Condemns “Alcohol” attack on Zaid Ibrahim – Pakatan Rakyat candidate in Hulu Selangor by-election

Section 6 provides that disclosure of improper conduct may be made against a member of Parliament or State Legislative Assembly.

Just received this Star news flash: “20/4 Kinabatangan MP Bung Mokhtar Radin pleaded guilty at the Gombak Timor Lower Syariah court to committing polygamy without the court’s consent.”

Does this fall within the “improper conduct” in Section 6?

Do the “drinking” habits of MPs fall under this term, as this has become the weapon used by Barisan Nasional in the Hulu Selangor by-election campaign in its “alcohol” attack on the Pakatan Rakyat candidate Datuk Zaid Ibrahim, calling him “kaki botol”.

I challenge UMNO and Muslim Ministers, in particular the Umno Youth leader and MP for Rembau Khairy Jamaluddin, the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, the Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, the Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak whether they dare to declare that they had never drank alcohol in their youth in the past!

If having had drinks in the past incapacitates one from holding office, then we will lose half the Cabinet as well as the Malaysian Ambassador to the United States and we will need to have a by-election in Rompin.

Why is UMNO and Barisan Nasional so desperate in the Hulu Selangor by-election that they have to resort to such gutter politics?

Let us have higher standards in politics and elections, as it is the avenue to serve to peope and nation and not to indulge in personal attacks and character-assassinations.

We can do the same but we refuse to do so. Zaid has regretted his drinks in his youth. But he has gone one step further to declare that he will not follow the gutter politics of the Umno leaders.

This is what Zaid said:

“I won’t name those leaders in Umno who had done the same… (drinking alcohol). I’m not like Umno. I’m a human (being), so I think it is better for me (not to retaliate). I know that some of my friends there were womanisers, went to casino and other stuff that other rich people would do.

“But I won’t name any of them because I have more pedigree than them and my friends in the Cabinet won’t have to worry about that.”

Let us raise a higher standards in politics and electioneering. As example, DAP has instructed our campaigners not to touch on the Chua Soi Lek tape subject.

It is also an insult to use “kaki botol” for those who have social drinks, as this would be condemning Chinese, Indians, Kadazans and Ibans who drink but are not drunkards.

I want to ask why the Bill mentions MPs and State Assemblymen but no reference to Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Chief Ministers and Mentris Besar as if they are exempted from this provision.

This is not acceptable as Malaysians are aware of the rampant corruption at the state government level.

Let me quote from a Star report in February 2001 about corruption in Sabah:

“Ask politicians and journalists about the rotation system, and they will jokingly say: ‘One CM took the hills, one gave away the sea, one signed off the valleys and another bet on watery deals.’

And now, according the DAP Sabah State Assemblyman for Sri Tanjong, there is now a “vacuum cleaner” in Sabah cleaning up everything in the state!

Section 6(2)(b) provides that there is no statute of limitations for “improper conduct” under this Bill, i.e. “although the improper conduct has occurred before the commencement of this Act”.

Are the authorities concerned therefore going to investigate into the past “improper misconduct” of Ministers and political leaders, like whether Umno Cabinet Ministers had drank alcohol in the past?

Similarly, will the “improper conduct” of the Chief Justice who had previously deceived the authorities by burning the original marriage certificate of his first marriage in order to illegally register his second marriage going to be re-opened, investigated and action taken?

I must protest that in the debate on such an important bill, MPs are limited to 10 minutes for each speaker which does not demonstrate that there is real political will on the part of the Barisan Nasional government to stamp out corruption by creating a new environment of openness, accountability and transparency.

I have material to talk for two hours but in view of the time restriction, I will touch on the main headings of some of these subjects:

1. RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal

MACC – why no Anti-Corruption Action (AC) action on the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal although the first police report was lodged six years ago?

Why the Chief Secretary failed to take action although directed by the Cabinet in July 2007 against those responsible for the PKFZ scandal, in particular the unlawful issue of four Letters of Support by two Transport Ministers, Liong Sik and Kong Choy?

Yesterday, Sun’s front-page headline was: “Ex-PKA directors off the hook” (Sun)

No “big fish” had been caught by MACC and there is no response to my call in Parliament that the government suspend its RM770 million repayment this year to PKFZ turnkey contractor Kuala Dimensi Sdn. Bhd (KDSB) which had raised bonds under misrepresentation and irregular circumstances – until the Cabinet Task Force under Chief Secretary had come out with satisfactory solution.

