Farce of prosecution and acquittal of two Perak “frogs” has plunged public confidence in MACC to new low and will cause Malaysia’s CPI 2010 to plumb a new depth

The farce of the prosecution and acquittal of the two Perak “frogs” has plunged public confidence in the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) to a new low and will cause Malaysia’s Corruption Perception Index 2010 of Transparency International to plumb to a new depth from the nation’s present worst ranking of No. 56 in 2009.

Even before public confidence in MACC has recovered from the fatal blow of the mysterious death of DAP aide Teoh Beng Hock at the MACC Headquarters falling from 14th to 5th floor on July 16 last year, the MACC has scored another own goal with the farcical prosecution and acquittal of the two “frogs” in Perak.

MACC and the Barisan Nasional should know the outcome if an opinion poll is conducted among Perakians and Malaysians as to whether they believe there was a “package deal” offered to engineer the defection of the two “frogs” and their dastardly betrayal of the people’s mandate to topple the legitimate Pakatan Rakyat Perak state government and Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin.

The new grievous blow to public confidence in the MACC could not have come at a worse time, when public outrage at the obstacles and pressures put in the way of the renowned Thai pathologist Dr. Pornthip Rojanasunand to prevent her from coming to the country to testify in the inquest into the causes of Teoh Beng Hock’s death has not subsided.

Although the Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein finally offered police protection to Pornthip if she comes to Malaysia to testify at the Teoh Beng Hock inquest, it has not escaped notice that this was not the initial reaction of the Home Minister, who had to take ten long days to come up with such an offer after raising several obstacles and objections.

As a result, the credibility of Hishammuddin’s offer is not pure and pristine and from reports, Pornthip is not sufficiently convinced and is unlikely to come to Malaysia to to provide continuing testimony in the Teoh Beng Hock inquest.

In an exclusive interview with Malaysiakini on April 11, Pornthip said she would not appear for the Teoh Beng Hock inquest when it resumed on April 20 citing “political pressure” from the Malaysian government.

Pornthip said she was “advised” by high-ranking officials from the Thai Justice Ministry – where she is director-general of the ministry’s Central Institute of Forensic Science – not to come to Malaysia for the inquest.

According to her, the Thai Foreign Ministry had received “signals” from the Malaysian government through “informal channels” suggesting that her presence at the inquest would not be welcomed.

She said: “It was conveyed to me by certain senior Thai government officials that there has been political pressure from certain Malaysian government circles to block my presence in court, so much so that it might interfere with my current important forensic mission in southern Thailand.”

Pornthip is concerned that her involvement in the Teoh Beng Hock inquest could impinge on her work in the three troubled southern Thailand provinces where thousands have died in a Muslim separatist insurgency.

In 2004, Pornthip led the forensic team which investigated the infamous Tak Bai incident where 85 Muslim protesters had suffocated to death while being held in military trucks.

With one senior Malaysian minister, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department on public record with inflammatory and prejudicial statements against the Thai pathologist, with the infamous statement “She is a liar! She lied in the inquest and she is lying now”, the onus is on the Malaysian Cabinet to convince the Thai Government to allow Pornthip to come to Malaysia for her continuing testimony in the Teoh Beng Hock inquest.

Otherwise, the combination of these two cases – the mysterious Teoh Beng Hock death at MACC headquarters and the farce of prosecution and acquittal of the two Perak “frogs” – will drive Malaysia’s ranking on Transparency International Corruption Perception Index 2010 to the 60th placing if not worse.

1. #1 by Fatty Doc on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 12:08 pm

I don’t think BN give a d*mn about KPI!!

2. #2 by the reds on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 12:21 pm

It seems that UMNO members are above the law. If you are in trouble, pls join UMNO. In Bolehland, apa pun boleh asalkan you are UMNO member.

3. #3 by Loh on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 12:29 pm

The corruptuion case involving the two former PKR toads shows that BN and particularly UMNO practises double standards. Whatever that could be considered as corruption when they are non-UMNO members are acceptable as legal if they are with UMNO. What is worse is UMNO utilses it double standards to frame up charges against Pakatan assemblymen and bring down Pakatan to form government which they could not win through proper election.

4. #4 by frankyapp on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 12:41 pm

I think the most weird justice as being practised by Umno/Bn regime is that you (opposition) is a poison but when you become Umno/Bn friendly or join them,you will come out of the blue become some kind of a pure sweet honey to them. I think this kind of justice is an out right unethical one and people should not tolerate it.Pretty strange too,the police, the macc,the AG and the judiciary were unable to see the different.

