Living 1Malaysia

By Jacqueline Ann Surin | thenutgraph.com

ON the Sunday morning of 25 April 2010, when Hulu Selangor voters were going to the polls, I was sitting in a Sikh gurdwara in Kuala Lumpur. It was the fifth death anniversary of a dear friend, Datuk Krishen Jit. His spouse, Datin Marion D’Cruz, had organised for prayers to be said for him and had invited family and friends to be part of the ceremony.

I’m not Sikh but neither is D’Cruz or the dozen or so other friends who turned up that morning. In fact, among the friends who were seated in the gurdwara that morning were definitely Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, atheists and the non-religious. So, there we were, fellow Malaysians, united in our love for a friend who had gone before us, seated in a house of worship that was not of our respective faiths. We were not only respectful of the ceremony, we also stayed back together to eat a vegetarian lunch that had been cooked by the gurdwara. It was a 1Malaysia moment for me, if ever there was such a thing.

Which got me thinking: we already have 1Malaysia. In fact, we had it long before the administration of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak launched 1Malaysia. So, what really is the 1Malaysia campaign all about? And what does it mean that our government has to pay millions of precious tax money in order to ensure 1Malaysia is a reality?

Before 1Malaysia

Before there was Najib and slick communications and public relations from Apco Worldwide, there was, for me, Bunga Manggar Bunga Raya (BMBR). BMBR was a dance theatre production directed by D’Cruz in 2007 to commemorate our 50th year of independence.

It celebrated Malaysians and Malaysian stories with equal amounts of dignity and respect for each other. Hence, it should not have been surprising at all that the promotional posters for BMBR were so organically multiracial. Twenty two Malaysian performers of different ages, colours, sizes, and sexual and racial identities all grouped under a solid wooden table that was our country. All proud that we were Malaysians performing Malaysian stories.

It is a poster to kill and die for if I were part of 1Malaysia’s slick public relations campaign. And guess what, instead of millions, Five Arts Centre only spent RM35,000 for the entire production. As performers, we didn’t get paid but money wasn’t the point for any one of us. I doubt the same can be said of the people working on the official 1Malaysia campaign.

For certain, even before and apart from BMBR, there are countless lived experiences where Malaysians feel united and equal despite of our differences. Where each person is treated with equal respect and dignity and offered the same opportunities to be heard, cared for and supported. Just read the numerous Found in Malaysia interviews that The Nut Graph has done for a sense of just how united Malaysians have been, can be and are. Mind you, these stories happened even without the 1Malaysia campaign’s influence.

Modelling excellence

najib holding a tiny tableIn Neuro Linguistic Programming, modelling is used as a way to achieve excellence. How can we model people who demonstrate expertise and excellence in what they do so that we, too, can achieve excellence?

I wish our government would ask the same question. How could it model Five Arts Centre, for example, so that the government can better understand what it takes to create spaces where Malaysians feel proud to be Malaysians and feel like they belong to this state? What can our government do to recreate the experiences, described in Found in Malaysia, so many Malaysians have had growing up in our country?

As it is, I know it’s a real challenge for me to buy into Najib’s 1Malaysia campaign. That’s because there are too many instances which don’t have any of the qualities that would make me and other Malaysians feel like we would all be treated fairly and equally with dignity and respect.

How can a non-Malay, non-Muslim Malaysian, for example, trust that Umno is sincere about the avowed aims of 1Malaysia when the party president, Najib himself, has defended a right-wing ethnocentric organisation like Perkasa? Or when Umno’s vice-president-cum-Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein legitimises violence against non-Muslims? Or when an Umno supreme council member who is also a member of the cabinet tells non-Muslims they have no right to use “Allah”?

During the Hulu Selangor by-election, two anecdotes really struck a nerve in me. One was when a Malacca Umno member told Shobana Subramaniam, the wife of the Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate, “Nanti lepas menang, boleh pakai tudung.” The other incident was when a Malay Malaysian man chased away two Chinese Malaysian journalists who were working in the BN’s operations centre in Kampung Sungai Buaya. The man shouted, “Kamu orang Cina, sini tempat Melayu.”

For certain, these would not be the first time when Malay Muslim Malaysians assume a political and cultural superiority over other Malaysians. Indeed, other racial and religious groups, if in power, are just as capable of lording over minority groups. The point though is that in Malaysia, this kind of superiority is entrenched within the dominant party in the ruling coalition. And really, it’s going to take much more than an expensive public relations campaign, codenamed 1Malaysia, to convince some of us that our Umno-dominated government knows how to treat each citizen with equal respect.