2. There are tons of information for action by MACC on the Internet. For instance, MCA Deputy Education Minister Wee Ka Siong is accused on internet to have 34 accounts at Maybank and 2 accounts at RHB – with RM4.2 million in cold hard cash in these accounts. I do not know whether there is any truth in this but there must be proper explanation and accountability, both by the MACC and Wee himself.

3. Asia Sentinel’s latest report “Malaysia’s submarine scandal surfaces in France” – why is there silence in Malaysia.

We are debating the Whistleblowers Protection Bill but the two Malaysian Whistleblowers Par Excellence are on the run outside the country – firstly, Raja Petra Kamaruddin who has tons of materials and information on his Malaysia Today blogsite and Private Investigator Balasubramaniam about the murder of Mongolian Altantuya Sharriibuu.

If the government is serious in wanting to fight corruption and to encourage whistleblowing, it should welcome and co-operate with these two Whistleblowers Par Excellence instead of allowing an inclement environment which have driven into exile overseas.

Have MACC taken the materials exposed and whistle-blown in RPK’s Malaysia-Today seriously by conducting full and proper investigations?

In ending my speech, I must protest at the short time allowed to speak in the debate on this bill.

[Speech in Parliament on Tuesday, 20th April 2010 on the Whistleblowers Protection Bill]

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 4:34 pm

PR and Zaid have to brace themselves for at least another round of dirty on-slaught before this campaign ends. This ‘alcohol attack’ is nothing compared with what Muhiyiddin is capable of. Muhiyiddin may have a diseased mouth but the man is EVEN better than Najib in underhanded means. This is a man who may surpassed Mahathir as immitating Brutus in UMNO. In no way to underestimate his negative campaigning.

Zaid answer to the ‘alcohol-gambling attack’ of admission, retort and support from senior PAS leader is perfect. It just need to be propagated more and most Malays even rural Malay understand. Its not as if Malays have not seen other drinking even in their own village. Even the most illiterate religious Malay in Hulu Selangor understand the effect of alcohol and gambling and definitely view Zaid admission and straightforwardness as admirable – PR campaigner just got to lead them to that conclusion.

There is at least one more round of dirty attacks from Muhiyiddin/Noh Omar duo given there is four days left in campaign. If I were PR, I would egg them on. Common – this is all they got? Its nothing. Its sissy negative campaigining – its the stuff of bitching women..

2. #2 by Fatty Doc on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 4:46 pm

3. #3 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 4:56 pm

Go to any corporates’s pubs,you’ll sure find these n those Datuks and Execs with their tastes of liquors and girls.The one of the few paradise hanging places for them.Trust me.

4. #4 by matseman on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 5:09 pm

weldone YB. discussed with ibans friends, the man take it on social excuses and the good women actually hate seeing the man taking it.
    i am not sure if there is any religion or major way of life sects did advocate alcohol consumption. good hindu`s and muslims did not take it. we need level headed leaders who wont be influenced by alcohol, women(men), gambling and corruption. they come hand in hand, doesn`t matter race or religion , black or white.
    the chief justice case mentioned above should be reopen if there is ample concrete evidence, but as christ said let those non sinners amongst you cast the first stone.
    on Zaid, i have not heard of any other minister in asia who would leave the luxury position when not his great recommendation to uplift judiciary system is not taken up by the gov. i would salute him for that .same as i salute Mohyiddin for saying he is a malay first. both of them have that gut to act and to say the truth. it is the same with kit siang and karpal in and out of parliament.

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 5:13 pm

Nor Mohd Yakcop for one is a well known gambler. He likes poker and drinks like a whale. Ask his kakis who knows only too well.

And didn’t RPK publish that photo of Pak Lah enjoying himself at Regine’s KL with members of the Royalty? There were drinks aplenty.

And of course that photo of Hishamuddin having a pint or two with his male and female buddies.

These may be donkey years in the past and they could have repented, gone for a few Umrahs, Hajs and whatnots. Do we make an issue of this? Heck, no. Only slimebolas take cheap shots.

And do you know that booze is freely available at the Civil Service Golf Clubs and other country clubs? And the hypocrite “good boys” drink there like whales do?

