

“Police on shifts are normally armed with automatic firearms because they do not know who or what they will be up against. You just have to react to dangerous situations.”

Dear Prof, were the policemen in a dangerous situation when they shot the boy?

Someone here is right, I will not send my children to Sunway to study psychology!!!

43. #43 by Loh on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 10:33 pm

The police has got away with shooting with impunity for too long, and so it ended up shooting underaged driver whom the police never expected. Indeed one has to reach 16 years before he can be licensed to learn to drive. Quite clearly the boy would still be alive if he had not learned to drive before he came of age. Was it because he was too young to respond to police demand to stop?

How many underaged drivers are there on the road? How would they pose danger to other road users? Is that not an important issue for the police to look into?

44. #44 by kpt99 on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 9:50 am

Brothers Dayak, they will ask you who are you,don’t you know what is meaning of UMNO ?. Untuk Melayu Not Oppose .