5. #5 by limkamput on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 12:41 pm

A hopeless nation

PR should have won Hulu Selangor effortlessly
    But this is not to be
    They have to fight like crazy

We the people are ignorant, stupid and greedy
    Ask TBH’s parents and wife (and his child) where the justice is
    Ask PKFZ who have taken all the money
    We the stupid people only interested in small corrupted money
    Never mind we could all help to build a nation we want to be

We have no sense of justice
    We tolerate daylight and blatant robbery
    Ask “latuk” hee hee hee where her principle is
    Ask the two other katak where their conscience is

Ask who was the submarine commission intermediary
    Ask why Atantuya’s death remains a misery
    Ask why we have endless sodomy
    Ask the administration of justice
    Ask the performance of our police

Who has allowed all these?
    Why is it that we can’t see?
    We are stupid, may be
    We are ignorant, also may be
    We are spineless and have no sense of justice, also may be
    We are greedy, definitely

So we deserve the BN government and let it be
    Bury our heads in the sand we shall be

6. #6 by dagen on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 12:48 pm

Phark man. This is all so stupid. And senseless. Only umno can do a thing like that. Maybe we should all just pack up and leave this god damned country to rot in the hands of umnoputras.

7. #7 by yhsiew on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 12:59 pm

Malaysia will go the way of Zimbabwe – heading towards an abyss of self destruction.

8. #8 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 1:12 pm

!st frog was given the title Datuk Seri…. Opps no… Actually the title is DatukKatak… So she should be addressed as YT(Yang Terkutuk) DatukKatak Hee Yit Fong..

Now the other 2 frogs being freed from corruption charges

Obviously this is only happen only when UMNO controlling the law enforcement and judiciary………. CORRECT! CORRECT! CORRECT!

The have an UMNO supporter as Chief Justice… they have an AntiCorruption agency and the police who are under their instruction/control whether to act or not to act, to charge or to drop the charges….

9. #9 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 1:14 pm

Something just funny about this. Why would they decide on this on the eve of Hulu Selangor by-election AND Sibu by-election in a few weeks?

All PR has to do is get Nik Aziz to point out the immorality of letting these corrupt whoring frogs go and the even the Malays would get upset. Then all Anwar has to do imply that only people who can kill Mongolian whores would engineer something like this and if they can kill Mongolian whores they slept with, what is working for Israel?

10. #10 by limkamput on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 1:28 pm

Bigjoe, BN has got all these worked out. They are not as stupid as you think. They are sending a message out: BN got power and make things happen. You people can’t fight them. Don’t worry, just frog to BN side, they will protect you come what may. They are enticing and will continue to entice. The two asses did not accompany PM to NY for nothing, and so also are other frogs. They can get away with murder, literally speaking.

11. #11 by kpt99 on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 1:39 pm

YB Lim,whoever lead MACC will make no different cos it’s still have the same brain-cells which are malfunction and mentality low.Pointless to waste your precious time on commenting such mediocre and pathetic figure which will come out with no KPI at all.Perhaps more suitable to be coffee and leather seat warmer in exclusive and heavily renovated office for the last few years of service.

12. #12 by chengho on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 1:44 pm

you have even a bigger frog from KB in the name of Zahid the moron , Karpal never give any comments so far?

13. #13 by frankyapp on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 2:21 pm

Hi Lamkamput.please lah,don’t be so hard heart broken with yourselves and on other voters.First endured hardship but later enjoy sweetness,ok and now help is on its way. HS is an example of “help is on its way” so where ever you are or who ever you are,please ensure that the help will reach the voters tomorrow to dump Kama-alan-nathan aka as BN candidate.

14. #14 by cseng on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 3:14 pm

Thing are getting worse after the KPI and Transformation program.

If TBH death is bad, then what happened after is worst (i.e the investigation, the trial, Pornthip was called liar, intimidated).

If Altantuya murder is bad, then what happened after is worst (we have 2 guys waited to be hang, and we don’t know the motive behind, yet the French court think there are more hidden beneath).

If Perak fiasco is bad, then what happened after is worst. (with Datuk for Hee, with frog being freed! DAP should have put a front page congratulation for Hee and the 2 frog in the press prior HS by election).

So, we did transform, but is transforming from bad to worst. From tragedy to tragedies!