Read more about alcohol and Islam at this link:

http://mukto-mona.com/Articles/kasem/wine_drinking.htm

And let us not forget, isn’t drug taking a more serious problem than alcohol consumption?

As for Bung the Dung, “Once bocor, always bocor.”

As for that submarine, first it can’t dive. Now it keeps surfacing. Just as well. What goes down must sooner or later, come up. Maybe even belly up.

Riddle 1: Why can’t MACC catch big fishes? Because it looks for big fishes in drains and ponds.

Riddle 2: Why can’t MACC catch big fishes?
    Because big fishes, like sharks and whales, can bite and swallow them.

Riddle 3: Why can’t MACC catch big fishes?
    Because they don’t have a budget for tartar sauce.

Riddle 4: Why can’t MACC catch big fishes?
    Because of intellectual property rights issues. They are being sued by MAC D.

Riddle 5: Why can’t MACC catch big fishes like sharks and whales?
    Because the International Whaling Commission and Greenpeace say “NO”.

Sorry, very slow day up here. It’s due to the volcanic ash. Je m’ennuie. Le ciel est sombre. Pardon.

6. #6 by chengho on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 5:14 pm

too much alkohol bad for your liver and politic unless you running for banana country and monkey around , what Pas fatwa on this ?
    i guess any alkohol content below 15% should acceptable .

7. #7 by DCLXVI on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 5:27 pm

In this Hulu Selangor by-election campaign, Umno-BN is hitting on Zaid’s personal past mistakes because it apparently has run out of real issues to use as ‘ammunition’.
    Pakatan Rakyat should continue to emphasize on good governance, the fight against the abuse of power and government funds, and the fight against corruption in its campaign, and avoid ‘hitting below the belt’ as they say…

8. #8 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 5:44 pm

Royalties,high profile malay/muslim politicians and leading top corporate malay/muslim executives have special rooms in certain 5 stars hotel in KL for their alcoholic wine drinking session complete with certain local actresses /’super models plus special imported models/prostitutes to celebrate the evening.Some of the world’s most expensive wines costing RM 30,000 to 50,000 per 500 ml to 750ml /bottle.According to a senior director of a hotel the charges for the whole night/session normally cost up to RM 10 million. Imagine how horrible should it be exposed ! The fact is there but none dares to do it cos if anyone does,he/she would be c4 immediately. I have talked about it espcially among some of my best friends here and overseas and most agreed with me that Malaysia has the biggest hypocrites in the world.

9. #9 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 6:25 pm

Lim Kit Siang, you are simply too good. Too smart and too clever. You are a prodigy.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 6:35 pm

Hulu Selangor folks should concentrate on more important issues which affect their lives such as the NEM, GTP, hike in traffic fines and withdrawal of fuel and sugar subsidies instead of harping on something irrelevant.

11. #11 by rahmanwang on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 7:12 pm

Many years back I saw Mohamad Rahmat UMNO information chief at a casino in Australia.I told my wife and my father to witness it.In fact I also know many Malays who eats pork.These pork eaters are really rich,enjoying bacon in europe.I see it the most important thing is Zaid can do his work.He is a honest and has the guts to admit.I respect you Zaid.Cannot say the same to UMNOputras though.

12. #12 by negarawan on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 7:28 pm

Didn’t Bung Mokhtar also commit khalwat for getting into close proximity (or worse) with a woman who is not his legally wedded wife?

13. #13 by son of perpaduan on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 8:18 pm

Whether
    Conservative, Liberal
    or
    Labour , I think
    you’ll get
    a kick out of
    this!

A little boy goes to his
    dad and asks, ‘What is Politics?’

Dad says, ‘Well son, let
    me try to explain it this way:

I am the head of the
    family, so call me The Prime Minister.

Your mother is the
    administrator of the money, so we call her the Government.

We are here to take care
    of your needs, so we will call you the People.

The nanny, we will
    consider her the Working Class.

And your baby brother,
    we will call him the Future.

Now think about that and
    see if it makes sense.’

So the little boy goes
    off to bed thinking about what Dad has said.

Later that night, he
    hears his baby brother crying, so he gets up to check on him.

He finds that the baby
    has severely soiled his nappy.

So the little boy goes
    to his parent’s room and finds his mother asleep.

Not wanting to wake her,
    he goes to the nanny’s room. Finding the door locked, he peeks in the keyhole and sees his father in bed with the nanny..

