Call on government to stop RM770 million payout this year to KDSB for the RM1.25 billion PKFZ scandal until full accountability by the Cabinet super-task force headed by Chief Secretary

In September last year, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak announced the setting up of a Cabinet super task force headed by the Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan, to investigate the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

I had specifically asked at the time why the Chief Secretary Sidek Hassan was appointed to head such an inquiry into the PKFZ scandal, and why he had failed to conduct such an inquiry earlier as this was resolved by the Cabinet in July 2007 when it decided on the RM4.6 billion bailout of PKFZ, including giving retrospective approval to the four illegal Letters of Support unlawfully given by the two previous Transport Ministers, Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik and Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy which have landed the country in the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal.

Although the Attorney-General and the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) had publicly promised that action would be taken against “grand corruption” in the PKFZ scandal, meaning the “big fishes”, why no action has been taken against such “big fishes” with only a few mid-fishes being arrested and prosecuted for corruption?

I want to specifically ask why the two former Transport Ministers Liong Sik and Kong Choy have been left off scotfree.

In this connection, I call on the government to withhold further payments due to PKFZ turnkey contractor Kuala Dimensi Sdn. Bhd (KDSB) pending full accountability of the investigations by the Cabinet super task force headed by the Chief Secretary.

The payments due this year to KDSB is the astronomical sum of RM772 million. In the last two years, KDSB were paid RM660 million each year.

Why should the government continue to throw good money after bad money in the “mother of all scandals”?

[Speech (5) on the first 2010 supplementary estimates in Dewan Rakyat on Tuesday 13th April 2010]

1. #1 by yhsiew on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 1:32 pm

///In this connection, I call on the government to withhold further payments due to PKFZ turnkey contractor Kuala Dimensi Sdn. Bhd (KDSB) pending full accountability of the investigations by the Cabinet super task force headed by the Chief Secretary./// (Kit)

I agree.

Since the PKFZ scandal is so complicated and mystifying, it is better to withhold the money until the truth is out. Such precautionary measure is needed to avoid money fall into the “wrong hand”.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 2:00 pm

gravy train

3. #3 by boh-liao on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 2:06 pm

Demand 2 stop paying d hands dat rock d gravy-train cradle, how can?
    Don’t u know d fr cradle 2 tomb culture here, easy $$$$ guaranteed
    Lagi, u want actions 2 b taken against ppl with titles like Nut n Tan Si, ha ha, no way lah

4. #4 by Godfather on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 2:21 pm

You guys still don’t understand. The money has been spent. KDSB raised the money through bonds which are now supposed to be repaid with proceeds from the Ministry of Finance. If the MOF withholds payments now to KDSB, the bondholders will take action – not only against KDSB, but against the Gomen as well to enforce the letters of support.

Of course they make a song and dance about audits and acceptability of work done, but the fact is that the money was spent during the March 2008 elections with the consent of all the BN parties. All they can do now is to divert attention from this issue, which is what they have done in the past 6 months.

5. #5 by chengho on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 3:29 pm

“Why should the government continue to throw good money after bad money in the “mother of all scandals”?” agreed Kit..

Is that true Dr Halili will replace Zahid for Hulu Selangor ?

6. #6 by monsterball on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 4:07 pm

If Ling Liong Sik is roped up…..so many big fishes from UMNO will be exposed to massive corruptions….starting with the mastermind….Mahathir.
    Get Mahathir up…for questioning…his famous …”I forget” will be applied…waiting to see… next move. If next move..get him to jail…so many will follow him..as he made sure all ministers are corrupted like him….in his 22 years as a Dictator.
    It is exactly like Samy Velu sounded off UMNO crooks….more than 10 years ago… that if he goes to jail…few UMNO crooks will follow him. Immediately….Mahathir made sure no one can touch Samy.
    LKS can keep on yelling but as long as UMNO BARU is governing…they will catch few small fishes for questioning…just for show and to keep fooling Malaysians…how serious Najib is against corruption….with the said show….going on and on…acting….twisting…telling half truths…on and on…to protect each other from jail sentences.
    UMNO is corrupted to the core…but the crocodiles….and big fishes are always protected.
    Yes….Malaysia is governed by a gang of crooks and thieves…and no way PKEZ real crooks be revealed.
    It must be through a change of government to get all truths out in the open.

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 4:51 pm

So sad to see someone so young and privilleged go down the road of being so negative, unproductive and sadly feel even his due right to take from other people for his own ends. He is now a walking testament to all that is wrong with entiltement and privillege in this country and NEP in particular..

8. #8 by k1980 on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 4:53 pm

Look carefully at his face and you will find the letters “NEP” written all over it

9. #9 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 9:45 pm

chengho was a eunuch in ancient china.

Ulu Selangor is to see a contest between a man and a eunuch fielded by umno-utusans

Throw UmnoUtusans into the ulu selangor’s jungle

10. #10 by chengho on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 10:23 pm

kamal vs Zahid the moron , why u let melayu kelantan to contest in hulu selangor , dont you know byelection is all about local issues but of couse you tanjong8 also xxxx

11. #11 by monsterball on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 11:10 pm

Look at that sick ass Chengho’s logic.
    He seems to find some thrills to pick on ‘tanjong8’ writer.
    “tanjong8” writer….keep writing and do your usual ..excellent work.
    Monsterball will roll chengho ….make him a pancake…fit as food for UMNO small fishes.
    I am on your side….all the way.

12. #12 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 11:47 pm

Cheng Ho, you’re a REAL A…H… by calling Zaid as moron. If he qualifies as moron, you should be classed as idiotic!!

13. #13 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 11:49 pm

YB, sorry. the down payments have been made!!
    people like chengho are happy to get the crumbs!!

14. #14 by chengho on Friday, 16 April 2010 - 8:47 am

Bakar Arang rep quits PKR , tan wei shu said’ i cannot work with leaders who are using others for their own interests . they are the monkeys who are trying to ruin the party,they are everywhere within PKR and they are good at deceiving the people ‘
    ‘ i think the people are warming up to Najib because he is seen as the people’s prime minister’……