For now, I know that my Malaysian friends and I don’t need a government campaign to teach us to be respectful of others. We don’t need to be inundated by patriotic messages and jingles for us to love Malaysia and our fellow Malaysians. Indeed, my friends and I definitely didn’t need 1Malaysia in order to want to be in that gurdwara on a Sunday morning.

I reckon we already had 1Malaysia a long time ago. And the government’s attempt to package and sell a glitzy version of Malaysian unity seems like a false caricature of who we already are without any government inducement.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 12:23 pm

Jackie, somehow I sense and share yr other world of 1Malaysia; pulsating, real and meaningful.

I am nauseated by the potage that comes in Najib’s 1Malaysia soup, cooked with glitzy tinsel and served on gaudy plates – full of form, nothing in Malaysian-ness. Such gawky grafts never last, to be sure.

Jackie, u and yr friends make us want to continue to believe there is yet hope in Malaysia. Thank you.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 12:33 pm

Agree, agree, agree – normal decent ppl lived well together long ago (esp those who lived through d 1950s n 1960s) without worrying abt their ethnicity
    Until Umno decided, since d 1970s, 2 divide n rule, n 2 enrich a certain grp of Umnoputras n their cronies by siphoning off d bulk of $$$ meant 4 economically disadvantaged Malays
    Now NR n gang tried 2 bluff d rakyat by using d slogan 1M’sia – how can dat b when they r so insincere n their DNA defines them as hard-core racists

For the coming Sibu by election, d slogan is:
    Give CAT governance a CHANCE
    Say NO to corruption, racism, & rent-seeking
    REJECT BN, VOTE 4 PR

3. #3 by k1980 on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 12:45 pm

Just as Hitler fooled the Germans with “Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Furher”, Jib is trying his hardest to fool the rakyat with 1malaysia.

4. #4 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 12:50 pm

I think 1Malaysia is Najib’s politic,wasting millions of tax payer’s money just to make him great. The implementation of 1malaysia,people first and performance now is contrary to what is being implemented on the ground. For example,NEM is still a one sided economic plan. It’s all just old wine in new bottle.

5. #5 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 12:52 pm

Najib’s government must not have 1Malaysia, Perkasa and BTN (indoctrination) at the same time. That is sheer hypocrisy and makes 1Malaysia ring hollow.

6. #6 by k1980 on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 1:15 pm

Jib’s idea of possessing 1malaysia is like Ali Baba wishing to possess his wives, his slave girls, the 40 thieves, the treasure cave and the country of Mesopotamia all at the same time.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 2:28 pm

When will Malaysian get that they don’t need the government in their personal lives. Tunku Abdul Rahman understood this and that is why the original constitution was written in the way it was – separation of powers, no mixing of religion and politics, equal rights etc..

We don’t need the government to tell us how to treat each other racially or religiously or for that matter any personal value wise. We need the government to get OUT of the way. We need a justice system that works. We need a police that enforces the law and respected.

We don’t need any words of wisdom or value statement from our political leaders. They don’t know a damn thing worth spitting on..

8. #8 by Loh on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 3:27 pm

Malaysia belongs to Malaysians, equally. There is no need to count 1,2 ,3.

Najib’s NEM is just a variation of NEP if he does not abolish NEP. He should have used the term Malaysians Malaysia, even though that was first mentioned by LKY, to refer to the country which allows the citizens the liberty to achieve their potentials.

NEP slows some Malaysians to allow others to catch up. Why not help those who need to speed up without slowing down others?

9. #9 by isahbiazhar on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 7:24 pm

It is very difficult for the Malays to think 1Malaysia.They would prefer the others to think because they are the pendatang.Najib’s slogan will just dissolve the time he leaves.Only when people are treated equally will they have the feeling of love towards others.Vivekananda addressed everybody as brothers and sisters.He dreamt of such universal religion then.Today Islam propogates the same theme but the people just cannot accept.Till then we have to live apart but come together during the festivals.

10. #10 by chengho on Tuesday, 4 May 2010 - 7:53 pm

In Malaysia, the events of the past few months have made it crystal clear a strange role reversal: it’s opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim who is whipping up anti-Semitic sentiment — and it’s Prime Minister Najib Razak who is, for better or worse, standing firm with President Obama and the United States.
    1Malaysia…muhibbah…

11. #11 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 5 May 2010 - 2:54 am

1-malay-sial will split up into 100 sials, and then into 100×100 pieces. Bodohland is fast heading to claim the title “Zimbabwee of Asia”.
    They sold an island to Singapore, and also two oil-rich plots to Brunei. God knows what they will sell next. No more law and order. Mongolian tourist being C4, and now police simply shoot to kill. This is like a cowboy town of the past. God damn those who lead the country into this situation. God forgive the innocent people, but not the monster with no balls.