He gives up and goes back to bed.

The next morning, the
    little boy say’s to his father, ‘Dad, I think I understand the concept of politics now. ‘

The father says, ‘Good, son, tell me in your own words what you think politics is all
    about.’

The little boy replies, ‘The Prime Minister is screwing the Working Class while the
    Government is sound asleep. The People are being ignored and
    the Future is in deep shit.’

14. #14 by DCLXVI on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 8:30 pm

chengho :
    too much alkohol bad for your liver and politic unless you running for banana country and monkey around , what Pas fatwa on this ?
    i guess any alkohol content below 15% should acceptable .

Excessive consumption of nicotine, caffeine, sugar, salt, oil & fats are also no good.
    Z.I. was clear and sober when he became appalled at how former home minister S.H.A. misused the Internal Security Act on a newspaper journalist who exposed Ahmad Ismail, and on a Pakatan Rakyat MP who was obviously an unfortunate victim of insidious hear-say.
    Aren’t these actions by S.H.A. signs that the former home minister was behaving like man who was drunk or intoxicated with power?

15. #15 by Dap man on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 9:16 pm

I know of many UMNO leaders, including top cabinet Ministers who not only drink, gamble and womanize but also indulge in black magic.
    I know of ‘those who live in palaces’ who drink like fish.
    These same people who scream that they will defend their religion till the last drop of blood.
    Now, this is UMNO, I know.
    Who knows what Najib did last last Summer in Port Dickson?
    Lucifer preaching about how to get to heaven.

16. #16 by taurus 88 on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 9:20 pm

This just shows how desperate umno by resorting to gutter politics. They know how crucial this fight is for their very survival. People of HS could be making history as they could very well be the pioneers in laying the foundation for the final destruction of umno/bn by making sure Zaid gets into parliament. This win by PR will set the precedent for GE13 throughout the country —– tsunami 2.

By voting for PR, people of HS will be making a statement for the whole of Malaysia indicating that we are making a truly Malaysian Malaysia a reality. Gone are the days like in our parent’s generation where they could be frighten by the war-drums of umno saying if you don’t toe the line then incident like May 13 is inevitable. Today’s cause is about fighting oppressions suffered by all races, it is not a fight between races although the unmoputras will want to make it the case. There is no quarrel between the Malays and Non-Malays.So people of HS, I urge you all to make sure you vote the right way and please make sure that every votes counts. Please do spread the word to your neighbours, your friends, your relatives, your colleagues and even to peolple you meet on the streets.

MIC and MCA supporters I urge you all to look deep into your heart and consider how you have been treated and abused by unmo. You guys are supposed to be partners and yet they slapped your leaders around and dictate how to run your own house. Acting as second class to umno? Is this what you guys expect and accept? Cast your protest vote in HS election and show us that you still have a degree of dignity and self -esteem in you and not as hopeless and useless as unmo made you guys out to be!!! Don’t you think is time for you to send unmo this message – unmo ‘brothers’ you can slap but we can slap harder! You do not relish the thoughts being second class and inferior to any one any more than we do,what better platform than this HS election for you to demonstrate your dignity and self-esteem?

Perhaps we might not be able to see immediate results in our life time but if we act right now, our off spring and future generations will reap what we sow today.

17. #17 by Dap man on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 9:22 pm

By making drinking a big issue UMNO is distancing itself from the non-Malays. As though we are dirty folks since we too consume liquor.
    I am sure BN would lose many non-Malays votes for this blunder.
    UMNO is behaving as though drinking is the mother of all sins. And these are all corrupted leaders without a modicum of morality in them.

18. #18 by tanjong8 on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 9:56 pm

remember chengho was a eunuch in 15th century china.

It was a long time ago. eunuchs may reincarcinate into UmnoUtusans.

Hapuskan UmnoUtusans, the enemy of the people

19. #19 by CC on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 10:02 pm

Time for UMNO named guys to answer your “alcohol” question. But I know they will deny it as they have very selective & short term memories, regardless!