Chengho, not Zahid.. is Zaid! Zahid will never resign from minister and join PKR. There is big or small frog, only datuk frog or frog who fuxk for free.

15. #15 by cseng on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 3:16 pm

Chengho, for the frist time I agree with you. Zahid is a moron, you say first, i just second your opinion. I takut!

16. #16 by k1980 on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 3:18 pm

CSL also has a 1malaysian name—

Chua as in the Chinese slimy name “Snake”

Soi as in the Malay transvestite name Soihana

Lek as in the Indian name Maleka (yet another transvestite!)

17. #17 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 4:31 pm

i already expected this when the 3 frogs line up next to a smiling najib

no surprise but I wonder with all these dead man ang pow and more that flying into HS

as a tax payer I wonder
    1) all these under the 2010 budget?

2) considered corruption as act of vote buying? (under normal circumstances would such goodies be unloaded)?

3) opport…unity costs to the original recepients of funds whoever they are? whether it is a hospital in Batu Pahat or a bunch of civil servants waiting for their printers to be replaced in Putrajaya?

4) how is the government gonna recover this unplanned use of tax payer money after promising a more balance budget – GST (maybe later, after next GE) 3 Kali increase in traffic fine (maybe later, after this bi-erection), more cuts in fuel subsidy (worth considering) …..

18. #18 by DCLXVI on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 4:44 pm

Zaid Ibrahim has been accused of being a ‘frog’ but there’s a difference between Zaid and the turncoat frogs like Osman Jailu & Jamaludin Radzi.
    Zaid had seen how low Umno-BN will go to preserve its political dominance when former home minister SHA misused ISA on a journalist who exposed Ahmad Ismail’s racialistic remarks, and also on a Pakatan Rakyat MP based on unproven allegations.
    Zaid’s sense of justice got the better of him and he left his ministerial post & Umno-BN for Pakatan Rakyat. Also note that he was not a MP at that time, and so, he did not bring an additional parliamentary seat over to Pakatan Rakyat.

19. #19 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 4:49 pm

yip..Creating fear and painting the bleak future for voters..going against the government…is on…by two smart pro BN asses…one suck ass …the other…a pondan.

20. #20 by limkamput on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 8:32 pm

Hi odd ball, I shall give you this one time offer: explain to me why the yellow shirts succeeded while red shirts, despite their increasing number, still can not do much in Thailand.

21. #21 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 April 2010 - 10:10 pm

Who cares about Thailand…..Lim Suck Ass.
    We have enough in our country that needs explanations…getting none.
    Are you trying to impress me..you know more about Thailand than me?
    Politics in Thailand sucks like Malaysia….but they do have one person who can call all the shots…but alas…the King is too old and dying….and son good for nothing playboy..daughter just love to save animals and help poor people…not interested in politics..although the whole of Thailand loves her as much as the father.
    Politics in Thailand?..you like military rule?…that’s what it is…like Cambodia..and Taksin must be done with…similarly…like Anwar..by UMNO.
    That is how much I know…and that’s enough.
    You like to impress with your political books qualification?
    Why man…you cannot beat the man on the street that lived through it…in Thailand.
    Lim Suck Ass..please keep doing that. It’s your god gifted talent..that you must have that nick.
    Finally…my reply is not because of your so call one time offer.
    I know you want to learn from me…and yet…try to brag.
    My VOLVO ROYAL ….cheap stuff?
    Don’t make a fool of yourself.
    NOW…….i give you a one time offer to explain….how many shots can you make..before your sperm dries up. Answer me…this general knowledge question…….hahahahahahahaha
    I bet you know next to nothing about life…….hahahahahaha
    Be nice..beg me…and I may consider teaching you.

22. #22 by monsterball on Sunday, 25 April 2010 - 1:37 am

See…ask me to respond…he run away..sucking asses.
    No money…say so…all donate few ringgit….no problem. Why everyday suck asses?

23. #23 by johnnypok on Sunday, 25 April 2010 - 12:10 pm

Under TDM = Malaysia Boleh

Under AAB = Malaysia Bodoh

Under NTR = Malaysia Bocor

24. #24 by tunglang on Sunday, 25 April 2010 - 4:01 pm

Under TDM = Malaysia Boleh
    Under AAB = Malaysia Bodoh
    Under NTR = Malaysia Bocor

Under Bee’N’ = Malaysia ‘Phok Khai’ (Bankrupt)