BN, formed by well-known “corrupted” parties. I truly hope that Hulu Selangor’s voters will send Datuk Zaid Ibrahim into the Parliment to represent them & the nation! And all of others will play our roles voting them out of Putrajaya & at all states level to end their run in the next election. Enough of 53 years of long corrupted BN’s ruling.
    Kamalan is the UMNO “YES” man, who does not know what he can do or say by himself alone. He will forever be another failed MIC candidate! Just like my area, IJOK, with the death of the long serving YB, we had by-election in 2007. Even though we failed to vote Tan Sri Khalid in for the first time, but March 8, 2008 we voted him & PR into the State office to start a new journey!

Hulu Selangor voters need to stand up for the right candidate! Let MCA lossing more Chinese votes, and let MIC knows that it is history as well. And let UMNO knows that their dirty political games can never buy our votes anymore.

And thank you, for your firm stand and support to PKR’s candidate! Let’s pray for Zaid Ibrahim’s winning chance on 25 April!

20. #20 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 10:28 pm

It is a good idea to have Ustaz and Ustazah for politicians. No sins. Only heaven. No wonder Sabahans complain Kinabatangan is never fully developed. Now you know where your money is going to.

21. #21 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 10:43 pm

The biggest sinners are the culprits of corruptions,c4 victim,lobbying.ect which’re well known among um.no.way.

22. #22 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 20 April 2010 - 10:56 pm

YB., when a party is bankrupt of ideas, it will only react like a lizard having lost its tail. There is no doubt that Zaid stands tall above his opponent and this has frightened BN terribly to the extent that they went on personal assassination. It also reminds us that desperate people will do anything to distract attention of their shortcoming. The writing is on the wall, end is near! hence this outburst of insecurity! Come Sunday, Zaid will be the YB!!

23. #23 by chengho on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 12:31 am

Why we wanna get involve with Islamic faith , let s Zahid answer

24. #24 by uetmatsu on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 12:58 am

When i see pkr, i see there is hope for this country.

25. #25 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 1:08 am

All those ministers and politicians who makan duit should be executed by firing-squad, starting from Toon Mamakteh.

Next, all those who commit adultery should be castrated, starting with the bocor man.

And finally, all the liars should be made to suck horse cok.

26. #26 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 1:20 am

johnnypok
    Is it really necessary to make such crude comments?
    We will only replace one set of tyrants with another.

27. #27 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 2:24 am

d brainless neuro guy crossed over 2 d dark n evil side, despite knowing all d evil things done by UmnoB n NR
    Pity he did not remember: “Ask not what d party can do 4 u (like die die must b a candidate), but what u can do 4 d party”

28. #28 by Comrade on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 7:03 am

Ye especially the umnoputras who has no sin
    Can cast the first stone at Datuk Zaid Ibrahim
    The real issue is the scandalous corruption of the ruling regime
    As highlighted by Uncle KS Lim
    And also the govt management and governance that is fairly grim
    Choose PR for a future that is bright and trim

29. #29 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 8:06 am

you see how stupid umno is in this smear campaign. Membuka pekung di dada. Before accusing people make sure you are clean first. But their integrity are as dark as my car tyre, they go pinpoint at zaid for consuming alcohol.

Now every rakyat armed with a camera will not hesitate to take pictures of these idiots if they saw those umno goons drinking and put in the net.
    They sure have small fry brain like chapchengho.

30. #30 by k1980 on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 8:43 am

If Zaid is “kaki botol”,
    then Bung is “kaki lubang/terowong”.

Which is more sinful?

31. #31 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 9:26 am

Many indicators point that Hulu Selangor voters are not fooled by BN. BN is flailing. BUT its TOO early to peak for PR. BN still have time to up the ante.

Regardless, remember that the margin of vote is just as important. A margin of 3,000 vote or more would demoralise BN component parties. MIC would practically disintegrate.

32. #32 by Yee Siew Wah on Wednesday, 21 April 2010 - 9:40 am

The comments from one blogger:-
    How not to defend Perkasa, it is his Bread and Butter, man!
    This “dark skinned Melayu” will make or break, riding on the coat tail of UMNO. He is fully aware, MIC is dead and gone!
    Like all sniffing dogs from the component parties of BN coalition, they are not ashamed or unapologetic if seen licking the balls of their UMNO masters!
    Definitely a byproduct of that arrogant, greedy and big mouth “semi value” anaconda guy from MIC.
    How can people of U. Selangor to have bum like this representing them!!! Kick this 2 headed, self claim melayu and dog lapping bum out before more indians will suffer.
    Vote ZAID/PKR!!